Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Kaymakli Underground City

Kaymaklı is a city dug deep into the soft volcanic rock in the Cappadocia region. There are around 100 underground cities in the area although only a few are open to the public. Kaymaklı is the largest of them. It is estimated that around 3,500 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ROBERT L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I are not big fans of organized tours but the 7 day Turkey Classics tour was a fantastic experience that we would highly recommend to other travelers. Our guide, Ahmet, was funny, knowledgeable, and truly cared that we had the best experience possible. The van, the hotels and the food were all top notch. We were in Turkey in late October when the US State Department had issued travel warnings about possible terrorist activity. We felt completely safe and comfortable on this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was well worth the price and the guide was extremely knowledgeable on the historical, religious and architectural aspects.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Dnsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We would definitely recommend this tour with Fez agency. They were well organized, great hotels, lovely personel. Our driver qnd tour guide were fantastic and we had so mucg fun. Turkey's tourism is suffering as a result of airport assault and coup earlier this year which meant fewer tourists at keu sites good for us not for Turkish economy. There is absolutely no reasonto avoid travel to Turkey. We felt very safe.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

robertacreuben36 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful!!! Guide was knowledgeable and very efficient and pleasant to be with.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Nabeil A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, really lovely guide, knows his stuff.
We were the only two on the tour, meaning we were able to travel at our own pace and finished a couple hours early which we prefer.
Lunch was fantastic! Buffet lunch with plenty to choose from including desserts. Drinks were over-priced.
Overall, great value for money.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

For the money you can't beat this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The hotels were adequate and the meals were good.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Jean Paul P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good tour that sees a lot of Turkey. Lots of driving so avoid if you don and #39;t like long road trips but the bus is comfortable and there are regular stops The guide was a bit hit and miss. Very knowledgable but not very friendly.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Ismail k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As its a quite time they still gave us a personal tour and she knew everything there is to know, her english was great and the places were very interesting, I would use them again

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was informative, had spence of humor, and patiently answered questions. Driver wS Aldo responsive. The weather was warm and as soon as he and #39;d see us coming would get in the van and turn on the air conditioning. highly recommend this tour and company.

Doing what: Southern Cappadocia Tour: Cavusin, Red Valley, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Eren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ali is personable and quite knowledgeable. He even gave us two hours' more time than we were originally allocated. He even tailored the tour to our needs and took us to a smaller underground city. The tunnels are quite low and require you to bend while walking, which was hard for me.
I was glad he took us to a smaller, less traveled venue.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Tara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour! It was a private tour due to no one else signing up and the tour guide was fantastic! The only downfall was the underground city we visited was a bit of a disappointment compared to the one I visited the next day. We were hoping that because this tour included the underground city, fairy chimney's and the open air museum we could get it all in one tour. This wasn't the case. So, highly recommended, but if you're really interested in the underground city, this one is not as impressive as the other ones.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was awesome
Thanks to Çagman and Arien

You should include Istanbul on the tour

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Sing Chow L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Generally speaking, this tour is a good one and the areas covered are rather extensive for a regular tourist. I have 2 suggestions for Viator and the tour company operator.
1. Local tour operator: offer travelers an option to have lunch separate from the group. We almost felt like pressured to have lunch together everyday.
2. Viator says tips are optional. the local tour operator gave us a package which suggests US35 per person. I would like Viator to make this very clear on its web page. No surprises please.
One suggestion for tourist participants: IF POSSIBLE, DO NOT ACCEPT THE OFFER FROM COMPANY TO CUT ANKARA and go back to Istanbul sooner. Ankara is a place you want to see and Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was Turkey's national hero. His memorial is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Stephanie ann H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Negatives:
1 We were not given an itnerary - we were told to call to arrange the pick up on day one and that is the only thing we were ever told to do
2 Because we did not have an itinerary, we did not have any information about what we were going to do or see or where we would be staying or what time the next pick up was going to be - a nightmare for two people that are normally very organised.
3 We did not stay in a cave hotel at all. We stayed in a hotel with cave-textured walls. Our first room was infested with ants, so we were moved. It was VERY disappointing to be told we were staying in a cave and then not actually staying there.
4 We were originally told we could book the hot air balloon ride through our guide when we arrived to Cappadocia. This is 100 NOT TRUE. We spent a lot of time and money trying to make the arrangement after being told that it was completely sold out. This was important to us because it was in celebration of our recent engagement, so we were determined to get a spot. With the help of the guide we got lucky and found two spots, but it was very stressful.

PROS
1 Guides were terrific and really informative and helpful
2 transportation was on time and comfortable
3 hotels were decent with the exception of being extremely disappointed by NOT staying in a cave hotel

Turkey is amazing and I will always recommend to any traveller that it is a must, but I will absolutely not be recommending that anyone book a tour. It would have been cheaper and less stressful to do this ourselves.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

cherry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I liked the tour a lot. It was a small group tour, but it happened to be a private tour luckily! The guide was professional with abundant knowledge and very friendly. This tour covers not only seeing rock formation, but also Avanos and undergroud city, which are very interesting to see. The lunch restaurant choice is also very good!

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Dale W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Just right. There's a lot to see in Cappadocia, so there's a fair amount of driving around from location to location. The extended walks and tours were the best part.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

bmw123888 Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

a Must try too SGD90 for a 1 day tour.. inclusive of Buffet lunch!!! covers most of the important attractions going around Goreme on your own is not advisable.. join the day tour.. instead.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Natasha L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was fantastic and we loved the day

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message