Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 587 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joe Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were nervous about taking any of the roundtrip airport transfers that weren't provided by our hotel, but we decided to book this product. We had a complicated case - my parents and I flew in on the same day, but we departed on separate days. We wanted to ride together. The staff at Cancun Vacation Experts were incredibly helpful and we got this setup.

The area outside Cancun airport is incredibly hectic, but Ron was outside looking for us. He was also incredibly helpful and actually put my mom at ease with a lot of her concerns about traveling in Cancun - he spoke about drinking the water, crime and safety, tipping etiquette, etc. His supervisor, Wendy, got us into our shuttle and on our way. Really can't say enough about these two - they were a great team. Our drivers were kind and very punctual.

Be sure to just email them to schedule the pickup from the hotel when you're leaving. Easy as that!

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

Trevor W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely spectacular. A MUST do trip. Our archaeologist, Marco was a brilliant man with amazing insight. Will do this again next time we visit the Cancun area.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Vylan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Deborah was awesome! Very funny guide, kept things entertaining. Very knowledgeable and loves what she does. Definitely had a good time. A lot to do in a day so keep up. It is a 12 hour day so stick to the schedule. As long as everyone follows this, then you might get extra time at another location. From past reviews, time is very limited at each location. I'd recommend wearing your bathing suit underneath you clothes. This will give me you more time at the cenote. There is one bus that picks up everyone from there hotel in Cancun AND Playa del Carmen. We were the first ones to be picked up at 6AM and the next 3 hours were for picking up passengers from their hotels. Yes it is annoying but it was early enough to just go back to sleep. Be courteous of other travelers and be at your pick up location on time. Pack a light snack with you for the 5 hour roundtrip bus ride. Lunch consisted of a buffet of local Mayan cuisine. We are very open minded with our cuisine and I must say that lunch was very good! Please keep in mind that you are in another country and if you wanted fried chicken or a burger, you should have stayed in your hotel. We met a couple there that hated the food and were being debbie downers the whole trip. You chose this excursion. Take time to learn about the Mayan culture and cuisine. Have fun!

Doing what: Coba Tulum and Cenote Tankach-Ha with Lunch

Marcia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed our excursion to Chichen Itza. Our guide Frank was prompt, informative, and helped to make our time at Chichen Itza a truly memorable experienced. We stayed at the Mayan Palace in the Rivera Maya. We opted for an early morning excursion, and was picked up in a smaller van at the main gate before 6:00am. We drove to Cancun, and then boarded the large tour bus for the 2 hour dive to Chichen Itza. The bus was comfortable, and a bag lunch was provided.
Once arriving at Chichen Itza Frank guided us around the ruins, and explained all that we were seeing. He too is a Mayan, and very proud of his heritage. After Frank's tour, we had another hour to walk around on our own, shop at the many vendors, and get food or drink at the cafe.
The trip was great, and definitely a highlight of our stay in Mexico. Going on the earlier trip allowed us to escape the crowds and the heat of the afternoon.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Reshma R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a bucket list item for me - I have wanted to see the Mayan ruins for most of my life. The organisation, planning, timing and friendliness of this tour made it all more special!
Carlos Mo - you are the best tour guide I could have asked for! You were so good at what you do, you were so knowledgeable and passionate about Mayan culture and what a good human being you are.
Carlos timed everything perfectly such that we arrived at every stop before the crowds arrived. He was always around to answer questions and to provide a laugh. The time at the ruins was for me surreal. The beauty, history and culture are evident in everything you see. Take lots of cash because the shopping on offer is exquisite and cheaper than you will find anywhere else in Cancun or thereabouts. Lunch is delicious!
The trip to Valladoloid was simply magical - my only request for improvement is more time in this picturesque town. All in all, a fabulous day amde all the more special byt the mexican people.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing views and great service! This was a very unique to see Cancun and we even got to see the sunset colors as we got to the top, so timing was perfect. The views from the top were breathtaking. I really enjoyed this visit!

Doing what: Torre Escenica Admission Ticket in Cancun

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I am so happy that we chose this excursion. First of all, we had a wonderful driver, Arturo, he was very kind and considerate. Luckily enough, we had Mannily, he was our own guide, so knowledgeable, friendly, and very caring about us enjoying our trip. He made sure everyone in our group was doing well, from drinking water to our safety during snorkeling. The ruins were incredible, but very hot day, so go prepared with water, hats, and sunscreen. The snorkeling adventure was fantastic! Swimming with the sea turtles, beautiful fish, and swimming through the reef, was amazing. The best part for my family, was the Cenote, we still cannot believe that such a beautiful place exists. The lunch that the local people provided was really special. They truly made us feel welcomed. Please add this wonderful trip to your visit to Cancun !

