It’s one of the strangest landscapes you’ll ever see: the cliffs and valleys and fairy chimneys of Göreme National Park in Cappadocia. Wind and water erosion scoured out this land of soft volcanic ash (tufa) leaving this extraordinary place of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yusman M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour in both cities of Istanbul and Cappadocia.
Istanbul- Hotel was nice and comfy. Decent breakfast. The tour guide was knowledgeable . She fluent in telling us the history of our tour.
Cappadocia- Hotel was great. The staff ensure that we are comfortable in our room. The tour were excellent altough our hotair balloon was cancelled due to unforseen weather. The guides
were humorous . He likes to crack jokes to ensure everybody is alive and not feeling tired. Lastly Mr Ozgur from the main agent was very helpful since our arrival at Istanbul airport till our end of trip. Thanx Viator and CityOfSultans.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

ROBERT L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I are not big fans of organized tours but the 7 day Turkey Classics tour was a fantastic experience that we would highly recommend to other travelers. Our guide, Ahmet, was funny, knowledgeable, and truly cared that we had the best experience possible. The van, the hotels and the food were all top notch. We were in Turkey in late October when the US State Department had issued travel warnings about possible terrorist activity. We felt completely safe and comfortable on this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

cmln1973

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour, beautiful places to visit, Unforgettable experience. Our guide, Famous, was so kind.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was well worth the price and the guide was extremely knowledgeable on the historical, religious and architectural aspects.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Dnsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We would definitely recommend this tour with Fez agency. They were well organized, great hotels, lovely personel. Our driver qnd tour guide were fantastic and we had so mucg fun. Turkey's tourism is suffering as a result of airport assault and coup earlier this year which meant fewer tourists at keu sites good for us not for Turkish economy. There is absolutely no reasonto avoid travel to Turkey. We felt very safe.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

For the money you can't beat this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The hotels were adequate and the meals were good.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Jean Paul P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good tour that sees a lot of Turkey. Lots of driving so avoid if you don and #39;t like long road trips but the bus is comfortable and there are regular stops The guide was a bit hit and miss. Very knowledgable but not very friendly.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Neels E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really want to commend Hufzullah Ekmen as well as all the drivers for the excellent services and safe driving they provided during the private tour to Cappadocia July 11, 2016. Their hospitality was exceptional and is greatly appreciated. This pleasant trip will be remembered for a long, long time. Also a big thank you to Ferudan Bayram for his administrative support in Istanbul.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was awesome
Thanks to Çagman and Arien

You should include Istanbul on the tour

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Karina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an amazing day in the fantastic place!! Very early morning start in Istanbul but everything through the airport, shuttle transfers and meeting the tour guides was seamless. The guide was great. Informative without overloading with info. He was also happy to adjust things to our groups pace. A good lunch too! All in all, a great tour and well worth the effort for the day trip from Istanbul!! Just be prepared for a long day!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Sing Chow L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Generally speaking, this tour is a good one and the areas covered are rather extensive for a regular tourist. I have 2 suggestions for Viator and the tour company operator.
1. Local tour operator: offer travelers an option to have lunch separate from the group. We almost felt like pressured to have lunch together everyday.
2. Viator says tips are optional. the local tour operator gave us a package which suggests US35 per person. I would like Viator to make this very clear on its web page. No surprises please.
One suggestion for tourist participants: IF POSSIBLE, DO NOT ACCEPT THE OFFER FROM COMPANY TO CUT ANKARA and go back to Istanbul sooner. Ankara is a place you want to see and Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was Turkey's national hero. His memorial is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pictures can't describe the visual experience of seeing Cappadocia. My guide was great in showing the area and explaining the history of Turkey. It's a long day from 4:30AM to 9:30 PM , but is worth it on any vacation to Turkey.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Franklin-5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing and well organised. I appreciate the itnerary that they gave us upon meeting...

Hakan, the guide for the day trip in Istanbul was very knowledgable and really relateable. He also kindly offer to tailor my trip based on my interests. The Mina Hotel i stayed in had a great view of the city. The transit to Cappadocia was easy. The hot air balloon ride was a clear highlight, one of the best expereinces i've had on travel. Exploring the Selime Monastery and the rock-hewn churches of Goreme were also an amazing experience. The Courtyard Cave Hotel was also a highlight. Murat, is the kindest inn keeper i have ever met. He was attentive and very knowledgable and went out of his way to make you comfortable, with homemade breakfasts and fresh squeezed juice every morning. This tour combines the must see sights, effortless transit, and charming tour guides and hotels. Very impressed.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Cappadocia was on my list of places to visit in Turkey, and I'm certainly glad I took the time to visit! Although the tour started off on a rough note with a mix up with the pick-up time 2 hours earlier than noted, thus causing me to run out the door in my pajamas, I was brought from my Istanbul hotel to the airport where I was able to quickly put myself together and board a flight to Cappadocia. The rest of the trip went very well and without a hitch! The guide in Cappadocia had superb English and went out of her way to provide any additional service or piece of information needed for our small group of 3. We visited all the sites listed in addition to two others which my guide wanted to share with me because I had missed the previous days activities which the other two in our group had participated in during their arrival a few days earlier. I highly recommend this tour, as it is not to be missed for those traveling through Turkey. Simply outstanding!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Dale W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Just right. There's a lot to see in Cappadocia, so there's a fair amount of driving around from location to location. The extended walks and tours were the best part.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

francov Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very helpful staff... all from the management to the choffeurs, tour guides... no complaints whatsoever. Would recommend it very strongly... even the lunch was nice.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message