The Atlantic Coast near Cape Town is dotted with wealthy suburbs and small, seaside villages. You'll find a variety of ocean activities; many of the small villages are the gateways to secret surf spots. Within these communities, you'll find vibrant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tinark USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great opportunity to see Cape Town and to reach all the wonderful destinations around the city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Boarder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The HOHO is a great way to see the city and decide which stops you might want to come back to. I was there in November and there was great weather. However, if you sit on the upper level be sure and bring a scarf or hoodie. It can become quite breezy.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We love the Hop-On-Hop Off Bus tours! We have taken them in London, Paris and NYC. The tour in Cape Town was great, the audio was easy to follow, and riding up top on a beautiful day was a good way to recover from jet lag and review the city. We 'hopped off at Camps Bay crossed the street and enjoyed a glass of wine - okay a bottle! After a walk on the beach we hopped on the next bus and finished the tour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide on this trip was called Rodney, who was very knowledgeable made sure we got to see plenty of wonderful places and at all times ensured that my partner and I got the best out of the trip. At the end he even made sure that we visited Kirstenbosch Gardens. During our trip we visited Hout Bay and seal island, drove on Chapmans Peak Drive, did the funicular railway up to Cape Point, went to Cape of Good Hope, had lunch at a lovely restaurant in Simons Town by the harbour, went to Boulders Beach and Kirstenbosch Gardens. Would definitely go with Springbock tours via Viator again, ended the tour with some wonderful memories.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Efzmld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly the best way to visit Cape Town city and surrounding area cultural, historical and scenic highlights. Timely within 5 min from posted times and efficient.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Geoffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day, perfect weather, amazing scenery, seals and penguins fantastic, friendly fellow travellers and excellent driver and guide.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We were not fond of the tour guide. The sights were beautiful.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Anita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

What makes this tour is the spectacular scenery and not the guide. The guide we had, Super, was really not good at all. He rushed us through the very things we wanted to see-the Cape of Good Hope--and inexplicably spent 30 minutes at a place where there was supposedly a way to see seals. But he warned us ahead of time that the tours were fully booked and so I don't know why we needed to spend 30 minutes there. There are some great stops on this tour, the two Capes, the Penguin Colony. But it baffles me why entry to the penguins is not included instead of to the botanical gardens which are really not that interesting.

If you want to spend time at the Cape of Good Hope and see the penguins, you'll only have about 10 minutes at each place.

That said, the day itself was enjoyable.

Lunch is at a spectacular location and Cape Point is quite lovely.

I picked this tour based on the reviews but felt my experience did not match what the others got, but perhaps it is a matter of us having not as good of a guide.

Nevertheless, if your time is short, you will get to see what this tour promises--it just may not be in the ways you hope.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Efzmld

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

It is a beautiful scenic drive and ought to be experienced, but choose carefully the tour company to ensure that you have sufficient time to see and do what interest you along the Peninsula. Springbok Atlas, a major tour provider, was our tour company, offering a standard package. At Hout Bay, spending time and paying extra to visit Duiker Island to observe the seals is unproductive and time consuming tourist trap as you can see a number of them frolicking in the dockyard. This reduced the amount of time spent at Cape Point beautiful vista and at the botanical garden less than 1 hr. Unfortunately, we also had an annoying tour guide who contributed little to enhancing the tour experience. If you can find a private tour at a reasonable price, it may be a better way to enjoy Cape Peninsula.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Daniel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trips on both bus routes that we took. Good way to relax after busy sightseeing days and get off at your leisure. Only down side was the child ticket we purchased was not necessary as child tickets were included with the adult tickets and were free. Staff in the office and on the busses were very friendly and were very helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

AIDA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a very nice day around the Cape Peninsula. Our guide Charl explained us many things about geography, history, culture... We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Leslie M K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the best way to be introduced to Cape Town. You see more and get more useful information than you might get from a private tour. The bus is also a great way to get around the city for the locals! On my first ride I ran into a bridal shower party going to Table Mountain and had a wonderful time with the women who made me feel at home. The free tours of the old part of Cape Town were very well done and fun. Don't miss this !

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tobias A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing day-tour started at 08:00 am and was finished at 05:00 pm with all highlights of the Cape Peninsula which conveys a detailed impression of the beauty of this piece of land. All mentioned stops have been visited with enough time at each stop of course long stops are not possible due to the amount of Things to see. Our tour guide with the yellow hat - was warm and friendly as well as competent in guiding us thru the day. Would highly recommend it for every visitor of Cape Town!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour very good value for money. Despite the extensive itinery we didn't feel rushed and our guide Elaine was great, very knowledgable with a good sense of humour. The scenery was spectacular, helped by the glorious weather and the penguins were just adorable. I would definately recommedn this tour for those wit limited sightseeing time like myself or for those people wanting a taste of what to do independently.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Lauren M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great experience! Got to see so much and the tour guide, Rodney, was very knowledgeable and kept us laughing throughout the trip!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

got to see a spectacular place, also saw some surprises zebra/ostrich/baboon/penguins

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Jason B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible tour and our guide Super lived up to his name. 100 recommend for anyone in Cape Town for a few days who wants to see many of the natural highlights in a single day tour.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Jo Lynn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very convenient way to see the city and stop at the sites. After using CT hop on hop off, we are a big believer that using this service is a great and reasonable option. One note that the blue route shuts down early so plan your routes accordingly.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Holly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day on our tour! Our guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. While we were driving around the Cape Point, he was able to spot animals that we would have never noticed otherwise. It was really a wonderful day and a perfect way to see areas that we wouldn't have been able to otherwise.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

thoroughly enjoyed this tour, our guide was wonderful very knowledgeable

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had limited time in Cape Town, the Hop on Hop off is the best way to see the highlights of what Cape Town has to offer

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Perfect way to see Cape Town and meet its residents on a beautiful sunny day!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

natasha s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide - Shereen was absolutely amazing., She was full of knowledge, extremely informative, and extremely funny- all in one. There was a group of people who rushed our group, as they had to be back for their dinner reservations by 18h15 but besides that, it was a fabulous tour.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

susan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a great tour beautiful scenery, informative guide. My only reservation was we were taken to a predetermined diner instead of having a choice and the time was very scripted every where we went. At the cape, we really had to hurry to get up to the light house and back to meet at the assigned time instead of being able to enjoy ourselves. Adding an hour in order to allow some flexibility would be appreciated.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

PATRICK M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Worth doing but the guide, while very informative, seemed not to be much concerned about interacting with his clients beyond the essential. Still, it was a good value trip.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message