Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 663 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ELIZABETH M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great. The driver and guide were excellent. Tulum was amazing but coba and the cenote swim were unbeatable. This trip is a must.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. We were picked up, bright and early, at 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone. Arturo was our guide, and he was great -- very informative. The only downside was that our group was a mix of Spanish and English speakers, and Arturo was the only guide. This meant that he went back and forth translating between English and Spanish during the tour, which was a bit distracting. Doing this tour is definitely worth it, though, if nothing else because you arrive at Tulum as soon as it opens at 9am. You can admire the ruins without the crowds and get as many photographs as you want without throngs of tourists in the way. Arturo gave us background information and discussed the ruins for about 90 minutes and the remaining 90 minutes could be spent as you wish -- we chose to wander the beach and explore the other ruins. We were back at our hotel by 2pm, leaving the rest of the afternoon free to wander Cancun.

Oh, and there are tons of lizards all over the ruins -- quite a beautiful sight! Bring your camera.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Douglas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Juan was an amazing tour guide! This was WORTH every penny and the time.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Ben Holmes United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour, like our Chichen Itza one, was absolutely fantastic. We were picked from our hotel and introduced to our tour guide, a very nice and funny man called Uk pronounced 'Ook' He went through the history of the area of Tulum and it's significance in the Mayan culture, and spoke about life as a descendant of the Mayans. After Tulum, we travelled along in and stopped off at the cenote for a swim. The water was lovely and cooling after being in the Mexican heat! It was a nice chance to get chatting to some of the other people on our tour, there were people from the USA, Ireland, France and Italy and it was really nice to speak to all of them.

After our cenote swim we stopped off for lunch close to the Coba site, it was a buffet and the food was absolutely fantastic. The food wasn't the stereotypical Mexican food that you might expect, but more of the traditional food eaten in the Yucatan by the Mayan descendants, which I have to say I preferred.

After lunch we went to the Coba site, which for the initial part was walking through the dense area of trees to get to the site, which was actually very nice as it kept the sun off of our heads. After roughly twenty minutes we arrived at the Coba ruins, again like with Chichen Itza it took me a minute to fully comprehend what I was seeing and where I was, it was a truly breathtaking site to behold. Then the fun part began where we got to climb up it! The Coba ruin is very steep and gets narrower the closer you get to the top, and many people zoomed ahead to then slow down from fatigue about half way through, so my advice is to be like the tortoise and go slow and steady all the way to the top.

Now what can I say about when you reach the top? The feeling is amazing, you feel like a Mayan leader addressing their subjects down on the ground beneath them, and looking round and all you can see is the dense trees of the Yucatan stretching across the horizon underneath clear blue skies. It is well worth the effort to get to the top! I'd also say as well that the site is very busy, but if you're quick you can get a couple of photos without someone standing in front of you, I even nearly managed to get a clear panorama from the top.

If you're going to the Yucatan area, I would 100 recommend that you visit this area. Even if history and ruins aren't really your thing, the views from the top are truly breathtaking and definitely something to remember.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Dallas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Excursion was great. Our guide Carlos was great, very knowledgeable on all three stops. It is a long day, but well worth it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Norma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

IT WAS AMAZING!!! Our tour guide Christian was absolutely wonderful!!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Nina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent tour! our guide Lois is very informative and fun!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Gunter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A realy great trip. I had the Cichen Itza trip day tour also with cenote swimming the week before. But the marvelous location of Tulum beach side and those of Coba in the jungle was a bit better, though different from cichen Iza. The cenote was more a kind of Family operated pool, which was fine, because it was not crowded by too many tourists. Some complained about the simple Food, but it was fine for me.
A really good recommendation for a day trip from Cancun

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Annika F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I did a number of tours when I was there but the Viator tours were the best ones. This was a great full day tour. The guide spoke very good english he was funny and had a lot of knowledge. It wsa a very good choice of places to visit. My favorite was snorkeling in the caves

