The Coba Ruins, built long ago—sometime between the years 500 and 900—lie deep in the heart of the Yucatan jungle. Visitors can rent bikes or hire rickshaws to travel among the knobby paths and thick forest that link the groupings of ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a great excursion for active folks! You'll really get the most out of the trip by participating in everything it has to offer. We began the day albeit a bit hectic getting picked up directly from our hotel. It was an early start but worth it. There was a bit of confusion as to which bus we were supposed to be on, but after this was sorted out we were on our way. Our driver, Angel and our tour guide, Arthur, made sure we had an enjoyable ride and even made a pit stop after we requested a quick coffee/potty break the drive was 3 hours, so this was needed. We toured the ruins in Coba first. As it was early-access, we avoided the crowds. Arthur was very knowledgeable you could tell he was passionate about the grounds and all Mayan history and gave us a great tour. We rode bikes for the majority of the tour as the grounds are expansive and more easily traveled this way. The climb to the top of The Grand Mountain the big pyramid was one of the most incredible things I've ever done. It was 120 feet up and the view was like nothing I've ever seen and we rock climb!. Getting down was a bit tricky, but there is a rope to hold onto if you're having trouble. It's a must-do. The grounds were VERY full as we were leaving, so we were glad to have been there early. After the climbing and the biking, we traveled to a lagoon on the grounds. We climbed down into the cenote and went for a swim. It was breathtakingly gorgeous -- and quiet! Our group was the only group there. There were bats along-top the stalagmites and small catfish in the water. There were even two diving boards -- my husband jumped off of the lower one. After the cenote swim, we made our way to lunch. It was traditional Mexican cuisine and absolutely delicious. The drive back to the hotel zone in Cancun was long -- the only thing I would recommend is that the transport offered be a bit more roomy and cooler. We didn't have the AC running on full blast and the quarters were close. However, that is the only thing I would change about this tour. The rest of it was breathtaking and a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

SUE F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is handled locally by Amigo tours. Although the pick up was at 5 am, it is worth it to get to Coba early. Marco was our guide and he was excellent. He made the guided tour of Coba both fun and interesting. The bike riding was a fun way to move about. We did not have any free time at the ruins
The cenote swim was in an undergroung cavern. We had the place mostly to ourselves.
The buffet lunch of Mayan food was excellent.
This was the best of my 3 ruin tours.
.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We spent the entire day with Sergio. He was so knowledgeable about Coba and Tulum. His deep appreciation for Mexico and the Mayan people was inspiring. He was funny and engaging too. I would highly recommend this tour and if you can request a guide, ask for Sergio. Only drawback was that I did not know that I could have requested an earlier pick up time. We got a bit of a late start which meant more traffic and mid day heat. Benjamin, our driver, got us to Coba/Tulum and back to Cancun with great ease and professionalism. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

mtksimpson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour! Our guide and driver were excellent, knowledgeable and fun to talk with. Coba is an amazing site and we learned a lot but were also able to explore and enjoy our visit. The Cenote swim was fantastic, beautiful cavern and water. So bummed our underwater camera decided to quit on us, so we didn't get pictures of the cenote.
It gets very hot in the jungle, a morning tour is best and bring water!! Wear good hiking shoes if you want to climb the ruins, the ground is uneven in a lot of places. We would definitely go back! Highly recommend this tour if you want something different, informative and beautiful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Having been to Tulum we wanted to visit Coba. The site itself was very rustic and very large. We were given bicycles to fully enjoy the area and had about 1 hour to explore after the 30 minute tour. We went all the way to the top of the pyramid. Going up was not so bad but coming down was brutal. It is very steep and, while there is a rope to hold onto, I was still very nervous...not for kids!! We were constantly amazed at the things in Mexico that would be considered very dangerous in America! Just use common sense and go slowly and you will be fine. From Coba we were taken to a Cenote that was fabulous. It was deep in the Earth and, again, had many wet, slick steps. Once there, the water was crystal clear and cold/refreshing! Those were the good things...the bad thing was the time to get there. We had to meet our driver at 5am which meant leaving the hotel at 4:15 to be on time. There were several other pick up points so the ride was around 3.5 hours. Plus it was another 3.5 hours coming back. While the tour was amazing, the bus ride would have been a deal breaker if we had only realized the time spent on the bus. I would still highly recommend-it was one of my favorite days because I figure that someday soon the climbing to the top of the pyramid with be banned. ...and we can say that we went all the way to the top!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Kyle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this tour. It was a small group only 10 of us and that made it much more personal than some of the larger tours I took on my trip. Jesus was a great tour guide. He works incredibly hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable trip. Luis drove the van and safely got us to and from Coba. It's hard to pick one favorite moment from the trip. Climbing the ruins, biking through the jungle, ziplining over a lake that had crocodiles in it, and visiting a Mayan village were all experiences that I'll never forget. The dinner and the show were a huge bonus. The food was great especially the pork. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Sunset Tour with Cultural or Extreme Experience Plus Dinner and Show

