Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens

The Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens, established in 1913 to protect indigenous flora, were the first of their kind in the world. The main garden covers five of the six South African biomes, most of which are found inside an indoor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide on this trip was called Rodney, who was very knowledgeable made sure we got to see plenty of wonderful places and at all times ensured that my partner and I got the best out of the trip. At the end he even made sure that we visited Kirstenbosch Gardens. During our trip we visited Hout Bay and seal island, drove on Chapmans Peak Drive, did the funicular railway up to Cape Point, went to Cape of Good Hope, had lunch at a lovely restaurant in Simons Town by the harbour, went to Boulders Beach and Kirstenbosch Gardens. Would definitely go with Springbock tours via Viator again, ended the tour with some wonderful memories.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Anita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

What makes this tour is the spectacular scenery and not the guide. The guide we had, Super, was really not good at all. He rushed us through the very things we wanted to see-the Cape of Good Hope--and inexplicably spent 30 minutes at a place where there was supposedly a way to see seals. But he warned us ahead of time that the tours were fully booked and so I don't know why we needed to spend 30 minutes there. There are some great stops on this tour, the two Capes, the Penguin Colony. But it baffles me why entry to the penguins is not included instead of to the botanical gardens which are really not that interesting.

If you want to spend time at the Cape of Good Hope and see the penguins, you'll only have about 10 minutes at each place.

That said, the day itself was enjoyable.

Lunch is at a spectacular location and Cape Point is quite lovely.

I picked this tour based on the reviews but felt my experience did not match what the others got, but perhaps it is a matter of us having not as good of a guide.

Nevertheless, if your time is short, you will get to see what this tour promises--it just may not be in the ways you hope.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Efzmld

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

It is a beautiful scenic drive and ought to be experienced, but choose carefully the tour company to ensure that you have sufficient time to see and do what interest you along the Peninsula. Springbok Atlas, a major tour provider, was our tour company, offering a standard package. At Hout Bay, spending time and paying extra to visit Duiker Island to observe the seals is unproductive and time consuming tourist trap as you can see a number of them frolicking in the dockyard. This reduced the amount of time spent at Cape Point beautiful vista and at the botanical garden less than 1 hr. Unfortunately, we also had an annoying tour guide who contributed little to enhancing the tour experience. If you can find a private tour at a reasonable price, it may be a better way to enjoy Cape Peninsula.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time and saw a ton - timely pick up, comfortable ride - got to see it all - Duiker Island with the Seals, Hout Bay from Chapmans Peak, Cape Point and an scary baboon, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder Beach for the penguins, Kirstenbosch - great day and great value for all you see!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

mary.lambeth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic full day tour and one we would recommend for anyone visiting Cape Town. We found it difficult to choose between the full day and half day tour but are glad we chose the full day tour as there was so much to see and do. Our guide, Rodney was brilliant with his knowledge, flexibility and sense of humour. There were eight of us in a mini-bus - a lovely small group. He encouraged us to take the optional tour around seal island and it was amazing to watch the numerous seals diving in and out of the water.

Next we drove to Cape Point and saw spectacular scenery both there and, in fact all day. At the Cape of Good Hope baboons strolled along the roadside! After a good lunch in a harbour restaurant in Simon's Town organised by Rodney, at our own expense we headed for what we had been really looking forward to all day - the Penguin Colony on Boulder's Beach. Although smaller than we imagined, it was wonderful! It was fascinating to watch their behaviour: some were diving in and out of the sea, others were basking in the sun and babies were nestled beneath their parents in dug-out holes!

Reluctantly we left the colony but we enjoyed Kirstenbosch Gardens at the end of our incredible day.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Astrid W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice overview of the peninsula. The program was perfect for a one day excursion. The botanical garden will deserve another day.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Hanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Saw everything as described - so much to see in Cape Town but this encompassed a big chunk of it and is surely the easiest way to do it. We saw the seals, the penguins, the baboons, cape point and cape of good hope, plus the kirstenbosch botanical gardens. We stopped en route a number of times for some great photo ops too. As a solo traveller it was nice to meet some more and I met up with them again to see other tourist attractions/have dinner. For the price it was 5 stars!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

BethanieKay USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour, definitely recommend it. You see so many wonderful things all in one day --- Camps Bay, Hout Bay, seal island, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder's Beach, Kirstenbosch botanical garden, and gorgeous views all along the way. We loved all the wildlife, too -- seals, penguins, baboons, ostrich, bonte bok antelope, tortoises, and many birds. Our guide Bayehtay sp? with the local tour operator was amazing - he was so knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Inge H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. It took the whole day but you see a lot of the beautify of Capetown and the tour offers a lot of different sightseeings. We visited Hout Bay, Cape of good hope, we saw the seals and the pinguins. Visited the Botanic garden, had lunch in Simon's town. All was good and especially the tour guide. She did a very good job!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

LT

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The drive through the peninsula was beautiful and our guide was a very sweet older woman. My husband and I were part of a small group of 9 which was nicer and more personable than a large group. The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars is because the tour seemed to follow a standard itinerary that all other providers follow, which meant that we hit every sightseeing point at the same time as everyone else so they were swarming with tourists. It was difficult to get photos without other people in the background and if I had to use the bathroom, I spent more time waiting in line for one than enjoying the scenery.

