Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 557 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Cancun, I would rate it 10 stars, if I could! Juan and the entire crew work so hard to make sure everyone is having fun! The day included snorkeling, enjoying the beautiful water and scenery, visiting the island, Isla Mujeres, freshly prepared lunch, Salsa lessons, dancing and more! The fun never stops! If you are looking for a quiet boat ride, this is not for you. If you are looking for a good time, do this!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a well run excursion. Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic and so excited about his job. You float in the crystal clear water with lifejackets, helmets with lights and wetsuits. I would advise wetsuits as the water is about 77 degrees and it does get cold after a while in the water. The food was a hot buffet and was typical Mexican food - which I love. Rice, beans, salad, pork or chicken in green sauce, fruits... a very nice presentation. You are not allowed to bring your camera on this excursion and the photos are expensive - 119 for full photos with choice of 3 souvenirs, 89 for full CD and 25 for each single photo. However, if you were taking your own photos you may have missed the experience. This tour is very professional and very enjoyable. My fiancee enjoyed this experience most of our week in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

sujan g United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our R/T transfer at Cancun International airport was super efficient and smooth. Recommend strongly to others - reasonable cost to go R/T to Mayakoba Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya. Meeting the Viator rep at CUN was easy and the driver Jorge came within 5 minutes. Same on the way back - Driver Riviera was there on time at the hotel and we got back to Cancun International airport in 45 minutes. Both way the drivers were safe, very nice and drove very well.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

judith p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were saved from an unknown destination when we left the Cancun airport-in line for another BD van. Fortunately someone from Viator came looking for us before we could board. We got a private ride to our destination, complete with a stop at the grocery store for supplies. Our driver, Jorge was great.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Adam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Maurice, our guide, was extremely informative, educational and a blast to hang out with on this tour! He was extremely accommodating and extremely helpful in explaining things! The tour itself was amazing especially the light show at the end. It and #39;s a long ride from our hotel in Cancun but worth it!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Chichen Itza Tour and Light and Sound Show Including Lunch and Luxury Transport

stephen w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thanks to the family that we met at the airport in Cancun for recommending Viator and the EARLY tour !We can't begin to tell you how privileged my wife and I were to have Marco Solis archaeologist and anthropologist as our tour guide on November 23,2016. It's apparent that he fell in love with Chiche'n Itza as a small boy and that love guided him through his life - on to College to seek his Master's degree and then share the wealth of knowledge he possesses in such a way that YOU feel his passion and want to learn more about the Mayan culture. He is truly a gem and this was one of our BEST tours in the many places that we've traveled around the world!! Be SURE and book the EARLY tour and hopefully you will have Marco as your guide request him IF you can!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. We were picked up, bright and early, at 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone. Arturo was our guide, and he was great -- very informative. The only downside was that our group was a mix of Spanish and English speakers, and Arturo was the only guide. This meant that he went back and forth translating between English and Spanish during the tour, which was a bit distracting. Doing this tour is definitely worth it, though, if nothing else because you arrive at Tulum as soon as it opens at 9am. You can admire the ruins without the crowds and get as many photographs as you want without throngs of tourists in the way. Arturo gave us background information and discussed the ruins for about 90 minutes and the remaining 90 minutes could be spent as you wish -- we chose to wander the beach and explore the other ruins. We were back at our hotel by 2pm, leaving the rest of the afternoon free to wander Cancun.

Oh, and there are tons of lizards all over the ruins -- quite a beautiful sight! Bring your camera.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

KAB2942 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rules:
1. Small backpacks only
2. They charge to bring video cameras in.
3. Phones, gopros, and professional cameras are allowed in at no additional cost. NO TRIPODS
4. They do sell food and drinks inside and outside the park.
Carlos the driver and Frank the tour guide were amazing. It is about 2.5 hours from Cancun to Chichen Itza. There are no bathrooms on the bus, but we did make a stop for restrooms about 30 mins in. Bring sunscreen, bug spray and comfortable shoes. You have the option of staying with the group or going on your own. I would recommend staying with the group because out guide was of Myan descent, and he knew a lot about Myan culture. The bag lunch was a sandwich, juice, banana, and granola bar. When we first got to the park Frank gave us 15 mins. to take photos before the crowds started arriving. Over 15,000 people come to Chichen Itza a day, so this is why early access is crucial because we got there before the crowds and the heat of the day. We were picked up at out hotel at 5:30 am and arrived back at 3:10 pm. Once we got to Chichen Itza we were divided into groups based on language. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour November 2016 to Chichen Itza was amazing. Our guide, Marco, was entertaining and very informative and he made our visit more than just a sightseeing event. During our bus ride, Marco presented some Mayan history and background of the site - in English and Spanish. While at Chichen Itza, his presentations were more than just explanations as he made each temple and building come alive with simple demonstrations.
We were picked up from our resort, north of Cancun proper, on time and the bus ride to Chichen Itza was comfortable.
The early access option beat the crowds and the heat. It was a good choice for us.
Wonderful time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Suraj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! The food was delicious and prepared right there and the drinks were the best - you could order anything you'd like from tequila to wine and beer. There is an MC throughout the evening who really made the night much more fun and made sure everyone was having a good time. Watching the sunset from aboard the cruise was amazing and the saxophone player was awesome! Really great evening tour if you are in Cancun.

