Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Kaymakli Underground City

Kaymaklı is a city dug deep into the soft volcanic rock in the Cappadocia region. There are around 100 underground cities in the area although only a few are open to the public. Kaymaklı is the largest of them. It is estimated that around 3,500 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 68 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was informative, had spence of humor, and patiently answered questions. Driver wS Aldo responsive. The weather was warm and as soon as he and #39;d see us coming would get in the van and turn on the air conditioning. highly recommend this tour and company.

Doing what: Southern Cappadocia Tour: Cavusin, Red Valley, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Eren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ali is personable and quite knowledgeable. He even gave us two hours' more time than we were originally allocated. He even tailored the tour to our needs and took us to a smaller underground city. The tunnels are quite low and require you to bend while walking, which was hard for me.
I was glad he took us to a smaller, less traveled venue.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was awesome
Thanks to Çagman and Arien

You should include Istanbul on the tour

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Sing Chow L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Generally speaking, this tour is a good one and the areas covered are rather extensive for a regular tourist. I have 2 suggestions for Viator and the tour company operator.
1. Local tour operator: offer travelers an option to have lunch separate from the group. We almost felt like pressured to have lunch together everyday.
2. Viator says tips are optional. the local tour operator gave us a package which suggests US35 per person. I would like Viator to make this very clear on its web page. No surprises please.
One suggestion for tourist participants: IF POSSIBLE, DO NOT ACCEPT THE OFFER FROM COMPANY TO CUT ANKARA and go back to Istanbul sooner. Ankara is a place you want to see and Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was Turkey's national hero. His memorial is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Stephanie ann H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Negatives:
1 We were not given an itnerary - we were told to call to arrange the pick up on day one and that is the only thing we were ever told to do
2 Because we did not have an itinerary, we did not have any information about what we were going to do or see or where we would be staying or what time the next pick up was going to be - a nightmare for two people that are normally very organised.
3 We did not stay in a cave hotel at all. We stayed in a hotel with cave-textured walls. Our first room was infested with ants, so we were moved. It was VERY disappointing to be told we were staying in a cave and then not actually staying there.
4 We were originally told we could book the hot air balloon ride through our guide when we arrived to Cappadocia. This is 100 NOT TRUE. We spent a lot of time and money trying to make the arrangement after being told that it was completely sold out. This was important to us because it was in celebration of our recent engagement, so we were determined to get a spot. With the help of the guide we got lucky and found two spots, but it was very stressful.

PROS
1 Guides were terrific and really informative and helpful
2 transportation was on time and comfortable
3 hotels were decent with the exception of being extremely disappointed by NOT staying in a cave hotel

Turkey is amazing and I will always recommend to any traveller that it is a must, but I will absolutely not be recommending that anyone book a tour. It would have been cheaper and less stressful to do this ourselves.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

cherry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I liked the tour a lot. It was a small group tour, but it happened to be a private tour luckily! The guide was professional with abundant knowledge and very friendly. This tour covers not only seeing rock formation, but also Avanos and undergroud city, which are very interesting to see. The lunch restaurant choice is also very good!

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Dale W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Just right. There's a lot to see in Cappadocia, so there's a fair amount of driving around from location to location. The extended walks and tours were the best part.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

bmw123888 Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

a Must try too SGD90 for a 1 day tour.. inclusive of Buffet lunch!!! covers most of the important attractions going around Goreme on your own is not advisable.. join the day tour.. instead.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Natasha L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was fantastic and we loved the day

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

teddie p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is amazing, The best way to see the country and the sites, which are very busy. Our tour guide was Metin Pehlivan and he was amazing, very nice and knowledgeable and helpful and just a funny guy. Busses are clean and comfortable with lots of pit stops, Hotels were above average with the last Everen stone house being amazing!! Food was good, mostly buffets which is good, something for everyone, The sites were amazing!! So incredible!!! This is the best tour we have done and if you have the means book the hot air balloon over Cappadocia it is worth the money and just breathtaking!!!!!!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Philippe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Hotel Dilek Kaya very good even if wifi not strong enough in some rooms
Landscapes amazing.
Fist guide Ulun was not so good as the tour was really shortened and at 4 pm I was already back at the hotel, having nothing to do there. Also he didn't go to Red Valley which was on the program.
Second guide Fatma was really kind and perfect, she totally saved the tour, it was really amazing and she even bring me to red Vallay what was normally at the program of previous day.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Amaka

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Highly informative , tour guide was awesome . My husband and i were in cappadocia for only 2 nights and i am so glad that this was one of the activities we choose. This gave us a great overview of cappadocia in the little time we had.

Doing what: Tour of Highlights of Cappadocia with Lunch

Eseo O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time! Very nice tour! However I think it is overpriced and I recommend the guide should give enough time for picture taking. Our guide was talking too much nonstop and we did not have enough time to take photos. Although it was good information, however I think he should give time also in between bus rides to have free time, me time or whatever and upon arrival into the destination should brief us only anout the place for a little bit and give us the time to ourselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

sharon_2525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value tour which was organised very well. Hotel pick up and drop off was done smoothly with mini buses taking us to the main coach. We got sufficient time to look around by ourselves in tourist areas and were explained main aspects by the tour guide. We had regular stops every 3 hours or so to use restrooms and stop at convenience stores to buy water/snacks. The lunch stops we had were all affordable and decent food. The hotels were all really good however in one we did have to pay a small fee for wifi but other than that they were all good quality hotels. One thing to note is that drinks at these hotels to have with dinner can be a little pricey but that is expected with buffet style dinners. There was plenty of choice for dinners, a lot of salad options and a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Rosalind c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was brilliant, driver was very good, coach was very comfortable and only half - full meaning never felt crowded, and numbers at meals, tours, etc was very manageable. Excellent value for money and most interesting. Hotels were all fantastic. Hotel in Capadocia was great but too far from anywhere.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

MOHAMED A M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. It exeded our expectations. Big air conditioned bus, prompt hotel pickup and return. Very professional wise driver who drove us hundreds of miles with smile on his face and no single mistake. The guide was very knowledgable and keen on every person and every detail of the tour program. She always gave advices and suggestions and was chosing the best resturants and best service stations on the road. The hotels were very comfortable and well chosen. This tour explored a huge no of tourist attractions along the western and southern coast of Turkey. Konya and Ankara were the ice on the already rich cake. Overall unforgetable experience!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message