In a city like Cancun, where the sun is hot, the beaches white and the Coronas cold, people will do anything they can to get outside. While it’s easy to opt for the beach bum image in this tropical paradise, the rest of the city begs to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacqueline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fabulous tour. Well organised. A unique experience.
We stayed in Cancun and I was travelling with a fit 70 year old and a 9 year old. We were on a large coach however it arrived on time. We were taken to the reception area where we used the toilets. We were divide into smaller groups 10 in each group and put on mini buses to be taken to the amenities building. We were given wetsuits, cave shoes, life jackets, helmets with a light, walking sticks .There were change rooms and there were lockers for your belongings. You will need to bring swimming costumes to wear under the wetsuits. The guide was multilingual and exceptional. Safety was a priority. The information provided was excellent. It helps if you can swim but if unable you were still able to do the tour. You had to be brave. It is a little scary when you swim however amazing. There are no scary animals! There are tiny fish I was lucky to see one and even tinier crustaceans less than the size of a pin head. I found the water cold not freezing but I am tiny and have no fat. My mother loved it. She found this the best part. She was completely refreshed.My daughter stayed up the front with the guide and one time piggy backed her. She was a trooper. After coming out of the cave there was time to get changed and they served a buffet lunch. There was soup, chicken, rice , beans, cactus and fruit. It was simple but very tasty and by this time we were hungry. We were taken back by mini buses to the main coach. Half way back there was a major protest blocking the roads into Cancun, so the company divided us into smaller groups and put us on mini vans so we could return to our hotel more quickly.Really sensible. It was great day and different experience. The caves themselves are not that beautiful unlike Jenolan caves in NSW but the experience and information was exceptional. Jackie from Sydney.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Ive experienced many day excursions in the 3 times Ive visited the Cancun area and this is by far the most outstanding of them.

Our guide, Louise, was thoroughly informative, helpful, and professional. She briefed us w/background info, fitted our equipment, looked out for our safety, and made sure we had a great time. We saw a dozen or more green turtles and 3 types of rays.

Having the photographers services frees you to enjoy the moment rather than worry about capturing good shots to view later. The best photos I have of our vacation are the ones that the photographer, Guille, took on this excursion. If only he would follow us around and take pictures of our entire trip!

Some tips:
Bring an inexpensive workout shirt, the type that wicks moisture, to wear under your swim vest at Akumal. If you want more sun protection, make it long-sleeved.
Bring water shoes to protect your toes from getting bumped and scraped on the underwater boulders in the cenotes.
The early departure is a small sacrifice but worth it, since youll avoid the worst of the crowds. If your hotels buffet or room service isnt available for an early breakfast, plan ahead by stashing something the night before.
Yes, its a long drive from Cancún. But you cant change geography. Bring a change of dry clothes so you dont have to wear wet swimsuits on the return ride do have your swimsuits on and ready to go when you leave in the morning. There are restrooms/changing rooms at both locations.
Bring enough cash for the photos and gratuities. You may think you wont want the photos, but youll change your mind after you see them. An appropriate tip would be 10-20% for the guide if they work hard for you and give you an amazing experience.
While not required, its a nice gesture to tip the driver, maybe 100 pesos 5US, since hes guarding your stuff in the van while youre having a good time and he cleans up your sandy mess afterwards.
Be aware that the guide may be speaking more than one language with other members of the group.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the highlight to our trip to Cancun . The bus to collect us was running late but they phoned to let us know which was much appreciated . The whole trip was fantastic . I have been talking about it all the time to anyone who will listen ! We bought the photos and printed them off to put in Christmas cards . They were excellent quality and definitely captured a 'moment in time ' on a very special day .

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

MEB2010 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing from start to...well almost the finish. But I will get into that later. We were picked up on time! at our hotel by tour guide,Tamara, and driver Miguel. They were very friendly. We drove around picking others up and picked up our photographer, Nacho, as well. Unfortunately since we were the first ones picked up, we rode in the van for a long time 3 hours!. The snorkeling was all fantastic however, you may not like it if you are not a good swimmer because the current in the ocean was rough. Nacho took awesome photos and we ended up purchasing them. The ride back was less than pleasant. Since we were the first ones picked up, we were last dropped off so we had another 3 hour ride and we were cold and wet. There is probably not a lot they can do to fix this other than maybe cluster people staying close to each other together so they don't have to drive all over Cancun and surrounding areas. Overall though awesome trip!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Carlos was the best! Out of 5 tours we did in Cancun this was the best by far! We had kids 5 yrs-16yrs old with us! Carlos showed us amazing things eagle rey, dolphin, lots of fish! He took this to an awesome level loved! Must do!!!
Thank you Carlos!

