For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the island, especially with the guide who was a former prisoner was excellent. The sound on the video on the boat going out to Robben Island was not loud enough. The boat operators should fix this.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thought I had already submitted this while we were still in south Africa, but it may have not gone through. The tour was wonderful. Our guide Phillip, was superb, as was the guide through the township. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Joan Wright

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

tbressler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent! The Robben Island tour is a must do and Table Mountain was spectacular!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

NikonJerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enlightening. The township your was extremely interesting. Sadly, Robben Island ferry was cancelled due to weather.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and sobering trip. Started in district 6 which was leveled by the government in the 1960s to make a white neighborhood, displacing 10s of thousands of families that had liverd there for generations. They were moved to the Townships, which were basically shanty towns intended to house workers for the city. The visit to the township of Lago was eye opening as we saw how the people were separated by gender and spectrum of whiteness white at the top, African black at the bottom. The walking tour was through areas where you got an opportunity to understand better what happened, what is happening, and what still needs to be done. Robben Island was very interesting and hosted by an ex-political inmate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Angela S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see everything you need to see in Cape Town in one day. You'll visit Robben Island in the morning without the guide, therfore you are alone on the ferry and join a large group on Robben Isalnd and at around 1 pm, you'll meet your guide again at a parking lot. Then you are off to vist the Castle of Good Hope, some museum and then you are suppose to see Table Mountain which we didn't due to the fog.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

GEMMA P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I feel the time spent on the island was a bit rushed as there was much to discover. I would have liked to have more details. A little walkabout could be added in future visits.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Robbed Island was fantastic and very interesting although we could have done this ourselves rather than booked this tour. Not knowing what to expect, the townships tour was slightly confronting as we visited a shanty town. It was very interesting, however, more explanation is required by Viator in what this about and whatyou will see.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

J Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was Zunaid Arnold. Picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the waterfront for Robben Island tour which consisted of boat ride to island, tour of island by bus with a guide and tour of the prison with former political prisoner. Insightful and moving tour.
Upon return, we stopped for a short lunch and then proceeded with 'Z' to tour Cape Town and then to Table Mountain, taking the cable car to the top. Suggest buying all day cable car ticket ahead online to avoid ticket line up though not an issue this time of year.
Afterwards, we drove up Signal Hill and viewed Cape Town from on high.
Overall, an excellent tour to see the highlights of Cape Town, good value and 'Z' was an excellent guide who was personable, knowledgeable and allowed us to move along at our own pace.

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

eunice s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an amazing tour guide Colin who gave us a very informative tour. Thank you for a great trip!!

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Karen T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very interesting must do trip
The guide Adil was excellent - picked us up from our hotel exactly when he said he would.
Took us to all the interesting places to see in Cape town - very knowledgeable. The township tour was quite distressing to see people living like that, but a must for anyone visiting south africa I think, Robbin Island was good but the guide there spoke for too long. Adil waited for us to meet us from the boat back from Robbin Island and drove us back to the hotel. A really great day out - thank you

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Terry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour! Historical facts, District 6, and the Township tour was wonderful. The tour guide was outstanding with very much insight! The Robben Island tour was equally outstanding. My wife, children and Grand Children were overwhelmed!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Sayvai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was travelling alone and had a great time hiking up Tabletop mountain. The local tour guide 'Skeezo' of local tour operator Bike and Saddle Cape Town was really good company. It was his first time too in fact like for me too, but he seems to know what he was doing. Because it was my first hike ever, he managed the pace for me and took some mini-breaks along the way to the summit via Platteklip Gorge path. I had bad luck with the weather cloudy morning, misty at summit, so couldn't see the whole Cape Town landscape beyond the summit. Because of the bad weather the cable car wasn't operating so i climbed back down again via the same path. All in all it was a great experience!

Doing what: Table Mountain Hike in Cape Town

awbs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Visits to a township - in our case Langa - make you feel a bit of a voyeur!! Such poverty as we can't imagine. Homes which are just corrugated huts, and hundreds of them. No running water or toilets.
Later, we went to Robben Island, where Nelsen Mandella was incarcerated for some 18 years. The visit to the cells is overseen by a former prisoner, Tom Morris in our case. This is a once in a lifetime visit, and something we should all strive to do. Very emotional and humbling.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Martin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day and could not be improved on in any way

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

siobhanharbour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must if visiting Cape Town, very sobering but unmissable at the same time. The guides were fantastic and couldn and #39;t fault the tour in anyway!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tor was amazing and Avril the guide was incredible

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Chaynie J W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great! Well organised. The tour guides knowledgeable and engaging. At times the journey became emotional, and vexing! Glad to know more of the truth!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Floyd W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Robbin Island was great, however it felt like the afternoon was being filled up with alternative activities because some of the options were not available.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

sivi United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

As usual a very good service, pickup was early, tour guide very informative and will book again with Viator

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Angela G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guide was really great. The ride was a bit challenging in places I don't ride bikes but do-able Great views. Was it worth 58 .....no

Doing what: Table Mountain Bike Tour from Cape Town

Jaimie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Mixed feelings. The Robben Island portion was amazing. The townships tour was interesting, but a little uncomfortable. We spent too much time at one point during the tour standing around a very over priced knick-knack sale table. The museum was quite interesting, but we were somewhat rushed through it. Our guide was very passionate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message