Provence is luxuriously located in south-eastern France and next to the Mediterranean Sea. It has always been an inspiration to artists (Picasso, Matisse, van Gogh), a playground for the rich (Cannes Film Festival, St Tropez, Monte Carlo), and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 551 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour guide. She was very knowledgeable in the history of the area as well as the wine. We went to two fantastic vineyards and sampled 6-8 wines at each of them as well as olive oil at one of the vineyards. At the end of the tour, the tour guide gave us recommendations for lunch restaurants.

Doing what: Cotes de Provence Wine Tour from Aix-en-Provence

gailconnelly01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We decided not to drive in Provence so we booked this 8 hour tour to explore places we wanted to go. We were delighted that we decided not to drive, and that Caroline was our guide. We saw Cannes and got pictures, Grasse and bought perfume, Gourdon and explored this beautiful area sitting on the mountain. Our pictures were beautiful from that mountainside venue. Our favorite place was saved for last, Saint Paul de Vence! We had heard from several people that we needed to see this picturesque town. Words don't do it justice ,it's unique.
Caroline is professional , eager to please, and just a pleasure to be with. We would do this tour again because it was a fabulous day! By the way, we would request Caroline again.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

dougblack1118

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Gourdon is a beautiful little village - magnificently preserved.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

GavinBC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great day out from start to finish, our guide was excellent and made sure we had all the right photo opportunities and we didn't miss a thing with lots of tips on must see attractions in and around Nice,
We had a truly amazing day

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful, leisurely tour through beautiful countryside and small, charming villages.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was worthwhile - we were able to see many things we would not have otherwise seen. I am glad we got to experience Cannes even though it wasn't my favorite place preferred Nice, no contest. We had a short time there, but honestly I wouldn't have wanted much longer. If you really like to shop it may not be enough time. The perfumery in Grasse was really neat. I did wish we had a little more time to shop here - we only had about 5 min left at the end. The town of Gourdon was gorgeous and the experience of being there was so awesome, and the tour allotted a perfect amount of time. Same with St Paul de Vence.Our tour guide was excellent. If you don't otherwise have plans to see Provence, I highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Paige C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Sylvia was amazing! She was so sweet and knowledgeable.We had a great time and saw so many places!!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Gregory Hildeman United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent all day tour on a minibus with eight people and a very knowledgeable tour guide!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was wonderful! Sylvia is a fantastic guide! She was very knowledgeable and was flexible with the time allotted in each location. Gourdon was the highlight of the trip - ask Sylvia for shop recommendations, I think she knows this little town well.

Sylvia also commanded the road - some of the twists and turns were challenging and she is a fantastic driver.

As a solo traveler, I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Lori J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day touring Provence with Nicholas and the other guests on our small tour. Nicholas, our guide was fantastic, very fun, full of energy and information about the locations and sites included in our tour.

In addition to the perfumery tour and wine tasting, we stopped at several little villages throughout the region and had time to shop, eat and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

The winery tour as a lot of fun gorgeous Chateau just outside of Nice with amazing views and lovely wines.

We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see some of the wonderful towns and other beautiful scenery around Nice.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Nice Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Monaco

novikov25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing! The itinerary is very smart. Enough time in each town. And the tour guide was incredible. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with Viktor, who was very knowledgeable.
We would book again with Viatour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Berta K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed this trip and Suzana was wonderful. Very knowledgable and informative. Had an opportunity to visit the Picasso Museum and that will be very memorable for me. Cannes was somthing that I had always heard about, but was somewhat disappointing. I am glad that I took the trip and I do thank Suzana for being a great guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Trip to Cannes and Antibes from Monaco

Featle

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Florence, was really great, very knowledgeable and delightful. The tour has 4 very different themes and some may not suit some travelers. The themes are ancient Roman engineering with aquaduct, ancient castle on a mountain, popes palace, and wine tasting. We loved the 1st 2 themes, but the others did not suit us but they would suit others. The tour is best suited for those with wide interests.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant trip!!! Our tour guide Sylvia was wonderful. She was very friendly and knowledgable and a great driver! It was such a comfortable vehicle and the perfect size for a tour - only 5 of us, so no waiting around for lots of people. We felt like we saw so much in one day and really want to visit the area again. I would highly recommend you doing this tour as a taster for the beautiful provence region. Thank you!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Frannie Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sylvia was extremely nice and very cautious with the driving, which is great. The sites are beautiful. It would have been nicer though if we could have stayed longer and down tours at the old towns rather than doing a perfume factory tour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Pamela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a lovely morning with our guide Leonardo the view from the top was fabulous and the boat trip was really wonderful, the water a deep blue and the trees hanging on to the rocks and the town and beachfront all first class.

Doing what: Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day visiting two villages and Arles. Cedric was a lovely driver and guide. Our only suggestion is to add 30 minutes to the Arles visit. Merci beaucoup. This was my second Viator tour and the day trips are wonderful.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Kay W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This trip involved a lot of driving in a minibus, and not enough time spent outside the minibus. We were given only 20 minutes in Cannes, 20 minutes in Antibes and 40 minutes in St Paul de Vance. This was too rushed as they were all lovely places. The guide was lovely and punctual, but overall the trip was disappointing.

Doing what: Small-Group Trip to Cannes and Antibes from Monaco

Ray T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were met in Aix in timely fashion and then driven to the lovely town of Cassis on the Mediterranean Sea, Our guides were friendly and informative. When we arrived in Cassis, they dropped us off and designated a meeting place for our return to Aix. We had time for lunch and a walk through this charming town.

Doing what: Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rémy, our very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, brought us around the Les Alpilles to follow the trails of Van Gogh in Saint Rémy and Arles, and then to the beautiful village, Les Baux-de-Provence. It was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

ERIC B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rolf was an Excellent tour guide! He was extremely informative about the area and the ride was very comfortable. We will definitely recommend him for any tour in the beautiful French Riviera!!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fascinating tour. Cannes was a beautiful coastal location with with streets oozing of the rich and famous. The perfumery in Grasse was very informative and smelled of flowery essence that soothed the heart. Gordon, the medieval hilltop village was so peaceful and surreal. The candy factory, Florian was such fun and very tasty. If you have a sweet tooth watch out. Our guide Camilia, as usual was a true delight. Her knowledge of the region was extensive and brought insight to the tour that made the day fun but also a learning experience.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Top Notch tour and guide - most enjoyable

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

panixxxx

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great pick up and great guide. It was an extremely comfortable ride there for 30m with stunning views.

I must point out all you get is the guide driving you there with three hours of your own free time.

I recommend visiting the area but there are other cheaper routes to do this.

Doing what: Aix en Provence Tour from Marseille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message