For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As part of this tour we visited District 6, Langa township and then onto Robben Island. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very informative. Got to see a whale on the way to Robben Island, which was amazing to see. On Robben Island we was taken on the visit to the prison by a guide who had been a former inmate and also saw Nelson Mandelas cell. The island tour was very interesting and we also saw penguins, a wonderful memorable experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Natesha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent tour. The tour guide is a former political prisoner. It was humbling visiting the prison.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Keshia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We started by visiting the District 6 Museum and the Langa Townships. This tour was extremely enlightening and very sad at the same time. I learned a lot about the townships of South Africa. The guide was excellent, he gave us a first hand account of what it's like to live in a township, and he explained that he currently resides in one. This visit made me want to give back to the people of South Africa, it was a very humbling experience. The Robben Island Tour was also great. I definitely learned a lot from this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about South Africa's past.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

keligyrl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the 3rd time I'm having to write this review. I keep losing it when I hit post review. Anyway, our guide Titus was very knowledgeable, nice, funny, and efficient. I believe the name of one of the townships was Langa. We also visited the shanties. It was a sobering experience. We take so many things for granted. We visited an apartment occupied by two women and two babies. The apartment would have been considered condemned and unlivable in the United States. The shanties were the worst. Some of us were overcome with sadness by the sight of how the inhabitants there were living. It was truly sad to see. However, the preschool we visited in the shanties lifted our spirits. Those babies sang their preschool songs to us and we learned about their school. We all really enjoyed them. We were dropped off at the waterfront to board the ferry for the Robben Island portion of the tour. Our tour guide, an ex political prisoner, was very thorough and emphasized their plight as much as he could. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Elio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great day, highlights were District 6 museum and Robben Island, so much history and feeling, a must do when in Cape Town

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Andrew D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to the townships was very informative, However it may be worth mentioning that the trip to Robbin Island is weather dependent. We were unable to go due to it being windy, being mindful when booking Cape Town is known to have frequent high winds.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Julie S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The driver came to get us and he was very nice and friendly. He walked us to the port to catch the boat to Robben island and you need to stick together with the other folks in your group so you all get back on the same boat back.

We then met the driver, I think his name was Alone?, and we drove to Table Mtn. This tour is cheaper than some others because they do not include the ticket to go up the cable car. What a huge mistake! Had we known how important it was to get the tickets ahead of time we may have bought them in advance. Three of us were trying to buy tickets via the phone and could not, login issues etc. So we waited, and waited for over one hour to get the ticket to go up. The 20 price of the ticket was a waste as we only had a very fast 45 minutes up there. Had we had our tickets in advance then I would recommend at least 75 minutes up there to really enjoy the space.

We then did a driving tour of the central city and stopped to get out in front of the government building near the fort. After we visited the brightly decorated area of Boku I think and had some time to look at the houses.

For the 5 people on the tour who had no tickets to get to the top, we were all very dissatisfied about this unexpected issue.We feel like waiting in line for an hour was a big waste of our limited time.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Leeds6

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Waste of money, get your act together. Guide turned up more than an hour late, 15 minutes at table mountain after travelling 6000 miles to see it. Short tour of city in a rush, dumped at 12 for lunch to catch ferry at 1pm for robben island. Poor, poor, poor. Worst ever tour in 38 years of travel.
.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about any incidents that may have caused any kind of inconvenience for our Viator customers. Please be advised, we have escalated your claim to customer support for further investigation. Thank you for your patience as we look into this matter.

Nasrin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing day. Inspiring and sad too. Met a lovely gentleman named Lionel who actually served time in the prison with Nelson Mandela! No amount of money could buy the chat we had. Tour guides excellent

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Tamara B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Best part of the tour was Robben Island. Our bus guide and prison guide were phenomenal! The Langa tour guide was great as well. The District 6 was that great mainly because the guide only gave a 5 minute overview of the museum and 20 minutes for us to tour alone. Not enough time at all to experience it.

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

not to be missed. a real glimpse into the tragedy of apartheid.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

maitri

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very good trip..... the travel to the island in ferry was really awesome!! We enjoyed it!!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

al49 Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good well run tour, guide on the township part was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

purgriz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful time, our guide was Gary he was very informative and fun to be with. The Robben Island tour was very powerful. I would recommend the tour to anyone.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Michele E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour really should be required for all tourists -- highly informative and non-polemical. After an intial stop in District 6 for a brief history lesson, we visited the District 6 Museum -- a conceptually amazing museum, very informative and moving, full of personal testimonies of former District 6 residents. Then we were off to visit 3 townships: walking the streets, meeting the people, two home visits and a stop at a beer hall for lack of a better phrase. The tour was conducted by veteran guides who live in the townships, have lived through Apartheid, and who know their history inside and out. Followed by free time for lunch at the V and A waterfront and a tour of Robben Island. You really must take the day to take this tour!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Kate F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the trip to Robben Island. Very interesting and moving. City tour was really great too.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Marie M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately the driver turned up 1.5 hours late and by the time we had collected everyone else it was time for the ferry. When we got got back we were very short of time for the district 6 museum which was about to close. However the trip around the township was fascinating and very good. Thank you

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

cdowty1

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was good. I particularly enjoyed seeing the pre school class in the township tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Ben R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Guide didn't pick up from the hotel as advertised in the price - had to get a taxi to an alternative hotel at my own cost. When the guide arrived he was 40 minutes late. He then informed me that no Robben Island tickets had been purchased for me or my partner due to a mix up - Robben Island was then fully booked for the next few days and I only had 3 days in Cape Town so no way of getting a ticket. I booked this in advance because Robben Island was the 1 place I wanted to visit in Cape Town the most, once in a lifetime opportunity spoilt - would not recommend

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the island, especially with the guide who was a former prisoner was excellent. The sound on the video on the boat going out to Robben Island was not loud enough. The boat operators should fix this.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I thought I had already submitted this while we were still in south Africa, but it may have not gone through. The tour was wonderful. Our guide Phillip, was superb, as was the guide through the township. I would recommend this tour to anyone. Joan Wright

Doing what: Full-Day Walk to Freedom Tour in Cape Town Including Robben Island

tbressler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent! The Robben Island tour is a must do and Table Mountain was spectacular!

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

NikonJerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enlightening. The township your was extremely interesting. Sadly, Robben Island ferry was cancelled due to weather.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message