One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2647 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful, informative, interesting and enjoyable tour of a truly fantastic cultural site. Tour guide Frank was brilliant, energetic and engaging. with insights into Mayan history and culture and the challenges facing the Mayan people today. The early morning tour was a terrific opportunity to visit Chichen Itza before the crowds the driver was skilled and safe, and the bus clean and modern. A first rate experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Thomas d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an early rise pickup at 5 am, but it was well worth it!
The archaelogist Marco explained a lot about the Mayan Culture and Chichen Itza. This already started in the bus, which made the long bus drive go by pretty fast. He was very knowledgeable and had a lot of humor as well.
Our busdrive Mario drove safely and was super friendly to everyone also.
When we arrived at Chichen Itza we were the first bus in line before the park opened. By the time we left the site it was getting crowded, which is not great for pics either.
It was great to get a tour when it was still almost empty better weather too!. The location is huge, you will not be able to see everything, but Marco makes your brief time there an amazing one!

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archaeologist

crystal m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were so glad we got up early for this. We beat the crowds and the tour guide was full of information. I hate that I can't remember his name. : If we had went by ourselves I think we would of been highly disappointed. It was nice to get to sleep on the bus on the way there and back and we were in town by 3:00 so early enough for a little bit of dinner and an early night to bed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Marilyn USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My family of 6 thoroughly enjoyed this trip Our guide, Marco, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He had a lot to share with us and conveyed it well. His english was excellent. Our driver, Mario, was excellent with his driving skills. Overall our visit to Chichen Itza was what we expected from a Viator Tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Neilsnz New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best tour ever. Our guide Marco was interesting and knowledgable. The buses were in good order and driving great. At first you think a 5'am start is crazy, but it is so worth it. We saw Chichen Itza with limited numbers of people around. On leaving, the line of buses waiting to get in was over a mile long. Great tour, best I have booked on Viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour to learn the history of Mayan Civilization!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Manish Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything was great. The tour bus picked us up on time and provided great tour around the facility. I would recommend them for sure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

jonnywong1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really fun and interesting tour. Everything ran perfectly and the early access is a must! Marco our tour guide, was superb and was extremely knowledgeable about everything we came across. He was engaging and funny. Would recommend this Tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archaeologist

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour at a great price with a great guide... Frank. Superrrrr Frank. He really did make the tour interesting. Highly recommend. Thanks.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Karol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organized trip. Knowledgable and entertaining guide. Nice place to visit. Great day.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Chloe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was well worth the time and money. I'd especially like to thank our main guide for the day, Carlos, for doing such a great job of explaining Chichen Itza and Mayan history in both Spanish and English. He was very knowledgeable, funny and accommodating with everyone on the tour bus. I was mindblown by the wonders of Chichen Itza and swimming in the Ik Kil cenote was incredible. We even stopped briefly in an artisan market and in the town of Valladolid, which were added bonuses as I don't think they were in the original tour description. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone for a great day out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic day trip from Cancun. It was LONG - 13 hours in total from when we were picked up. We were picked up on time, exactly as we were told the guide would call out our name in the lobby, and he did, at the exact time they said. It becomes low level madness in the high season at the hotels, at the morning pickups for the big Chichen Itza tours. There are huge buses coming into the hotel and everyone thinks the big bus is theirs. Our guide walked right up to the lobby and yelled out our name, we were on our way. The tour was extremely information, comfortable the bus was very high end, clean, and the federal tour guide assigned to us was amazing. I loved the international mix of tourists on our trip as well. There were only 3 families like us from the States, and then 11 different countries among the other families. Chichen Itza was obviously the highlight but the other couple stops were great as well. An extra 30-60 minute on our own at Chichen Itza would have improved the experience a bit for us - we only had about 40 minutes after our tour to go around on our own. In all it's a tour I highly recommend.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Mike X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The guide Ricardo is very knowledgeable in history and culture. He is also fun and excited about helping guests know and enjoy the ancient Mayan culture, language, and architecture. The trip is very organized and planned well. We just took full advantage of it and realized it was too short. We stayed in Chichen Itza a bit short but the rest of items was covered well and in depth. Absolutely recommend it and it will be really worth it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour! Super early start, but you can get a couple of hours sleep on the bus and worth it to beat the crowds and the heat. Frank was a excellent guide and we all learned so much about Mayan culture and beliefs - I would have missed out on so much going by myself. Take your own lunch though...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Jie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Smooth arrangements and good price performance.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun trip. It is a long drive out there, but they put on some old, wildly colored retro bus that made for a fun ride. We stop at a Mayan place to shop, where they took our picture and then offered us a bottle of Mayan liquor with our picture on it. The ruins were incredible and we stopped and a scenic water hole not alcohol but actual hole in the earth. The only thing that sucked was the rain that day, but it was a great trip

