Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve

The Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve is a nature lover's paradise. See fynbos, Dutch for "fine bush," and indeed, the native flora is as spectacular as it is varied, as well as the native flora, which includes zebras, elands, ostriches and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

magnus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I was picked up as the last person of 8 by a Toyota Van at my hotel in the Waterfront, around 8am in the morning. A much enthusiastic, friendly and inspiring local guide drove us along the west coast west of Table Mountain and southwards with fantastic sea views big waves and nice small villages. First stop south of Hout Bay for a 5-10 min leg stretch, technical break and a photo shoot over the bay. A few local sales persons with local handcrafts where around, but not disturbing. No sales of drinks or snacks, just beautiful nature. The drive then continued southwards and when we took off inlands we could see wild horses running along the Nordhook beach.
Before entering Cape Point area, we made a stop at an Ostrich Farm. Very well preserved in beautiful surroundings. Those who wanted could feed the ostriches by hand. A good selection of products made from Ostriches were sold in the store I bought large eggs to put nightlights in, and the staff helped me to pack them safely to be brought all the way home to Sweden without breaking. I also bought delicious Ostrich patés. On the continued route we stopped at the side of the road since there were a lot of wild monkeys around, though we were clearly told to keep windows closed... Some nice photo shoots here too.
The stop at Cape point was quite short 30 min? so I rushed to the tram that took you to the top. Amazing 360 view from up there! Then quickly back again to the van I prioritised getting the view, and skipped the souvenir shopping which otherwise looked nice, ie not too crappy stuff but actually with some quality. I saw wild springbooks too, though too far away to be captured with my simple phone camera. Then continuing to Cape Point and yet again a fantastic view if one - like I do - loves the sea. More wild monkeys aside of the road. At cape point there was a short line 5-10 min to take photos by the sign land point. The guide told us that during high season the line would be approx 1h to get your picture by the sign...
Returning northbound our next stop was in Simons Town and Boulders Beach with the Penguin Colony. Amazing views of the penguins in an area where there are clear areas for people to walk without disturbing the penguins, yet getting close to see them and to take nice pictures. Even if you could stay around here for a full day, it was a good stop for about 30 min. 5-10 min walk from van to the beach, passing through some nice market with local handcrafts. Again very polite people selling if you approach them, no aggressive sales. The first tour ended back in Cape Town around lunch time.
I was then the only one who continued for the afternoon tour, so I had a private guide for that. We first stopped at Zevenwacht vineyard where a newcomer showed me the storage and told me some very basics about wine production. I would not consider myself a wine expert, but having visited some vineyards in France, Italy, Germany and Sweden I felt that I almost knew more than this beginner guide. The subsequent wine tasting was quite disappointing too, where I was served a glass of wine with some basic information and then the guide left me for some 5-6 min to enjoy the wine. He then came back and repeated the procedure 3 more times with each time a new wine expecting me to have emptied the glass of wine every time No references/comparisons between the wines.
When we left we were supposed to visit the city of Stellenbosch to have a guided walking tour. However, as I was the only tour guest and my guide understood I was not too impressed by this visit, he asked if I wanted to re-schedule the afternoon, within some limits. He had to follow the suggested geographical route, or the built in GPS would send a signal back to his office and his manager would call him which also happened. I appreciated the opportunity and skipped the city walk in favour of a visit to Mulderbosch vineyard very beautiful location with professional wine tasting and to Jacobsdaal vineyard. The latter turned out not to have tastings nor sales on site, they were only producing to distributors. However, my guide was very eager that I would see it since I had travelled around the world to visit a favourite brand of mine, so he got the owner to give me a private introduction to Jacobsdaal winery and I also got a few bottles with me home. Almost embarrassing to me, but my guide insisted and I appreciated the kindness from both him and the owner.
After a funny and rich on experience afternoon I was dropped off at my hotel around 6.30 in the evening. I really enjoyed this day and I got so much value for money. Express tourism, yes, but I could not imagine a better way of spending the one and only day I had off, before leaving Cape Town where I had been for business the whole week. I bring only positive memories and really look forward to come back again for vacation preferably.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

janetmary

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Enjoyed this trip immensely and the guide was excellent. Saw lots of sights, especially enjoyed penguins. Only problem was LENGTH of tour. It was advertised as 8 hours but took more like 10 hours, not including pick-ups. This was without one of the optional boat trips so if that had happened would have been even longer. by the time we got to Botanical Gardens I was exhausted and had no interest in looking around, just wanted to sit down! Suggest doing this trip on a week day rather than weekend, also it was extra busy due to Chinese New Year.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Joanna O.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. You get to see all the places from the check list - Cape Point, penguins, seals ... It is just a bit too fast.
The schedule is so tight that you really have to run almost at every attraction to see it. Would scratch off from the list a thing or two or make it 2 hours longer

