Naturally formed sinkholes pockmarking the limestone turf of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, cenotes are among the world’s most unique natural phenomenon. Used as a water source by the Incas and revered as sacred "portals to the underworld," ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 159 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eirik L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

had an excellent time. The team there was great.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Kade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So fun! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone who will be staying in Cancun. Our tour guide Josh was knowledgeable and and made the tour tons of fun!

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Cheri W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Jerry, was wonderful! He was so incredibly nice and helpful. This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. The group was small and we all go to know each other very well. The Cenotes were beautiful and it was wonderful to snorkel at them. Then we got to snorkel in Akumal. We saw tons of coral, fish, and turtles. We had a professional photographer that took pictures the entire time and we were able to purchase a flash drive afterwards. I would definitely advise taking this tour!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Diana K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Though i'm scared of heights and was a bit nervous the team was extremly supportive and helpful!! We had a blast and would definetly come back again!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Kevyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing. Just snorkeling in the Cenotes alone is way worth the money. A experience I will never forget.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Lawrence T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

fantastic tour and Servando was the best.

Doing what: Cancun Cenote Tour: Snorkeling, Rappelling and Ziplining

Brent P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family had a wonderful time on this excursion. The Selvetica team is great-fun and friendly! Great adventure! We will definitely do this again.

Doing what: Cancun Zipline, ATV and Cenote Swim Adventure at Selvatica

San Juanita S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This excursion was fun, adventurous and the guides were great.....highly recommended.

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

jonnyg_is

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. Note that it is a three hour trip once you arrive. it's approx 1.5 hours from the hotel zone. Our hotel was half an hour from the hotel zone, we were collected at 6.15am and arrived back at 4pm. The Cenotes were great and swimming with the turtles was just amazing. They tell you not to wear sun cream as it's bad for the water and animals etc and if you are wearing any to rub it off they say your aren't in direct sun too much and unlikely to get burnt. They suggest you buy from them a long sleeved top for 20 dollars however I am not sure why they don't tell you to bring your own. Myself and my partner were very burnt on lower arms, hands and backs of legs we are not fair skinned even four days later my skin is still sore. I highly recommend taking your own long sleeved tops and very long shorts. Any skin that is on show really should have sun cream on.
The tour guide was fantastic and I would highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

MIKE257098

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The company that runs this tour is truly amazing. We booked through viator the night before we now know it is supposed to be a 48 hour notice and they scrambled to make sure this tour happened for us! Merak truly loves what he does and it shows! Kyle the other tour guide met up with us by the time we got to the interactive zoo and was equally informative. They made sure that we had the best experience we could. No need to worry about missing the perfect photo op, Merak has that covered!We learned so much about about the Mayans! It was truly a culture shock leaving the resort but with Merak and Kyle at our sides it was truly worth it! Shout out to the restaurant: The fish burrito was AWESOME! Ask Merak about his Taco Tour!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

latra2020

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Best tour! This was amazing. Best time of my life!!!!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Lynn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

12 Zip lines and very friendly and safety conscious staff. Professional photographers scattered throughout helped put the finishing touches on a very enjoyable experience in the midst of a beautiful rain forest setting.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

ljparmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a blast! Did so many things that were far outside my comfort zone. Eric was our guide and was encouraging, helpful and all around great! Will recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Cancun Cenote Tour: Snorkeling, Rappelling and Ziplining

Sarafina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Henderson was simply OUSTANDING!!!!

Doing what: Cenotes Mayas Adventure from Cancun

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour 6/29 from The Hyatt Ziva in Cancun. My wife and two kids 12 and 10. We were picked up promptly as specified @ 6:40 in a nice van. We made three quick stops at other hotels and picked up a total of six other people for a total of ten in the group. It was about 1 hour ride to the Cenotes. On the way we picked up our guide, Marco. He was great, very personable and explained the day. The swims in the Cenotes were great, we were one of the first groups there, not crowded and very nice. From there it was about a 15 minute van ride to Turtle Beach. This was much more crowded than the Cenotes. Being on this tour seemed to allow us to by pass much of the check in. It was quick, we were in the water in about 15 minutes. The turtle part was very well done, there were many to see, no concerns at all. You then snorkel the edge of a reef. Again very well done.

After this part there are outdoor showers to rinse off with clean water which was nice before the ride back. We had a personal photographer with our group the whole time. He took pictures throughout the day. After the rinse off, they show you the pictures on a laptop. There had to be 100, very well shot in various parts of the trip. The pictures on a flash drive were 30.00 which for anyone who's been on these types of things before was a steal. We've done Dolphins in Fl and Manatees in Cozumel, Dolphins in FL was around 175 and you kind of have to buy them if you want any pictures. Absolutely buy the pictures here.

My family all wore swimming sun shirts, based on other reviews I had read before the trip. They were a good call, but you're actually are not in the sun all that much. The Cenotes are a lot on the shaded side. Total 'sun' time was about 1 hour with the turtles. I had purchased some bio degradeable sunscreen based on reviews but we actually didn't use it. As it was unopened, I'm going to return it through Amazon.

Overall very solid experience. Marco was a great guide

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour. Our guide, Luis, who was also our driver, was energetic, funny and with us throughout the day. He really helped make sure everyone was having fun. The real attraction, though, are the cenotes. Each of the 4 cenotes have different features and activities, but all of them involve plenty of time in the clear, clean waters. We spent just enough time in each to have fun, but not so much that we became bored with any one activity. From zip lines to cliff diving, there was never a dull moment. The 4 cenotes are relatively close to each other, so we didn't lose much time driving, once we made it to the first one. Everyone wears a life vest, by law, so safety was never an issue. Teenagers and parents alike found much to love about this tour. There was always access to facilities and drinking water. The picnic lunch was high quality. They even served fresh tuna. There was enough food for everyone to have seconds, which was nice. We had been so active everyone was ready for a break and for some sustenance. This tour might not be appropriate for young children, but everyone in our group thought it was the bomb. My teenage daughter rated it at a 9.9999 out of 10. The only minus was that the van was packed, and the air conditioning just couldn't keep up. As a result, it was often a bit stuffy, but once you get to the water, no one cares. A few recommendations... You might want to have a snack before you start the day. Definitely wear water shoes or sandals that won't come off easily. They provide a towel, so you don't really need to bring one. Finally, come prepared to have fun.

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Shelly N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an amazing tour! Louise and Aman were great tour guides answering everyone's questions and providing lots of local, environmental, and wildlife information. You could tell they really cared and loved their jobs. Fernando did a great job taking pictures of everyone and everything. Most of the time we did not even know he was taking pictures of us. It was great to see the candid photo's!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Emma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and our tour guides were amazing. Swimming up close with the sea turtles in their natural habitat was one of the best things i have ever experienced

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Jenny T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved this trip! Our guide to the keynotes and the beach was amazing and knowledgeable. I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Adriana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun and exciting experiencing. The staff was awesome and very helpful. I would def recommend this excursion to anyone who loves to have fun and is adventurous.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Kristine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and passionate about sea turtles. She brings a wealth of knowledge and keeps the tour fun and moving. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

carey43

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a lot of fun, and our guide, Raul was great. We went swimming in the cenotes, and Raul explained about how they were formed and the cultural significance for the Maya. They provided a light lunch, then we drove to Akumal where we went snorkeling in the beautiful, clear blue ocean and saw lots of turtles, fish and stingrays. There was a photographer who took pictures at both locations including great underwater pictures of the turtles which we were able to purchase for 30. The group size was small and the van was clean and comfortable.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message