Doing what: Columbus Lobster Dinner Cruise in Cancun

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing evening thanks to this tour! Me and my husband chose to spend our first evening in Cancun on this tour and we absolutely loved it. We took the 5:30pm tour so we could watch the sunset and it was incredible. From the MC to the food and drinks, everything was top-notch. The music added a nice touch to the evening and the views you get as you sail were so unique as I don't think we'd had a chance to see Cancun from that perspective. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to have a perfect evening in Cancun!

Doing what: Columbus Lobster Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Angelica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed very much this night Tour. Its a must when you visit Cancun !!! great party ...Food ..drinks and Music. Live the real Mexican culture with this Tour.

Doing what: Xoximilco Cruise: Cultural Mexican Fiesta in Cancun with Transport

Suraj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An awesome tour of very beautiful islands! I especially loved Isla Contoy and spending time in such a secluded, protected island. The waters and white sand beaches were breathtaking and snorkeling was super fun. Our staff and guide were very friendly and I loved lunch and the guided tour of the island. We also got an open bar on board on our way to Isla Mujeres and enjoyed a relaxing ride. Isla Mujeres was also very fun and we had enough time to walk around, explore a bit and see some of the beaches. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you want a day away from the developed area of Cancun to enjoy some time with nature and awesome activities.

Doing what: Isla Contoy and Isla Mujeres Combo Tour with Snorkeling from Cancun

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible, incredible tour. We had just a few days in Cancun having stayed in Playa del Carmen before and chose to take this tour as it combined both islands. Isla Contoy is a dream and truly breathtaking. The crystal-clear waters, beaches and reef are amazing. The boat ride was great and the staff and guide were friendly and professional. We had a short guided tour of the island and our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate. Snorkeling was very fun and lunch was delicious with fresh fish and yummy rice. Isla Mujeres was also great and having free time to explore was the best. Overall, I would highly recommend this tour and company. It topped-off our visit to Cancun.

Doing what: Isla Contoy and Isla Mujeres Combo Tour with Snorkeling from Cancun

Jrv1123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

El Galleon was our ship, and it was fantastic! Buffet style meal was very good. El Stingray was our pirate/server, couldnt imagine a better crewmember. Great service! Drinks came frequently, and were well made. You can dance if you like, or sit back and watch the show. Definitely a Cancun must see!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Gunter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A realy great trip. I had the Cichen Itza trip day tour also with cenote swimming the week before. But the marvelous location of Tulum beach side and those of Coba in the jungle was a bit better, though different from cichen Iza. The cenote was more a kind of Family operated pool, which was fine, because it was not crowded by too many tourists. Some complained about the simple Food, but it was fine for me.
A really good recommendation for a day trip from Cancun

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If your in Cancun, you need to do this! ATV's were amazing, zip lining through the jungle and the cenote is cool and refreshing. The snorkeling is like watching the discovery channel except you can touch everything. And best off all were all the guides, they all told jokes, and made the whole trip beyond expectation!

Doing what: Snorkel, ATV, Zipline and Cenote Adventure from Cancun

wendy.pang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall excellent experience and highly recommended. Juan Carlos was our driver and guide. Driver and van were on time to hotel pickup. Van was clean and comfortable. There were plenty of drinks, including beer. Breakfast was a ham/cheese sandwich, granola bar, apple, and juice box. Juan Carlos gave an excellent tour and answered questions knowledgeably. It was great to get to the site early, when there weren't as many people and it wasn't as hot. We did not feel rushed. Had time to take photos. Buffet lunch at Mayaland had large variety of foods, including Mayan/Mexican and international foods. Alcoholic beverages were included. Got back to Cancun around 3:30pm.