Doing what: Cancun Jungle Tour Adventure: Speed Boat and Snorkeling

Itzak L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

So awesome! Seriously do this if you're in Cancun and escape downtown for a day. We had our excursion at Boca del Puma not sure if they change areas or not, but seriously the most accommodating people there : super friendly, English-based guides I don't know a single word of Spanish outside nachos, and just loads of fun. You'll start off with the zip-lines, and there are 6 total. 2nd to last one you get to go upside-down, which was awesome. Then you jump on ATVs, which can get intense and super tight riding through the jungle. Then you relax in a nice, cool cenote, which is great for not-so-strong swimmers since you wear a life jacket and you can ease into it, though I prefer jumping. You'll also have a papparazzi tagging along taking your photos: for 15 USD you can buy just 1 photo, but for 25 USD ten more you get a whole thumbdrive of photos of you on the ziplines and ATV, so definitely worth the money. If you bring a GoPro, you need both hands for the zipline and ATV, so bring your headstrap - it easily fits on the helmets, which happen to have brackets that hold down the strap to the helmet. No, they won't let you use a selfie stick while doing those, BUT the crew let me use my headstrap-GoPro with no problem or extra fee. You do have a to pay a small fee for a locker to hold your bags and purchase ATV insurance, but those fees are negligible. If you bring USD cash or pesos you avoid credit card additional fees.

Afterwards, your 3rd party van will take you to a completely different location, which is Sealife Marina Cancun, across the street from Grand Oasis Cancun. You'll get to drive your own small private boat to the snorkeling area it was like an additional not-listed activity, so yes please! snorkel for about half hour, then see the sunset out on the ocean.

You seriously can't beat this price trying to arrange the driving, and paying both places on your own. Save yourself the hassle and just book this. Thanks for the memories!

Doing what: Snorkel, ATV, Zipline and Cenote Adventure from Cancun

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a well run excursion. Our guide, Alfredo, was fantastic and so excited about his job. You float in the crystal clear water with lifejackets, helmets with lights and wetsuits. I would advise wetsuits as the water is about 77 degrees and it does get cold after a while in the water. The food was a hot buffet and was typical Mexican food - which I love. Rice, beans, salad, pork or chicken in green sauce, fruits... a very nice presentation. You are not allowed to bring your camera on this excursion and the photos are expensive - 119 for full photos with choice of 3 souvenirs, 89 for full CD and 25 for each single photo. However, if you were taking your own photos you may have missed the experience. This tour is very professional and very enjoyable. My fiancee enjoyed this experience most of our week in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If your in Cancun, you need to do this! ATV's were amazing, zip lining through the jungle and the cenote is cool and refreshing. The snorkeling is like watching the discovery channel except you can touch everything. And best off all were all the guides, they all told jokes, and made the whole trip beyond expectation!

Doing what: Snorkel, ATV, Zipline and Cenote Adventure from Cancun

Yvonne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Freddy is the best tour guild in Cancun. The photographer took the amazing picture. Only 30 for all photos on stick. We went 10 miles on a tiny road to visit 2 cenotes at one location. Freddy called it Mayan massage because the road was so bumpy. Each cenotes, one dry, one wet, gave us different feelings. You have to be there to feel it. Really worth it. Lunch was served in a hut in the middle of the jungle.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

mario h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is flat-out the best excursion I have ever had in Cancun. The guides were extremely nice and knowledgeable. They kept the boat ride entertaining and fun. The reef where you snorkel is out of this world. Beautiful plants and marine life everywhere. Saw all kinds of fish, some turtles and a sting ray. It was amazing. After 20 minutes or so you head to the Island where the drinks and food start flowing. The island is beautiful. Due to the low number of people allowed on it, its not hard to find a little piece of the island to call your own. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and am planning to do it again when I go back to Cancun.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Melanie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best parts of my trip to Cancun! The cenotes are beautiful and refreshing. I would have been happy with the tour had we only done the cenotes, but that was only half of it. Snorkeling was amazing as well got to see plenty of sea turtles and other sea creatures.

Sometimes you never know what you are going to get with these excursions, but I was completely impressed by the company and tour guide. The tour guide provided equal amounts of information and entertainment very polite and well mannered.

The only thing to take note of if you are coming from Cancun, it is a VERY long ride. It took 2 hours to get there we had to make a very long stop off the main road to pick up some people in Playa del Carmen which added at least 30 minutes. They picked us up at promptly at 6:45am and we returned around 3:30pm. It is a long, busy day, but very much worth it.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

k.merten92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This Park is so much fun! I was surprised how quick the lines were. If you have a GoPro this is the place to bring it! They offer expensive photo packages which I did not choose to purchase and I am glad that I did not because my GoPro gave me amazing shots. The zip lines are cool but the other areas of the park like swimming and rafting through the caves are what made the trip to this park worth it. PLEASE BE AWARE you are only allowed to participate in each activity one time. The tour was convenient as they pick you up from your hotel and they also give you a ride back. The only problem is that you must stay the entire time the park is open so when you have finished all of the attractions you have to wait around for the bus for a while and there is no comfortable seating. Overall I would recommend this tour to anyone in visiting Cancun.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Cancun

Kade L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So fun! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone who will be staying in Cancun. Our tour guide Josh was knowledgeable and and made the tour tons of fun!

