Naturally formed sinkholes pockmarking the limestone turf of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, cenotes are among the world’s most unique natural phenomenon. Used as a water source by the Incas and revered as sacred "portals to the underworld," ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dixon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was everything I hoped for and then some. We saw 9 different turtles at Akumal! The cenotes were beautiful. The most amazing thing about the adventure was our guide Adan. He was very informative and took the time to answer our questions. I would recommend this to anyone wanting something a little different.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Baldermar E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You cannot go wrong with this awesome adventure!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Ive experienced many day excursions in the 3 times Ive visited the Cancun area and this is by far the most outstanding of them.

Our guide, Louise, was thoroughly informative, helpful, and professional. She briefed us w/background info, fitted our equipment, looked out for our safety, and made sure we had a great time. We saw a dozen or more green turtles and 3 types of rays.

Having the photographers services frees you to enjoy the moment rather than worry about capturing good shots to view later. The best photos I have of our vacation are the ones that the photographer, Guille, took on this excursion. If only he would follow us around and take pictures of our entire trip!

Some tips:
Bring an inexpensive workout shirt, the type that wicks moisture, to wear under your swim vest at Akumal. If you want more sun protection, make it long-sleeved.
Bring water shoes to protect your toes from getting bumped and scraped on the underwater boulders in the cenotes.
The early departure is a small sacrifice but worth it, since youll avoid the worst of the crowds. If your hotels buffet or room service isnt available for an early breakfast, plan ahead by stashing something the night before.
Yes, its a long drive from Cancún. But you cant change geography. Bring a change of dry clothes so you dont have to wear wet swimsuits on the return ride do have your swimsuits on and ready to go when you leave in the morning. There are restrooms/changing rooms at both locations.
Bring enough cash for the photos and gratuities. You may think you wont want the photos, but youll change your mind after you see them. An appropriate tip would be 10-20 for the guide if they work hard for you and give you an amazing experience.
While not required, its a nice gesture to tip the driver, maybe 100 pesos 5US, since hes guarding your stuff in the van while youre having a good time and he cleans up your sandy mess afterwards.
Be aware that the guide may be speaking more than one language with other members of the group.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight to our trip to Cancun . The bus to collect us was running late but they phoned to let us know which was much appreciated . The whole trip was fantastic . I have been talking about it all the time to anyone who will listen ! We bought the photos and printed them off to put in Christmas cards . They were excellent quality and definitely captured a 'moment in time ' on a very special day .

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

maggie f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Nothing short of amazing. Our guides were very respectful of the turtles home and knowledgeable about the cenotes.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Jose D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing. I honestly didn't know what to expect as we bought it online, but it was excellent. The people at Selvatica run the whole experience. The guides are amazing, friendly, playful and full of life. They really love their work. The Zipline is amazing!!!! ATV tour was cool too, a little short and the Cenote Swim was one of the best experiences ever. Will use Viator again as they know how to set these things up!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

MEB2010 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing from start to...well almost the finish. But I will get into that later. We were picked up on time! at our hotel by tour guide,Tamara, and driver Miguel. They were very friendly. We drove around picking others up and picked up our photographer, Nacho, as well. Unfortunately since we were the first ones picked up, we rode in the van for a long time 3 hours!. The snorkeling was all fantastic however, you may not like it if you are not a good swimmer because the current in the ocean was rough. Nacho took awesome photos and we ended up purchasing them. The ride back was less than pleasant. Since we were the first ones picked up, we were last dropped off so we had another 3 hour ride and we were cold and wet. There is probably not a lot they can do to fix this other than maybe cluster people staying close to each other together so they don't have to drive all over Cancun and surrounding areas. Overall though awesome trip!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Wei S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We are two families with three adults and two 12-year-old girls. Our tour guide is Rose and the driver is Angel. Rose is very friendly, patient and knowledgeable. This tour is an eye-opening experience. The lunch is simple but quite good. The cenote is awesome and so impressive. Swimming with the turtles is so much fun. The lifeguard for our group is Mares. He is very responsible and helpful all the way through. Absolutely amazing tour!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Rosemary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What an amazing time we had with Bruno and his crew! They went out of their way to make sure we had the best time ever! We were never afraid or pressured and always made us feel comfortable! The 10 plus ziplines were a blast but we LOVED the side by side ATV hot rodding through the jungle! The cenote was awesome too! Lunch was great and no pressure to buy pictures! Loved it! Thanks Bruno!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Albert Sung S L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing experience!!!! A Must-do tour.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

