Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 631 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

c.eugeniou76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour to see a couple of fascinating Mayan ruins in one day a very long day. The Cenote swim was refreshing but a little disappointing. While it was quite a pretty place to swim, the underground cave was seemingly inaccessible due to the murkiness of the water one of our tour group had swimming goggles and said he couldn't see anything so was unwilling to go into the cave. Apart from that, the tour itself was great, and our tour guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Olga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The experience on this trip was awesome. We learn so much of Maya history.
My daughter was happy with this trip.
Tulum park was big and was, so hot! Make sure to bring water, sunblock and hat. Go shooping here better.
Coba, waoooooo.... We walk a lot to see this beautiful place. We was able to climb and take pictures. Was raining by the time we got there, but we still had a blast.
Yes, you need to climb this place.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant day out! Guide was excellent, cenote swim was a welcome refreshment. Food simple but delicious.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Caroline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amiga Tours is a first-class company. The bus was clean, the driver and tour guide pleasant and knowledgable. The pace of the tour is relaxed with a 50 minute guided tour of the Tulum structures and then 2 hours on your own to explore. You receive a nice brown bag lunch with banana, juice, a sandwich and cookie. There are good restaurants and nice gift shops. Tulum is a national park, and is a much, much better experience than the circus at Chichen-Itza . There is a stop before arriving at the park where you can buy snacks and pay to use the toilet.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We left our hotel at 6:50 a.m. and would advise anyone going to Tulum in August to GO EARLY. It is very, very hot even though on the coast and has some ocean breeze. The beach there is small and we could not go down there the day we visited because of high winds. The place itself is beautiful. Words can't describe. Our tour guide was very nice and we enjoyed the information he shared on the history of the place. The coach ride was comfortable. The box lunch wasn't great but in Tulum there are shops and restaurants and you get time to hang out, eat, shop, if you want to. We enjoyed the excursion very much :-. The tour was with Amigo Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Bus stuff was fine, just necessary logistics. Tulum was beautiful. Xel-ha was great. Only small complaint was the brackish water at Xel-ha. It creates an odd distortion that hampers pictures. But great park, the split of Tulum and Xel-ha was just right

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

JUAN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great places to visit. Our guide Carlos Solis very knowledgeable about places and history. Team Oscar Matusdriver and Carlos Solis guide very friendly. Swimming, canoeing, zip lining, and food was great. I couldn't have asked for a better guide. Above and beyond of what I expected from this trip.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

R L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a great day out with my family. Well worth the trip and lots of time on your own to do your own thing and browse through the stalls.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

R L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a great day out with my family. Well worth the trip and lots of time on your own to do your own thing and browse through the stalls.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it ! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable !

Doing what: Tulum Express Half-Day Tour from Playa del Carmen

Kerrin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best things we did on our trip was this Jungle Maya Tour. Our guide, Riaz, was incredibly friendly and very knowledgable about the area. We learned so much about the area from him, and he added little extras to the snorkeling, which was awesome. His enthusiasm was infectious and we had a great time. The cenotes are breath-taking and the ziplines were fast and fun!
Our only suggestion would be to start the tour in Tulum and finish with the cenotes, because Tulum was so hot when we went in the afternoon at end of tour. The cenotes would have been even more refreshing after Tulum.
I highly recommend this activity - and you should request Riaz as your guide if you can!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Khanh Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Luis, our guide was wonderful. Shared some interesting history and even received a shaman Mayan blessing. The cenote swim fit perfectly in between the Tulum and Coba ruins. The lunch was good too! We had a great time! Perfect balance between our guide and letting us explore on our own.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sam R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The zip lines were great, the gear well maintained and the staff very attentive. You have got to check out the rappelling into the cenote and the snorkeling tour. the afternoon lunch was well prepared and our kids loved it.

Thank you.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Molly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide, Irvine, was absolutely amazing! He was fully fluent in Spanish, English, and Italian at the very least, and spoke English like a native. He was passionate about the Mayan history, because it was HIS history, and he did an amazing job of making us love it, too!