Doing what: 3-in-1 Discovery Combo Tour: Tulum Ruins, Akumal Turtles Plus Cenote and Caves

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Ive experienced many day excursions in the 3 times Ive visited the Cancun area and this is by far the most outstanding of them.

Our guide, Louise, was thoroughly informative, helpful, and professional. She briefed us w/background info, fitted our equipment, looked out for our safety, and made sure we had a great time. We saw a dozen or more green turtles and 3 types of rays.

Having the photographers services frees you to enjoy the moment rather than worry about capturing good shots to view later. The best photos I have of our vacation are the ones that the photographer, Guille, took on this excursion. If only he would follow us around and take pictures of our entire trip!

Some tips:
Bring an inexpensive workout shirt, the type that wicks moisture, to wear under your swim vest at Akumal. If you want more sun protection, make it long-sleeved.
Bring water shoes to protect your toes from getting bumped and scraped on the underwater boulders in the cenotes.
The early departure is a small sacrifice but worth it, since youll avoid the worst of the crowds. If your hotels buffet or room service isnt available for an early breakfast, plan ahead by stashing something the night before.
Yes, its a long drive from Cancún. But you cant change geography. Bring a change of dry clothes so you dont have to wear wet swimsuits on the return ride do have your swimsuits on and ready to go when you leave in the morning. There are restrooms/changing rooms at both locations.
Bring enough cash for the photos and gratuities. You may think you wont want the photos, but youll change your mind after you see them. An appropriate tip would be 10-20% for the guide if they work hard for you and give you an amazing experience.
While not required, its a nice gesture to tip the driver, maybe 100 pesos 5US, since hes guarding your stuff in the van while youre having a good time and he cleans up your sandy mess afterwards.
Be aware that the guide may be speaking more than one language with other members of the group.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic day trip from Cancun. It was LONG - 13 hours in total from when we were picked up. We were picked up on time, exactly as we were told the guide would call out our name in the lobby, and he did, at the exact time they said. It becomes low level madness in the high season at the hotels, at the morning pickups for the big Chichen Itza tours. There are huge buses coming into the hotel and everyone thinks the big bus is theirs. Our guide walked right up to the lobby and yelled out our name, we were on our way. The tour was extremely information, comfortable the bus was very high end, clean, and the federal tour guide assigned to us was amazing. I loved the international mix of tourists on our trip as well. There were only 3 families like us from the States, and then 11 different countries among the other families. Chichen Itza was obviously the highlight but the other couple stops were great as well. An extra 30-60 minute on our own at Chichen Itza would have improved the experience a bit for us - we only had about 40 minutes after our tour to go around on our own. In all it's a tour I highly recommend.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We spent the entire day with Sergio. He was so knowledgeable about Coba and Tulum. His deep appreciation for Mexico and the Mayan people was inspiring. He was funny and engaging too. I would highly recommend this tour and if you can request a guide, ask for Sergio. Only drawback was that I did not know that I could have requested an earlier pick up time. We got a bit of a late start which meant more traffic and mid day heat. Benjamin, our driver, got us to Coba/Tulum and back to Cancun with great ease and professionalism. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight to our trip to Cancun . The bus to collect us was running late but they phoned to let us know which was much appreciated . The whole trip was fantastic . I have been talking about it all the time to anyone who will listen ! We bought the photos and printed them off to put in Christmas cards . They were excellent quality and definitely captured a 'moment in time ' on a very special day .

