Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2875 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great to get there before the crowds, Frank the guide was extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Tong Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Some comments:

1. Although the tour accepts children greater than 4 yrs, I would not recommend any kid younger than 10 yrs to go there. It was really challenging and risky for them.
2. Hotel pickup/dropoff is not necessary at all. The taxi rate from most hotels won't exceed 600 pesos for the round trip. If you can find someone in the hotel to share the taxi, it will be much cheaper than booking the hotel pickup here. Also, when you are already there, some shuttle would offer you a ride to the hotel at an even lower rate.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

James M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful, informative, interesting and enjoyable tour of a truly fantastic cultural site. Tour guide Frank was brilliant, energetic and engaging. with insights into Mayan history and culture and the challenges facing the Mayan people today. The early morning tour was a terrific opportunity to visit Chichen Itza before the crowds the driver was skilled and safe, and the bus clean and modern. A first rate experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

crystal m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were so glad we got up early for this. We beat the crowds and the tour guide was full of information. I hate that I can't remember his name. : If we had went by ourselves I think we would of been highly disappointed. It was nice to get to sleep on the bus on the way there and back and we were in town by 3:00 so early enough for a little bit of dinner and an early night to bed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Marilyn USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My family of 6 thoroughly enjoyed this trip Our guide, Marco, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He had a lot to share with us and conveyed it well. His english was excellent. Our driver, Mario, was excellent with his driving skills. Overall our visit to Chichen Itza was what we expected from a Viator Tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Neilsnz New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best tour ever. Our guide Marco was interesting and knowledgable. The buses were in good order and driving great. At first you think a 5'am start is crazy, but it is so worth it. We saw Chichen Itza with limited numbers of people around. On leaving, the line of buses waiting to get in was over a mile long. Great tour, best I have booked on Viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

mtksimpson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this tour! Our guide and driver were excellent, knowledgeable and fun to talk with. Coba is an amazing site and we learned a lot but were also able to explore and enjoy our visit. The Cenote swim was fantastic, beautiful cavern and water. So bummed our underwater camera decided to quit on us, so we didn't get pictures of the cenote.
It gets very hot in the jungle, a morning tour is best and bring water!! Wear good hiking shoes if you want to climb the ruins, the ground is uneven in a lot of places. We would definitely go back! Highly recommend this tour if you want something different, informative and beautiful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Sung I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour to learn the history of Mayan Civilization!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Manish Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Everything was great. The tour bus picked us up on time and provided great tour around the facility. I would recommend them for sure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Cindy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Frank and Mr. Ramon are amazing tour guides. Knowledgeable, passionate and funny. 100% recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Penny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A great tour at a great price with a great guide... Frank. Superrrrr Frank. He really did make the tour interesting. Highly recommend. Thanks.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Karol C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organized trip. Knowledgable and entertaining guide. Nice place to visit. Great day.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Chloe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was well worth the time and money. I'd especially like to thank our main guide for the day, Carlos, for doing such a great job of explaining Chichen Itza and Mayan history in both Spanish and English. He was very knowledgeable, funny and accommodating with everyone on the tour bus. I was mindblown by the wonders of Chichen Itza and swimming in the Ik Kil cenote was incredible. We even stopped briefly in an artisan market and in the town of Valladolid, which were added bonuses as I don't think they were in the original tour description. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone for a great day out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic day trip from Cancun. It was LONG - 13 hours in total from when we were picked up. We were picked up on time, exactly as we were told the guide would call out our name in the lobby, and he did, at the exact time they said. It becomes low level madness in the high season at the hotels, at the morning pickups for the big Chichen Itza tours. There are huge buses coming into the hotel and everyone thinks the big bus is theirs. Our guide walked right up to the lobby and yelled out our name, we were on our way. The tour was extremely information, comfortable the bus was very high end, clean, and the federal tour guide assigned to us was amazing. I loved the international mix of tourists on our trip as well. There were only 3 families like us from the States, and then 11 different countries among the other families. Chichen Itza was obviously the highlight but the other couple stops were great as well. An extra 30-60 minute on our own at Chichen Itza would have improved the experience a bit for us - we only had about 40 minutes after our tour to go around on our own. In all it's a tour I highly recommend.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Mike X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. The guide Ricardo is very knowledgeable in history and culture. He is also fun and excited about helping guests know and enjoy the ancient Mayan culture, language, and architecture. The trip is very organized and planned well. We just took full advantage of it and realized it was too short. We stayed in Chichen Itza a bit short but the rest of items was covered well and in depth. Absolutely recommend it and it will be really worth it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour! Super early start, but you can get a couple of hours sleep on the bus and worth it to beat the crowds and the heat. Frank was a excellent guide and we all learned so much about Mayan culture and beliefs - I would have missed out on so much going by myself. Take your own lunch though...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely loved this tour. Alejandro and Andres were amazing tour guides/bus drivers. There was just enough information on the guided parts of the tour along with a good amount of free time to explore on your own. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Smooth arrangements and good price performance.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun trip. It is a long drive out there, but they put on some old, wildly colored retro bus that made for a fun ride. We stop at a Mayan place to shop, where they took our picture and then offered us a bottle of Mayan liquor with our picture on it. The ruins were incredible and we stopped and a scenic water hole not alcohol but actual hole in the earth. The only thing that sucked was the rain that day, but it was a great trip

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Izak K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Tour is phenomenal and very interesting the guide is knowledgeable and on top of things. The only negative I have to say is we had a lazy bad photographer. In a place where they dont let you bring your own camera and charge a lot of money for pictures I would expect as a minimum a good photographer. Next time I will go I will insist on getting a good active photographer that stays with the group and does not disappear like our did.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing tour. My mom and I were so glad we took the early tour even though it was so hard to get up at 4:15am but it was totally worth it. Carlos the driver and Marco the tour guide were so great. Marco knows his stuff and he is funny too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic excursion. The whole family loved it. Marco the tour guide really brought to life the ancient Mayan civilisation and their incredible feats of engineering were. We also liked the fact that we arrived early no big queues and we were back at the hotel early afternoon. Go ahead and book it - you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Jaydeep N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was great day trip with a small group of 10-12 people. Tony was very knowledgeable and provided great insights during the tour. Highly recommend the day trip.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip to Chichen Itza was fantastic and made all the better by our guide, Marco!! Marco was very knowledgeable of the site and his lectures on the site were fascinating and thought provoking. Amazingly, Marco switched from English to Spanish without breaking stride and repeated everything in both languages. He was so good that when he told us he had more to tell but was beyond the time for us to wander by ourselves, no one in the group wanted him to stop sharing his knowledge. For the site itself, pictures do not do it justice and even after all the research I had done before going, I was surprised by all the cool things that aren't described or mention in the literature. You have to see it to fully appreciate!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archaeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message