Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve

The Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve is a nature lover's paradise. See fynbos, Dutch for "fine bush," and indeed, the native flora is as spectacular as it is varied, as well as the native flora, which includes zebras, elands, ostriches and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

got to see a spectacular place, also saw some surprises zebra/ostrich/baboon/penguins

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time and saw a ton - timely pick up, comfortable ride - got to see it all - Duiker Island with the Seals, Hout Bay from Chapmans Peak, Cape Point and an scary baboon, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder Beach for the penguins, Kirstenbosch - great day and great value for all you see!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour - full of stunning sights and great stories. Our guide Super always had a fun fact or story to share. There was never a dull moment, even on the longer drives between stops throughout the Cape Peninsula. Super offered great advice for navigating the more crowded attractions like Cape Point and the Boulders Beach penguin colony. We didn't get a car in Cape Town, and this tour was a fantastic way for us to see spots like the Cape of Good Hope and Chapman's Drive that aren't easily accessibly by bus or train. We saw so much of the land and even some unexpected wildlife - fur seals, penguins and wild ostriches. An excellent day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Noela V QLD Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful day trip from cruise ship. Allen, the tour guide knew the history and area we travelled. Because it was raining, he took us to the penguins first, then lunch nearby. Whereby tours booked through the cruise ship went immediately to the cape of good hope. By going to the penguins first, we arrived at the Cape at approx. 2.30 pm. When we arrived the sun was out. We were able to climb to the lighthouse, where by the fellow passengers from the cruise ship didn't. With Allen's local knowledge, he made the day trip worth while, even though we left when it was raining. Great day tour.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Hanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw everything as described - so much to see in Cape Town but this encompassed a big chunk of it and is surely the easiest way to do it. We saw the seals, the penguins, the baboons, cape point and cape of good hope, plus the kirstenbosch botanical gardens. We stopped en route a number of times for some great photo ops too. As a solo traveller it was nice to meet some more and I met up with them again to see other tourist attractions/have dinner. For the price it was 5 stars!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

BethanieKay USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour, definitely recommend it. You see so many wonderful things all in one day --- Camps Bay, Hout Bay, seal island, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder's Beach, Kirstenbosch botanical garden, and gorgeous views all along the way. We loved all the wildlife, too -- seals, penguins, baboons, ostrich, bonte bok antelope, tortoises, and many birds. Our guide Bayehtay sp? with the local tour operator was amazing - he was so knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

LT

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The drive through the peninsula was beautiful and our guide was a very sweet older woman. My husband and I were part of a small group of 9 which was nicer and more personable than a large group. The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars is because the tour seemed to follow a standard itinerary that all other providers follow, which meant that we hit every sightseeing point at the same time as everyone else so they were swarming with tourists. It was difficult to get photos without other people in the background and if I had to use the bathroom, I spent more time waiting in line for one than enjoying the scenery.

Later on in our trip, I met another traveler who said they did this tour with a private guide who started their day early and brought them to the sites before the big group buses did. He also let them customize their day and even brought them to a secluded beach where they saw some penguins up close instead of viewing them from a crowded platform like we did. In retrospect, I wish we had done this. I would've preferred to spend more time with the penguins and skip the botanical gardens.

I also found it odd that the restaurant we lunched in booked a large table for the group instead of letting people sit on their own the restaurant was nowhere near full. At this point in the day, I was tired and wanted to sit quietly with my husband but we ended up making awkward small talk with the other travelers instead.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Julie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Guide very good but disappointed with Cape of Good Hope, not sure what I was expecting but it was an anti climax. Great not to have to drive though and the scenery was beautiful.Cape Point better. Boulder penguins too commercialised preferred Betty's Bay.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A personal tour for my son and I to the Cape of Good hope and Cape Point. Our guide, Ryan was extremely knowledgeable and added an extra dimension to the day long tour.
The visit to seal island was an interesting addition as were the African penguins.
All in all this was an extremely good value and interesting experience showing the wider environment for any holiday to Cape Town

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town

Veronica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our driver, called Super, was well just super! He gave great commentary on all the highlights and worked around heavy traffic delays. I became ill on trip and he got us to a pharmacy and was very helpful. Loved the Penguins! Full day tour with lots to see.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Michael was an excellent tour guide. We really enjoyed seeing the penguins. We got a lot of sight-seeing in on this trip. And the Botanical gardens with the tree-top walk was interesting and beautiful.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Duncan J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The peninsula day tour was an amazing day! Our guide Rodney picked us up from our hotels and was with us the whole day and provided mountains of information and hilarious anecdotes throughout the trip.
We visited the beautiful Hout Bay and took a boat ride out to see the seals. Then we drove along the stunning coastal road to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. After a fabulous lunch in Simonstown we visited Boulder's Beach where there is a colony of penguins. And our final stop was the beautiful botanical gardens.
I would recommend this trip, for value for money, amazing scenery, fab wildlife sightings and a wonderful day out!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Alexandra U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great and Cape Peninsula just amazing! We went to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope, where you feel all the beauty and freedom and wilderness of this fantastic place with all your heart, then we had lunch at beautiful restaurant with more than reasonable prices and visited colony of penguins. All places were very well organized, so tourists can have enough time and make good pictures. Maybe it would be good to spend a bit more time at Botanical Gardens, on the other hand not all people are interested in plants so much.
Guide Elain has been providing a lot of interesting information during all the tour. The bus was very comfortable, we had enough stops and enough time at every stop.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Linda L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful time on our tour. The guide was informative and fun and we were able to stop at all the places we wanted. Penguins were a high point, as were the views, flora and fauna and animals e.g. baboons and ostriches along the road. Definitely a hassle free way to cover a distance and enjoy the high points of a trip to the cape.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Paula D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great way to experience the highlights of the Capetown including spectacular ocean views, wildlife penguins, seals, and baboons, gardens and shopping. Our guide was knowledgable and made each guest feel comfortable and safe. This is a good value.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

tessa v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Danielle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Philip the tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable, very nice. The tour is well worth the money. I saw the seals, penguins, antelopes and was lucky enough to see baboons as they were crossing the road. The Peninsula is just beautiful, Cape of Good Hope is just stunning. A day well spent.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Darryl O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour of Cape of Good Hope, highlighted by the visit with Penguins!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fantastic day out! One of the highlights of my whole holiday. I don't see how this could be done as a half day tour, there was just so much to see. The penguins were incredible! I highly recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Cape Town, it was great value for money!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mostly driving tour, but otherwise a great tour. Great scenic views, baboons, and penguins. Recommend if want to see the sights on a condensed tour, but if you want more time to yourself and more walking the full day tour is probably better for you.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

flamingos7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Geetha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour was excellent, enjoyed very much. We were kind of disappointed when we saw rain in the morning but, the day turned out to be fantastic. Beautiful beaches, very scenic and enjoyable tour. We were excited to see so many Sea lions and Penguins. Super was a great driver/guide. Thanks.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Tony T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The penguins were a let down. Not many of them and they were just laying around.

We were terribly rushed at the Cape of Good Hope only to end the tour early.

The botanical gardens were lovely.

Views from Cape Point were cool.

The tour guide was a bit loquacious. Like he felt he had to talk the entire 8 hours of the tour often repeating himself over and over and over again.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message