One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2709 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jingwen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

great tour with great tour guide! even tho we had to be at the lobby for pick up at 5:30 AM and it did involve multiple pickups and a tour bus transfer, we were officially on our way around 7 AM , we were back at our Cancun resort at 3 pm. I like that because we still had some time that day to enjoy some beach and dine in the restaurant.
our guide started the intro on the bus around 8:30 am so we could catch up some sleep before and we arrived Chicken Itza at 9:30 AM, we had about over one hour guided tour and over an hour free time for ourselves before we headed home around noon. when I thought an hour guided tour was not enough, it was more than enough! we learnt most of the things we need to know about the place before we were melted in the sun..lol... early access is a big plus because during our tour, it was nice and quiet but by the time we are done, there were mountain of people there.
Definitely recommend this tour to people who would like to check out Chichen Itza but do not want to spend whole day for the tour. tour itself was very interesting as well!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Olga K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We would recommend this tour! Shout out to Carlos Moo who was an excellent guide and shared part of his he is Mayan culture and heritage with us. We usually don't take tours but we were not sure how secure the area was and how the drive would be so we decided to take this tour. Everything was on time: they picked us up at 7:25am as we were told and we left every place shopping/rest stop, Chichen Itza and cenote as planned. We read about Mayan culture before going on this tour but Carlos added some interesting somewhat touristy facts about the place and culture. Again, we recommend this tour. But if you are a group of four and feel comfortable driving it is a relatively easy drive, maybe consider doing yourself. But if you want everything organized for you, take this tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Jiening L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

our guide Frank is very nice and knowledgeable. Surprising to know that he is a Mayan! thanks to our driver carlos i think. i wish we could have another 30 mins or more to talk around.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Walker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent guide and well planned trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Carol L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this trip. We were picked up at the Hotel in Riviera Maya and taken to Cancun where we met our Tour bus for Chitzen Nitza. Our Driver Jesus was very pleasant. For the tour we had excellent guides, Ricardo , Alexi and Jerry who kept us well informed. We certainly learned a great deal about the Mayans. We visited the Mayan gift shop before going on to the Ruins. After the Ruins we were taken for Lunch, very delicious Buffet, then many of us went down to the Cenote.
After leaving that amazing place we were then taken into a Colonial town where we saw one of the Oldest Churches, then back to Cancun where our Driver was waiting to take us back to our Hotel.
My only regret is that as I am not a swimmer, I did not swim in the Cenote, I would certainly like the experience. I have lots of pictures to remind me of this wonderful place.
Thank you Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Onyx R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you're debating whether or not you should go on this tour, let go of all your doubts and just go through with it you will not be disappointed. I went on this tour with my partner about a month ago and not a week has gone by without us mentioning this tour. It's that good!

To say that our tour guide, Carlos, was phenomenal would be a disservice to him. He was charismatic, funny, knowledgeable, and professional. Yet above all else, he provided a sense of authenticity that one rarely expects from a tour guide. Simply put, he will redefine your standards for how future tour guides should make you feel. While I have no doubts that his co-workers are just as good, if you have Carlos, get ready for the tour of a lifetime!

Admittedly, the one downside of this whole tour is the lunch that's included. While it's not anything to be mad at--considering all the other great experiences that are included in this package-- it's not the most mind-blowing food either.

Be warned: After taking this trip, you will not shut up about it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

alison m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The excursion was well worth getting up early. Marco was excellent at showing us many details that We all thought were amazing. He had pictures and explained many interesting finding that they know about the Mayan people. He showed us some amazing sounds throughout the site and was ready to answer questions. He knew so much , I would definately do a smaller tour just with him to learn more. thank you, it was fabulous

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archaeologist

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour. Tour guide Marco was very knowledgeable and made the tour fascinating. Although the pickup time was very early, it was worth it to not compete with the crowd to see everything and hear the guide. I especially appreciated splitting our group into 2 groups English and Spanish speaking so each group was small enough to interact with Marco.

