Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 608 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Misty J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this tour on Viator, which is recommended through TripAdvisor as well. We did the Tulum Underground Cave swim, and it was a very good deal. It was a small, personalized tour of 7 people.

They want you to call at least 48 hours ahead to confirm you are still going, which we did through our hotel concierge.


The driver, I think Manuel, was fantastic. We were first on the pick up list. There were 2 other couples and 1 other woman. Van was air conditioned and comfortable. It is a bit of a ride, with one stop at a little convenience store where we used the bathrooms and picked up our tour guide, Jeronimo.

Jeronimo was wonderful. He was very lax, personable, informative. On the ride there, he showed us a large map of Mexico to explain where we going and a little about the Mayan expansion and demise.

When we arrived, we were told to use sunscreen, sunglasses, and umbrellas, They also handed out water and large umbrellas.

Once we got through the entrance and very commercialized marketplace, we realized it was very crowded. We had stickers to indicate our group. We stopped periodically where Jeronimo told us about different aspects of the area, the Mayas, the flora and fauna, etc.

His guided tour took about an hour, including time to take pics. He would even take them for your. There were iguanas everywhere too!

After his part of the tour, we had about another hour to wander around. None of our group opted to go the actual beach. But it was very beautiful to look at. Hard to get pics of things, as people were everywhere doing the same thing.

As we exited the area, there was a vendor with water and popsicles for sale at the bottom of the stairs. You could either walk or ride the tram back to the entrance We walked. Bathrooms were in the gift shop. The gift shop was overpriced so we went to the other market vendors. You get a better deal if you pay in pesos and speak a little Spanish. If you use a credit card, you will get a better exchange rate, bu

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Jose Ruben C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide, very well informed! The ruins were absolutely beautiful and the history of them was very well explained

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Elyse R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a ton of fun. We began the morning with a series of adventures at Jungle Maya snorkeling in a cenote with beautiful cave structures, swimming, ziplining on 5 different lines, and rappelling. We had a delicious lunch, and we then went to Tulum. The ruins were gorgeous, as was the beach, and we got an informative tour. Our guide, Paulino, was wonderful as well. Would definitely recommend!

We also took another tour with AllTourNatives to the Coba ruins, to a Mayan village, and to a cenote earlier in the week. We would definitely recommend this tour as well---and our guide Ro!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Jungle Tour! Alejandra Nunez was an excellent tour guide, full of interesting information and lots of fun as well! Our trip began with zip lines and snorkeling in the Cenotes. The zip line staff were terrific, the Cenotes were beautiful and refreshing and the Mayan food was delicious! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. We do wish the trip to Tulum Archaeological site would have been first as I had expected. It was super hot in the afternoon. Had we went to the archaeological site first we would have had the refreshing Cenotes to look forward to later.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paco was an awesome tour guide - mellow, informative, and friendly. We saw a bit of everything so we felt like we got a great taste of the whole area in one day. I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved Tulum. The tour was great. Miguel who gave the English one at the ruins was so knowledgeable and Arturo who led the Spanish one was funny and told us a great restaurant to eat ate at while there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

XclsveTin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fun tour! A lot of walking, so make sure to bring walking shoes. Our tour guide Carlos Moo and our driver were great as well.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sondra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Not to be missed. Much closer to Playa del Carmen than some other sites, easy bus ride. This was an early-tour, and it was great to get there before the crowds well worth getting up a little early. Very, very interesting historical and archaeological site. Knowledgeable guide, and yes, he was a trained archaeologists, so was very knowledgeable. Enjoyed his commentary. Was a bit of a walk from the bus to the city, and everyone walked faster than me! Huff and puff. But worth the effort. Absolutely gorgeous views of the Caribbean from the Tulum cliff top. Don't leave your camera behind!! And the ruins ... wow!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Kai-chia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a fun trip. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about tulum ruins and the jungle tour was a lot of fun as well.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Michelle M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience! The whole day overall was a blast! The ATV ride was not quite what we expected as it was basically a ride from the front of the park to the back of the park where all the activities take place in a military style jeep. We were able to zip line three separate times and the third time it was into a cave. The repelling into the cave was great but the water in the Cenote is cold so be prepared for that. We swam in two separate ones and the second time we were provided snorkeling equipment which was a better experience. The things that no one will tell you is: there are bats in the caves above your head and the equipment for repelling / zip lining is smelly.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Douglas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was great, tour was great! I would do this again, for sure!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

CHENAI M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Phenomenal Trip! Snorkeling in the cenote was amazing! I would do it again! The lunch was phenomenal! I recommend it! visiting Tulum was pretty cool the beach was gorgeous. I think I paid a bit too much for this trip, but if you do pay for it, and you haven't tried any of these activities, then go for it!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We cannot remember the individuals name that provided us with all of the amazing information on Talum and guided us on our excursion trip on Monday, May 30, 2016 pic up from the Riveria Maya Palace at 6:30am His knowledge was remarkable. Both he and the driver were so courteous and we were allowed time to spend doing what we wanted also going in the water, walking around a bit on our own, going to eat. I would definitely recommend doing this tour and it would be nice if we were able to request him again should we return but we know this may not be possible. Great deal, great tour guide and driver!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Ayesha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! My only issue was that I was picked up first at 5AM and by the time we picked up the rest of the sightseers and made it to Tulum it was 9AM and I was kind of drained by the long bus ride. But the tour itself was awesome. Conrado the guide was brilliant. He was very well informed, engaging and dedicated. He also used photographs to illustrate the sun and moon phenomena's that occur at the ruins. Wear a hat and keep hydrated. Highly recommended it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Ana Rosa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We all spend great time! Very recommendable!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Meagan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Felt like we got a taste of everything. We had a blast.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Marie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a great time! Our guide Eddie was really great, friendly and very knowledgeable. The zip lining was so fun, swimming in the cenote was so memorable. The going to Tulum was just amazing. My only feedback is that is that it would have been nice to go to Tulum in the morning and not the afternoon. Also you need to bring your own towel for Tulum. Towels are only provided for the zip lining and cenote swim.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Vj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day, plenty of activities, although the lunch could have been better.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Ana Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was lots of fun, it and #39;s hot!! So bring comfy shoes and lots of water.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Kevin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day out, tour guide explained in many different languages and was very informative.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Frank was wonderful and we really enjoyed the early access. There was less people and temperature was much cooler. Also we were back by 1:30 with the rest of the day to enjoy. The one complaint we had was the driver of the small van picking us up from our resort was 40 minutes late with no phone call. We then met the large tour bus on the side of the freeway.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message