Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle of Good Hope

In the late 1600s, the Dutch East India Company constructed the Castle of Good Hope as a maritime resupply station, and over the years, it became the seat of administrative and military power in the cape until the settlement grew and the civilian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The best part of this tour was the guide and mini bus driver. There was only four of us so the tour was personalized and tailored. The guide was from Cape Town and knew the city, its sights and history very well. He also accommodated our needs for drop off in the city other than the hotel pickup. It's best to take the morning tour. This for me was based on my travel schedule but it turned out to be the better time of the day because of weather patterns and city traffic.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Angela F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

This tour did show us the key sights of Cape Town but if you are looking for a detailed guided tour it's not for you. I felt we could have been given more information about each stop rather than just getting out of the bus and taking photo's.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Dan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Actually not good. First, we were moved to another operator, who arrived early and asked us to come, then told us he has another pickup 35 minutes later, so we have to wait We were left at a beach for close to half an hour. His explanations on the city tour were, in a word, infantile, and sometimes wrong.
There was another mis-communication upon being picked up after the table mountain cable car. We had to hunt for the driver, even though I gave him my cell number to call if he had to move
This booking was An almost complete disaster!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Veronica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was an amazing trip, the guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all of our questions. He was able to show us many areas of interest and was great at finding us coffee when we needed it. The day was very windy so were not able to go on the cable cars but this did not take away from the great morning we had.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Philip G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Unfortunately the cable car to the top of Table Mountain was closed due to high winds which was a disappointment but not the tour operators fault ! However a good short tour which fitted quite a lot in with commentary from our guide 'Superman' who allowed us time at each attraction to take pics. Worth the trip for the album and freeing up time to spend more time at the V and A and other places of interest. We enjoyed the trip to the Diamond factory shop more than anticipated. Interesting and thankfully she didn't buy !

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Belal M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

From the description, we were very excited about this tour and booked it for Christmas Day. After booking, exchanged correspondence with the tour operator Springbok Atlas, confirmed and re-confirmed, no problem. However, on the day of the tour, the driver showed up half hour late. That wasn't bad enough then he stated that except Table Mountain, all other places listed in the tour was closed for Christmas. When asked if those were closed last year too, his answer was always. Why would you let people book tour on a day when you know all but one places are closed?
Anyway, we headed towards the only open place, Table Mountain and the van was driving rough, with such a rush, breaks and turns that it literally gave me motion sickness. Since Table Mountain was the only place we could go, I thought we would get extra times there but the driver maintained his schedule, as if he was going somewhere.
However, with all this negativity, I must mention one important positive thing, VIATOR. After my return, I contacted Viator and described my disappointment. Viator listened, apologized and refunded my money. So, while I couldn't give more than two stars to Springbok Atlas, Viator gets five star!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

After several previous attempts we managed to get onto Table Mountain this time - amazing experience. Our guide for the short Cape Town tour was very knowledgeable and helpful. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

klawson702

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The tour was a great overview of Cape Town. However it went past the time we expected it to be at.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Robert G P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Cape Town is a beautiful city. Cruise ship docked in the city. Wonderful views from the top of Table Mountain and value for money. Great food and wine cheap as chips.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Mauricio C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Here the event was magnificent merely because this is a must visit, but our guide was lackluster.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Allison P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This excursion was a great end to a perfect trip. The guide arrived on time for our pick up at the hotel and was very personable and knowledgeable. There were a total of 10 people on the tour from 3 different hotels. I really enjoyed the Table Mountain experience and we were allowed plenty of time to enjoy the views or check out the gift shop. Then we toured some of the city by van, not stopping for any photos until we arrive at the colored houses. We stopped for a perfect amount of time and continued on to a museum, which I did not realize was part of the tour. We chose to do the museum very quickly and instead wonder the area outside and take photos before the meeting time. Finally, we ended with a tour of a diamond facility. It was MUCH more interesting and enjoyable then I expected it to be!

Overall it was a great and very affordable tour and I feel like we saw a lot. I just wish the description on VIATOR had been more detailed, just so we knew what we were getting into. I felt like I was surprised mostly pleasantly at every turn.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Elaine our tour guide was a blast, very funny and entertaining. Tape Mountain was breathtaking

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good tour however, the cable car was closed for maintenance. Good way to get to know the main sites in Cape Town recommend it at the start of your holiday.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Leeshia C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Rude guide and lack luster tour. I don't recommend this tour at all. You can visit Table Top Mountain and walk around the city center for less money and better company.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent!! We had a very beautiful and clear day, the view from Table Mountain was incredible, and the sight seeing around Cape Town was very enjoyable. The tour guide Super was great!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

blueskies1856

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Early on our first full day in Cape Town, we met our tour guide Eon hotspots2c. Susan found him thru rave reviews on Viator we have used them extensively in numerous parts of the world and requested him by name for a private tour of Cape Town, South Africa SA. Eon is a native Capetonian and has a gregarious personality that shines through in sharing his love for his homeland. We had done our research as to some places to go, so Eon made sure that he matched the tour to our specific interests. We went to Table Mtn early, so we wouldnt get stuck in the long lines later and Eon answered all our questions on the flora and fauna there. Spent quite a bit of time running around taking photos of dassies and sunbirds and of course the view! Then headed over to Kirstenbosch Gardens and the boomslang, a fairly new addition for the 100th anniversary of the Gardens. Its a canopy walk thats shaped like a serpent, meandering high up in the canopy of trees. We were lucky enough to have found male and female spotted eagle owls resting in a tree while at the Gardens. Very cool! Saw the V and A Waterfront next. At the V and A, Eon took us to an inexpensive market that had all sorts of edible goodies, from biltong and kudu jerky, to SA beer, to smoothies, to chocolate covered nuts. We would never have found it on our own! Then on to the colorful Bo Kaap area with its gaily painted houses and flowers. You can't get a better private tour than this one, especially if Eon is your guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

mascotusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

highly recommended and guide was excellent.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Monica F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

My recommendation is to do a red bus tour of Cape Town. You can actually appreciate what you're seeing since you can't see much out of the van window. Also, the diamond store at the end was unnecessary and took up a decent chunk of the tour. It was obvious we were only there bc they get commission

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

norman W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Inspite of having a problem with pick up the company put it right .. Guide first rate.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Valerio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The views you get from top of the Table Mountain is probably one of the most scenic views I have ever seen in my life. You are literally above the clouds admiring the gorgeous cape town city view and its surroundings. The experience has exceeded my already very high expectations.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super the tour guide was very informative, professional and efficient in guiding the group around the city. The van was clean, comfortable and easy to access. The tour was filled with beautiful, educational, entertaining and fun. I would definitely use this tour service again.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour felt very rushed and the highlights were not explained well. Stories around what we were seeing were told in a very haphazard way which made them difficult to follow. Also we were not given enough time to enjoy Tabke Mountain. Fortunately we made our own way back there a couple of times before we left Cape Town. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

ann l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

collected on time from hotel, very well organised, your representative Elaine? was very
entertaining and made the trip fun and informative

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message