Just off the coast of tourist-laden Cancun, Isla Mujeres is a small island, only 5 miles long (8 kilometers), with fantastic beaches, shopping, and restaurants. Named after the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine, the "Island of Women" ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

wrd_cu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful experience! We were split by language for guided snorkeling at Isla Contoy so there were only 8-10 per group. Saw lots of fish in the clear waters. We climbed the tower and relaxed on the white sand beach after lunch. 1 hr stop at Isla Mujeres was enough. The crew and open bar were a plus!

Doing what: Isla Contoy and Isla Mujeres Combo Tour with Snorkeling from Cancun or Playa del Carmen

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was by far one of the most fun things to do...we took the local bus to the marina, met the crew did the full package deal to include the golf cart run around the 4.3 mile island. The snorkeling was a little crowded because they kept us all together, but the fish were amazing. The lunch provided was fresh cooked on the boat and the dancing was super fun. Highly recommend these guys. John

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

DEEPU M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Simply the tour was amazing. We are so happy that we choose to do both islands rather than the Isla Mujeres. Picked us up from the hotel about 10 min late but reached the ferry terminal on time. Breakfast, as described, is very simple. Cakes, cereals, yoghurt. It takes about one hr to go to Isla Contoy. The staff on the boat were very cheerful and very helpful. Once we reached the Reef area, we were given life jackets and snorkelling gear. As we haven't swimmed in the sea before not very good swimmers we were bit terrified to dive in, but the staff allocated one guide called Gilbert for both of us who was excellent, and he took care of us so well. He patiently waited for us to get used to the gear and helped us snorkel at our pace. The coral reef is amazing, so many colours and so many fishes. In the end, we came across a shark about 10metres from us. The experience was mesmerising and thanks to Gilbert who took care of us so well. Isla Contoy is so serene with crystal clear waters and very few people. I have never been to a beautiful location like this before. We were served Tequila and vodka once back from snorkelling. The drinks kept on coming.
We also went on the Isla Contoy tour where we watched bird nesting and learned the history of the place. The lunch was so tasty. We had grilled fish, grilled chicken, spicy salad rice and tacos. The food tastes so good after the swim, and I love spicy food, perfect Mexican food. We had an unlimited amount of Beer with the lunch.
After a two hour break, we boarded the boat again. The tequila and vodka shots started coming again from the barman. Blasting music on the boat with alcohol the perfect holiday experience. Isla Mujeres was 45 minutes away. After seeing Isla Contoy did not feel very excited about this place. Mujeres looks like a very commercial place with shops and lots of people around. We walked on the streets for an hour and boarded the boat again. Then started the live music with more alcohol. Perfect entertainment for the staff. Another half and hour of live music dance and musical roleplays.
I will certainly recommend this trip. A lovely holiday and this trip were the jewel in the crown.
Again thanks to Gilbert who gave us personal attention at the reef, we loved it so much that we went snorkelling the next day too.

Doing what: Isla Contoy and Isla Mujeres Combo Tour with Snorkeling from Cancun or Playa del Carmen

Chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Book it! You won't regret it!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Sandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The purchase of the tour, directions, hours, inclusions was well communicated and accurate. Staff was friendly and did their best to accommodate all their guests. Lunch was the best and included fresh ceviche, chips, guacamole, fajitas, etc. Very good food and prepared on board. Plenty of seating for everyone. Nice bathroom facility 4 stalls for woman and sinks/soap.The bar area and drinks were a little substandard and they were serving rum punch made with tequila on the way back. Reminder that this is a party boat! The snorkeling was a negative. Without telling the snorkelers ahead of time, the catamaran dropped people off and left a dingy if anyone needed assistance and then parked on the other side of the reef. I understand the need to protect the reef but they shouldn't be leaving snorkelers, in very choppy conditions, while they brought back people so they could party on the boat. What if something happened when the dingy was not present. One guide with one life buoy for 30 people? It just seemed like rough water to leave people out in the open water. My husband enjoyed the snorkeling and didn't seem to mind, experienced in the ocean but wondered where the catamaran was when he looked up. They need to explain that before people commit to snorkeling, especially those inexperienced in choppy waters. Aside from that, the tour was worth the price and the golf cart tour on beautiful Isla Mujeras was a lot of fun with drink and potty stops on the way. I wish it was a longer stay on the island. I would recommend the tour to others

