Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2762 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Carlos, was funny and very knowledgeable about the Mayan ruins and its people. I'm glad we had this opportunity to view Chichen Itza and would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a very smooth booking process and everything else that came with it. It was a great experience and I am beyond happy that I planned my trip through Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

yesika.fletcher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

1. I love how simple booking is via Viator. All the info you need is directly on your receipt/ticket. We have used them before for trips to the UK and Europe.

Marco the guide Carlos the Driver I give them a thumbs up
2. Our tour guide Marco was unbelievably knowledgeable in the Mayan culture and in the ruins of Chichen Itza. During the first hour of our drive he let us nap, the second hour he explained the Mayan culture, language and history. I was so enthralled by the information and his passion on the subject matter that I took notes on my phone. I didn't want to miss out on anything he was sharing with us. One of the best parts of this tour is that we beat the crowds. It felt like we had the grounds all to our selves. Once we arrived they broke us up into two groups an English tour and a Spanish tour. Luckily for us Marco led the English group, but we would have gone along with him if he had led the Spanish group. He was very humble, it wasn't until the very end that he explained the reason behind what we perceived to be solely passion. Not only is he passionate on the subject he is well educated with a Masters in the field. He was very detailed with what he shared. One would assume that doing this type of work day in and day out they would lose interest and passion. Not so with Marco. Marco gladly answered any and all questions we had. I found him so interesting that I would have loved to hear more of what he had to share.

If you're on the fence on which tour to take, take this one. You won't be disappointed.

3. The only negative comment I have is when we booked our hotel pickup the day before the tour from our hotel we were told we would be picked up at 5:00 am. I asked if that was the latest we could be picked up and the lady said yes. Pickup will be at 5:00 am. We woke up at 4 to be ready for pickup in the lobby by 5, but we didn't get picked up until after 6am : But we did not let this minor hiccup ruin our experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Ronaldo H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is awesome. I will do it again probably December. Our guide is very knowledgeable

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good tour! Early access is the best way,beat the tour bus crowds. Our tour guide,Marco was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Samiha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marco is an excellent tour guide who has an in-depth knowledge of the Mayan history and culture. He will explain every symbol and history related to Chichen Itza very thoroughly. He and #39;s very passionate at what he does and is very sincere. The tour also picks you up from your hotel.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Billy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you are looking to do more in Mexico, this is the tour you want to join. This is a early access tour which means you will be done and back to the hotel by 3:00pm. It is must must less crowded in the morning and you will still have rest of the day to do other activities. We hopped on the Jungle Tour right after, LOL. Our guide Marco was great and I learned Mayan history much from him than Mr Tsoukalos. His perspective on why Mayan abandoned their cities was different than many and was interesting. If you do book this tour, ask for Marco for sure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jeannette K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Very educational and a bit entertaining. Carlos was a courteous and careful driver Marco was thoroughly knowledgeable about the site, with a bit of humor added. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Julie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything was very good. Both of the service and tour were good. I had a self-driving tour at the first day. The second I had this tour. Compared them. I'm sure I'll go with viator next time instead of self-driving tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Kathryn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really worth getting up early, beat the crowds and the heat and back to relax around 3pm at hotel. Marco was a great tour leader, with lots of Mayan information. This site you need a tour leader to give the information on the site. Would not have enjoyed just looking at the ruins, the information was amazing. The Mayans were so clever people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Monica D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was such good value and the staff involved were highly educated in the history of the Mayans and happy answered all of our questions. Alex was our tour guide and he was very accomodating to what we wanted to do and made sure we were as comfortable as possible in the intense Mexican heat. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Mayan temples and pyramids. Also, jumping into the sinkhole is a must!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Juan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fue una muy bonita experiencia. Los guias y personal que nos atendio siempre fueron muy amables.
El lunch bastante bueno y los 4 Xenotes visitados fueron variados y hermosos.
Las instalaciones de servicio en cada uno de los Xenotes estan construidas muy acordes con la naturaleza.
Lo recomendamos ampliamente

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Nikki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing opportunity and I was delighted I was able to learn so much about the Mayan culture I may have never had the chance to learn without this tour. Frank was so passionate about the Mayan culture and took time to listen to everyone's questions and share his knowledge with everyone interested in learning more about the Mayan culture. His enthusiasm and appreciation of the Mayan culture was infectious and I walked away pleased with being about to see something so monumental to this world and have more knowledge about the people who graced the world with it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Love

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth it to get up early and beat the crowds to the site. Our guide Marco from Amigo Tours was excellent and gave us great explanations of the inscriptions, carving, and construction. Box lunch a little disappointing, but who cares? It was a great day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Ness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is an early start but well worth doing as the hoards of people entering when we were leaving was over whelming! Once we arrived, it felt like we had the place to ourselves and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Please be warned...the humidity was overwhelming!!! you'll sweat the moment you leave the air conditioned coach so carry plenty of water and wear light clothing and hats.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Frank J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip!!! Bring sunscreen with you.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Hala A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour for anyone traveling to cancun and wants to get an authentic experience. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. My sister and I booked this tour the day before in hopes to surprise my mom for her birthday. We were met by Carlos at 7AM who was on time, professional, and the best tour guide I have ever had. We picked up other people from different hotels and were on our way to Chichen Itza. Carlos was full of energy and charisma from the very beginning and was so happy to share the history of chichen itza with us. While on the tour, I was pleasantly surprised to find out were were going to be doing more than what the description said. We would go to a souvenir shop, Chichen Itza, Ik Kil, THEN a colonial mexican town. We started at the souvenir shop were my sister, my mom, and I bought calendars and necklaces with mayan letters and numbers. We went on to Chichen Itza and were provided with umbrellas which was wonderful because it was so hot. Carlos gave us so much history and was very knowledgable about recent and past discoveries made at one of the 7th wonders of the world. We have a great 2 hours there which was more than enough because of the hot weather. We proceeded to Ik Kil, where we had a buffet lunch which was so delicious and authentic and swam in Ik Kil for over an hour.It was so beautiful and fun. We got back on the tour bus and went to the colonial town which was a great way to end the day because we got a true feel of mexico's architecture, people, and culture. We had coffee and ice cream and sat around a fountain before it rained and had to get back on the bus. A great way to end the day. Carlos worked so hard all day and was so happy throughout and I would recommend him to anyone. Juan the bus driver was great and very sweet as well. If you're looking to get away from the hotels of Cancun and get the most out of your vacation/stay in Mexico, this tour is AMAZING! Definitely go on it!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

kalea.love01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the absolute best!! From the exciting ziplining and helpful tour guides (roots, Sergio, nel etc) to the atv and cenote swim it was all fantastic! I highly recommend it and the lunch afterwards is the best

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Surendra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really good!
Its a really long day but defo worth it. Our tour guide Louis was amazing, he gave us so much info but also made us think.
Swimming in the Cenote was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Yun G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well organized and informative tour. It's worthwhile to wake up early and get there before the crowd arrives.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Krystle K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Overall very fun experience. The ziplining was the best, we had a great time! Only downside was the long bus ride there. There was an issue with one of the other guests and it took us about 45 min after being picked up to even begin traveling to the park. The food was great, tons of variety. Little to no waiting in line for each activity.

Doing what: Nighttime Admission to Xplor Adventure Park with Transport

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very informative. The guide was knowledgeable and very informative.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Hunaid H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very well organized trip... Must to do with all ages as we have a mixed group.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message