Backed by iconic Table Mountain, and surrounded by gorgeous beaches, nature has given Cape Town one of the world's best-looking locations. There's the Aquila game reserve nearby for wildlife-watching, cosmopolitan bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 555 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tinark USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great opportunity to see Cape Town and to reach all the wonderful destinations around the city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tamas D Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

very nice helicopter tour

Doing what: Cape Town Helicopter Tour: Atlantic Coast

Shari S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We love the Hop-On-Hop Off Bus tours! We have taken them in London, Paris and NYC. The tour in Cape Town was great, the audio was easy to follow, and riding up top on a beautiful day was a good way to recover from jet lag and review the city. We 'hopped off at Camps Bay crossed the street and enjoyed a glass of wine - okay a bottle! After a walk on the beach we hopped on the next bus and finished the tour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dianne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This whole experience was amazing. The booking was easy and the staff very helpful. Our pilot was brilliant and very informative. Would recommend this to anyone. A fantastic way to see Cape Town and the surrounding areas. Brilliant!!!

Doing what: Cape Town Helicopter Tour: Cape Peninsula, Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point

shagron64

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As part of this tour we visited District 6, Langa township and then onto Robben Island. The tour was very interesting and the guide was very informative. Got to see a whale on the way to Robben Island, which was amazing to see. On Robben Island we was taken on the visit to the prison by a guide who had been a former inmate and also saw Nelson Mandelas cell. The island tour was very interesting and we also saw penguins, a wonderful memorable experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Efzmld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly the best way to visit Cape Town city and surrounding area cultural, historical and scenic highlights. Timely within 5 min from posted times and efficient.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful tour with a chance to see all the key wild animals in a natural setting. The fact that the park is dedicated to healing and caring for animals illegally trapped is an added plus.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Natesha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent tour. The tour guide is a former political prisoner. It was humbling visiting the prison.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Robert G P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Cape Town is a beautiful city. Cruise ship docked in the city. Wonderful views from the top of Table Mountain and value for money. Great food and wine cheap as chips.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Keshia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We started by visiting the District 6 Museum and the Langa Townships. This tour was extremely enlightening and very sad at the same time. I learned a lot about the townships of South Africa. The guide was excellent, he gave us a first hand account of what it's like to live in a township, and he explained that he currently resides in one. This visit made me want to give back to the people of South Africa, it was a very humbling experience. The Robben Island Tour was also great. I definitely learned a lot from this tour and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about South Africa's past.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

keligyrl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the 3rd time I'm having to write this review. I keep losing it when I hit post review. Anyway, our guide Titus was very knowledgeable, nice, funny, and efficient. I believe the name of one of the townships was Langa. We also visited the shanties. It was a sobering experience. We take so many things for granted. We visited an apartment occupied by two women and two babies. The apartment would have been considered condemned and unlivable in the United States. The shanties were the worst. Some of us were overcome with sadness by the sight of how the inhabitants there were living. It was truly sad to see. However, the preschool we visited in the shanties lifted our spirits. Those babies sang their preschool songs to us and we learned about their school. We all really enjoyed them. We were dropped off at the waterfront to board the ferry for the Robben Island portion of the tour. Our tour guide, an ex political prisoner, was very thorough and emphasized their plight as much as he could. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything about this trip was amazing. It was conducted by Marine Dynamics and they were incredible. Everything was organized. Our driver was great. We were picked up from a local Cape Town hotel and he made our trip enjoyable. He even dropped us off at the wharf instead of our hotel per our request. We were greeted with a nice meal. The marine biologist Stephanie was very knowledgable. She answered all our questions and guided us so we had the best experience with the sharks possible. They have hot chocolate/tea and fresh towels ready when you get out of the water. We saw 14 great white sharks and they were clearly visible even from the boat deck. The boat was clean and had plenty of room - two stories so you can spread out and snap plenty of pics. We returned to heaters the water is quite cold, warm soup and great service. Dress warm even if it is a sunny day - it's windy away from the shore and the water is quite cold. Highly recommend this trip. It was incredible!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Elio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Grays

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great adventure tour walk with elephants, crawling around caves, bungy jump, short canoe trip on the river not wildlife or bush viewing -mainly a holiday camp area, game drive, beach and super varied scenery of the Garden route and of cause Zee our guide was great even treated us to some shots. spoiled us and really looked after us highly recommended

Doing what: 3-Day Garden Route Tour from Cape Town with Game Drive

Mauricio C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Here the event was magnificent merely because this is a must visit, but our guide was lackluster.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Andrew D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The visit to the townships was very informative, However it may be worth mentioning that the trip to Robbin Island is weather dependent. We were unable to go due to it being windy, being mindful when booking Cape Town is known to have frequent high winds.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Daniel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trips on both bus routes that we took. Good way to relax after busy sightseeing days and get off at your leisure. Only down side was the child ticket we purchased was not necessary as child tickets were included with the adult tickets and were free. Staff in the office and on the busses were very friendly and were very helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nasrin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Martin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thank you for providing us with such a well organised, professional experience which made a major contribution to fantastic memories and an amazing visit to South Africa. Special thanks to our pilot who was so knowledgeable about the area and the video of our flight which was great value and a real bonus, we wouldn't hesitate to take to the sky again on our next visit.

Doing what: Cape Town Helicopter Tour: Indian and Atlantic Oceans

Leslie M K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the best way to be introduced to Cape Town. You see more and get more useful information than you might get from a private tour. The bus is also a great way to get around the city for the locals! On my first ride I ran into a bridal shower party going to Table Mountain and had a wonderful time with the women who made me feel at home. The free tours of the old part of Cape Town were very well done and fun. Don't miss this !

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sratchford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an amazing experience! We had such a great day and learned so much at the same time. Cannot recommend this excursion enough. Sarah was great with everyone and a wealth of knowledge. The whole team made this unforgettable.

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Allison P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This excursion was a great end to a perfect trip. The guide arrived on time for our pick up at the hotel and was very personable and knowledgeable. There were a total of 10 people on the tour from 3 different hotels. I really enjoyed the Table Mountain experience and we were allowed plenty of time to enjoy the views or check out the gift shop. Then we toured some of the city by van, not stopping for any photos until we arrive at the colored houses. We stopped for a perfect amount of time and continued on to a museum, which I did not realize was part of the tour. We chose to do the museum very quickly and instead wonder the area outside and take photos before the meeting time. Finally, we ended with a tour of a diamond facility. It was MUCH more interesting and enjoyable then I expected it to be!

Overall it was a great and very affordable tour and I feel like we saw a lot. I just wish the description on VIATOR had been more detailed, just so we knew what we were getting into. I felt like I was surprised mostly pleasantly at every turn.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I booked the Full day whale watching in Hermanus trip from Cape Town. Not up to the usual Viator standards, by far.
The tour as advertised in the UK is not what we got. We were not taken to the cliff top walk we were given restricted time in the town, which had to include lunch we did visit / tour an industrial estate we were taken to a hill top overlooking the town, but miles from the coastal pass. To see the whales, we had to take the boat trip, which was expensive, and many Japanese tourists found it much too rough. There was no time to visit the penguins, or the Nature Reserve, or the botanical Gardens but time was made to visit a winery.

Conclusions - The whales were an exciting experience, but I would not recommend this particular trip to anyone.

Doing what: Whale Watching Day Trip from Cape Town

Shahrzad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Elaine our tour guide was a blast, very funny and entertaining. Tape Mountain was breathtaking

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message