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Rose M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a good package deal. Saved some money not buying them separately. The trips were on back to back days. I would have liked it we could have put a day between the 2 trips. We had 4 kids under 5 so long days and getting up early the next day can be difficult. They wanted to pick us up at 6:45 in the morning for the trip to Xcaret. I know there is a lot to do and see there but we opted to go later due to the early pick up time. We still saw lots and had a great time.
The trip to Isla Mujeres was also fun. The beach was not very good, lots of seaweed but the food was fine. We had lunch at this beach. The snorkeling was good. The cataraman was very fun. The crew was great and very helpful Both trips were enjoyable and glad we took the time to do them.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Isla Mujeres All-Inclusive Catamaran Plus Xcaret Park

yeworkwuha t

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The trip to isla contoy and the snorkeling was great. The only reservation I had was food was not great and the trip to isla mujeres we didn't get to see much of the island. There was no time because time got wasted on isla contoy while we wait for lunch area to be vacated since it was being used by other tours.

Doing what: Isla Contoy and Isla Mujeres Combo Tour with Snorkeling from Cancun or Playa del Carmen

Otis D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The trip was good but I thought the trip would be longer. We didn't spend anytime at the beach even though the trip itinerary said we would. There is also a 12 USD docking fee which I didn't understand.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres All-Inclusive Catamaran Tour from Cancun

Jaimal G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

omg what a trip. Amazing crew. The highlight of my whole trip. mind blowing food and friendliness of crew. Its a must do if you visiting Cancun. Playa mujeres island is beautiful.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Keila A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great experience. The crew is very kind and attentive. The catamaran is clean and with enough space for everybody. I really recommend them.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres All-Inclusive Catamaran Tour from Cancun

geongeo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

There isn't much to review about this trip. It was a simple ferry ride from the mainland to the Island. It was a nice, warm, sunny day that made for a pleasant ride. We rode both ways on the upper deck to take advantage of the beautiful weather.
The seating area that we were in was nice and clean. The seats were as comfortable as you could expect for a ferry.
A couple things that stood out in my mind:
Once we got up to full speed, there was quite a bit of wind to deal with so keeping your hat on or your hair in place was a struggle... something to think about before electing to ride on the upper level.
On the way back, there was a singermusician playing a guitar and singing songs and taking requests. It was a nice touch to accentuate our trip back to the mainland. We never knew if he was an employee of the ferry, or just another passenger who was performing for tips... we tipped him a few bucks.

I can't think of anything about the ride, either way, that I was disappointed or upset with. From what I can remember, the price wasn't anything outrageous.

Doing what: One-Way or Round-Trip Ferry between Cancun and Isla Mujeres

john

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I've been on a lot of sailing excursions, this was the best one.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing Trip to Isla Mujeres from Cancun

Bill F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We just returned from Cancun and took the 4 hour day cruise to Isla Mujeres with the CATmania crew. It was awesome with only 10 people on board. Due to the choppy waves that day we couldn't snorkel, but that was for our own safety.

The crew is excellent from Santiago the Captain to Fernando the first mate. They made sure we always had a drink in hand and took care of us from start to finish. The price was very reasonable, so if you decide to take a Catamaran ride while in Cancun, make sure you book with them. There is a shuttle that picks you up at your Hotel and the dock on return. Our driver was Luis and he was very friendly and timely.

Top notch service!!!

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing Trip to Isla Mujeres from Cancun

Michael F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on the boat cruise. The crew was energetic and made sure we had everything we needed. Our son uses a wheelchair and they were especially helpful with getting him on and off the boat.