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Geoffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great day, perfect weather, amazing scenery, seals and penguins fantastic, friendly fellow travellers and excellent driver and guide.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Courtney V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was supposed to be the half day cape tour and pretty much turned into a full day tour. I am not complaining, I had a great time, but if you're making plans for later in the night, just be mindful that you may not get back to your hotel at the stated time.

we hit every location in the itinerary but just ended up being late leaving each location. We had enough time at every place though and I didn't feel rushed. The driver was great, the van was comfortable and it's really a great trip to see a lot of major sites if you don't have a lot of days in Capetown.
The penguins were great! Make sure you take the funicular to the top at Cape of Good Hope for a wonderful view. Theres an option to take a boat to Seal Island from Hout Bay, I passed on that and just checked out the shopping area in the bay, but a lot of people went to Seal Island and said it was great.
I'm only giving it 4 stars because for almost the last hour of the trip on the drive back to Capetown, a child on our tour was crying...loudly...hysterically...they were a very nice family but our day ran way long, surely into his nap time and he was just not having it. Maybe there should be an age minimum on these trips? Otherwise, great day, must do if you want to see a lot in one day!

Doing what: Half-Day Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town

Anita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

What makes this tour is the spectacular scenery and not the guide. The guide we had, Super, was really not good at all. He rushed us through the very things we wanted to see-the Cape of Good Hope--and inexplicably spent 30 minutes at a place where there was supposedly a way to see seals. But he warned us ahead of time that the tours were fully booked and so I don't know why we needed to spend 30 minutes there. There are some great stops on this tour, the two Capes, the Penguin Colony. But it baffles me why entry to the penguins is not included instead of to the botanical gardens which are really not that interesting.

If you want to spend time at the Cape of Good Hope and see the penguins, you'll only have about 10 minutes at each place.

That said, the day itself was enjoyable.

Lunch is at a spectacular location and Cape Point is quite lovely.

I picked this tour based on the reviews but felt my experience did not match what the others got, but perhaps it is a matter of us having not as good of a guide.

Nevertheless, if your time is short, you will get to see what this tour promises--it just may not be in the ways you hope.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour very good value for money. Despite the extensive itinery we didn't feel rushed and our guide Elaine was great, very knowledgable with a good sense of humour. The scenery was spectacular, helped by the glorious weather and the penguins were just adorable. I would definately recommedn this tour for those wit limited sightseeing time like myself or for those people wanting a taste of what to do independently.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

got to see a spectacular place, also saw some surprises zebra/ostrich/baboon/penguins

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time and saw a ton - timely pick up, comfortable ride - got to see it all - Duiker Island with the Seals, Hout Bay from Chapmans Peak, Cape Point and an scary baboon, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder Beach for the penguins, Kirstenbosch - great day and great value for all you see!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour - full of stunning sights and great stories. Our guide Super always had a fun fact or story to share. There was never a dull moment, even on the longer drives between stops throughout the Cape Peninsula. Super offered great advice for navigating the more crowded attractions like Cape Point and the Boulders Beach penguin colony. We didn't get a car in Cape Town, and this tour was a fantastic way for us to see spots like the Cape of Good Hope and Chapman's Drive that aren't easily accessibly by bus or train. We saw so much of the land and even some unexpected wildlife - fur seals, penguins and wild ostriches. An excellent day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Noela V QLD Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day trip from cruise ship. Allen, the tour guide knew the history and area we travelled. Because it was raining, he took us to the penguins first, then lunch nearby. Whereby tours booked through the cruise ship went immediately to the cape of good hope. By going to the penguins first, we arrived at the Cape at approx. 2.30 pm. When we arrived the sun was out. We were able to climb to the lighthouse, where by the fellow passengers from the cruise ship didn't. With Allen's local knowledge, he made the day trip worth while, even though we left when it was raining. Great day tour.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Hanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw everything as described - so much to see in Cape Town but this encompassed a big chunk of it and is surely the easiest way to do it. We saw the seals, the penguins, the baboons, cape point and cape of good hope, plus the kirstenbosch botanical gardens. We stopped en route a number of times for some great photo ops too. As a solo traveller it was nice to meet some more and I met up with them again to see other tourist attractions/have dinner. For the price it was 5 stars!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

