For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marina K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really great full day - I was lucky enough to be collected directly from the apartment I was staying which was very helpful. Great full day visiting Bo Kaap, District Six and the District Six museum, then to the township of Langa. We were then taken to the V and A waterfront to board the ferry to head over to Robben Island - unfortunately I had to hand around and wait for 2 hours as my ferry was booked for 2 hours later than the rest of the group. I was on the 6pm ferry back from Robben Island so arrived back quite late at 7pm then had to find my own way back to my accommodation even though the tour said it would return back to patrons accom'. All in all, was a great day with informative guide.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Erin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was well worth the money. Driver arrived on time, was very knowledgeable, and made the entire day really fun.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Catherina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly amazing, Titus our guide through town and surrounding areas was great. Getting on the ferry for Robben Island was very slow, over an hour late leaving, the tour on the island fantastic, we learnt so much of the history. By the time we got back to the Clock Tower we were nearly 2 hours late. No driver to pick us up. Had to pay for a taxi to take us back to our accommodation at Camps Bay

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Fergus R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Guides were very important to understanding this tour. Our morning guide tookus through the apartheid connection and the township visit. As a township resident his experience was very important to our understanding. The afternoon visit to Robben Island was outstanding and the guide to the prison was a former inmate so we had a better undertstanding of conditions. ALL IN ALL AN EXCEPTIONAL DAY OUT.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Davi H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The walking part in the Township and museum was excellent. The guide gave a very honest yet around overview of life in the Township. Walking through the streets, meeting the artists and going into one of the homes really brought it all together. The Robben island part was just okay, due to not fault of Viator. The ferry did not leave on time and the staff at Robben island was disorganized. If you are going in the afternoon, do not schedule an early evening dinner or event. One could not count on when you'll get back. it was convenient viator packaged all of this for you. Guide on the bus was excellent and supportive to everyone throughout.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

NDM

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a good tour. The pick up/drop off needs to ne better coordinated. It was very frustrating. However the tour itself was great. Our guide, I'm sorry I don't remember his name was helpful in understanding the culture.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Harrison T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our visit to the township and to the District 6 Museum was greatly advanced due to our excellent guide. He was well-spoken, sensitive, had very good insights, historically solid, all without being sappy, He was able to contrast different portions of the township and speak from his own experience in a very effective manner. The bus tour of Robben Island was fair, with the lady guide being difficult to understand. The guide in the prison itself was a former prisoner and was excellent, giving depth from his personal experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Stephen H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Booked a private tour but allocated to group tour which costs much less. Had to wait around for for private guide when they realised their mistake. Guide very good but had less time than should have because of mistake. Expensive for what it was.

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As part of this tour we visited District 6, Langa township and then onto Robben Island. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very informative. Got to see a whale on the way to Robben Island, which was amazing to see. On Robben Island we was taken on the visit to the prison by a guide who had been a former inmate and also saw Nelson Mandelas cell. The island tour was very interesting and we also saw penguins, a wonderful memorable experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Natesha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent tour. The tour guide is a former political prisoner. It was humbling visiting the prison.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Keshia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We started by visiting the District 6 Museum and the Langa Townships. This tour was extremely enlightening and very sad at the same time. I learned a lot about the townships of South Africa. The guide was excellent, he gave us a first hand account of what it's like to live in a township, and he explained that he currently resides in one. This visit made me want to give back to the people of South Africa, it was a very humbling experience. The Robben Island Tour was also great. I definitely learned a lot from this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about South Africa's past.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

keligyrl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the 3rd time I'm having to write this review. I keep losing it when I hit post review. Anyway, our guide Titus was very knowledgeable, nice, funny, and efficient. I believe the name of one of the townships was Langa. We also visited the shanties. It was a sobering experience. We take so many things for granted. We visited an apartment occupied by two women and two babies. The apartment would have been considered condemned and unlivable in the United States. The shanties were the worst. Some of us were overcome with sadness by the sight of how the inhabitants there were living. It was truly sad to see. However, the preschool we visited in the shanties lifted our spirits. Those babies sang their preschool songs to us and we learned about their school. We all really enjoyed them. We were dropped off at the waterfront to board the ferry for the Robben Island portion of the tour. Our tour guide, an ex political prisoner, was very thorough and emphasized their plight as much as he could. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Elio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day, highlights were District 6 museum and Robben Island, so much history and feeling, a must do when in Cape Town

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Andrew D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to the townships was very informative, However it may be worth mentioning that the trip to Robbin Island is weather dependent. We were unable to go due to it being windy, being mindful when booking Cape Town is known to have frequent high winds.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Julie S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The driver came to get us and he was very nice and friendly. He walked us to the port to catch the boat to Robben island and you need to stick together with the other folks in your group so you all get back on the same boat back.

We then met the driver, I think his name was Alone?, and we drove to Table Mtn. This tour is cheaper than some others because they do not include the ticket to go up the cable car. What a huge mistake! Had we known how important it was to get the tickets ahead of time we may have bought them in advance. Three of us were trying to buy tickets via the phone and could not, login issues etc. So we waited, and waited for over one hour to get the ticket to go up. The 20 price of the ticket was a waste as we only had a very fast 45 minutes up there. Had we had our tickets in advance then I would recommend at least 75 minutes up there to really enjoy the space.

We then did a driving tour of the central city and stopped to get out in front of the government building near the fort. After we visited the brightly decorated area of Boku I think and had some time to look at the houses.

For the 5 people on the tour who had no tickets to get to the top, we were all very dissatisfied about this unexpected issue.We feel like waiting in line for an hour was a big waste of our limited time.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Leeds6

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Waste of money, get your act together. Guide turned up more than an hour late, 15 minutes at table mountain after travelling 6000 miles to see it. Short tour of city in a rush, dumped at 12 for lunch to catch ferry at 1pm for robben island. Poor, poor, poor. Worst ever tour in 38 years of travel.
.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about any incidents that may have caused any kind of inconvenience for our Viator customers. Please be advised, we have escalated your claim to customer support for further investigation. Thank you for your patience as we look into this matter.

Nasrin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing day. Inspiring and sad too. Met a lovely gentleman named Lionel who actually served time in the prison with Nelson Mandela! No amount of money could buy the chat we had. Tour guides excellent

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Tamara B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Best part of the tour was Robben Island. Our bus guide and prison guide were phenomenal! The Langa tour guide was great as well. The District 6 was that great mainly because the guide only gave a 5 minute overview of the museum and 20 minutes for us to tour alone. Not enough time at all to experience it.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

not to be missed. a real glimpse into the tragedy of apartheid.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

maitri

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very good trip..... the travel to the island in ferry was really awesome!! We enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

al49 Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good well run tour, guide on the township part was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

purgriz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time, our guide was Gary he was very informative and fun to be with. The Robben Island tour was very powerful. I would recommend the tour to anyone.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message