Doing what: Open the Gate to Chichen Itza: Early Access Tour with Private Entrance

robedge19

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely fantastic, the show, location and attention by the staff was excellent and unlike the holiday tour operators like Thomson, transportation to and from the event is included in the price. As we were located in Cancun we were picked up in a 52 seater coach from the Playa La Isla shopping complex Liverpool, which was only a 22 pesos for 2 people local bus ride from our hotel. At the event we did however meet another British couple who having booked through the their tour operator had had to pay 1,500 pesos in a taxi one way approx 60 each way. Would highly recommend anyone going to Mexico to see this show.

Doing what: Cirque du Soleil® JOYÀ at Vidanta Riviera Maya

robedge19

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was arranged through Amigotours, with our English speaking Archaeologist Marco, he opened our minds to what the Mayan people had managed to achieve especially their mathematics and understanding of the universe especially the way the year was broken up into astrological events. Getting to the site early was definitely a bonus as it was so easy to move around and take in the sure scale of the ruins. My only criticisms on the tour, were we hadn't been informed that it was a 3 and a half hour drive to the site from Cancun, making it 7 hours on a coach. This was was further compounded by an additional half hour lay over in Puerto Cancun awaiting a feeder bus, which is something Amigo tours need to address to be a bit more slicker.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

robedge19

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Whenever we go abroad on holiday, we do try to go on a Catamaran trip, however this time I had booked the day out on the trimaran Lupito from seeing the promotional video. Initially my wife felt disappointed by the small size of the vessel, however having put to sea and noting the smaller number onboard and that it was not a booze fueled trip sat back and relaxed into our day, don't get me wrong the drink flowed as much as you wanted. Having stopped for snorkelling we then stopped off on Isla Muyeres from lunch, although we took part in photographic session with a nurse shark in hind sight we realised how cruel this was due to the small pen in which the shark was housed. After lunch we then got back on the boat and travelled along the coast to the main town. Having spent nearly 2 hours we then boarded the boat back to Cancun. The staff on the Lupito were fantastic, not only providing the entertainment they were excellent guides. If you don't want a boat trip mobbed with booze fueled people this is a definite trip to do

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

nmarso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great day! Pick up from hotel went very smoothly, comfortable and very clean bus transportation to Tulum. Extremely knowledgeable and entertaining English and Spanish speaking guide at Tulum. The afternoon at Xel-Ha was fantastic. A great place for adults and kids alike. Great facilities, but still very eco-friendly and natural. Highly recommend this day trip to anyone staying in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Yvonne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Freddy is the best tour guild in Cancun. The photographer took the amazing picture. Only 30 for all photos on stick. We went 10 miles on a tiny road to visit 2 cenotes at one location. Freddy called it Mayan massage because the road was so bumpy. Each cenotes, one dry, one wet, gave us different feelings. You have to be there to feel it. Really worth it. Lunch was served in a hut in the middle of the jungle.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was picked up promptly on both trips. Jorge was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. On the ride back to the airport, he even offered to make a stop wherever I wanted and we stopped at the Cancun sign for a picture. Both trips, I was the only passenger so it felt like a private transfer.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was better than we had hoped for! Went with my daughter and her boyfriend and our french tour guide from EcoTours could not have been more helpful, enthusiastic, informative or kind. Clare did everything possible to ensure everyone not only enjoyed the experience, but had a GoPro camera to ensure we all had photographic and video memories available for a very reasonable fee to remember and share with family and friends. We went on this trip on July 29, 2016. Yes, it is a long day - we traveled from our hotel in Akumal to north of Cancun by minibus, then well over an hour by small boat to find the whale sharks. And yes, we were extremely fortunate to see and swim with many whale sharks and even manta rays. And yes, I would advise taking sea sickness tablets the night before, and the morning of the trip if you suffer. The ocean was quite rough the day we went, and the time waiting on the surface in between dives even began to get to me after taking these precautions! However, no one on our boat was sick, and we were fortunate to have the most exhilarating experience swimming with the whale sharks, with people who respect the ocean wildlife, with an amazing boat captain and mate, who managed to steer their way safely between many, many whale sharks, and quite a few snorkelers and who were determined to help us make the most of this opportunity. The only things I would change are a I would have booked this tour earlier in our trip, because my husband became ill from food/water and was unable to join us, and b I would have rented the wetsuit offered instead of wearing a life jacket, which was restrictive and a bit annoying for a reasonably strong swimmer and PADI-certified diver. But this was a fantastic experience - quite awe-inspiring and humbling to see these beautiful creatures in their natural habitat.

Doing what: Whale Shark Encounter Full-Day Tour from Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message