South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

magnus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I was picked up as the last person of 8 by a Toyota Van at my hotel in the Waterfront, around 8am in the morning. A much enthusiastic, friendly and inspiring local guide drove us along the west coast west of Table Mountain and southwards with fantastic sea views big waves and nice small villages. First stop south of Hout Bay for a 5-10 min leg stretch, technical break and a photo shoot over the bay. A few local sales persons with local handcrafts where around, but not disturbing. No sales of drinks or snacks, just beautiful nature. The drive then continued southwards and when we took off inlands we could see wild horses running along the Nordhook beach.
Before entering Cape Point area, we made a stop at an Ostrich Farm. Very well preserved in beautiful surroundings. Those who wanted could feed the ostriches by hand. A good selection of products made from Ostriches were sold in the store I bought large eggs to put nightlights in, and the staff helped me to pack them safely to be brought all the way home to Sweden without breaking. I also bought delicious Ostrich patés. On the continued route we stopped at the side of the road since there were a lot of wild monkeys around, though we were clearly told to keep windows closed... Some nice photo shoots here too.
The stop at Cape point was quite short 30 min? so I rushed to the tram that took you to the top. Amazing 360 view from up there! Then quickly back again to the van I prioritised getting the view, and skipped the souvenir shopping which otherwise looked nice, ie not too crappy stuff but actually with some quality. I saw wild springbooks too, though too far away to be captured with my simple phone camera. Then continuing to Cape Point and yet again a fantastic view if one - like I do - loves the sea. More wild monkeys aside of the road. At cape point there was a short line 5-10 min to take photos by the sign land point. The guide told us that during high season the line would be approx 1h to get your picture by the sign...
Returning northbound our next stop was in Simons Town and Boulders Beach with the Penguin Colony. Amazing views of the penguins in an area where there are clear areas for people to walk without disturbing the penguins, yet getting close to see them and to take nice pictures. Even if you could stay around here for a full day, it was a good stop for about 30 min. 5-10 min walk from van to the beach, passing through some nice market with local handcrafts. Again very polite people selling if you approach them, no aggressive sales. The first tour ended back in Cape Town around lunch time.
I was then the only one who continued for the afternoon tour, so I had a private guide for that. We first stopped at Zevenwacht vineyard where a newcomer showed me the storage and told me some very basics about wine production. I would not consider myself a wine expert, but having visited some vineyards in France, Italy, Germany and Sweden I felt that I almost knew more than this beginner guide. The subsequent wine tasting was quite disappointing too, where I was served a glass of wine with some basic information and then the guide left me for some 5-6 min to enjoy the wine. He then came back and repeated the procedure 3 more times with each time a new wine expecting me to have emptied the glass of wine every time No references/comparisons between the wines.
When we left we were supposed to visit the city of Stellenbosch to have a guided walking tour. However, as I was the only tour guest and my guide understood I was not too impressed by this visit, he asked if I wanted to re-schedule the afternoon, within some limits. He had to follow the suggested geographical route, or the built in GPS would send a signal back to his office and his manager would call him which also happened. I appreciated the opportunity and skipped the city walk in favour of a visit to Mulderbosch vineyard very beautiful location with professional wine tasting and to Jacobsdaal vineyard. The latter turned out not to have tastings nor sales on site, they were only producing to distributors. However, my guide was very eager that I would see it since I had travelled around the world to visit a favourite brand of mine, so he got the owner to give me a private introduction to Jacobsdaal winery and I also got a few bottles with me home. Almost embarrassing to me, but my guide insisted and I appreciated the kindness from both him and the owner.
After a funny and rich on experience afternoon I was dropped off at my hotel around 6.30 in the evening. I really enjoyed this day and I got so much value for money. Express tourism, yes, but I could not imagine a better way of spending the one and only day I had off, before leaving Cape Town where I had been for business the whole week. I bring only positive memories and really look forward to come back again for vacation preferably.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Brilliant tour well worth the money . Lovely guy took us very informative . Best day ever . Tour guide was called Willem

Doing what: Full-Day South African Wine Tour

Lorraine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic trip, South African Wine Tours and Bruce, our guide, made the day one of the best we had in Cape Town. Nothing was too much trouble and as we had booked an Airbnb and not a hotel it was no problem to pick us up from our accommodation. 11 of us on the tour and Bruce ensured we were friends in no time! The wineries we visited were all amazing and our lunch was superb. We visited 4 wineries and the tastings very good. Loved our first visit to Fairview, the tasting by Anne-Marie was brilliant accompanied by cheese pared with the wine. Also enjoyed our last one, Anura, we had a guided tour around the cellars etc. again our tasting was very interesting and accompanied by cheese! All in all an excellent day out and cannot recommend this tour enough.