BethanieKay USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour, definitely recommend it. You see so many wonderful things all in one day --- Camps Bay, Hout Bay, seal island, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder's Beach, Kirstenbosch botanical garden, and gorgeous views all along the way. We loved all the wildlife, too -- seals, penguins, baboons, ostrich, bonte bok antelope, tortoises, and many birds. Our guide Bayehtay sp? with the local tour operator was amazing - he was so knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

LT

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The drive through the peninsula was beautiful and our guide was a very sweet older woman. My husband and I were part of a small group of 9 which was nicer and more personable than a large group. The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars is because the tour seemed to follow a standard itinerary that all other providers follow, which meant that we hit every sightseeing point at the same time as everyone else so they were swarming with tourists. It was difficult to get photos without other people in the background and if I had to use the bathroom, I spent more time waiting in line for one than enjoying the scenery.

Later on in our trip, I met another traveler who said they did this tour with a private guide who started their day early and brought them to the sites before the big group buses did. He also let them customize their day and even brought them to a secluded beach where they saw some penguins up close instead of viewing them from a crowded platform like we did. In retrospect, I wish we had done this. I would've preferred to spend more time with the penguins and skip the botanical gardens.

I also found it odd that the restaurant we lunched in booked a large table for the group instead of letting people sit on their own the restaurant was nowhere near full. At this point in the day, I was tired and wanted to sit quietly with my husband but we ended up making awkward small talk with the other travelers instead.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Julie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Guide very good but disappointed with Cape of Good Hope, not sure what I was expecting but it was an anti climax. Great not to have to drive though and the scenery was beautiful.Cape Point better. Boulder penguins too commercialised preferred Betty's Bay.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A personal tour for my son and I to the Cape of Good hope and Cape Point. Our guide, Ryan was extremely knowledgeable and added an extra dimension to the day long tour.
The visit to seal island was an interesting addition as were the African penguins.
All in all this was an extremely good value and interesting experience showing the wider environment for any holiday to Cape Town

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our driver, called Super, was well just super! He gave great commentary on all the highlights and worked around heavy traffic delays. I became ill on trip and he got us to a pharmacy and was very helpful. Loved the Penguins! Full day tour with lots to see.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Michael was an excellent tour guide. We really enjoyed seeing the penguins. We got a lot of sight-seeing in on this trip. And the Botanical gardens with the tree-top walk was interesting and beautiful.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Duncan J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The peninsula day tour was an amazing day! Our guide Rodney picked us up from our hotels and was with us the whole day and provided mountains of information and hilarious anecdotes throughout the trip.
We visited the beautiful Hout Bay and took a boat ride out to see the seals. Then we drove along the stunning coastal road to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. After a fabulous lunch in Simonstown we visited Boulder's Beach where there is a colony of penguins. And our final stop was the beautiful botanical gardens.
I would recommend this trip, for value for money, amazing scenery, fab wildlife sightings and a wonderful day out!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Alexandra U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great and Cape Peninsula just amazing! We went to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope, where you feel all the beauty and freedom and wilderness of this fantastic place with all your heart, then we had lunch at beautiful restaurant with more than reasonable prices and visited colony of penguins. All places were very well organized, so tourists can have enough time and make good pictures. Maybe it would be good to spend a bit more time at Botanical Gardens, on the other hand not all people are interested in plants so much.
Guide Elain has been providing a lot of interesting information during all the tour. The bus was very comfortable, we had enough stops and enough time at every stop.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Linda L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time on our tour. The guide was informative and fun and we were able to stop at all the places we wanted. Penguins were a high point, as were the views, flora and fauna and animals e.g. baboons and ostriches along the road. Definitely a hassle free way to cover a distance and enjoy the high points of a trip to the cape.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Paula D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great way to experience the highlights of the Capetown including spectacular ocean views, wildlife penguins, seals, and baboons, gardens and shopping. Our guide was knowledgable and made each guest feel comfortable and safe. This is a good value.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

tessa v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Danielle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Philip the tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable, very nice. The tour is well worth the money. I saw the seals, penguins, antelopes and was lucky enough to see baboons as they were crossing the road. The Peninsula is just beautiful, Cape of Good Hope is just stunning. A day well spent.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message