Provence is luxuriously located in south-eastern France and next to the Mediterranean Sea. It has always been an inspiration to artists (Picasso, Matisse, van Gogh), a playground for the rich (Cannes Film Festival, St Tropez, Monte Carlo), and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 531 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ray T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were met in Aix in timely fashion and then driven to the lovely town of Cassis on the Mediterranean Sea, Our guides were friendly and informative. When we arrived in Cassis, they dropped us off and designated a meeting place for our return to Aix. We had time for lunch and a walk through this charming town.

Doing what: Cassis Half-Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

Geraldine United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rémy, our very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide for the day, brought us around the Les Alpilles to follow the trails of Van Gogh in Saint Rémy and Arles, and then to the beautiful village, Les Baux-de-Provence. It was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

ERIC B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Rolf was an Excellent tour guide! He was extremely informative about the area and the ride was very comfortable. We will definitely recommend him for any tour in the beautiful French Riviera!!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fascinating tour. Cannes was a beautiful coastal location with with streets oozing of the rich and famous. The perfumery in Grasse was very informative and smelled of flowery essence that soothed the heart. Gordon, the medieval hilltop village was so peaceful and surreal. The candy factory, Florian was such fun and very tasty. If you have a sweet tooth watch out. Our guide Camilia, as usual was a true delight. Her knowledge of the region was extensive and brought insight to the tour that made the day fun but also a learning experience.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

panixxxx

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great pick up and great guide. It was an extremely comfortable ride there for 30m with stunning views.

I must point out all you get is the guide driving you there with three hours of your own free time.

I recommend visiting the area but there are other cheaper routes to do this.

Doing what: Aix en Provence Tour from Marseille

Gina G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour. Very knowledgeable guide. Arrived on time, waiting in our hotel lobby for us. Gourdon was the highlight of the trip. She always asked if we wanted to stop for a roadside photo opp., Great views. very friendly and always telling us much information about each location.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Lillian P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We only have one opinion!
The Tour was fantastic - the Tour Guide was nothing but a driver. Very dull - no personality - had very little to inform us of.
No intention of degrading Viator as it would have been a wonderful experience had we had a Real Tour Guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Aix-en-Provence and Cassis Day Trip from Marseille

Tamas D Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

very nice tour

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Patty A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The guide was very competent and did a good job, but the itinerary was not as much countryside as I expected. Cannes involved about 45 minutes to walk around center where movie awards are held. Grasse involved a tour of a perfume factory. Interesting but also self promotional. Gourdon and St Paul Vence were charming places that were overrun with tourists. Comparing the cost of the tour to other tours about 6 I have booked in Italy, I feel this tour was priced at about double what it should have cost. That is probably because it is guaranteed to be a small group. If I had it to do over, I would have booked a different tour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Patty A

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

So so itinerary that even a good guide could not jazz up. Not enough countryside. Too expensive for value received.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Deisa Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

This tour is worth the price as we visited so many places including the hospital where Van Gogh stayed in France and the restaurant featured in one of his paintings. Our tour guide was also very good. She was told us about the history of places and even how Napoleon Bonaparte had the trees planted for his soldiers to get a shade. We visited a busy market in Saint Remy. If you are craving for paella, you have to bring your own plastic fork as they only had a shell for you to use as utensil. There were soaps, fruits, vegetables, dried vegetables, ceramics and a lot more. We also visited this wonderful place Le Baux where we had our lunch. A spectacular show called the Carrieres de Lumieres CDL is really worth the price you pay. My suggestion though is to have lunch in Saint Remy so we would have more time to watch CDL. Due to the heat in France during our recent visit, we decided to sit in a coffee shop to relax after taking photos around another quaint town Arles.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Naomi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour and a great guide in Camille. Saw a good part of the countryside up close and personal. Made very easy being in a small group of 8. Only thing, this is not a tour of provence to see lavender fields but otherwise, a memorable day

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Olga B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Breath taking! I will be back!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

magoos64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Victoria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best days of my life. Brilliant tour guide, lovely small group, and the places we visited were stunning. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. Stunning, interesting, relaxed, magical.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Tina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our driver/tour guide Mark was amazing. One of the best tours of our trip.

Doing what: Marseille Shore Excursion: Aix-en-Provence Tour from Marseille

dorisheng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our Tour guide Caroline was very knowledgable and her driving skill was great! A recommended tour. Will want to bring my mother along next time and let her enjoy this tour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Andrew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was gorgeous! I saw a broad range of sights that I would've otherwise been unable to visit.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rolf our driver tour for the day was amazing .We loved this day and would recommend this to anybody .Rolf is a credit to Azour tours .

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Les M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent day out. Couldn't have asked for more. The young woman who was our guide was a delight, drove well and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Valentina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour. Visited small charming villages. Our tour guide, Silvia was nice, but the only criticism was her driving. She was rushing in her drives to make sure we were on time and at times we felt endangered. I even said it and #39;s ok we are not in a rush! She said: and #34;But I am! and #34; I have to return the van

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

B A M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I only wish we had been told that there was no time for lunch! I expected that since it was an 8 hour tour we were going to have lunch at some point.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Valerie K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Mathilde was a gem. She was very knowledgeable about the area and shared lots of great unknown facts along the drive to each city. Cannes was interesting if yachts are your thing. Grasse was definitely a highlight - you learn about perfume making and how it has evolved over the years - it hasn't changed much in 300 years. Gourdon has amazing views of the countryside below. The drive from Grasse to Gourdon was spectacular but not for the faint of heart - the roads are windy and narrow.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

VP Mabhena M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a gret experience. The trips are long but drivers can at least offer bottled water in the car. our guides/drivers were great Moman and Cecile.

Merci beacoup!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Grasse Perfumery and Nice Wine-Tasting Day Trip from Monaco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message