Doing what: Full-Day South African Wine Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour! Hospots2C was the company that provided the tour, with Gerhard as our guide. Shortly into the trip, it was more like a group of friends talking to a local than a guide and travelers. He balanced the right mix of local information provided insight into where we were headed and even re-arranged the tour so we could visit a requested winery. The trip was awesome the wine and lunch were spectacular.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

aragona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved this private tour. Kevin, our local guide was great! Very knowledgeable and super easy going! We were very curious about the political and historical background of the city and he was happy to reply to our thousands questions! We decided to visit 2 vineyards (instead of the 4 planned) in order to have more time for lunch at the amazing restaurant "The Delaire Graff": a breath-taking view and such a relaxed atmosphere! All went really smooth and after lunch we enjoyed a great wine-chocolate pairing in an amazing vineyard in the heart of Stellenbosch. The tour was simply perfect; we strongly recommend it!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Jacques B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour visiting few Winery. Lots of wine tasting.
You can buy wine, cheese, etc after each visit.
The day went very fast : and with a small group a people. All where very quiet coming back....you can imagine why:

Doing what: Full-Day South African Wine Tour

rhonda.mitchell Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was very good and we saw such a lot in a day. The only negative was that we were asked to confirm the tour two days prior, which we did even though we had limited access to wifi and yet we didn't get a response right away and when they did respond it was the day before and then they said they would confirm the time later in the day. They didn't and we were left wondering what time we would be collected. When people are travelling in foreign countries, knowing what is happening in time to plan is very important. As it was we got up early to have breakfast hoping we would receive an email with the time. We received the email the morning of the tour confirming the pick up time. By then we were getting a bit worried.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Taiwo A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Tour was ok. It was a half day tour and we visited only one winery and tasted 4 wines there. Was a good expereince but maybe a full day tour would have been more worth it.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

Robyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour in October to celebrate a family reunion and special wedding anniversary. Our guide Leizel was great, very friendly and made sure our day was perfect from start to finish.

Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

pgbk87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stanton with Hylton-Ross tours did a great job of maximizing our time and ensuring that we a got to see everything that the tour entailed. He was informative and insightful.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Jonathan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a great day! We went to 4 wineries, had an awesome tour guide Andrew Jackson! and had a fantastic time. Well worth the money and nice to do it with just the two of us my wife and me. Highly recommend!
We got drunk and wanted to do cage diving with an alligator ? crocodile as we saw an advertisement for it along the way - Andrew went out of his way to call the place and see if they could accommodate us but they'd already put the croc up for the day. Andrew even went and got us some local South African food for the way home. He was a great tour guide and an asset to the company!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Fran W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We booked a private tour in order to have flexibility but found that we basically got the usual tour. Most of our requests were ignored. We liked our tour guide very much but he could have known more about wines.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Nasrin F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

a good tour if you don't have all day.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was great, Chris our guide was fantastic , he gave us a memorable day. Thank you

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Julio C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastico tour con nuestro guia Rodney!! Muy recomendable

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Stewart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

From the moment of our ick up from our Cape Town hotel this day trip was everything we had hoped for. We were drive by our guide to 4 fabulous vineyards where we were introduced to the art of appreciating wine by very knowledgeable staff at each of the vineyards. Lunch was at the well known Racine Restaurant in a wonderful location. Our guide gave us a detailed history of the wine industry and pointed out many features of the area. We enjoyed the area so much that we made a point of going back to Stellenbosch before our flight back home. A big thank you to Andrew our guide for a truly memorable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Andrzej J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended tours! I truly enjoyed both excursions. They were very well, thoughtfully designed.
Moreover, the guide, Gerard, was great!

Doing what: 2-Day Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Tour plus Stellenbosch Winelands Tasting Tour

Monica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gerard was our tour guide and he was amazing! He gave us as much time as we wanted at each winery and pointed out some of the best restaurants to eat at for lunch. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

cmromoser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic experience all around! Our guide, Andrew, was friendly and knowledgeable. He took us to wineries that were beautiful and which served extraordinary wines. The pace was good and the attention paid by the staff at each location was warm and completely inviting. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

blueskies1856

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our private tour was arranged through hotspots2c. Based on other reviews, we requested Eon for this and for a Cape Town city tour to take us to the wine areas of Stellenbosch and Franshoek. The trip was first rate, sampling numerous wines, mostly red, as thats our preference, along with cheeses and chocolates. Try the Pinotage! The trip was packed full of fun and interesting places and things to do, but Eon also would share little tidbits of info of the areas we went to, he would stop off at overlooks for fantastic photo ops. We mentioned to Eon that we had seen the movie A Long Walk to Freedom about Nelson Mandelas journey before, during and after his release from prison, so Eon brought us over to where Mandelas release and walk with his wife, Winnie, took place, since we were in the area!

When in Cape Town you must ask for Eon, a great guy, very knowledgeable, informative, and accommodating.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

mascotusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

most beautiful part of the world and highly recommended. our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Joseph T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time on this tour. The ape is amazing and the tour guide was quite helpful. I recommend this trip.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Mrs JE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wine-Tasting Tour was really good. Went with Les Frank who is a wine connoisseur. We both thoroughly enjoyed the experience, good weather too. Our guide was fun, flexible and enhanced the experience even more. Many thanks.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Bachir T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent, and the tour guide Tony from African Eagle was awesome! We managed to see a lot during the day. Tony's knowledge of Cape Town and his genuine gentleness was second to none.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message