ELIZABETH M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great. The driver and guide were excellent. Tulum was amazing but coba and the cenote swim were unbeatable. This trip is a must.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Ben Holmes United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour, like our Chichen Itza one, was absolutely fantastic. We were picked from our hotel and introduced to our tour guide, a very nice and funny man called Uk pronounced 'Ook' He went through the history of the area of Tulum and it's significance in the Mayan culture, and spoke about life as a descendant of the Mayans. After Tulum, we travelled along in and stopped off at the cenote for a swim. The water was lovely and cooling after being in the Mexican heat! It was a nice chance to get chatting to some of the other people on our tour, there were people from the USA, Ireland, France and Italy and it was really nice to speak to all of them.

After our cenote swim we stopped off for lunch close to the Coba site, it was a buffet and the food was absolutely fantastic. The food wasn't the stereotypical Mexican food that you might expect, but more of the traditional food eaten in the Yucatan by the Mayan descendants, which I have to say I preferred.

After lunch we went to the Coba site, which for the initial part was walking through the dense area of trees to get to the site, which was actually very nice as it kept the sun off of our heads. After roughly twenty minutes we arrived at the Coba ruins, again like with Chichen Itza it took me a minute to fully comprehend what I was seeing and where I was, it was a truly breathtaking site to behold. Then the fun part began where we got to climb up it! The Coba ruin is very steep and gets narrower the closer you get to the top, and many people zoomed ahead to then slow down from fatigue about half way through, so my advice is to be like the tortoise and go slow and steady all the way to the top.

Now what can I say about when you reach the top? The feeling is amazing, you feel like a Mayan leader addressing their subjects down on the ground beneath them, and looking round and all you can see is the dense trees of the Yucatan stretching across the horizon underneath clear blue skies. It is well worth the effort to get to the top! I'd also say as well that the site is very busy, but if you're quick you can get a couple of photos without someone standing in front of you, I even nearly managed to get a clear panorama from the top.

If you're going to the Yucatan area, I would 100 recommend that you visit this area. Even if history and ruins aren't really your thing, the views from the top are truly breathtaking and definitely something to remember.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Gunter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A realy great trip. I had the Cichen Itza trip day tour also with cenote swimming the week before. But the marvelous location of Tulum beach side and those of Coba in the jungle was a bit better, though different from cichen Iza. The cenote was more a kind of Family operated pool, which was fine, because it was not crowded by too many tourists. Some complained about the simple Food, but it was fine for me.
A really good recommendation for a day trip from Cancun

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was everything and more than we expected! We had the best guide Sam and his whole team made the experience a once in a lifetime experience! From the blessing of the Mayan Holy man to climbing Coba the tallest Mayan ruin on the Yucatan, to repelling 60 feet into a Cenote cave to zip lining across the open Cenote to the amazing food....cannot say enought great things!

Doing what: Maya Adventure from Cancun: Coba Ruins, Traditional Village and Cenote Swim

WILLIAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Collected from RIU Playacar at 6.50am by a minibus and taken to a filling station were we met other travellers, we then travelled to Coba, we arrived early enough and had a trouble free entry and given an in-depth commentary by the guide, we were then offered push bikes but we took the offer of been pedaled by a local lad for 100, and when the others caught up I believe we made the right decision,, hot and humid and pedalling bikes! we were then given the opportunity to climb the pyramid which I took which resulted in my leg muscles taking 3 days to recover!, please bear in mind it is HOT, then off to a restaurant, drinks were charged as extra, then off to a ceynote, overall a very good trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Olga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The experience on this trip was awesome. We learn so much of Maya history.
My daughter was happy with this trip.
Tulum park was big and was, so hot! Make sure to bring water, sunblock and hat. Go shooping here better.
Coba, waoooooo.... We walk a lot to see this beautiful place. We was able to climb and take pictures. Was raining by the time we got there, but we still had a blast.
Yes, you need to climb this place.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Khanh Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Luis, our guide was wonderful. Shared some interesting history and even received a shaman Mayan blessing. The cenote swim fit perfectly in between the Tulum and Coba ruins. The lunch was good too! We had a great time! Perfect balance between our guide and letting us explore on our own.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

gilbfried

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Florentio was a great guide and really gave us a personal experience and perspective. He and the driver were great and Coba was much nicer than Chicen Itza as there were not vendors every five feet bothering you when all you want to do is look at the scenery.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Santana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I went on the 26th and the tour guy was so awesome! Very nice, really informative. We rode bicycles to the Coba Ruins and it was so much fun bicycles were included! Got to climb to the top and saw an amazing view. Afterwards we cooled off at the Cenote. Which was beautiful in its self. Overall, the trip went very well. We all had a great time and I learned a lot! DEFINITELY recommend this tour!!! SO worth the money!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

sandra e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guides were great. We went to a mayan village and did a religious ceremony, ate homemade tortillas, jumped into a cenote. The lunch they severed was amazing. Then we went to Coba, make sure you bring sneakers for Coba. I also recommend taking the mayan limo to the main temple. It's a far walk. Great trip!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

willem v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wat een ontzettend mooie tour
Wij vonden Coba geweldig, de gids die we in het park kregen gaf ons veel informatie. Na de rondleiding zijn we op de fiets door de jungle naar de Coba gegaan en daar de Coba beklommen eenmaal boven heb je een geweldig uitzicht over de jungle, maar heel mooi

