Backed by iconic Table Mountain, and surrounded by gorgeous beaches, nature has given Cape Town one of the world's best-looking locations. There's the Aquila game reserve nearby for wildlife-watching, cosmopolitan bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 509 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent!! We had a very beautiful and clear day, the view from Table Mountain was incredible, and the sight seeing around Cape Town was very enjoyable. The tour guide Super was great!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

pattik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A truly awesome experience. Wonderful memories. xx

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of the island, especially with the guide who was a former prisoner was excellent. The sound on the video on the boat going out to Robben Island was not loud enough. The boat operators should fix this.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent overall, free parking, on time, excellent pilot and narration, smooth flight and good equipment, helpful ground crew, just in all respects well done, added an extra passenger with ease, nothing to say other that magnificent

Doing what: Cape Town Helicopter Tour: Indian and Atlantic Oceans

Aartee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Worth every penny. We saw a total of 8 sharks while we were out there. Staff was so nice and accommodating. Definitely a must do while in Cape Town!!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

blueskies1856

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Early on our first full day in Cape Town, we met our tour guide Eon hotspots2c. Susan found him thru rave reviews on Viator we have used them extensively in numerous parts of the world and requested him by name for a private tour of Cape Town, South Africa SA. Eon is a native Capetonian and has a gregarious personality that shines through in sharing his love for his homeland. We had done our research as to some places to go, so Eon made sure that he matched the tour to our specific interests. We went to Table Mtn early, so we wouldnt get stuck in the long lines later and Eon answered all our questions on the flora and fauna there. Spent quite a bit of time running around taking photos of dassies and sunbirds and of course the view! Then headed over to Kirstenbosch Gardens and the boomslang, a fairly new addition for the 100th anniversary of the Gardens. Its a canopy walk thats shaped like a serpent, meandering high up in the canopy of trees. We were lucky enough to have found male and female spotted eagle owls resting in a tree while at the Gardens. Very cool! Saw the V and A Waterfront next. At the V and A, Eon took us to an inexpensive market that had all sorts of edible goodies, from biltong and kudu jerky, to SA beer, to smoothies, to chocolate covered nuts. We would never have found it on our own! Then on to the colorful Bo Kaap area with its gaily painted houses and flowers. You can't get a better private tour than this one, especially if Eon is your guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

mascotusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

highly recommended and guide was excellent.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

NikonJerry

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enlightening. The township your was extremely interesting. Sadly, Robben Island ferry was cancelled due to weather.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Monica F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

My recommendation is to do a red bus tour of Cape Town. You can actually appreciate what you're seeing since you can't see much out of the van window. Also, the diamond store at the end was unnecessary and took up a decent chunk of the tour. It was obvious we were only there bc they get commission

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

norman W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Inspite of having a problem with pick up the company put it right .. Guide first rate.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

one word....AWESOME! you can NOT miss this tour. book it now!! this group does so much more than tours...they do research and conservation efforts so every dollar you spend helps further the study and conservation of these magnificent animals. we saw at least 8 sharks on our half day. be warned though....your hotel pickup time may be anywhere from 2am - 4am depending on where your hotel is at. the drive is 2.5 hours from cape town so bring something to keep you busy!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

well, point one - take sea sickness pills or patches - even if you've never had a problem! I have been in water my whole life and never got ill - this was a shock! outside of that, awesome! you don't have to go underwater in the cage if you don't want to which was a plus as I thought I had to snorkel. better pics from on the boat vs in the cage for me - it was too fast in the water. we saw about 10 sharks that day with the last one being the biggest! long drive to get there from Camps Bay but well worth it!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Valerio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The views you get from top of the Table Mountain is probably one of the most scenic views I have ever seen in my life. You are literally above the clouds admiring the gorgeous cape town city view and its surroundings. The experience has exceeded my already very high expectations.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was absolutely amazing! While all of the sites were spectacular, what really made the tour was our guide Ultrich. He was welcoming and explained all the areas we visited and answered our many questions. We really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

tresbellecakes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing. The tour guide was so helpful and worked with us to customize our tour. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip! Pick up was 5 am. Over 2 hour drive from Cape Town. Breakfast, briefing, sharks dive, sea lions on the way back, dinner, and return to cape town. I was back shortly after 4pm

Pros
- Breakfast: potatoes, eggs, bacon, bread. Lunch: light sandwich, hot coco, salt and vinegar chips. Dinner: soup and buttered bread
- Nice boat specific for shark dives. Steady less sea sickness. Boat ride out about 20 min and back a little more as you go through shark alley to see sea lions
- Staff is excellent. Kind and always willing to answer questions
- Guaranteed a marine biologist on board to answer questions and give some background
- Provided a dry clean wet suit, sturdy rain jacket to cut the cold wind on the boat ride, and a towel when you climb out
- Sharks were amazing! We saw 14 different sharks, the biggest about 14-15 feet. Each person saw 2-3 while in the cage, but they would pass by many times
- I had over an hour in the cage! Each person gets about 30 min. They don't time it, but instead try to give everyone a similar experience. If there is time at the end they will let you go again if you ask
- The record a video available for purchase 150 rand
- They take pictures that are posted on the website free of charge
- The water was very still and the extremely clear! We lucked out. Go in the cage 1st, the water gets murky from the bait and chum as the day goes on

Cons
- There were 34 people on board 32 of which were diving. The boat was big enough, but this meant less time in the water and harder to take pictures from the boat everyone wanted the side with the cage
- Just enough food, but no seconds
- They record a video, but the editing in minimal. They basically stick the clips together. There was no underwater shots on the video, but they had an underwater go-pro running most of the time. They don't give you a disc, but a download code, so maybe the final product has more editing/underwater shots?

Best spot in the cage: end toward back of boat!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super the tour guide was very informative, professional and efficient in guiding the group around the city. The van was clean, comfortable and easy to access. The tour was filled with beautiful, educational, entertaining and fun. I would definitely use this tour service again.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and sobering trip. Started in district 6 which was leveled by the government in the 1960s to make a white neighborhood, displacing 10s of thousands of families that had liverd there for generations. They were moved to the Townships, which were basically shanty towns intended to house workers for the city. The visit to the township of Lago was eye opening as we saw how the people were separated by gender and spectrum of whiteness white at the top, African black at the bottom. The walking tour was through areas where you got an opportunity to understand better what happened, what is happening, and what still needs to be done. Robben Island was very interesting and hosted by an ex-political inmate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Robbed Island was fantastic and very interesting although we could have done this ourselves rather than booked this tour. Not knowing what to expect, the townships tour was slightly confronting as we visited a shanty town. It was very interesting, however, more explanation is required by Viator in what this about and whatyou will see.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Helen T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

My husband and I very much enjoyed the safari experience itself. The travel to and from the venue was, however very disappointing given how much the overall experience cost.
Although we were picked up shortly after 6 and others were earlier than us we then spent more than 40 minutes travelling across the city and waiting for one couple who were not ready waiting, and for a more extended period for a couple who did not turn up.
The minibus for journey alternated between having either poor ventilation Windows obscured with condensation or icy cold air conditioning. This was certainly not the comfortable journey I was expecting.
I am disappointed about the lengthy delay between finishing lunch and the return journey of over 1.5 hours - I suspect this was for the convenience of the driver's work at the centre there appears no other rationale for it. There was no activity to fill this gap - we were not advised that there was a pool for swimming so could not avail ourselves of this.
The factors outlined above detracted from our satisfaction of the day, especially given the cost of the experience.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message