Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 481 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

crigar2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ricardo was an amazing tour guide, he kept our group engaged and was very knowledgable about the Mayan history. Our family had a great time. The tour was very nice and the time spent at each location was just right. This tour is a must do for Cancun!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Gerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. If you can take the tour with Jesus (tour guide) you should definitely do so. Jesus provided us with so much insight on the surrounding areas of Cancun. He was by far the best tour guide during our trip in Cancun.

Doing what: 4x1 Tour: Tulum, Coba, Cenote and Playa del Carmen

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

angel was the besttt.... love this.. if you go to cancun dont miss this experience!

Doing what: Xoximilco Cruise: Cultural Mexican Fiesta in Cancun

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour 6/29 from The Hyatt Ziva in Cancun. My wife and two kids 12 and 10. We were picked up promptly as specified @ 6:40 in a nice van. We made three quick stops at other hotels and picked up a total of six other people for a total of ten in the group. It was about 1 hour ride to the Cenotes. On the way we picked up our guide, Marco. He was great, very personable and explained the day. The swims in the Cenotes were great, we were one of the first groups there, not crowded and very nice. From there it was about a 15 minute van ride to Turtle Beach. This was much more crowded than the Cenotes. Being on this tour seemed to allow us to by pass much of the check in. It was quick, we were in the water in about 15 minutes. The turtle part was very well done, there were many to see, no concerns at all. You then snorkel the edge of a reef. Again very well done.

After this part there are outdoor showers to rinse off with clean water which was nice before the ride back. We had a personal photographer with our group the whole time. He took pictures throughout the day. After the rinse off, they show you the pictures on a laptop. There had to be 100, very well shot in various parts of the trip. The pictures on a flash drive were 30.00 which for anyone who's been on these types of things before was a steal. We've done Dolphins in Fl and Manatees in Cozumel, Dolphins in FL was around 175 and you kind of have to buy them if you want any pictures. Absolutely buy the pictures here.

My family all wore swimming sun shirts, based on other reviews I had read before the trip. They were a good call, but you're actually are not in the sun all that much. The Cenotes are a lot on the shaded side. Total 'sun' time was about 1 hour with the turtles. I had purchased some bio degradeable sunscreen based on reviews but we actually didn't use it. As it was unopened, I'm going to return it through Amazon.

Overall very solid experience. Marco was a great guide

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Thiago H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Must see this in Cancun. Great show! Great dinner! Great staff!

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Chicken Itza is a wonderful experience and if one is a visitor to Cancun, try to get there. Take the time. It is 4 hours round trip but try to see it. Just make sure that the tour group gives you the same directions of where to be picked up as the tour director.

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

Acezwild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just WOW! thank you Kahtia amazing tour guide and you took good care of me and my wife when we got sea sick! People that are sea sick take 2 pills not 1 I learned the hard way and 2 is the charm. I ate ceviche everyday for a week in Cancun and these guys made the best one sooo good! I ate 3 plates full! yummmmm.

Doing what: Whale Shark Encounter All-Inclusive Tour in Cancun

Joanna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! The tour guide was very informative, a must do if you are in cancun!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Lacey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a mixed review because we loved Xel-Ha but you need to seriously rethink if you are booking this from Cancun. The original bus took us one hour to pick up everyone from the different hotels THEN we were switched to another bus that took another hour and a half to get to Xel-Ha. Once we got there, our tour guide tried to upsell us on everything under the sun and ate up another almost 20 minutes of our time. When you only have a day, 2-1/2 hours on the bus and 20 minutes listening to upsales is too long.

The park itself is beautiful and pristine. We loved it! Good snorkeling is found where you see the fish flags throughout the park. Our favorite was the lazy river and floating through the mangrove forest canopy - truly breathtaking! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this park if you were traveling from Playa del Carmen. I would not recommend this park if you are traveling from Cancun. You lose too much of the day on the bus. Should you decide to do it anyway, take clothes to change into once you are done swimming. It will make your travel time much easier on the way back!

Doing what: Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Leigh Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to travel from the Cancun airport to our hotel. Jorge was our driver both ways and he was awesome. Gotta love a cold Corona as a welcome to Cancun! Avoid the people selling tours etc, head straight outside and you are set to go.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