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

olivia m United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was incredible! The repelling into the cenote, the zip lining, canoe ride, even climbing pyramid at the coba ruins! Everything exceeded my expectations and Eddie was an amazing guide. We laughed the whole time. Make sure to carry good walking shoes. I paid $30 for all my pics plus video

Doing what: Maya Adventure from Playa del Carmen: Coba Ruins, Traditional Village and Cenote Swim

Shundreka M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend! Our tour guide was knowledgeable and easy to understand. I hope to visit again but without my 4 year old twins. The walking was too much in the heat for them and also for my husband that has a heart condition. The walk from the Tulum parking spot to the entrance was a bit lengthy but they did okay. The length of the park for Coba was too much for them as well but you could purchase the services of a bike rider to peddle you back to the end of the park and back. Cant wait to revisit!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the better tours that we took during our vacation. Pick-up was at our hotel in cancun. Then we traveled in a passenger van to the Mayan Village where some of the tour people split to do the adventure part. Zip-line and repel We toured the Mayan Village and was blessed by their Shaman before jumping into their Centote. Afterwards we went back and met up with the group and had a wonderful traditional Mayan lunch! Loved the Chicken! Food was fresh and well made! Next onto the Coba ruins where we had our Mayan tour guide educate us on the Mayan culture and history!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

waltersja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were both very happy in taking the Tulum and Coba Ruins tour and highly recommend. The guides were very informative and we had an wonderful time. We did really enjoyed stopping at the cenote but would have preferred more time shopping, eating, taking pictures and learning more history in Tulum and Coba areas. We will remember the experience forever and happy with the tour choice!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Yosu A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour. Our tour guide was Luis, who is well informed and helpful. The Tulum site is beautiful. The ruins are not large, but it's right next to the ocean, and it's lovely. Quite crowded. The format is to tour with the guide, who gives an explanation of the different buildings and then you get a short period of time for photographs.

Afterwards, you get back on the bus and go to the lunch location. It's like a campground - there is a small enclosed kitchen with tables where you eat a buffet style lunch of tacos - chicken, and pork, rice and beans, and vegetables. It's a simple meal, but it's good. Afterwards, you can swim in the cenote limestone pool. It's not deep, and the water is very clear. Remember to bring your swimsuit and towels. The site doe not have towels for your use. There is also a small jewelry stand where you can buy silver jewelry made on site. Don't forget to bargain, it's part of the custom.

Afterwards, in the afternoon you go to Coba, which is another site in the jungle. The tour guide once again walks you around several of the main sites, and then the highlight is to climb the pyramid at Coba. This is the tallest pyramid in the Yucatan region and the only one that you can climb. It's not as big as Teotihuacan pyramids, but very enjoyable. The site is large - it's about 2 kilometers 1 mile or so from the entrance of the park to the main pyramid. The choices are walking, renting a bicycle 50 pesos I forget exactly, or renting a rickshaw 75 pesos I think where someone pedals you in a cart. In our group no one walked. We took one of the other 2 options. By the time you get to Coba, it's afternoon, so it probably makes sense to bicycle so that you can get there faster. It's quite hot here, even though there are trees. they have a small store where you can buy soft drinks and cold water. Outside of the park they also have souvenir shops.

All in all, it's a very full day and you will enjoy it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

John C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The guides were very knowledgeable at both sites. At Coba make sure you do take the tricycle to the ruins - with a young fellow doing all the work. It is a bit of a hike and gives you more time to climb the pyramid and explore.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sourav N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. We were picked from our hotel by Sergio and we drove in a lovely air conditioned van. Sergio has an excellent grasp of Mexican history and enlightened us on the history of Mayan Civilisation along with that Tulum and Coba. The sites are wonderful and different. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our first experience of the Mayan ruins, this was a long day but worth it. It was very hot so and there was not a lot of shad so make sure you take hats and sunscreen. Tulum was amazing to see, our guide spent quite some time explaining things to us. The cenote swim was great a lovely way to cool off and then Coba was great. It is quite a long walk at Coba but you can hire bikes and bike taxis, make the walk and climb the temple. It is quite hard going but worth it when you get to the top.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message