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Jaimal G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

omg what a trip. Amazing crew. The highlight of my whole trip. mind blowing food and friendliness of crew. Its a must do if you visiting Cancun. Playa mujeres island is beautiful.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

lorir1104

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Viator representative was right outside of the airport with a sign waiting for us when we got to Cancun. The van we rode in was comfortable and we were offered cold beverages on our ride to the resort. They were very friendly and informative. They were right on time to pick us up and take us back to the airport as well. The only issue I ran into was, when calling to confirm our ride back to the airport, it sounded like I was on speaker phone as it was very noisy and I had a hard time hearing and understanding the rep I was speaking with. The rep I spoke with was a female and there was a very loud male voice that you could tell was speaking with another customer. Aside from that, all was great with them!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Selvatica tour was my son's favorite day. It has every adventure that a guy would love. Pick up was easy and only around 10 minutes late. The park is around 45 minutes from Cancun and once we got there everything was very organized. You will definitely need 10 to rent a locker 5 is returned when you give the key back. We started with the zip lines and you just go from one to another. It is all very safe and loads of fun. Son did the bungee swing but fiancee and I were chicken so we just did the parachute jump. Somehow the aerial bridges were skipped but we did not mind. The crew then took us to the canteen for a snack fruit, chips, cookies, water before we boarded the army vehicle to visit the ATV course/cenote swim. The ride there was a hoot...I believe we hit every pothole. There were several in our group we they divided us into 2 groups. Half drove ATVs while half swam. We swam first...well, son did. The only way to really enter the water was on a zipline and fiancee and I were hesitate to use it chicken again. I did jump in off the steps and it was COLD! The ATVs were a crowd favorite and the ride was just the right length! Then we returned to the canteen for a lunch of chicken/beans/rice. We bought beer and it was 5 a bottle but since I had declined the 30 worth of ATV insurance, we considered it free! BTW...the insurance is really your call but we did not think it necessary. Overall, everything was very organized, very safe, and extremely FUN! It is pricey but we thought it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Cancun Adventure Tour at Selvatica: Zipline, Aerial Bridge, Buggy, Bungee Swing and Cenote Swim

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was one of our favorite tours of our trip! Departure was from Cancun Bay Resort and check in was easy. The Gulf was rough and we got a bit seasick going over. The swim/snorkle did not help with the nausea but was still fun. We had our own gear borrowed their fins and that was for the best. Their snorkles did not look very efficient. Our stop for lunch was some of the best food we had but the beach was very crowded and there were no chairs for us. The next boat ride took us to the downtown area for shopping. We did not purchase much but enjoyed looking at all the shops...folks were a bit pushy to come in and look. After about 1 hour it was time to return to Cancun. The drinks flowed freely every time we were on the boat and the crew was great! It was a much better trip than going on the ferry because we were taken right to the best places. Great trip!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

MEB2010 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing from start to...well almost the finish. But I will get into that later. We were picked up on time! at our hotel by tour guide,Tamara, and driver Miguel. They were very friendly. We drove around picking others up and picked up our photographer, Nacho, as well. Unfortunately since we were the first ones picked up, we rode in the van for a long time 3 hours!. The snorkeling was all fantastic however, you may not like it if you are not a good swimmer because the current in the ocean was rough. Nacho took awesome photos and we ended up purchasing them. The ride back was less than pleasant. Since we were the first ones picked up, we were last dropped off so we had another 3 hour ride and we were cold and wet. There is probably not a lot they can do to fix this other than maybe cluster people staying close to each other together so they don't have to drive all over Cancun and surrounding areas. Overall though awesome trip!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Carlos was the best! Out of 5 tours we did in Cancun this was the best by far! We had kids 5 yrs-16yrs old with us! Carlos showed us amazing things eagle rey, dolphin, lots of fish! He took this to an awesome level loved! Must do!!!
Thank you Carlos!

Doing what: Cancun Jungle Tour Adventure: Speed Boat and Snorkeling

Willie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is fun boat so expect fun. The entire crew does a great job. The continental breakfast was good and you can get a much as you want. The same with the lunch of beef and chicken fajitas. You have unlimited drinks-alcoholic and non-alcoholic. The drinks are not that strong so ask for a little extra liquor to be added. The snorkeling could have been fun but the water was too choppy for me and I did not last long in the water. They have a diving board on the board and mostly younger people dove in the water. We then visited Isla Mujueres. Before you board at the beginning of the tour reserve the golf cart ride and tour of the island. We got to visit the southern part of the island with the iguanas. The trip back for party time for the young people on the lower deck and down time with soft music for the older people on the middle deck and of course more drinking. I have told friends that they should take this tour and I will do it again next time I visit Cancun. It is more than worth the money.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Itzak L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

