Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 721 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yui Yi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very hot around noon, so best to go with this early access in the morning.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an excellent tour... our tour guide was great very knowledgeable, very patient and really wanted to make sure you had a wonderful experience.. Highly recommend this tour, both sites are excellent, really worth doing...

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

v.natasha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour guide was amazing, transportation was great. Very disappointed with meal. My husband and I could not eat it at all :-
I attached pic of our guide. I am not good with names but I think his name is Enrique. He was very knowledgeable, funny, good English and interesting to listen

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

merty2007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Pepe was fantastic! He gave the entire tour in both English and Spanish, and as someone who speaks both, I know how difficult it can be to translate for yourself on the fly. But Pepe made sure everyone in the party could understand him. He gave us a history of the culture to help us understand Tulum in the timeline of the Mayans, as well as the important aspects of Mayan culture and religion. This tour was the perfect length. We toured Tulum ruins with a 45min guided tour, had plenty of free time in the site to exploar, and then visit local shops for refreshments just outside the gate and had opportunity to shop at many local vendors.
Were back to our resort in time to still enjoy the pool for the afternoon. It was a great day!

Doing what: Tulum Express Half-Day Tour from Playa del Carmen

tracymurray007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an adventure, well worth the money! Our guide, Erik was great. The cenote snorkeling, rapelling, and zip lining was a blast. Enjoyed the authentic Mayan lunch. The 4 x 4 ride was bumpy but that is part of the experience. I do NOT recommend this tour for people with chronic health issues heart disease, COPD, etc or anyone that would have difficulty climbin. You are on your feet ALOT. Tulum was nice as well but made for a very long day.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

jajakrabit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour/trip/deal! Our guide was a genuine Mayan descendant who knew the area, the people, the customs, the language, and everything about the area. He spoke Spanish as well as English and was very accommodating and helpful. The tour ran extremely smoothly. It was a long and extensive tour that encompassed a great deal of information and area. I can't explain how much I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The pick up was on time and very clean. All our drivers and tour guide were great. They supplied snacks and cold water. When we got back to the van after the tour, they gave us cool scented towels to wipe off with... a nice tough after the warm outing. We did the half day in Tulum only, but heard from others that the underground river swim was amazing. We will difinitely put that on our list next time.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Taima G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was amazing. The hotel picked us and dropped us off in our hotel very promptly. Our archeologist guide was Marco, who was full of information regarding the site and Mayan culture. He was able to always keep the group engaged. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Tamara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Staff were helpful with my parents who use walkers. Really enjoyed the early access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The trip was awesome, a little scary at first. We got in the 4X4 took a harrowing trip for what seemed to be a long way, which was not, on a rough road. Then things mellowed out and we had a great time.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Jean-Philippe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good tour, a must-do if you like Mayan Ruins. I want to mention the incredible work and knowledge of our tour guide MARCO. He is without a doubt, the best tour guide to have around if you do these kind of tours. His english is perfect and he had so much interesting facts and informations to share with us about the ruins, the mayas, the civilization... i've learned so much during this tour. Once again, Marco, remember this name, if you're lucky enough to have him as your guide, you're gonna have a wonderful experience. 10 on 10

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Terry J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Took this tour in January with our guide Luis Carlos Barrera. Great guide, fun, energetic, and attentive. He has a genuine pride and enthusiasm for not only the job but also the environment. Picked up as scheduled, got to Tulum, which was truly impressive, for about 2 hours with a local Tulum guide. Very informative, inspiring me to read up on the Mayan culture. Following that off to the Jungle tour. Luis was so fun and was always aware of individual needs and concerns after all, was a zip line and repelling first for all of us. Don't be anxious about these activities. Luis and the other 'AllTourNative' staff members will take care that you feel safe and enjoy the unique experience. For me the snorkeling in the Cenote was the real jungle highlight. The cave formations were amazing and the clarity and color of the water spectacular. Lunch is a native Mayan preparation and tasty. My only beef is that the pictures taken during the snorkeling and zip lining were available for a rather exorbitant price. I would have bought them had the been 60-70 of the asking price. Hey AllTourNative, selling more at a reduced price has to be more profitable than far fewer at the current price -

