Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 501 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paula M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had such an amazing time and would highly recommend this trip for all visitors to Cancun. Our Guide- Marco, and our driver- Carlos, collected us on Wednesday morning last at 05.25hrs from our Hotel. They left us all in peace for about another hour until everyone woke up properly. Marco has a real passion for this tour and is a Fantastic Bi Lingual Guide. We all felt included and he increased our interest in Chichen Itza and the Mayan History with his super knowledge. We loved that we got to the site early so that we avoided the large lunchtime crowds and also the lunchtime heat! We had a really awesome time- and would highly suggest this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jesse T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice drivers. Picked up on time from the airport when we arrived in Cancun. Picked up from our hotel to be brought back to the airport for our return flights a little late but only because it was thunderstorming and flooding at the time. Our driver was apologetic and friendly.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

Kade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So fun! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone who will be staying in Cancun. Our tour guide Josh was knowledgeable and and made the tour tons of fun!

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Kristina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked this tour online before going to Cancun. It was a long day but totally worth the trip. We were picked up on time and were driven to a meeting place where we boarded a comfortable, AC bus, complete with clean restroom in the back. Our tour guide,Carlos Moo pronounced Mo was very professional, informative and entertaining. He is of Mayan heritage and shared a wealth of information with us.He even passed out pictures, various artifacts and maps. We learned some Mayan phrases and our kids 9 and 12 were fascinated and engaged the whole time. We were taken to a local artisan village for some shopping. Here we found beautiful textile, jewelry, pottery, ceramics,T shirts, food and drinks. A Mayan youth student who temporarily joined us in the bus, sold bottles of native anise alcoholic drink can't remember name with our pictures on the label taken earlier outside of the bus in the artisan shop. We also had a chance to sample the drink. We continued to Chichen Itza and marveled at this amazing site. Carlos told us to expect a lot of vendors as we initially got to the site. He wasn't joking. Bring small bills, some vendors don't have change. As we continued on, Carlos eagerly told us the historical significance and meaning of the structures. He tried to find shaded areas where he told us more interesting facts about the Mayan culture and answered all our questions. We took more pictures after about 90 mins with Carlos. We had a buffet lunch then swam in the cenote. We showered before entering to prevent harsh chemicals contaminating the cenote. Life vests are available.The bus tour took us to Valladolid, a traditional town. Here we walked around the plaza, took more pictures and had ice cream. We were later dropped off at our hotel. I recommend this tour!. Chichen Itza is an amazing place.The cost of the tour included the entrance fees and lunch as well. Just bring money for shopping and much appreciated tips. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

lars

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a BLAST of a tour! Pickup worked smoothly and on-time, transferring to a bigger tour-bus. First hour the whole bus was quite quiet - everybody sleeping. Last hour or so before arriving, the guide Frank gave a thorough presentation on the Mayan history, also setting the scene for what we were about to see.
During the actual visit, Frank once again proved to be a VERY competent guide, knowing his history. Amazing trip - ending around noon - back to a chilled bus, beating all the usual tour-bus lines arriving late. A DEFINITE must see when in Cancun - and definitely go for this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

morell.vic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I love this trip to Cancun with Carlos and Juan the tours guide.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Parasail Cancun was wonderful.

Doing what: Parasailing Experience in Cancun

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fantastic time. This was our kids' favorite activity during our stay in Cancun. The crew was very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Parasailing Experience in Cancun

marlylumiko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was incredible! Awesome! Amazing! Food better than expected! The only thing against: we lost the bus for returning. They do not wait for everybody. We had to take a line bus to Cancun.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Cancun

Juan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was the best thing we did during our trip to Cancun, the catamaran was well kept and fully stocked of your favorite island beverages and the food is restaraunt quality. The staff makes you feel at home and the activities were phenomenal snorkeling and golf carts are the way to go!! A+++++++

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an amazing experience! I would highly recommend anyone in the Cancun area do this. It's about an hour boat ride out to where the whale sharks are, a couple people got sick so I definitely recommend Dramamine we did have any but Hector found some for us and we had a much more enjoyable time because of it. Don't forget to apply sunscreen before and during the trip, you are out in that sun for a long time! Our tour guide, Hector, was awesome!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an absolutely fantastic experience for me and my step daughter. Patricia was our guide and she was great. She took us to meet Felipe in Market 23 where we bought our food. Felipe doesn't speak a lot of English, but between my step daughter and I understanding a little and Patricia translating for us, we didn't have any problems. We then went back to his restaurant to prepare our lunch which consisted of guacamole, pork in a mole-type sauce forgive us Felipe, but we can't remember the proper name! and a creme brulee infused with rosemary for dessert. We worked alongside Felipe as he showed us how to prepare everything and then we sat down to eat it. I don't know if this was the same restaurant as the reviewer in November of 2015, but Felipe stressed that all fruits and vegetables have to be disinfected and his restaurant was very clean in my personal opinion. Definitely worth the money and one of the highlights of my trip to Cancun!

