Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2776 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing! We had taken it in December of 2015 and were so enamored with it we brought back our entire family to enjoy this incredible experience. The only difficulty we had was contacting the tour agency to establish a pickup time.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

wellfan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide was excellent best tour we have been on in Mexico this was September 2016

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Andrea S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed very much. Wished we could have stayed longer to wander around the additional sites and eat at the lovely restaurant. the box lunch provided was meager. It served better as a breakfast as we had to get picked up before there was time to eat. Suggest bringing an umbrella to provide some shade as it is very hot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Francis F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Both Juan and Carlos were friendly and very knowledgeable about the history of the Mayan civilization.
Once we arrived at the locations they made sure we understood where and what time to meet up. So no one gets left behind and it allowed us to have enough time at each site.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Liliana C K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It is a very interesting experience. History comes to you.
Everything went ok.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

kita28

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour guides were very informative. Awesome trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was well worth it to have early access to Tulum with a smaller group. As the day progresses the tourists multiply and with larger groups than ours. Our tour guide was amazing and so excited about his job. He made history come alive. Our driver and bus guide were wonderful as well. Tips are appreciated for each guide on your tours, so prepare for that.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a well run excursion. Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic and so excited about his job. You float in the crystal clear water with lifejackets, helmets with lights and wetsuits. I would advise wetsuits as the water is about 77 degrees and it does get cold after a while in the water. The food was a hot buffet and was typical Mexican food - which I love. Rice, beans, salad, pork or chicken in green sauce, fruits... a very nice presentation. You are not allowed to bring your camera on this excursion and the photos are expensive - 119 for full photos with choice of 3 souvenirs, 89 for full CD and 25 for each single photo. However, if you were taking your own photos you may have missed the experience. This tour is very professional and very enjoyable. My fiancee enjoyed this experience most of our week in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

furfur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The bus picked us up at 5:15 am and we changed to a different bus around 6:30 am. A breakfast bag, which includes a simple sandwich, a juice box, a banana and a small candy bar, was provided. We stopped for restroom around 7 am and then it's another 2.5 hours to Chichen Itza. Our guide, Marco, was really great. This was the second time I've visited the place and I can say Marco was much better than the guide I had the first time.
We were back to the hotel around 3:45 pm. It's a great trip and amigo tour did a great job arranging everything.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kyle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I can't imagine a better tour than this. Frank was an excellent host on the bus ride to and from Chichen Itza and Marco was an extremely knowledgeable and interesting tour guide. I thought that the crowds at Chichen Itza would take away from the experience, but there were very few people there when we arrived and this tour ended up being the highlight of my entire trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

LORI K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent trip! Marco was personable and knowledgeable. He has studied Mayan culture.
The box lunch was minimal. The juice, banana, and candy were fine. I didnt eat the sandwich because it had not been refrigerated all day. My husband ate both mine and his, though, and suffered no ill effects.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

ccaudle36

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a blast. Great info from the tour guide, and the swim at the connote was such a wonderful experience

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Louise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome.Best activity we did on our holiday. We had a tour guide take us around in the hummer, who was friendly and knowledgeable making our experience personal. This is a must do :-

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Ruizhi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very informative and helpful! Learned a lot about the Mayan culture. He advised not to purchase inside of Chichen Itza which would encourage the archaeology site to be a market. We really appreciate that! Though I feel the stop at the gift shop was not needed. But different travelers may have different opinions.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

westchestermd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent and magical experience. Visiting this UNESCO heritage site and experiencing the Cenote were magical adventures. Our guide was very excellent!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chichen Itza was amazing! Bring some pesos for all the vendors cause they are everywhere! Be prepared to have a mixed tour of Spanish and English. Xcaret was wonderful! Bring your own snacks! Great variety for everyone. The show was great to stay for! Loved the turtle hatchery!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Nilton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour. Pick up, transportation and guide explanations perfects. I strongly recommend

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

15001309784

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Have a wonderful time!!Next time I will choose viator again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour November 2016 to Chichen Itza was amazing. Our guide, Marco, was entertaining and very informative and he made our visit more than just a sightseeing event. During our bus ride, Marco presented some Mayan history and background of the site - in English and Spanish. While at Chichen Itza, his presentations were more than just explanations as he made each temple and building come alive with simple demonstrations.
We were picked up from our resort, north of Cancun proper, on time and the bus ride to Chichen Itza was comfortable.
The early access option beat the crowds and the heat. It was a good choice for us.
Wonderful time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

KAB2942 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Rules:
1. Small backpacks only
2. They charge to bring video cameras in.
3. Phones, gopros, and professional cameras are allowed in at no additional cost. NO TRIPODS
4. They do sell food and drinks inside and outside the park.
Carlos the driver and Frank the tour guide were amazing. It is about 2.5 hours from Cancun to Chichen Itza. There are no bathrooms on the bus, but we did make a stop for restrooms about 30 mins in. Bring sunscreen, bug spray and comfortable shoes. You have the option of staying with the group or going on your own. I would recommend staying with the group because out guide was of Myan descent, and he knew a lot about Myan culture. The bag lunch was a sandwich, juice, banana, and granola bar. When we first got to the park Frank gave us 15 mins. to take photos before the crowds started arriving. Over 15,000 people come to Chichen Itza a day, so this is why early access is crucial because we got there before the crowds and the heat of the day. We were picked up at out hotel at 5:30 am and arrived back at 3:10 pm. Once we got to Chichen Itza we were divided into groups based on language. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great. We were picked up, bright and early, at 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone. Arturo was our guide, and he was great -- very informative. The only downside was that our group was a mix of Spanish and English speakers, and Arturo was the only guide. This meant that he went back and forth translating between English and Spanish during the tour, which was a bit distracting. Doing this tour is definitely worth it, though, if nothing else because you arrive at Tulum as soon as it opens at 9am. You can admire the ruins without the crowds and get as many photographs as you want without throngs of tourists in the way. Arturo gave us background information and discussed the ruins for about 90 minutes and the remaining 90 minutes could be spent as you wish -- we chose to wander the beach and explore the other ruins. We were back at our hotel by 2pm, leaving the rest of the afternoon free to wander Cancun.

Oh, and there are tons of lizards all over the ruins -- quite a beautiful sight! Bring your camera.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Kelly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Carlos and Frank were awesome. Carlos was such a great driver and Frank was extremely informative in his discussions of the Mayan culture and Chichen Itza. We were picked up shortly after 5am from our hotel in the Hotel Zone, and were allowed to sleep for the two hour drive. We arrived at Chichen Itza at opening and found ourselves admiring the ruins with no one else around. This is the BEST way to see Chichen Itza. Bring sunscreen -- it's hot, even in mid-November. Overall, an amazing tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Shennan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was amazing! Definitely take the early tour to get to the site before anyone else. Amigo tours was great, efficient and very knowledgable. Carlos and Marcos were great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message