One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

juliojjansen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a place!! My only regret was not buying the tour that included Valladolid. Will do it next time!! I'll definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

lars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a BLAST of a tour! Pickup worked smoothly and on-time, transferring to a bigger tour-bus. First hour the whole bus was quite quiet - everybody sleeping. Last hour or so before arriving, the guide Frank gave a thorough presentation on the Mayan history, also setting the scene for what we were about to see.
During the actual visit, Frank once again proved to be a VERY competent guide, knowing his history. Amazing trip - ending around noon - back to a chilled bus, beating all the usual tour-bus lines arriving late. A DEFINITE must see when in Cancun - and definitely go for this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day where you learn so much about the Mayan culture both past and present. Ricardo and his team were fantastic and so enthusiastic!
It was a long day! So be prepared but you see so much and experience so much you can and #39;t complain! A great day out. Thank you

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Darin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. It was great to get there early before all of the crowds. I would happily take this tour again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Jerry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time during this tour. We had great service from our tour guide Frank and bus driver Ramon. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Nelson C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

espectacular

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Raman O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall the tour was very good.The Guide Carlos was excellent .Just the first stop at the shop was more like a trap but may be some people like it.Would recommend .

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Anne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thought the tour was very well done. Organized and lots of wonderful history and facts. We highly recommend the early AM, to beat the heat and the crowds. We would highly recommend this trip. Only thing is the lunch they provide is not good. A homemade bologna sandwich with banana and juice box? It would be much better to provide waters, granola bar and cracker/cookie. Things that people are more apt to eat. Otherwise just provide waters and skip the food all together. It was not a lunch.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Gia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was everything. I highly recommend you go on this excursion to get to experience Mexico's historical culture first hand.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kristina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this tour online before going to Cancun. It was a long day but totally worth the trip. We were picked up on time and were driven to a meeting place where we boarded a comfortable, AC bus, complete with clean restroom in the back. Our tour guide,Carlos Moo pronounced Mo was very professional, informative and entertaining. He is of Mayan heritage and shared a wealth of information with us.He even passed out pictures, various artifacts and maps. We learned some Mayan phrases and our kids 9 and 12 were fascinated and engaged the whole time. We were taken to a local artisan village for some shopping. Here we found beautiful textile, jewelry, pottery, ceramics,T shirts, food and drinks. A Mayan youth student who temporarily joined us in the bus, sold bottles of native anise alcoholic drink can't remember name with our pictures on the label taken earlier outside of the bus in the artisan shop. We also had a chance to sample the drink. We continued to Chichen Itza and marveled at this amazing site. Carlos told us to expect a lot of vendors as we initially got to the site. He wasn't joking. Bring small bills, some vendors don't have change. As we continued on, Carlos eagerly told us the historical significance and meaning of the structures. He tried to find shaded areas where he told us more interesting facts about the Mayan culture and answered all our questions. We took more pictures after about 90 mins with Carlos. We had a buffet lunch then swam in the cenote. We showered before entering to prevent harsh chemicals contaminating the cenote. Life vests are available.The bus tour took us to Valladolid, a traditional town. Here we walked around the plaza, took more pictures and had ice cream. We were later dropped off at our hotel. I recommend this tour!. Chichen Itza is an amazing place.The cost of the tour included the entrance fees and lunch as well. Just bring money for shopping and much appreciated tips. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Rita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was excellent. And doing the early bird tour was well worth it. We beat both the heat and crowds. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Paula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had such an amazing time and would highly recommend this trip for all visitors to Cancun. Our Guide- Marco, and our driver- Carlos, collected us on Wednesday morning last at 05.25hrs from our Hotel. They left us all in peace for about another hour until everyone woke up properly. Marco has a real passion for this tour and is a Fantastic Bi Lingual Guide. We all felt included and he increased our interest in Chichen Itza and the Mayan History with his super knowledge. We loved that we got to the site early so that we avoided the large lunchtime crowds and also the lunchtime heat! We had a really awesome time- and would highly suggest this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

ecrew404

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this trip - Frank was an excellent, informative guide - you could tell he was very proud to be a Mayan himself. Great to leave the driving to someone else and the early entry was worth getting picked up at 5am. No facilities on the bus, but they did not making a pit stop on the way back.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

dinesh_nalaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best excursion
We were 9 people and stayed in Akumal, GS Mayan Beach away from all other resorts.
Our pickup was at 4.20 am., Transfer van came on the dot 4.20am and there were several pickups on the way, only one pickup didnt go well but the driver was very patient and waited for the 3 female passenger to get ready and get on the van.
Transfer to the coach was done in reasonable time due to the hickup. When boarding the coach we were handed a box lunch.
Our Guide was Mario he was AMAZING! So knowledgeable and shared his own thoughts experience about Mayan culture and answer all questions,

the early access was the Best decision with Viators.

