For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

not to be missed. a real glimpse into the tragedy of apartheid.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

maitri

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very good trip..... the travel to the island in ferry was really awesome!! We enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

al49 Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good well run tour, guide on the township part was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

purgriz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time, our guide was Gary he was very informative and fun to be with. The Robben Island tour was very powerful. I would recommend the tour to anyone.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Michele E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour really should be required for all tourists -- highly informative and non-polemical. After an intial stop in District 6 for a brief history lesson, we visited the District 6 Museum -- a conceptually amazing museum, very informative and moving, full of personal testimonies of former District 6 residents. Then we were off to visit 3 townships: walking the streets, meeting the people, two home visits and a stop at a beer hall for lack of a better phrase. The tour was conducted by veteran guides who live in the townships, have lived through Apartheid, and who know their history inside and out. Followed by free time for lunch at the V and A waterfront and a tour of Robben Island. You really must take the day to take this tour!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Kate F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the trip to Robben Island. Very interesting and moving. City tour was really great too.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Marie M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately the driver turned up 1.5 hours late and by the time we had collected everyone else it was time for the ferry. When we got got back we were very short of time for the district 6 museum which was about to close. However the trip around the township was fascinating and very good. Thank you

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

cdowty1

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was good. I particularly enjoyed seeing the pre school class in the township tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Ben R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Guide didn't pick up from the hotel as advertised in the price - had to get a taxi to an alternative hotel at my own cost. When the guide arrived he was 40 minutes late. He then informed me that no Robben Island tickets had been purchased for me or my partner due to a mix up - Robben Island was then fully booked for the next few days and I only had 3 days in Cape Town so no way of getting a ticket. I booked this in advance because Robben Island was the 1 place I wanted to visit in Cape Town the most, once in a lifetime opportunity spoilt - would not recommend

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the island, especially with the guide who was a former prisoner was excellent. The sound on the video on the boat going out to Robben Island was not loud enough. The boat operators should fix this.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thought I had already submitted this while we were still in south Africa, but it may have not gone through. The tour was wonderful. Our guide Phillip, was superb, as was the guide through the township. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Joan Wright

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

tbressler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent! The Robben Island tour is a must do and Table Mountain was spectacular!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

NikonJerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enlightening. The township your was extremely interesting. Sadly, Robben Island ferry was cancelled due to weather.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

öykü a

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour itself was great. Robben Island was great. Langa might be a very different experience for the ones who want to see a different Cape Town, but although our tour includes drop off option for our hotel, local tour left us at the waterfront area. I think there are communication problems by and between local tours and Viator.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and sobering trip. Started in district 6 which was leveled by the government in the 1960s to make a white neighborhood, displacing 10s of thousands of families that had liverd there for generations. They were moved to the Townships, which were basically shanty towns intended to house workers for the city. The visit to the township of Lago was eye opening as we saw how the people were separated by gender and spectrum of whiteness white at the top, African black at the bottom. The walking tour was through areas where you got an opportunity to understand better what happened, what is happening, and what still needs to be done. Robben Island was very interesting and hosted by an ex-political inmate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Angela S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see everything you need to see in Cape Town in one day. You'll visit Robben Island in the morning without the guide, therfore you are alone on the ferry and join a large group on Robben Isalnd and at around 1 pm, you'll meet your guide again at a parking lot. Then you are off to vist the Castle of Good Hope, some museum and then you are suppose to see Table Mountain which we didn't due to the fog.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

GEMMA P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I feel the time spent on the island was a bit rushed as there was much to discover. I would have liked to have more details. A little walkabout could be added in future visits.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Robbed Island was fantastic and very interesting although we could have done this ourselves rather than booked this tour. Not knowing what to expect, the townships tour was slightly confronting as we visited a shanty town. It was very interesting, however, more explanation is required by Viator in what this about and whatyou will see.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

J Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was Zunaid Arnold. Picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the waterfront for Robben Island tour which consisted of boat ride to island, tour of island by bus with a guide and tour of the prison with former political prisoner. Insightful and moving tour.
Upon return, we stopped for a short lunch and then proceeded with 'Z' to tour Cape Town and then to Table Mountain, taking the cable car to the top. Suggest buying all day cable car ticket ahead online to avoid ticket line up though not an issue this time of year.
Afterwards, we drove up Signal Hill and viewed Cape Town from on high.
Overall, an excellent tour to see the highlights of Cape Town, good value and 'Z' was an excellent guide who was personable, knowledgeable and allowed us to move along at our own pace.

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

eunice s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an amazing tour guide Colin who gave us a very informative tour. Thank you for a great trip!!

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Karen T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting must do trip
The guide Adil was excellent - picked us up from our hotel exactly when he said he would.
Took us to all the interesting places to see in Cape town - very knowledgeable. The township tour was quite distressing to see people living like that, but a must for anyone visiting south africa I think, Robbin Island was good but the guide there spoke for too long. Adil waited for us to meet us from the boat back from Robbin Island and drove us back to the hotel. A really great day out - thank you

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Terry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour! Historical facts, District 6, and the Township tour was wonderful. The tour guide was outstanding with very much insight! The Robben Island tour was equally outstanding. My wife, children and Grand Children were overwhelmed!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message