I would recommend this tour in a heartbeat to anyone considering it. We had a small tour group, and were made very comfortable in the vehicle on the way there and back. Thank you so much for the awesome tour, Irvine!!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Misty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this tour on Viator, which is recommended through TripAdvisor as well. We did the Tulum Underground Cave swim, and it was a very good deal. It was a small, personalized tour of 7 people.

They want you to call at least 48 hours ahead to confirm you are still going, which we did through our hotel concierge.


The driver, I think Manuel, was fantastic. We were first on the pick up list. There were 2 other couples and 1 other woman. Van was air conditioned and comfortable. It is a bit of a ride, with one stop at a little convenience store where we used the bathrooms and picked up our tour guide, Jeronimo.

Jeronimo was wonderful. He was very lax, personable, informative. On the ride there, he showed us a large map of Mexico to explain where we going and a little about the Mayan expansion and demise.

When we arrived, we were told to use sunscreen, sunglasses, and umbrellas, They also handed out water and large umbrellas.

Once we got through the entrance and very commercialized marketplace, we realized it was very crowded. We had stickers to indicate our group. We stopped periodically where Jeronimo told us about different aspects of the area, the Mayas, the flora and fauna, etc.

His guided tour took about an hour, including time to take pics. He would even take them for your. There were iguanas everywhere too!

After his part of the tour, we had about another hour to wander around. None of our group opted to go the actual beach. But it was very beautiful to look at. Hard to get pics of things, as people were everywhere doing the same thing.

As we exited the area, there was a vendor with water and popsicles for sale at the bottom of the stairs. You could either walk or ride the tram back to the entrance We walked. Bathrooms were in the gift shop. The gift shop was overpriced so we went to the other market vendors. You get a better deal if you pay in pesos and speak a little Spanish. If you use a credit card, you will get a better exchange rate, bu

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Jose Ruben C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, very well informed! The ruins were absolutely beautiful and the history of them was very well explained

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Elyse R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a ton of fun. We began the morning with a series of adventures at Jungle Maya snorkeling in a cenote with beautiful cave structures, swimming, ziplining on 5 different lines, and rappelling. We had a delicious lunch, and we then went to Tulum. The ruins were gorgeous, as was the beach, and we got an informative tour. Our guide, Paulino, was wonderful as well. Would definitely recommend!

We also took another tour with AllTourNatives to the Coba ruins, to a Mayan village, and to a cenote earlier in the week. We would definitely recommend this tour as well---and our guide Ro!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Jungle Tour! Alejandra Nunez was an excellent tour guide, full of interesting information and lots of fun as well! Our trip began with zip lines and snorkeling in the Cenotes. The zip line staff were terrific, the Cenotes were beautiful and refreshing and the Mayan food was delicious! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. We do wish the trip to Tulum Archaeological site would have been first as I had expected. It was super hot in the afternoon. Had we went to the archaeological site first we would have had the refreshing Cenotes to look forward to later.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paco was an awesome tour guide - mellow, informative, and friendly. We saw a bit of everything so we felt like we got a great taste of the whole area in one day. I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved Tulum. The tour was great. Miguel who gave the English one at the ruins was so knowledgeable and Arturo who led the Spanish one was funny and told us a great restaurant to eat ate at while there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

XclsveTin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fun tour! A lot of walking, so make sure to bring walking shoes. Our tour guide Carlos Moo and our driver were great as well.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sondra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Not to be missed. Much closer to Playa del Carmen than some other sites, easy bus ride. This was an early-tour, and it was great to get there before the crowds well worth getting up a little early. Very, very interesting historical and archaeological site. Knowledgeable guide, and yes, he was a trained archaeologists, so was very knowledgeable. Enjoyed his commentary. Was a bit of a walk from the bus to the city, and everyone walked faster than me! Huff and puff. But worth the effort. Absolutely gorgeous views of the Caribbean from the Tulum cliff top. Don't leave your camera behind!! And the ruins ... wow!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message