Later on in our trip, I met another traveler who said they did this tour with a private guide who started their day early and brought them to the sites before the big group buses did. He also let them customize their day and even brought them to a secluded beach where they saw some penguins up close instead of viewing them from a crowded platform like we did. In retrospect, I wish we had done this. I would've preferred to spend more time with the penguins and skip the botanical gardens.

I also found it odd that the restaurant we lunched in booked a large table for the group instead of letting people sit on their own the restaurant was nowhere near full. At this point in the day, I was tired and wanted to sit quietly with my husband but we ended up making awkward small talk with the other travelers instead.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Kathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Michael was an excellent tour guide. We really enjoyed seeing the penguins. We got a lot of sight-seeing in on this trip. And the Botanical gardens with the tree-top walk was interesting and beautiful.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Rosered32

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

This could have been a wonderful tour but unfortunately it was not! Our guide, Michael, could have provided extensive information about the sites but instead only provided minimal information. The tour was rushed, only had an hour at Kirstenbosch Gardens, not enough time at all. The worst part was eating lunch at a preselected place and having to eat lunch with the group, painful to say the least!! Would not recommend this tour to anyone. It could have been great but instead was a huge let down!!! Giving this tour one star is too generous!

Doing what: Cape Point Tour from Cape Town

Duncan J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The peninsula day tour was an amazing day! Our guide Rodney picked us up from our hotels and was with us the whole day and provided mountains of information and hilarious anecdotes throughout the trip.
We visited the beautiful Hout Bay and took a boat ride out to see the seals. Then we drove along the stunning coastal road to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. After a fabulous lunch in Simonstown we visited Boulder's Beach where there is a colony of penguins. And our final stop was the beautiful botanical gardens.
I would recommend this trip, for value for money, amazing scenery, fab wildlife sightings and a wonderful day out!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Alexandra U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great and Cape Peninsula just amazing! We went to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope, where you feel all the beauty and freedom and wilderness of this fantastic place with all your heart, then we had lunch at beautiful restaurant with more than reasonable prices and visited colony of penguins. All places were very well organized, so tourists can have enough time and make good pictures. Maybe it would be good to spend a bit more time at Botanical Gardens, on the other hand not all people are interested in plants so much.
Guide Elain has been providing a lot of interesting information during all the tour. The bus was very comfortable, we had enough stops and enough time at every stop.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Sharon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was amazing. The Cape is beautiful. When our garden trip was cancelled due to bad weather...it was substituted by a superb wine tasting trip. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Paula D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great way to experience the highlights of the Capetown including spectacular ocean views, wildlife penguins, seals, and baboons, gardens and shopping. Our guide was knowledgable and made each guest feel comfortable and safe. This is a good value.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

tessa v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

marbles

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worthwhile for the penguin beach, take the seal island option if weathers good, gardens just ok....pretty but not a must

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

María B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Definitely worth doing, amazing views. And ending at the botanical gardens is simply superb.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

flamingos7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Tony T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The penguins were a let down. Not many of them and they were just laying around.

We were terribly rushed at the Cape of Good Hope only to end the tour early.

The botanical gardens were lovely.

Views from Cape Point were cool.

The tour guide was a bit loquacious. Like he felt he had to talk the entire 8 hours of the tour often repeating himself over and over and over again.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Martje09

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a nice tour enough but because there was a mixup with pickup times the tour didn't start till 09.30. For that reason we didn't go to the seal Island but they still took a long time for lunch and the botanic gardens. I rather went to the seals instead but we never had a choice!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

louise.c1000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was truly an amazing trip. Firstly the tour rep Elaine made the whole trip worthwhile with her interesting comments and she was a really nice lady.I think she was employed bhy Springbok Atlas. The boat trip to the seal colony was lovely and the weather was very good. We then made our way to see the Penguins and passed thru Simons Town. Boulders Beach was fantastic just
to see the antics of the penguins. We then travelled on to Cape Point for pictures at
The Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve and then proceeded to the Two Oceans Restaurant for Lunch which was very good. We also managed to get the funicular to ththe top to see the lighthouse. Our last port of call was Kirstenbosch Nat.Botanical Gardens., All in all this tour was very good value for money and | would certainly book with Viator again.
the site and continued

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message