kunaljain7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I wanted to such a tour but there were so many tours out there on the net that I didn't know which one to pick as they all seemed great. I was then recommended to use a travel startup yourlocalcousin com which connects travelers with locals for customized travel planning and itineraries. I connected with a local from Playa del Carmen and she told me to pick this tour. It was best use of my 6 hours and the guide Thomas and his crew were great! I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Lesley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome experience! We had a great time. Only wish I would have taken more money to buy more souvenirs and pictures.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Heather B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guides Denise and Root I think were awesome. Very helpful and very fun. The lunch was yummy. Ziplining was gorgeous. Just wish the ATV was longer but would definitely do it again and would totally recommend it!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Louise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome.Best activity we did on our holiday. We had a tour guide take us around in the hummer, who was friendly and knowledgeable making our experience personal. This is a must do :-

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

kathyransone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everything was amazing from start to finish. I was hesitant on going on the Zip line but one of the guides went with me on the first line and from there I was a pro. Very fun and def worth doing. The only down side was the cost of the pictures. Very expensive !!! 80 was the cheapest pkg plus 10 delivery charge to your hotel.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Tim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was absolutely worth the time and money! Our guide Jessica was amazing. She spoke 4 different languages to the people on our tour. She is extremely knowledgeable about the cenotes and turtles.
Make sure you wear a swim shirt or long sleeves when snorkeling because sun screen is not allowed due to potential damage to the reef. They have long sleeve shirts available to purchase for 20.00. Also, make sure to purchase the zip drive with all the pictures for 30.00. The photographer is with you for the day. Best 30.00 I spent, over 300 pictures.
I HIGHLY recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

James E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We greatly enjoyed snorkeling with the turtles with our guides Malcolm and Yuri. Swimming in the cenotes was phenomenal. My family will long remember this great adventure.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Yvonne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Freddy is the best tour guild in Cancun. The photographer took the amazing picture. Only 30 for all photos on stick. We went 10 miles on a tiny road to visit 2 cenotes at one location. Freddy called it Mayan massage because the road was so bumpy. Each cenotes, one dry, one wet, gave us different feelings. You have to be there to feel it. Really worth it. Lunch was served in a hut in the middle of the jungle.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

jordan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing personal tour with a very informative guid.. just driving the hummer through cancun was an experience in it and #39;s self.. the zoo is like nothing back in the uk and we had the cenote pretty much to ourselves :) the fish burrito is amazing aswell

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Keith K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is great. We started off looking at turtles in the Akumal Bay. We followed that up with a snorkel in two cenotes. Cenotes were beautiful. This was an outstanding tour. Nickolas was our guide and was simply great. Everything was as expected. Transportation was on time and great. This is what you want when you book a tour and don't want bad surprises.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Gail I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great outing. Saw a lot of turtles and the cenotes were awesome.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Lori W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience and our tour guide Ricardo was excellent and knowledgable.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

kalea.love01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the absolute best!! From the exciting ziplining and helpful tour guides (roots, Sergio, nel etc) to the atv and cenote swim it was all fantastic! I highly recommend it and the lunch afterwards is the best

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Tiffini S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was so much fun!!! Swimming with the turtles and fish, swimming in 3 cenotes, you will definitely get a good work out! Ricardo was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and patient for the non-swimmers in the group. He spoke many different languages and was able to communicate with everyone in the group. Victor was our reliable and trusted driver and Nacho captured all of our candid moments on camera. They were all amazing just like the experience. I would recommend this tour to everyone!!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Indrajit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our young family of 4 throughly enjoyed this tour.

Pick up in the morning was prompt from the property we were staying at in PDC

We saw a few turtles on the first excursion to Akumal - but there were quite a few people there doing the same thing so may have prevented the turtles from surfacing

The highlight was definitely the trip to the underground Cenote!

Our guide was very informative without being too pushy

Overall we had a great day out and would certainly recommend this tour

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message