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

nmarso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great day! Pick up from hotel went very smoothly, comfortable and very clean bus transportation to Tulum. Extremely knowledgeable and entertaining English and Spanish speaking guide at Tulum. The afternoon at Xel-Ha was fantastic. A great place for adults and kids alike. Great facilities, but still very eco-friendly and natural. Highly recommend this day trip to anyone staying in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Jeanette M J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend the early access to Tulum with an archeologist tour. What a beautiful Mayan archeological site! We arrived early enough at Tulum to beat some of the incredible heat and humidity. The greatest advantage, however, is avoiding the hoards of fellow tourists who later descend on the site. The early access gives you the opportunity to experience and get a feel for Tulum's archtectural layout, religious and historical significance to the Mayan people, while also allowing for unimpeded photographic opportunities. Our archeologist guide was Marco, who was full of information regarding the site and expressed some very interesting and plausible theories regarding the significance of the building's carvings. The one I found most interesting being his theory on the first Mayan/European interaction given the age of the main temple structure and the carving of a bearded man in one of the friezes. Marco was very informative, excited to provide his knowledge of Mayan history, and more than willing to answer any and all questions asked. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to other travelers who are truely interested in understanding Mayan culture and the archeological sites that they are looking at. A word of advice: dress in cool clothing, comfortable foot wear, and bring some water as it is still very hot even in the earlier hours of the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Daniel was awesome and provided much history! The underground river was excellent after a hot morning at Tulum.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

eastendpete United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

the person doing it frank was so good and had great knowledge and knows his stuff
and the history he knows is good

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Julie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything was very good. Both of the service and tour were good. I had a self-driving tour at the first day. The second I had this tour. Compared them. I'm sure I'll go with viator next time instead of self-driving tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Anousack S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The overall tour and our guide was incredible!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

c.eugeniou76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour to see a couple of fascinating Mayan ruins in one day a very long day. The Cenote swim was refreshing but a little disappointing. While it was quite a pretty place to swim, the underground cave was seemingly inaccessible due to the murkiness of the water one of our tour group had swimming goggles and said he couldn't see anything so was unwilling to go into the cave. Apart from that, the tour itself was great, and our tour guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Olga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The experience on this trip was awesome. We learn so much of Maya history.
My daughter was happy with this trip.
Tulum park was big and was, so hot! Make sure to bring water, sunblock and hat. Go shooping here better.
Coba, waoooooo.... We walk a lot to see this beautiful place. We was able to climb and take pictures. Was raining by the time we got there, but we still had a blast.
Yes, you need to climb this place.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant day out! Guide was excellent, cenote swim was a welcome refreshment. Food simple but delicious.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Caroline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amiga Tours is a first-class company. The bus was clean, the driver and tour guide pleasant and knowledgable. The pace of the tour is relaxed with a 50 minute guided tour of the Tulum structures and then 2 hours on your own to explore. You receive a nice brown bag lunch with banana, juice, a sandwich and cookie. There are good restaurants and nice gift shops. Tulum is a national park, and is a much, much better experience than the circus at Chichen-Itza . There is a stop before arriving at the park where you can buy snacks and pay to use the toilet.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We left our hotel at 6:50 a.m. and would advise anyone going to Tulum in August to GO EARLY. It is very, very hot even though on the coast and has some ocean breeze. The beach there is small and we could not go down there the day we visited because of high winds. The place itself is beautiful. Words can't describe. Our tour guide was very nice and we enjoyed the information he shared on the history of the place. The coach ride was comfortable. The box lunch wasn't great but in Tulum there are shops and restaurants and you get time to hang out, eat, shop, if you want to. We enjoyed the excursion very much :-. The tour was with Amigo Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Bus stuff was fine, just necessary logistics. Tulum was beautiful. Xel-ha was great. Only small complaint was the brackish water at Xel-ha. It creates an odd distortion that hampers pictures. But great park, the split of Tulum and Xel-ha was just right

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

JUAN V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great places to visit. Our guide Carlos Solis very knowledgeable about places and history. Team Oscar Matusdriver and Carlos Solis guide very friendly. Swimming, canoeing, zip lining, and food was great. I couldn't have asked for a better guide. Above and beyond of what I expected from this trip.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message