Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 696 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jean-Philippe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour, a must-do if you like Mayan Ruins. I want to mention the incredible work and knowledge of our tour guide MARCO. He is without a doubt, the best tour guide to have around if you do these kind of tours. His english is perfect and he had so much interesting facts and informations to share with us about the ruins, the mayas, the civilization... i've learned so much during this tour. Once again, Marco, remember this name, if you're lucky enough to have him as your guide, you're gonna have a wonderful experience. 10 on 10

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Terry J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Took this tour in January with our guide Luis Carlos Barrera. Great guide, fun, energetic, and attentive. He has a genuine pride and enthusiasm for not only the job but also the environment. Picked up as scheduled, got to Tulum, which was truly impressive, for about 2 hours with a local Tulum guide. Very informative, inspiring me to read up on the Mayan culture. Following that off to the Jungle tour. Luis was so fun and was always aware of individual needs and concerns after all, was a zip line and repelling first for all of us. Don't be anxious about these activities. Luis and the other 'AllTourNative' staff members will take care that you feel safe and enjoy the unique experience. For me the snorkeling in the Cenote was the real jungle highlight. The cave formations were amazing and the clarity and color of the water spectacular. Lunch is a native Mayan preparation and tasty. My only beef is that the pictures taken during the snorkeling and zip lining were available for a rather exorbitant price. I would have bought them had the been 60-70 of the asking price. Hey AllTourNative, selling more at a reduced price has to be more profitable than far fewer at the current price -

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Rick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic all day tour! Our kids (11 and 13 yr olds) really enjoyed all the activities. Alex was a great guide and it was just a super excursion all around. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic day put, our guide Carlos Moreno was so kind, humourous and knowledgable. He knew all our names immediately. We did the cenote trip first, preceded by a purification ceremony which made us all feel honoured to be there. The rappelling was exciting, done in pairs, the swim through the denote was illuminated just by torch light which made it eerie and awesome. Then it was time for a delicious home cooked list lunch of traditional food I the company of the group which was very sociable. The trip to and from the cenote was in an old army vehicle which bounced alocng the path and added to the fun. Then off to Tulum where we were able to sk the very long line. Carlos gilded is through some of he ruins, otherwise we were free to wander and enjoy. We had a thrilling time in the crashing waves on the beach below the temple, huge waves . Then back on board for home. Fantastic day!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour. Alejandro and Andres were amazing tour guides/bus drivers. There was just enough information on the guided parts of the tour along with a good amount of free time to explore on your own. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We spent the entire day with Sergio. He was so knowledgeable about Coba and Tulum. His deep appreciation for Mexico and the Mayan people was inspiring. He was funny and engaging too. I would highly recommend this tour and if you can request a guide, ask for Sergio. Only drawback was that I did not know that I could have requested an earlier pick up time. We got a bit of a late start which meant more traffic and mid day heat. Benjamin, our driver, got us to Coba/Tulum and back to Cancun with great ease and professionalism. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Dianna K. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You will not be disappointed with this tour. Our guide, Jhony was excellent. The cenote is breathtakingly beautiful, and the Mayan information presented was valuable if you are looking for a more local, cultural experience. Now, a few things to know. First,there are changing rooms so you can take dry clothes for after. They provide a locker for your valuables. Wear shorts or something over your suit bottom because you will be wearing harnesses between your legs and lots of folks will be adjusting your straps so ladies suit bottoms are not enough. No cameras or phones allowed on the tour. Only camera you can take is a GoPro that is secure to your body. Before you go, make sure that your reservation is correct and that you secure a pick-up location before you go. The Viator representative I spoke with was courteous but our date was off by a day and she did not have an accurate list of pick-up locations. We were told that we had to go to another resort 30 minutes away and after a long and expensive call to the local tour office we found out we could be picked up at our resort. We were able to resolve the date and pick-up location with the local office but not with out pick-up time confusion. Also, the local office seems to be cell phone run and lots of background noise so communication is difficult. I think that might have added to the pick-up time confusion. I would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Dianna K. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour is everything you could hope for but. Make sure you have an accurate pickup location. There are more hotel pickup locations than listed. Local office for arranging the transport is polite but not affective. What to wear...suit, running shorts, tennis shoes, they provide a locker.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour. Sebastion was our tour guide and he did a wonderful job with our bilingual group. He conducted the whole tour in both English and Spanish which was a great way to gain some exposure to the language.

The underground river swim was at Dos Ojos cenote. It was beautiful, we were guided so far into the cave where you could no longer see the entrance. Life jackets and helmets were required and we swam at a relatively slow pace so you could look around.

