South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our tour around three wine growing areas, very beautiful country side, nice people and enjoyed the different wines. Our tour guide Super was great!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Monica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gerard was our tour guide and he was amazing! He gave us as much time as we wanted at each winery and pointed out some of the best restaurants to eat at for lunch. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

cmromoser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic experience all around! Our guide, Andrew, was friendly and knowledgeable. He took us to wineries that were beautiful and which served extraordinary wines. The pace was good and the attention paid by the staff at each location was warm and completely inviting. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

blueskies1856

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our private tour was arranged through hotspots2c. Based on other reviews, we requested Eon for this and for a Cape Town city tour to take us to the wine areas of Stellenbosch and Franshoek. The trip was first rate, sampling numerous wines, mostly red, as thats our preference, along with cheeses and chocolates. Try the Pinotage! The trip was packed full of fun and interesting places and things to do, but Eon also would share little tidbits of info of the areas we went to, he would stop off at overlooks for fantastic photo ops. We mentioned to Eon that we had seen the movie A Long Walk to Freedom about Nelson Mandelas journey before, during and after his release from prison, so Eon brought us over to where Mandelas release and walk with his wife, Winnie, took place, since we were in the area!

When in Cape Town you must ask for Eon, a great guy, very knowledgeable, informative, and accommodating.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Chris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour--great guide and beautiful scenery wine excellent too!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

mascotusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

most beautiful part of the world and highly recommended. our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Joseph T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The ape is amazing and the tour guide was quite helpful. I recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

amandaspb03

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The guide was very good, the wineries nice and diverse. We ate lunch at one winery which was very nice. My problem was the group was awful. We were 8 all together. 4 was a family who did not like wine or food and wanted to skip everything and go to table mountain. They even wanted to have lunch there and skip tastings! They complained, moaned, and pouted. It was miserable. The guide tried to keep us happy and did emphasize that it was a wine tour but as I was the only one interested in the wine part I felt bullied. Eventually I agreed to skip Franschhoek and the Paarl Valley and go to table mountain even though I had several more days in Cape Town and had just planned to go on my own one day. Really I did not want to be with these people any more. There was also an older couple that shouted that we did not need to walk around Stellenbosch town earlier so really all we did was the tastings then table mountain so really I only saw the half day wine tour or less. It was a nice day and good views at table mountain I especially enjoyed the part where we had to all wait while the family shopped at table mountain as it was their last day as they were on a whirlwind tour and did not allow themselves enough time in the city. It is unlikely future customers would be grouped with such selfish people as I have never been this unlucky before. One day I hope to return to the winelands and visit Franschhoek as that was my main interest in the full day tour. Next time I will just rent a car and stay there to make sure I see it!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Mrs JE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wine-Tasting Tour was really good. Went with Les Frank who is a wine connoisseur. We both thoroughly enjoyed the experience, good weather too. Our guide was fun, flexible and enhanced the experience even more. Many thanks.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Bachir T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent, and the tour guide Tony from African Eagle was awesome! We managed to see a lot during the day. Tony's knowledge of Cape Town and his genuine gentleness was second to none.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

BoKat our tour guide was awesome! Lots of interesting info. And fun vineyards and wine tastings and town stops. Thank you!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Heather W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Eon Rabe from Hotspot Toursbooked online via Viatorgave us a splendid tour of a carefully selected range of wineries in the Stellenbosch region. He tailored a thoughtful,well-paced,knowledgeable and entertaining tour for us. We had a fabulous day and thoroughly recommend him as a guide.

Anne and Heather Australia

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Rosemary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The driver/tour guide, Andrew, was exceptional.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Cherps

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

An enjoyable tour that travels through very picturesque countryside. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

JOAN JOSEP C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely interesting tour. Nice experience tastong different wines. The guide was very friendly and protective. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really amazing day and our tour guide was superb, highly recommend this.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Winelands Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Stewart C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant day wine tasting. Perfect tour guide, great scenery. This is a must if you come to Cape Town!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great trip, with a very knowledgeable guide. It is a very busy day tour with lots packed in to it. It was fabulous weather and the views and scenery were stunning.Wine tasting was excellent and very relaxed with no pressure to purchase. All in all a good day out.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

J C Hodell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, wonderful vinyards, delicious wine, a great fun guide who was very knowledgable. My friends and I loved it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Mathias D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, we got to see so much in so little time. - the views were just STUNNING. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Terry United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, beautiful landscape, great wine perhaps one additional winery needed. The family very much enjoyed! Great pictures!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Jaimie H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Two of the wineries were outstanding, and while the view from the second one was stunning, the wine was terrible! Enjoyed our lunch stop and our guide.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

marina i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

sandra t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful Trip. Fabulous scenery. Knowledgeable guide. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message