LIZMARIE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This dinner cruise was A-MAZING!!! El NORTEñO was the best pirate and kept the drinks coming!!! The pirates have an amazing show scripted and suitable for adults and children alike! We were in Cancun for a week and this was BY-FAR the best activity we did there! There was good dancing music, the food was great, and this is a MUST DO if you are in the area!! We would definitely return when we are in Mexico!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Ciara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Xcaret was the best part of our cancun trip! IT's just so fun and amazing to experience both water activities and cultural exploration in one place. HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

cmartin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so awesome!! They picked me up right on time. The tour guide was so knowledgeable about the civilizations and surrounding areas. Coupled with her super friendly attitude, this made for an excellent day sightseeing. We visited Coba where we got the chance to climb a pyramid that had breathtaking views of the surrounding areas. Then we took a dip in an underground cenote that was not only refreshing but beautiful to see and experience. Then we were whisked away to a nearby local restaurant that served up a delicious buffet of Yucatan style dishes, and we were able to do a little shopping. Afterwards, we visited Tulum on the coast, which was smaller yet very interesting and beautiful to see. It was a long ride home, but it was very comfortable. In all, I have and will continue to do so recommended this tour, and I know that I will definitely consider it the next time I visit Cancun.

Doing what: Coba Tulum and Cenote Tankach-Ha with Lunch

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour! Guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable, wonderful and very cozy tour bus. Would definately do again on our next trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha Tour From Cancun and Riviera Maya

Ernesto G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was definitely a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for me. The tour guide provided was very knowledgeable and fun and definitely a must see for anyone who visits Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Aside from confusion initially linking up with the driver, which was due to the arrival crowd in Cancun and not the driver's fault, it was a great experience. They got us to the van, were greeted with a cold water and cold Corona, and quick ride straight to the hotel. We figured out the return trip time right on the van, and they were at the hotel at the appointed time on departure day. Also with a cold water. Straight to the airport in plenty of time for departure. Cheaper than using hotel service, didn't have to deal with waiting for anyone else, and didn't have to deal with taxis. Would definitely use again.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

carey43

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, and our guide, Frank was awesome. The group was a little large, but Frank managed to keep us all organized and I had no difficulty hearing his narrative. I highly recommend the early access option - it is VERY hot and gets really crowded later in the day. Bring sunscreen, bug repellent, a hat, and plenty of water. It's a long drive 2.5 hours from the hotel zone in Cancun and the bus a it cramped for long-legged Americans, but comfortably air conditioned.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Annette N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great service. There was a woman standing outside the airport with our name on her board with a Viator sign as well so it was easy to spot, they were also wearing bright green shirts so they stood out. She walked us to the van which was nicely air conditioned waiting for us. David was out drive and he was awesome. He answered any questions we hard in regards to currency or places to visit. Pick up from the hotel was also on time. We would book with them again if we're ever back in Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth getting up super early for. Pick-up was from our hotel in Cancun and we where driven to the Tulum ruins in a nice air conditioned bus. They divided us up into 2 groups so we only had maybe 12 in our group in the end. The guide/Arch. was very informative on the history/culture. He made himself available for questions even after his part of the tour was done. We had enough time to explore the ruins on our own and visit the beach. There are tons of local trinket shops on the way out and a big official souvineer shop at the entrance/exit too. We were back at our hotel by 2:00 pm and had the rest of the afternoon to do whatever we wanted!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the better tours that we took during our vacation. Pick-up was at our hotel in cancun. Then we traveled in a passenger van to the Mayan Village where some of the tour people split to do the adventure part. Zip-line and repel We toured the Mayan Village and was blessed by their Shaman before jumping into their Centote. Afterwards we went back and met up with the group and had a wonderful traditional Mayan lunch! Loved the Chicken! Food was fresh and well made! Next onto the Coba ruins where we had our Mayan tour guide educate us on the Mayan culture and history!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Wilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this transfer was amazing. when we arrived in cancun, the driver stoped at the cancun sign for us to take pictures and then gave us a belief took around cancun, then took us to our hotel.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Graciela Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you go to Cancun and don't experience Xcaret is like you did not go to Cancun. I would have like to spend two days in this place and experience all of the activities and shows they have. Here, the food was also delicious. Swimming in the underground river was like a dream. The 7:00 o'clock show was amazing. They tell you with music and dances the history of Mexico and how the culture became so rich. The show is included in the entrance, but we decided to upgrade it so that it would include dinner. The dinner was a seven course gourmet meal absolutely delicious. This trip is a MUST DO!

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Jacqueline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

picked us up from the cancun airport. on time and no wait. friendly lady had my name on her board so she was easily to find. the shuttle was comfortable and our driver was awesome!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

ladyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Tour was fantastic and lasted about 11 hours. We were picked up promptly from our Hotel and proceeded to pick other tourists from different hotels prior to leaving Cancun.We got to Chichen Itza around 12 noon. Our tour was Ricardo, was very entertaining, also our driver and guide helper were also good. The weather was very HOT HOT, make sure wear light clothing, hat and apply sunscreen. If I have to do the tour again, I will definitely go with the early tour with pick around 4 am. Despite the weather, the tour was awesome, no regrets.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message