So awesome! Seriously do this if you're in Cancun and escape downtown for a day. We had our excursion at Boca del Puma not sure if they change areas or not, but seriously the most accommodating people there : super friendly, English-based guides I don't know a single word of Spanish outside nachos, and just loads of fun. You'll start off with the zip-lines, and there are 6 total. 2nd to last one you get to go upside-down, which was awesome. Then you jump on ATVs, which can get intense and super tight riding through the jungle. Then you relax in a nice, cool cenote, which is great for not-so-strong swimmers since you wear a life jacket and you can ease into it, though I prefer jumping. You'll also have a papparazzi tagging along taking your photos: for 15 USD you can buy just 1 photo, but for 25 USD ten more you get a whole thumbdrive of photos of you on the ziplines and ATV, so definitely worth the money. If you bring a GoPro, you need both hands for the zipline and ATV, so bring your headstrap - it easily fits on the helmets, which happen to have brackets that hold down the strap to the helmet. No, they won't let you use a selfie stick while doing those, BUT the crew let me use my headstrap-GoPro with no problem or extra fee. You do have a to pay a small fee for a locker to hold your bags and purchase ATV insurance, but those fees are negligible. If you bring USD cash or pesos you avoid credit card additional fees.

Afterwards, your 3rd party van will take you to a completely different location, which is Sealife Marina Cancun, across the street from Grand Oasis Cancun. You'll get to drive your own small private boat to the snorkeling area it was like an additional not-listed activity, so yes please! snorkel for about half hour, then see the sunset out on the ocean.

You seriously can't beat this price trying to arrange the driving, and paying both places on your own. Save yourself the hassle and just book this. Thanks for the memories!

Doing what: Snorkel, ATV, Zipline and Cenote Adventure from Cancun

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I will warn you that this tour is long about 12 hours. Riccardo was our tour guide and he was very informative and funny. The bus picked us up and on the way to Chichen Itza stopped by a local souvenir shop for a bathroom stop and some shopping. Chichen Itza will be hot, but Riccardo tries to keep everyone in the shade as much as possible. He spends about 1-1.5 hours explaining the different ruins and then gave us about 30 minutes for pictures. Once done we headed over to the cenote, Ik kil for lunch. Lunch was not very good. They have life vests and lockers for rent. If you aren't a strong swimmer I suggest a life vest. The cenote is an amazing experience and absolutely gorgeous. The water is cold though. Once done with the cenote, we drove about 30 minutes to a local town where we were allowed to walk around the main plaza. And then it was back home to Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Zach B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have never dove before. This was an amazing experience. The whole crew was awesome and patient. The instructor took time to point out things during our dive that I would have missed out on otherwise. The only thing that I would add it to make sure that you bring some extra cash with you. There was an extra charge to board the boat. It was only 8 USD, and the money goes to preservation of the reef. Also, they don't have hotel pick up, but the public transit system is great there. I am already planning on doing this again the next time I am in Cancun.

Doing what: Discover Scuba Diving at the Underwater Museum and Manchones Reef from Cancun

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Cancun, I would rate it 10 stars, if I could! Juan and the entire crew work so hard to make sure everyone is having fun! The day included snorkeling, enjoying the beautiful water and scenery, visiting the island, Isla Mujeres, freshly prepared lunch, Salsa lessons, dancing and more! The fun never stops! If you are looking for a quiet boat ride, this is not for you. If you are looking for a good time, do this!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a well run excursion. Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic and so excited about his job. You float in the crystal clear water with lifejackets, helmets with lights and wetsuits. I would advise wetsuits as the water is about 77 degrees and it does get cold after a while in the water. The food was a hot buffet and was typical Mexican food - which I love. Rice, beans, salad, pork or chicken in green sauce, fruits... a very nice presentation. You are not allowed to bring your camera on this excursion and the photos are expensive - 119 for full photos with choice of 3 souvenirs, 89 for full CD and 25 for each single photo. However, if you were taking your own photos you may have missed the experience. This tour is very professional and very enjoyable. My fiancee enjoyed this experience most of our week in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

sujan g United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our R/T transfer at Cancun International airport was super efficient and smooth. Recommend strongly to others - reasonable cost to go R/T to Mayakoba Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya. Meeting the Viator rep at CUN was easy and the driver Jorge came within 5 minutes. Same on the way back - Driver Riviera was there on time at the hotel and we got back to Cancun International airport in 45 minutes. Both way the drivers were safe, very nice and drove very well.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

judith p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were saved from an unknown destination when we left the Cancun airport-in line for another BD van. Fortunately someone from Viator came looking for us before we could board. We got a private ride to our destination, complete with a stop at the grocery store for supplies. Our driver, Jorge was great.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message