Settled in the mid-1920s as a designated area for black Africans, Langa Township is Cape Town’s oldest and largest township. This lively community, which was established pre-apartheid, is steeped in history of the Xhosa people. Even its name pays ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A well put together tour and very good guide. A little more time at the District 6 museum with more background would have given a better understanding but did not detract from an overall 5 day

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

James M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Informative, insightful and thoroughly enjoyable tour that contextualizes the history and politics of the apartheid era and the current social and economic challenges the township residents face. Never condescending or hokey managed to strike a perfect balance and bring a human face to South African politics. Truly excellent.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap

Catherina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly amazing, Titus our guide through town and surrounding areas was great. Getting on the ferry for Robben Island was very slow, over an hour late leaving, the tour on the island fantastic, we learnt so much of the history. By the time we got back to the Clock Tower we were nearly 2 hours late. No driver to pick us up. Had to pay for a taxi to take us back to our accommodation at Camps Bay

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Erin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was well worth the money. Driver arrived on time, was very knowledgeable, and made the entire day really fun.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Elio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

keligyrl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the 3rd time I'm having to write this review. I keep losing it when I hit post review. Anyway, our guide Titus was very knowledgeable, nice, funny, and efficient. I believe the name of one of the townships was Langa. We also visited the shanties. It was a sobering experience. We take so many things for granted. We visited an apartment occupied by two women and two babies. The apartment would have been considered condemned and unlivable in the United States. The shanties were the worst. Some of us were overcome with sadness by the sight of how the inhabitants there were living. It was truly sad to see. However, the preschool we visited in the shanties lifted our spirits. Those babies sang their preschool songs to us and we learned about their school. We all really enjoyed them. We were dropped off at the waterfront to board the ferry for the Robben Island portion of the tour. Our tour guide, an ex political prisoner, was very thorough and emphasized their plight as much as he could. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Keshia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We started by visiting the District 6 Museum and the Langa Townships. This tour was extremely enlightening and very sad at the same time. I learned a lot about the townships of South Africa. The guide was excellent, he gave us a first hand account of what it's like to live in a township, and he explained that he currently resides in one. This visit made me want to give back to the people of South Africa, it was a very humbling experience. The Robben Island Tour was also great. I definitely learned a lot from this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about South Africa's past.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Natesha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent tour. The tour guide is a former political prisoner. It was humbling visiting the prison.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As part of this tour we visited District 6, Langa township and then onto Robben Island. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very informative. Got to see a whale on the way to Robben Island, which was amazing to see. On Robben Island we was taken on the visit to the prison by a guide who had been a former inmate and also saw Nelson Mandelas cell. The island tour was very interesting and we also saw penguins, a wonderful memorable experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nasrin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

not to be missed. a real glimpse into the tragedy of apartheid.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Michele E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour really should be required for all tourists -- highly informative and non-polemical. After an intial stop in District 6 for a brief history lesson, we visited the District 6 Museum -- a conceptually amazing museum, very informative and moving, full of personal testimonies of former District 6 residents. Then we were off to visit 3 townships: walking the streets, meeting the people, two home visits and a stop at a beer hall for lack of a better phrase. The tour was conducted by veteran guides who live in the townships, have lived through Apartheid, and who know their history inside and out. Followed by free time for lunch at the V and A waterfront and a tour of Robben Island. You really must take the day to take this tour!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the island, especially with the guide who was a former prisoner was excellent. The sound on the video on the boat going out to Robben Island was not loud enough. The boat operators should fix this.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

siobhanharbour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must if visiting Cape Town, very sobering but unmissable at the same time. The guides were fantastic and couldn and #39;t fault the tour in anyway!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

awbs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Visits to a township - in our case Langa - make you feel a bit of a voyeur!! Such poverty as we can't imagine. Homes which are just corrugated huts, and hundreds of them. No running water or toilets.
Later, we went to Robben Island, where Nelsen Mandella was incarcerated for some 18 years. The visit to the cells is overseen by a former prisoner, Tom Morris in our case. This is a once in a lifetime visit, and something we should all strive to do. Very emotional and humbling.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Terry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour! Historical facts, District 6, and the Township tour was wonderful. The tour guide was outstanding with very much insight! The Robben Island tour was equally outstanding. My wife, children and Grand Children were overwhelmed!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

bev.todd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I highly recommend this tour to understand the history of South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Dahlia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guided tour by Richard and the team in Robben Island. Very informative and very sympathetically presented.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Township tour was well very informative with the guide taking time to explain the historical as well as the current political situation.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

vpwalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is very educational. The township tour was enlightening and gave me hope that things will get better even though it's going to take a very long time. I took people's advice and took Dramamine to combat potential seasickness on the ferry to Robbens Island. The ride coming from the island was rocky. The tour of the island gave us knowledge of what it was like during those times. The guides took their time, so we weren't rushed. The views of Cape Town from Robbens Island are spectacular. Viator provided an excellent guide for the township which made the overall experience worth the price. This tour is a must-do if visiting South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

E M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Brilliant guide for museum and townships. So emotional learning about the horrors of segregation and apartheid. Robbed island also brilliant. Hearing about the prison regime from ex political prisoner.
Moving but so interesting.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message