I definitely recommend bringing some extra cash to tip the guide and the driver. It's not required, but it's the classy thing to do. Also make sure you verify your pick up arrangements by calling.

Great experience and way to see both Mayan ruins and the underground river system in the same day.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Trip was great although title is a little misleading. Most people think of 4x4s as an ATV but this is really a military vehicle you just ride in.

Our guides were both fun and enthusiastic. Cenotes were wonderful, zip line was fun and food for lunch was good.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

kongivan_2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It is Great View on site-seeing point and Perfect tour guide told the historical background, story for Tourist.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

regina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I'm so glad I went early. There was nobody there and we had the place almost to ourselves. By the time we were getting ready to leave, the place was getting pretty packed. The guide was knowledgeable and patient.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Wilfred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were picked up in a beautiful bus and our guide was very friendly and quite knowledgeable about the Mayan culture and history. The trip was just as described on the web page and everyone said we got a good price

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was well worth it to have early access to Tulum with a smaller group. As the day progresses the tourists multiply and with larger groups than ours. Our tour guide was amazing and so excited about his job. He made history come alive. Our driver and bus guide were wonderful as well. Tips are appreciated for each guide on your tours, so prepare for that.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

ELIZABETH M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great. The driver and guide were excellent. Tulum was amazing but coba and the cenote swim were unbeatable. This trip is a must.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. We were picked up, bright and early, at 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone. Arturo was our guide, and he was great -- very informative. The only downside was that our group was a mix of Spanish and English speakers, and Arturo was the only guide. This meant that he went back and forth translating between English and Spanish during the tour, which was a bit distracting. Doing this tour is definitely worth it, though, if nothing else because you arrive at Tulum as soon as it opens at 9am. You can admire the ruins without the crowds and get as many photographs as you want without throngs of tourists in the way. Arturo gave us background information and discussed the ruins for about 90 minutes and the remaining 90 minutes could be spent as you wish -- we chose to wander the beach and explore the other ruins. We were back at our hotel by 2pm, leaving the rest of the afternoon free to wander Cancun.

Oh, and there are tons of lizards all over the ruins -- quite a beautiful sight! Bring your camera.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Douglas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Juan was an amazing tour guide! This was WORTH every penny and the time.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ben Holmes United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour, like our Chichen Itza one, was absolutely fantastic. We were picked from our hotel and introduced to our tour guide, a very nice and funny man called Uk pronounced 'Ook' He went through the history of the area of Tulum and it's significance in the Mayan culture, and spoke about life as a descendant of the Mayans. After Tulum, we travelled along in and stopped off at the cenote for a swim. The water was lovely and cooling after being in the Mexican heat! It was a nice chance to get chatting to some of the other people on our tour, there were people from the USA, Ireland, France and Italy and it was really nice to speak to all of them.

After our cenote swim we stopped off for lunch close to the Coba site, it was a buffet and the food was absolutely fantastic. The food wasn't the stereotypical Mexican food that you might expect, but more of the traditional food eaten in the Yucatan by the Mayan descendants, which I have to say I preferred.

After lunch we went to the Coba site, which for the initial part was walking through the dense area of trees to get to the site, which was actually very nice as it kept the sun off of our heads. After roughly twenty minutes we arrived at the Coba ruins, again like with Chichen Itza it took me a minute to fully comprehend what I was seeing and where I was, it was a truly breathtaking site to behold. Then the fun part began where we got to climb up it! The Coba ruin is very steep and gets narrower the closer you get to the top, and many people zoomed ahead to then slow down from fatigue about half way through, so my advice is to be like the tortoise and go slow and steady all the way to the top.

Now what can I say about when you reach the top? The feeling is amazing, you feel like a Mayan leader addressing their subjects down on the ground beneath them, and looking round and all you can see is the dense trees of the Yucatan stretching across the horizon underneath clear blue skies. It is well worth the effort to get to the top! I'd also say as well that the site is very busy, but if you're quick you can get a couple of photos without someone standing in front of you, I even nearly managed to get a clear panorama from the top.

If you're going to the Yucatan area, I would 100 recommend that you visit this area. Even if history and ruins aren't really your thing, the views from the top are truly breathtaking and definitely something to remember.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Dallas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Excursion was great. Our guide Carlos was great, very knowledgeable on all three stops. It is a long day, but well worth it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Norma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

IT WAS AMAZING!!! Our tour guide Christian was absolutely wonderful!!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Nina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent tour! our guide Lois is very informative and fun!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message