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Rick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic all day tour! Our kids (11 and 13 yr olds) really enjoyed all the activities. Alex was a great guide and it was just a super excursion all around. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic day put, our guide Carlos Moreno was so kind, humourous and knowledgable. He knew all our names immediately. We did the cenote trip first, preceded by a purification ceremony which made us all feel honoured to be there. The rappelling was exciting, done in pairs, the swim through the denote was illuminated just by torch light which made it eerie and awesome. Then it was time for a delicious home cooked list lunch of traditional food I the company of the group which was very sociable. The trip to and from the cenote was in an old army vehicle which bounced alocng the path and added to the fun. Then off to Tulum where we were able to sk the very long line. Carlos gilded is through some of he ruins, otherwise we were free to wander and enjoy. We had a thrilling time in the crashing waves on the beach below the temple, huge waves . Then back on board for home. Fantastic day!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour. Alejandro and Andres were amazing tour guides/bus drivers. There was just enough information on the guided parts of the tour along with a good amount of free time to explore on your own. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We spent the entire day with Sergio. He was so knowledgeable about Coba and Tulum. His deep appreciation for Mexico and the Mayan people was inspiring. He was funny and engaging too. I would highly recommend this tour and if you can request a guide, ask for Sergio. Only drawback was that I did not know that I could have requested an earlier pick up time. We got a bit of a late start which meant more traffic and mid day heat. Benjamin, our driver, got us to Coba/Tulum and back to Cancun with great ease and professionalism. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Dianna K. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You will not be disappointed with this tour. Our guide, Jhony was excellent. The cenote is breathtakingly beautiful, and the Mayan information presented was valuable if you are looking for a more local, cultural experience. Now, a few things to know. First,there are changing rooms so you can take dry clothes for after. They provide a locker for your valuables. Wear shorts or something over your suit bottom because you will be wearing harnesses between your legs and lots of folks will be adjusting your straps so ladies suit bottoms are not enough. No cameras or phones allowed on the tour. Only camera you can take is a GoPro that is secure to your body. Before you go, make sure that your reservation is correct and that you secure a pick-up location before you go. The Viator representative I spoke with was courteous but our date was off by a day and she did not have an accurate list of pick-up locations. We were told that we had to go to another resort 30 minutes away and after a long and expensive call to the local tour office we found out we could be picked up at our resort. We were able to resolve the date and pick-up location with the local office but not with out pick-up time confusion. Also, the local office seems to be cell phone run and lots of background noise so communication is difficult. I think that might have added to the pick-up time confusion. I would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Dianna K. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour is everything you could hope for but. Make sure you have an accurate pickup location. There are more hotel pickup locations than listed. Local office for arranging the transport is polite but not affective. What to wear...suit, running shorts, tennis shoes, they provide a locker.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour. Sebastion was our tour guide and he did a wonderful job with our bilingual group. He conducted the whole tour in both English and Spanish which was a great way to gain some exposure to the language.

The underground river swim was at Dos Ojos cenote. It was beautiful, we were guided so far into the cave where you could no longer see the entrance. Life jackets and helmets were required and we swam at a relatively slow pace so you could look around.

I definitely recommend bringing some extra cash to tip the guide and the driver. It's not required, but it's the classy thing to do. Also make sure you verify your pick up arrangements by calling.

Great experience and way to see both Mayan ruins and the underground river system in the same day.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

david r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Trip was great although title is a little misleading. Most people think of 4x4s as an ATV but this is really a military vehicle you just ride in.

Our guides were both fun and enthusiastic. Cenotes were wonderful, zip line was fun and food for lunch was good.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

kongivan_2003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It is Great View on site-seeing point and Perfect tour guide told the historical background, story for Tourist.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

regina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I'm so glad I went early. There was nobody there and we had the place almost to ourselves. By the time we were getting ready to leave, the place was getting pretty packed. The guide was knowledgeable and patient.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message