Linda C.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archaeologist

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We were picked up at our hotel in a big clean almost new bus and 3 hours later arrived at Chichen Itza. We were the first tour group to arrive in the morning, which meant we walked right in and started the guided tour immediately. Our guide, Frank, was a font of information on Mayan culture and the history of Chichen Itza. What a great tour with so much fascinating information, I recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Stephan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good organization and an amazing guide who really enjoyed what he was doing, it was just a great day!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Lora D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was Marco and driver Ramon and we were SO pleased with the experience! The early access was worth the early morning wake up because we beat the heat yes, even in February, it was hot by midday and the crazy lines that were forming as we were leaving. We really got to hear what our guide was telling us without him having to shout over any other tours. By the time we left, the place was a madhouse, so it was an ideal time slot. Definitely bring a hat or rent an umbrella, its bright out there!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Sonja S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The bus was more than punctual and picked me up at 5.10 am, it was really modern and with a/c. After picking up the others we stopped one more time and then went to Chichen Itza.
Frank, our guide, was just awesome! Really helpful, attentive and so nice! After we could sleep a little bit he gave us some information about the Maya, Chichen Itza etc. When we arrived we were one of the first visitors, which was great. Frank led the english-speaking tour and was great! He is so passionate and loves what he does and what he believes in (he and #39;s a descendent of the Maya, which makes it even more interesting). He recommended us a mayan calendar of a date we want (birthday or something else). I did so and it and #39;s a really original souvenir from Mexico!
The tour took 1,50 hours and was not boring at all! Everything was explained very well and you could feel how the Maya must have lived. That and #39;s maybe because Frank really enjoyed telling us more about the lives of the Maya. And you could feel it!
After the tour we had spare time (1,50 hours) and then went back to Cancún. This was good because it was starting to get really hot and crowded! The lunch is really okay and at the end we even got a bottle of water.

The tour was just amazing, and Frank and Oscar, our driver, were awesome! I would absolutely recommend this tour if you want to see Chichen Itza avoiding the crowds and the heat. With this tour you get to know the mayan culture but still have some free time by returning to your hotel in the afternoon (I got home at 3 pm, perfect!).

Thank you so so much, Frank and Oscar!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Adolfo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Highly Recommend the Early AM tour. Marco, Cesar,and Mario did a fabulous job providing safe travel as well as a very informative tour. Be sure to dress comfortable. Bring sun screen,a hat, sun glasses and Mexican currency to buy souvenirs from the many vendors through out the park.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Super Frank was a great guide! Elisar was a wonderful driver who got us there and back safely.

This tour leaves early but we were the first bus there and employees were still shuffling in. This allowed unobstructed views and photos of the sites.

The included box lunch is for breakfast on the road.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Eddy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely spectacular ! Tour of a life time. We read many reviews and a common theme was to take the early trip to beat the heat and the crowd and they are right! The early trip is worth getting up for. If you can do it twice, take the guided tour one day and then go back another day just to roam around on your own. The meal is a meager snack so take something of your own to eat. If it's your lucky day you will get Super Frank as your guide. If you have the option to pick a guide you better pick Super Frank because of his knowledge of his Mayan culture. Can't say enough good things about this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Jeff J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing. The food involved was great. Tour guides fun and knowledgeable about the sites. We especially enjoyed Xel-Ha.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Humphrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was actually operated by Mayaland Tours. It was a very good tour company. Our tour guide Rosendo and driver Oscar was great. Rosendo is polite and knowledgable and wasn't pushy about selling extra sourvenier. The company uses newer MB vehicles for all their transportation and all the drivers are professional. The tour really don't have a lot of free time to be on your own due to length of travel time from Cancun but enough time to enjoy the site at Chichen Itza. The included buffet lunch at the hotel is average but will satify your hunger but should include at least one freshment suggesion.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very good tour and knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Nicholas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Marco, the Private Archaeologist was everything we hoped for and more. Marco was not only highly knowledgeable, but he share that knowledge in an effective, meaningful and interesting manner. His English and Spanish was impeccable, and his ability to switch between the two languages mid sentence was impressive. Marco added the context that the site deserves and without his guidance we would have missed the essence of this great site.
Early access to the site also was a big benefit as there were hardly any people there. By the time the tour was over the real crowds were coming in.
Overall a real highlight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

netespagete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. We have teenage boys. They enjoyed it too. It's a super early pick-up, but I can't imagine going on this tour any later in the day. We left the ruins before lunch, in November, and it was already getting super hot outside. If you want a day away from the beach, this is a good way to spend it. We were picked up at the Westin Lagunamar - easy. Some reviews said we could bring our camera. So, I lugged the big bag with us, and our guide said no cameras allowed. I had to leave it on the bus. Once in the park, everyone used their cell phone cameras anyway. The lunch was a minimal bag sandwich, etc. On the way up, our regular coach bus stopped at a 7-11 type store for snacks and a bathroom. There was also a large tourist-y snack bar in the park. Get comfortable with the fact that it's a few hours to get to Chichen Itza, a few hours to do the actual tour, and then a few more hours to drive back to the Cancun strip. Worth it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

From start to finish this tour is absolutely awesome. The guides Beto and Norma were fascinating. Top quality sites, great atmosphere. Would recommend the tour to anyone looking for an indepth and cultural tour of Chichen Itza.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

kirablaser49

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our driver and guide were just super. Ramon got us to and from, safely and Marco was very knowledgeable although not an archeologist, as advertised. Marco loved his job and you could tell. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. We were glad we went on the early tour since when we left the ruins it was getting crazy with people and busses. The box Iunch was mediocre but fine. Bathrooms available but toilet paper lacking so take your own! We were glad we got up early for the experience. Hot and sunny but there was shade, too. We were ready for bugs but never saw any.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message