Doing what: Mexican Gourmet Cuisine and Markets Tour Plus Cooking Class

hikergrl818

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

From the luxury bus to the venue itself and ultimately the show. Fabulous experience. One piece of caution - We arrived at the start time because of Cancun traffic. I would recommend the pick up time to allow an extra 15 minutes even for the 9:00pm show our pick up time was 745pm - we did not leave parking lot until 8pm and arrived at the show at 8:58pm . I would have preferred not be to seated when the 'curtain went up.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

crigar2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ricardo was an amazing tour guide, he kept our group engaged and was very knowledgable about the Mayan history. Our family had a great time. The tour was very nice and the time spent at each location was just right. This tour is a must do for Cancun!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Gerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. If you can take the tour with Jesus (tour guide) you should definitely do so. Jesus provided us with so much insight on the surrounding areas of Cancun. He was by far the best tour guide during our trip in Cancun.

Doing what: 4x1 Tour: Tulum, Coba, Cenote and Playa del Carmen

yaz1_m2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

angel was the besttt.... love this.. if you go to cancun dont miss this experience!

Doing what: Xoximilco Cruise: Cultural Mexican Fiesta in Cancun

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour 6/29 from The Hyatt Ziva in Cancun. My wife and two kids 12 and 10. We were picked up promptly as specified @ 6:40 in a nice van. We made three quick stops at other hotels and picked up a total of six other people for a total of ten in the group. It was about 1 hour ride to the Cenotes. On the way we picked up our guide, Marco. He was great, very personable and explained the day. The swims in the Cenotes were great, we were one of the first groups there, not crowded and very nice. From there it was about a 15 minute van ride to Turtle Beach. This was much more crowded than the Cenotes. Being on this tour seemed to allow us to by pass much of the check in. It was quick, we were in the water in about 15 minutes. The turtle part was very well done, there were many to see, no concerns at all. You then snorkel the edge of a reef. Again very well done.

After this part there are outdoor showers to rinse off with clean water which was nice before the ride back. We had a personal photographer with our group the whole time. He took pictures throughout the day. After the rinse off, they show you the pictures on a laptop. There had to be 100, very well shot in various parts of the trip. The pictures on a flash drive were 30.00 which for anyone who's been on these types of things before was a steal. We've done Dolphins in Fl and Manatees in Cozumel, Dolphins in FL was around 175 and you kind of have to buy them if you want any pictures. Absolutely buy the pictures here.

My family all wore swimming sun shirts, based on other reviews I had read before the trip. They were a good call, but you're actually are not in the sun all that much. The Cenotes are a lot on the shaded side. Total 'sun' time was about 1 hour with the turtles. I had purchased some bio degradeable sunscreen based on reviews but we actually didn't use it. As it was unopened, I'm going to return it through Amazon.

Overall very solid experience. Marco was a great guide

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Thiago H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Must see this in Cancun. Great show! Great dinner! Great staff!

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Chicken Itza is a wonderful experience and if one is a visitor to Cancun, try to get there. Take the time. It is 4 hours round trip but try to see it. Just make sure that the tour group gives you the same directions of where to be picked up as the tour director.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Chichen Itza Tour and Light and Sound Show Including Lunch and Luxury Transport

Acezwild

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Just WOW! thank you Kahtia amazing tour guide and you took good care of me and my wife when we got sea sick! People that are sea sick take 2 pills not 1 I learned the hard way and 2 is the charm. I ate ceviche everyday for a week in Cancun and these guys made the best one sooo good! I ate 3 plates full! yummmmm.

Doing what: Whale Shark Encounter All-Inclusive Tour in Cancun

Joanna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! The tour guide was very informative, a must do if you are in cancun!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Lacey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a mixed review because we loved Xel-Ha but you need to seriously rethink if you are booking this from Cancun. The original bus took us one hour to pick up everyone from the different hotels THEN we were switched to another bus that took another hour and a half to get to Xel-Ha. Once we got there, our tour guide tried to upsell us on everything under the sun and ate up another almost 20 minutes of our time. When you only have a day, 2-1/2 hours on the bus and 20 minutes listening to upsales is too long.

The park itself is beautiful and pristine. We loved it! Good snorkeling is found where you see the fish flags throughout the park. Our favorite was the lazy river and floating through the mangrove forest canopy - truly breathtaking! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this park if you were traveling from Playa del Carmen. I would not recommend this park if you are traveling from Cancun. You lose too much of the day on the bus. Should you decide to do it anyway, take clothes to change into once you are done swimming. It will make your travel time much easier on the way back!

Doing what: Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Leigh Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to travel from the Cancun airport to our hotel. Jorge was our driver both ways and he was awesome. Gotta love a cold Corona as a welcome to Cancun! Avoid the people selling tours etc, head straight outside and you are set to go.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

LIZMARIE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This dinner cruise was A-MAZING!!! El NORTEñO was the best pirate and kept the drinks coming!!! The pirates have an amazing show scripted and suitable for adults and children alike! We were in Cancun for a week and this was BY-FAR the best activity we did there! There was good dancing music, the food was great, and this is a MUST DO if you are in the area!! We would definitely return when we are in Mexico!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Ciara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Xcaret was the best part of our cancun trip! IT's just so fun and amazing to experience both water activities and cultural exploration in one place. HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message