You need to be a good swimmer for the snorkeling as it is in the open ocean, but it was fun and the staff watched us all carefully for signs of trouble.

The food was good and served hot and in a well organized fashion.

Overall this was a great experience for us and is clearly a very well run trip.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Arlene S United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip! We saw and swam with so many whale sharks and dolphins! Take something for sea sickness. The ride can be quite rough.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

Kimberly.glenn04

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

To start, the staff was awesome! Super energetic and really put in a lot of effort to make sure everyone had a good time.

We paid extra for the snorkeling, but the day we went out it was super windy and the water was choppy. We didn't see a single fish, but instead felt like we were drowning in a big group of people all feeling the same way. While we were waiting to get back on the ship, I was talking to a man who said he did the tour 5 years ago and said the water wasn't anything like this and when he previously went the reef was filled with fish. Kinda a bummer, but we can't really help the weather.

The food fajitas, chips, guac, rice, and salad were awesome. I thought it was really good. It was cooked fresh onboard too! I also loved the open bar. The staff was good about walking around and refilling drinks! Like I said, they want everyone to have a good time!

The 2 hours at Isla Mujeres was amazing. That island is beyond beautiful! I wish we got to spend more than 2 hours on the island but it was better than nothing!!

The ride back was fun, it included a big dance party and more drinks!!

Don't forget to bring cash so you can tip these guys for being so awesome and accomodating.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Grace F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Pro: nice crew
Con: you and #39;ll wait awhile before getting on the boat. You are starved for a long time as there and #39;s no eating on the boat. Ladies if you and #39;re holding off eating before going on the boat, bad idea. Eat and bring snacks with you before entering the boat. Absolutely nothing to look forward to

Doing what: Isla Mujeres All-Inclusive Catamaran Tour from Cancun

Jeff H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very fun time. Food was excellent and staff was great.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Cancun, I would rate it 10 stars, if I could! Juan and the entire crew work so hard to make sure everyone is having fun! The day included snorkeling, enjoying the beautiful water and scenery, visiting the island, Isla Mujeres, freshly prepared lunch, Salsa lessons, dancing and more! The fun never stops! If you are looking for a quiet boat ride, this is not for you. If you are looking for a good time, do this!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Don S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great time... Thank you for a very fun day.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres All-Inclusive Catamaran Tour from Cancun

Willie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is fun boat so expect fun. The entire crew does a great job. The continental breakfast was good and you can get a much as you want. The same with the lunch of beef and chicken fajitas. You have unlimited drinks-alcoholic and non-alcoholic. The drinks are not that strong so ask for a little extra liquor to be added. The snorkeling could have been fun but the water was too choppy for me and I did not last long in the water. They have a diving board on the board and mostly younger people dove in the water. We then visited Isla Mujueres. Before you board at the beginning of the tour reserve the golf cart ride and tour of the island. We got to visit the southern part of the island with the iguanas. The trip back for party time for the young people on the lower deck and down time with soft music for the older people on the middle deck and of course more drinking. I have told friends that they should take this tour and I will do it again next time I visit Cancun. It is more than worth the money.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

dankellyjosh

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We recently sailed with the Dream Lover.
We had a wonderful time!!
We all wished we had more time on the island. I had read this in previous reviews but was concerned about not having enough to do on the island.
There is more then enough to do!!
We rented a golf cart and a moped 20 and 15 dollars for an hour. We were unable to get these from the tour guides associate so we just asked one of the other street vendors. You need to have your drivers license to rent!! We got lucky and 2 people in my party had theirs!!
Having a boat photographer was great but bargain for the package price... I did not and paid double what some of the other passengers paid lesson learned.
Great excursion... do the day tour if you can.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing Trip to Isla Mujeres from Cancun

steve c

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

It was expensive. Tour workers were trying to make it fun. The food was good

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message