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

marlylumiko

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was incredible! Awesome! Amazing! Food better than expected! The only thing against: we lost the bus for returning. They do not wait for everybody. We had to take a line bus to Cancun.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park from Cancun

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an amazing experience! I would highly recommend anyone in the Cancun area do this. It's about an hour boat ride out to where the whale sharks are, a couple people got sick so I definitely recommend Dramamine we did have any but Hector found some for us and we had a much more enjoyable time because of it. Don't forget to apply sunscreen before and during the trip, you are out in that sun for a long time! Our tour guide, Hector, was awesome!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We did this tour 6/29 from The Hyatt Ziva in Cancun. My wife and two kids 12 and 10. We were picked up promptly as specified @ 6:40 in a nice van. We made three quick stops at other hotels and picked up a total of six other people for a total of ten in the group. It was about 1 hour ride to the Cenotes. On the way we picked up our guide, Marco. He was great, very personable and explained the day. The swims in the Cenotes were great, we were one of the first groups there, not crowded and very nice. From there it was about a 15 minute van ride to Turtle Beach. This was much more crowded than the Cenotes. Being on this tour seemed to allow us to by pass much of the check in. It was quick, we were in the water in about 15 minutes. The turtle part was very well done, there were many to see, no concerns at all. You then snorkel the edge of a reef. Again very well done.

After this part there are outdoor showers to rinse off with clean water which was nice before the ride back. We had a personal photographer with our group the whole time. He took pictures throughout the day. After the rinse off, they show you the pictures on a laptop. There had to be 100, very well shot in various parts of the trip. The pictures on a flash drive were 30.00 which for anyone who's been on these types of things before was a steal. We've done Dolphins in Fl and Manatees in Cozumel, Dolphins in FL was around 175 and you kind of have to buy them if you want any pictures. Absolutely buy the pictures here.

My family all wore swimming sun shirts, based on other reviews I had read before the trip. They were a good call, but you're actually are not in the sun all that much. The Cenotes are a lot on the shaded side. Total 'sun' time was about 1 hour with the turtles. I had purchased some bio degradeable sunscreen based on reviews but we actually didn't use it. As it was unopened, I'm going to return it through Amazon.

Overall very solid experience. Marco was a great guide

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Edvard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding. Loads of fun. We got picked up from the Cancun hotel zone, so kind of an early pickup 6:40 AM. The group will be no more than 12 people, ours was 6. Good size for the trip. At the cenote, snorkeling was awesome. Super clear water, great underwater photos, and not too cold. Felt like we had plenty of time to explore. You're provided a light lunch there good food and just filling enough. Once we got to the turtles, the beach got more crowded. Since they don't want you using sunscreen, suggest bringing a long sleeve shirt or rash guard. May be worth bringing some kind of long pants, too--my wife got burned on the back of her legs. We saw several turtles up close we got great photos and video of them. We had a photographer riding along at both areas, he took amazing photos, they were just kind of expensive 50USD for a flash drive full. The sales were far from pushy, which was refreshing. We got back to the hotel by 3:00 PM, a very reasonable half-day excursion. Would highly recommend. Our tour guide was Louise and she was OUTSTANDING. Personable, knowledgable, and funny.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling, and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a beautiful island. The boat ride was enjoyable and the stop for snorkeling was fabulous. We saw lots of coral, fish and sea life. The island was quiet and the tour to the other side was interesting. Lunch was delicious! The crew were attentive to everyone's needs and we had a wonderful relaxing afternoon on the beach and enjoying the shallow water. The departure location was easily reached from our hotel in the hotel zone via the local bus. I've already recommended this to friends returning later this month and I'll probably book this again on my next trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I believe this was the highlight of our trip. Every piece of the tour met or exceeded our expectations. The hotel pickup was on time and comfortable. Appropriate time was taken to settle us in to our excursion and swimming/snorkeling abilities were assessed and prepared for. The snorkeling locations were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the reefs and shipwreck. Highly recommend this and I will book this activity again on my next visit to Cancun.

Doing what: Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Cara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a blast! Our tour guide was friendly and hilarious. The ziplines are incredible. Do the full package for the zip lines, and make sure you ride one upside down! The ATVs were fun. I only wish we'd had more time on them. The cenote swim was great. Make sure you get good a grasp on the metal hold for the rope swing. The lunch was fresh and delicious. I regret not buying the pictures even though they were ridiculously priced. We'd definitely do this day again if we go back to Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Chance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic definitely a must do, the boat ride was great and got to see the whole cancun. When we gotto the reefs my girlfriend started freaking out because of all the fish and the tour guide was a life saver came in calmed her down and made her feel very comfortable had to give him a nice tip.

Doing what: Cancun Jungle Tour Adventure: Speed Boat and Snorkeling

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

By far the best adventure in Cancun, staff is friendly and professional, the site is beautiful and we'll maintained, absolutely amazing experience, a must see!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Cecilia L Sverige

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great experience that fullfilled our expectations. Everything was performed very friendly, funny and professional. Great guides ! If you are near Cancun this is a must !

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message