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing tour. My mom and I were so glad we took the early tour even though it was so hard to get up at 4:15am but it was totally worth it. Carlos the driver and Marco the tour guide were so great. Marco knows his stuff and he is funny too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic excursion. The whole family loved it. Marco the tour guide really brought to life the ancient Mayan civilisation and their incredible feats of engineering were. We also liked the fact that we arrived early no big queues and we were back at the hotel early afternoon. Go ahead and book it - you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Jaydeep N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was great day trip with a small group of 10-12 people. Tony was very knowledgeable and provided great insights during the tour. Highly recommend the day trip.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Terry J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the 7 wonders of the modern world with good reason. Truly impressive. And you really should take advantage of the early access, since it offers not only small group liberties but you can get some unobstructed by tourists shots. Expansive grounds with monumental edifices. Our guide was knowledgeable while adding a bit of unsubstantiated and factually questionable color for fun. The property is well maintained by the state - something which distressed me while visiting Pompeii. A proud cultural achievement presented by a proud country. Not to be missed - well worth the time and cost.
Note that the tour will require a full day. We left at 5:00AM from the Iberostar Tucan in Playa Del Carmen and returned at about 3:30PM. There were stops on the way for those needing the bathroom and there is food/drink available on site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archaeologist

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip to Chichen Itza was fantastic and made all the better by our guide, Marco!! Marco was very knowledgeable of the site and his lectures on the site were fascinating and thought provoking. Amazingly, Marco switched from English to Spanish without breaking stride and repeated everything in both languages. He was so good that when he told us he had more to tell but was beyond the time for us to wander by ourselves, no one in the group wanted him to stop sharing his knowledge. For the site itself, pictures do not do it justice and even after all the research I had done before going, I was surprised by all the cool things that aren't described or mention in the literature. You have to see it to fully appreciate!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The weather was great. The Chichen Itza tour about the Mayan culture and architecture was wonderful. The knowledge and history of the area presented by our guide Maurcicio was outstanding. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Joree R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The whole day was fantastic! From a timely pick up at 5:30am, to a comfortable bus, a friendly bus driver, and a wonderful tour guide - Marco - the day was great! Marco was super knowledgeable and passionate about the Mayan civilization and his love of his work heightened our experience. I highly recommend this tour! I also highly recommend doing the early pick up - we actually have a photo of us with not one person in the background in front of the big temple!! By the time we left, it was super crowded, not to mention really hot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Louise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really enjoyed this tour, worth going with these guys, they did their best to avoid the crowd and were very informative. The female archaeologist was very good, I think her name was Elda, can't remember exactly. Also the gentleman with the long hair in a ponytail, can't remember his name, but he looked after us so well. Sorry I can't remember their names, but fully recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Graham M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant day, an amazing place. Riccardo the guide was excellent, very helpful and gave lots of information :- Not sure whether I'd bother with the food at the cenote swim - very busy and the food was okay but nothing special - not a particularly relaxing experience owing to the sheer number of people arriving at the cenote wanting to be served food.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message