Mario explained extremely well and showed every angel of the Bull court/games, sound travel distance directions, main pyramid, important tablet markings, Vinus pyramid, sacrifice tables/pyramid and relations to modern world.and many more. Thank you Mario
We recommend Viators and Amigo travels for any one.
Tips.
Call Amigo travels to confirm pickup time
Be ready to board the pickup van Dont make other wait for you.
Take plenty of water, Hats, snacks, Sunglasses, Camera Video Cam, sunscreen.
Most importantly proper working shoes.
Before entrance go to the washrooms, on your way back you will have a mile long lineup.
Finally Purchase the Mayan calendar through the tour operators and help the Mayan community.

We will use Viators again with out hesitation.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

KW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice and organized tour with good eat and good see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Kade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So worthwhile! You get there before everyone else and when the day is much cooler. Right when we left the whole place was just swamped with people. I can't say enough about our tour guide Frank. He knew so much about these structures and was able to make Chichen Itza come alive.You could tell how passionate he was about Mayan history. I would definitely recommend visiting Chichen Itza through Amigo Tours!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Brittany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was AMAZING! Our guide was FANTASTIC! So interesting and knowledgable. He was even helpful with picking out meaningful souviners.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pre trip pick up information a bit lacking but trip and guide both fantastic

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Patrice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an amazing experience! Our guide was so knowledgeable! I couldn't have asked for a better excursion to take! The early access was so worth it. We beat some of the worst heat of the day as well as the crowds. We were able to get a picture of the main structure without any people in it. How great is that! The only downside was we were never contacted about the pick up time. We had to call ourselves the day before. But that is the only negative I have about it. Pick up time was very prompt and the bus ride was comfortable. If you're thinking about doing the early access, it's worth it!! Do it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the very early start to view the ruins at chichen itza before it got too hot. The guide, Frank, was fantastic and very knowledgeable about the myans and the ruins. He took us round for 90 minutes, explaining everything in detail. The only down side was that our early morning pick up which was to take us to meet the bus was 45 minutes late, which was not good when you are waiting from 5.30am!! We booked Viator as used them in the to visit the grand canyon with no problems, so a little disappointed this time round.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Jpchoc3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great food and entertainment. Excellent facilities and staff. Definitely a place to enjoy when in Cancun.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Kate W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A van picked us up at around 5:40am from our hotel in Playa del Carmen. Then we were dropped off at a large air conditioned bus. Bring a sweater or blanket because the bus got very cold. There are no bathrooms on the bus but they will make a pit stop halfway. We didn't get a chance to have breakfast but they provided us a sack lunch consisted of a sandwich, juice, cookies, and banana when we got on so you can split the food for breakfast and lunch.

We got to Chichen Itza around 9:20am and there wasn't a lot of people there. Our buses were one of the first ones. Our guide was Frank whom we enjoyed listening to as he provided information about Mayan history in a interesting and somewhat entertaining way. His compassion for the Mayan people exudes as he is a Mayan himself. We were given a few minutes to take photos and they came out nice since there's hardly any people photobombing.

After two hours of information around the ruins, we were given one hr of free time to roam about. You can buy souvenirs created by real Mayan people and you can usually get a good price with bargaining skills. There's a cenote near by but you can't swim in it.

By the time we were done, there were crowds and crowds of people in the park and in the lobby. It was also starting to get blazing hot. We were so glad that we came early. It was worth it. We got back to our hotels around 4pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Carolina Joan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was an amazing experience and the tour guide was fascinating story teller.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the trip to Chichen Itza, long day but very informative and great for history buffs. Our tour guide Ricardo was very knowledgeable and gave us a very good tour of the site, not just the history, but the how and why the structures were built the way they were. The trip to the cenote was very cool as well, could have spent a couple more hours there but unfortunately only so many hours in the day. Lunch was tasty similar to most of the all-inclusive buffets at the resorts, and it was cool to see the present-day Mayan village and the colonial town as well.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dora M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome!! Will book again :-

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message