One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2556 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

we left early 4am but it was worth all the effort. The guide Marco was amazing in the knowledge of Maya culture and chichen itza . I would highly recommend this tour above the others because the knowledge you recieve you will find nowhere else. L.S. Lenexa Ks

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

jacquelyn.n.luna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was exactly as described. We were a bit concerned finding our with the ferry, but the tour staff made it easy by meeting up with us to give the ferry tickets and finding us once we arrived in Playa Del Carmen. Bus was nice and comfortable for the long ride to and from, and the included beverages with the package was a definite bonus. The ruins were very impressive and the hotel was very cool and relaxing. The whole trip was pretty tiring due to all the travel, but overall very good experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

ccaudle36

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a blast. Great info from the tour guide, and the swim at the connote was such a wonderful experience

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was my first experience with viator and I have to say it was EXCELLENT!! We were prepared for a long day, in total 10 hours. But it was well worth it. Frank, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and had a personality that made the trip fun!! I would recommend this trip to anyone!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Ruizhi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very informative and helpful! Learned a lot about the Mayan culture. He advised not to purchase inside of Chichen Itza which would encourage the archaeology site to be a market. We really appreciate that! Though I feel the stop at the gift shop was not needed. But different travelers may have different opinions.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

westchestermd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent and magical experience. Visiting this UNESCO heritage site and experiencing the Cenote were magical adventures. Our guide was very excellent!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chichen Itza was amazing! Bring some pesos for all the vendors cause they are everywhere! Be prepared to have a mixed tour of Spanish and English. Xcaret was wonderful! Bring your own snacks! Great variety for everyone. The show was great to stay for! Loved the turtle hatchery!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

kyle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Delio was the best guide Ive ever had. Very nice, jovial, knowledgeable, and he has some great night pics of the pyramid! Answered everyone's questions with enthusiasm and insight!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Nilton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Pick up, transportation and guide explanations perfects. I strongly recommend

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

15001309784

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Have a wonderful time!!Next time I will choose viator again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour November 2016 to Chichen Itza was amazing. Our guide, Marco, was entertaining and very informative and he made our visit more than just a sightseeing event. During our bus ride, Marco presented some Mayan history and background of the site - in English and Spanish. While at Chichen Itza, his presentations were more than just explanations as he made each temple and building come alive with simple demonstrations.
We were picked up from our resort, north of Cancun proper, on time and the bus ride to Chichen Itza was comfortable.
The early access option beat the crowds and the heat. It was a good choice for us.
Wonderful time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

KAB2942 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rules:
1. Small backpacks only
2. They charge to bring video cameras in.
3. Phones, gopros, and professional cameras are allowed in at no additional cost. NO TRIPODS
4. They do sell food and drinks inside and outside the park.
Carlos the driver and Frank the tour guide were amazing. It is about 2.5 hours from Cancun to Chichen Itza. There are no bathrooms on the bus, but we did make a stop for restrooms about 30 mins in. Bring sunscreen, bug spray and comfortable shoes. You have the option of staying with the group or going on your own. I would recommend staying with the group because out guide was of Myan descent, and he knew a lot about Myan culture. The bag lunch was a sandwich, juice, banana, and granola bar. When we first got to the park Frank gave us 15 mins. to take photos before the crowds started arriving. Over 15,000 people come to Chichen Itza a day, so this is why early access is crucial because we got there before the crowds and the heat of the day. We were picked up at out hotel at 5:30 am and arrived back at 3:10 pm. Once we got to Chichen Itza we were divided into groups based on language. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Carlos and Frank were awesome. Carlos was such a great driver and Frank was extremely informative in his discussions of the Mayan culture and Chichen Itza. We were picked up shortly after 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone, and were allowed to sleep for the two hour drive. We arrived at Chichen Itza at opening and found ourselves admiring the ruins with no one else around. This is the BEST way to see Chichen Itza. Bring sunscreen -- it's hot, even in mid-November. Overall, an amazing tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Shennan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was amazing! Definitely take the early tour to get to the site before anyone else. Amigo tours was great, efficient and very knowledgable. Carlos and Marcos were great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Britta L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Early pick up from our hotel with an early arrival at Chichen Itza was well worth it. We had the place to ourselves and were able to take loads of photos and soak up the atmosphere without hundreds of other tourists - as we were leaving it was a different matter. The guide was good, lots of information given to us before our arrival. Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Playa del Carmen.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Carol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an awesome trip. Our guide spoke both English and Spanish and gave a complete brief history of the Maya people while we were on the bus and on our way to Chichen Itza. This was important for all to know and it gave everyone a better understanding of what we were seeing while walking through the site. It was amazing to see what the Maya accomplished so many hundreds of years ago. The trip to the Ik Kil Cenote was absolutely beautiful and the water was so clear and warm for being underground. The food was good and everyone was very friendly and helpful during our tour. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Yucatan and the Maya culture and swim in a beautiful cenote! Next time we plan to see Tulum!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

stephen w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thanks to the family that we met at the airport in Cancun for recommending Viator and the EARLY tour !We can't begin to tell you how privileged my wife and I were to have Marco Solis archaeologist and anthropologist as our tour guide on November 23,2016. It's apparent that he fell in love with Chiche'n Itza as a small boy and that love guided him through his life - on to College to seek his Master's degree and then share the wealth of knowledge he possesses in such a way that YOU feel his passion and want to learn more about the Mayan culture. He is truly a gem and this was one of our BEST tours in the many places that we've traveled around the world!! Be SURE and book the EARLY tour and hopefully you will have Marco as your guide request him IF you can!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

EduBJ Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was more than the expected! Tour guide guys where amazing: plenty of information, excellent transportation, good timing, the more exiting venues a,d the opportunity to check the world wonder. the xenote was a very good experience, lunch with very tasty options, and the extra visit to Valladolid completed an amazing experience. I really recommend this agency.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Gordon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was truly one of the best experiences filled with amazing history at every turn. Thank you for the tour. I would do it again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

alexander r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic experience. I am so glad i chose this version if the tour. It starts early, you nap on the bus, and we got there literally first. By the time we left, there was swarms of people starting to show up. Marco, the guide, was spectacular, passionate, and organized.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

brent.costa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Ricardo was an excellent tour guide! The lunch was okay, but the Chichen Itza tour and cenote swim as amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Gabriel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing - I was in awe and the tour was highly informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

maryhoeger7725

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

our guide was Frank and our driver was Lucio. Frank was fantastic, very knowledgeable and made this visit very interesting. Going early was the way to go. Even though we had to get up so early, it was worth it. I would recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message