Cartagena ATTRACTIONS See all

Rosario Islands

Less than an hour southwest of Cartagena’s port is a fragile archipelago of some 30 picture-perfect islands, wrapped in shimmering white-sand beaches, and strung like rosary beads through the deep blue Caribbean Sea. They sit atop the world’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

stecky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful! It was nice being at an almost private beach/resort without being harassed by vendors and massage people at the local beaches in Cartagena. I highly recommend it!...just make sure you bring enough money for extra expenses at the island.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The beach we went to was right behind a coral reef, which was spectacular to see while snorkeling. Crystal clear waters, lobsters plucked right out of the ocean and grilled for you if you want, and a range of activities to keep you occupied made this day very fun and relaxing. Was too bad really only one guy spoke English, I tried my best to understand all the facts the snorkeling leader was saying during our hour out at sea but most of it was over my head. Word of advice to the photographer on the snorkeling tour, try aiming the camera to include views of the reef and the people you're photographing! Part of the appeal in buying photos is being able to show other people the awesome natural wonders you're seeing. Also, dispense with using CDs to transfer photos, upgrade to cloud sharing or USBs. I was actually disappointed by the lunch, the fish was kind of blah, not a fan of coconut rice, and the fried yucca was meh too. There was a kind of sugary brick dessert though which tasted awesome.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Arturo J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful time on the island. It was really relaxing to take a day away from the city. They have everything you could possibly need on the island.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We arranged for the private boat tour on Viator. Having never been to Cartagena before, I was a little bit concerned about the chunk of change we'd dropped, but lemme tell you, it was worth every penny. Cindy picked us up at the hotel in a spacious air conditioned SUV, precisely right on time, and 20mins later we were cruising out of the harbour on an immaculate 38 foot cruiser with twin 250s. Cindy actually came with us, and it's obvious that she loves her job and her country, and for good reason. She acted as guide, interpretor, and comic relief. We flew around all the islands with a well stocked cooler, snorkled, and enjoyed the requisite fried snapper lunch on a beach that I don't want to tell you too much about, because it will ruin one of the most amazing surprises of the trip. Our jaws hit the sand when we got there. It was a full day of amazing sights, and if I can convince anyone to take the leap of advance purchase, you won't be sorry. Oh, and then she got us a table at Don Juan in the old city, which is one of the best restaurants I've been to, not only in Cartagena, but anywhere. Consider us satisfied customers.

Doing what: Private Rosario Islands and Baru Boat Tour

JERAMEY R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing. Snorkeling in the deep blue water. Enjoying the coral reef. Drinking Caipirinhas by the pool. This is a must try if you visit Cartagena

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Joon S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you have an extra day, it's a nice way to spend it. Take cash with you in case you'd like to indulge in some of the activities offered by the island resort. Small beach, but relaxing. Great lunch.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Milla A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was perfect! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Stephanie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

charlotte t

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

My only complaint is that the tour marketed itself very differently than it was. Although it was of course a really fun day, there was no private tour of islands, etc. We went to one island and stayed there the whole day and there were different activities offered, but they all cost additional money.
I think the tour should market itself as a one-island resort stop, then people will know what they are getting themselves into

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

chrisn

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was very interesting. We took small boat to get to the island. There is snorkeling there, so you should take advantage of it. Beach itself is nice, but very small. Lunch is very good. You can swim outside the guarded area. On way back, we got a nice boat tour of other islands in the archipelago. Only limitation is - and you should be aware - that they virtually do not speak any English at the attraction, and there is no tour guide with the group at the island, so you are on your own.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Andreea V

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

We decided not to take this trip as we heard bad reviews of Rosario islands . We decided to spend more time in beautiful Cartagena instead. We lost the money on this trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Aisha S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great day trip, with only some small things that could have made it perfect. The islands were beautiful of course. The lunch was excellent and still has me thinking about it-- fresh fish, yuca fries, rice, salad, and a dessert of cocadas. They offered massages and trips to the aquarium, snorkeling, and a hike, however it would have been helpful to know how much those activities cost before we arrived on the island. I didn't have enough cash to do everything I wanted to and could have easily taken out more cash from the ATM before getting on the boat if I had known the cost. I don't like to carry around a lot of cash I may not need, so I hadn't withdrawn any large amount beforehand. On the boat trip back to Cartagena, the water was too choppy so for safety reasons they took a different route. I appreciated the concern about safety and would recommend this trip to friends.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Mary F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

great day trip to a nice, basic island resort with a lovely beach the lunch provided was delicious!

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

MASSIELLE B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide was very nice and gave history details of the different forts we passed on the way to Rosario island.
Ride back to Cartagena was fun because of the choppy waves .

The beach itself was small but the staff were very attentive and no beach vendors were allowed, which was a plus.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Rebecka D

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

First of all, Viator confirmed the trip with me, but the tour company contacted me and said they did not have availability for the day I wanted to go and booked me for the next day. It would have been nice to have more information as to what island was going to be visited. The check in process at the dock was chaotic and they never gave me the proper change for the taxes charged. Once on the island it was relaxing and the lunch was decent.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Andrea M

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The hosts and location where excellent the initial set up was horrible no one knew who this voucher was accepted by tour company but after that horrible long line and wait the service was impeccable and so where the tour guides!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Karl S. Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It is well-worth the trip. You get to see the Bay Inside of it and interesting Old Edifications of the time. Once you get to Rosario, you have the choice several activities Not Included in the Tour. You can relax and sunbathe at the beach or add more fun to your excursion.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Jacqueline B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The island was pretty but no snorkeling was offered. The excuse was that the sea was rough. We were there to snorkel and we were very disappointed. We ended up hiring a guy with a boat and we paid him 50 US to take us to four different snorkeling sites. If we had not done that the trip would have been disappointing. If you just want to lie on the beach and swim, then this trip would be fine.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Eric V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The resort was great! Picturesque beach. A great escape from the city.

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Pierre L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Nice day trip with interesting activities to choose from. We chose to do snorkeling and it was worthwhile.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

abel c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

The trip was great, just don't book through viator. This was the second trip they bungled, and we almost missed it. After we booked it and paid, there was miscommunication with the tour group. It wasn't until we called that morning, after they were late, that they contacted the tour group.
But like I said, the trip was great!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Dolores H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a wonderful tour. Very interesting, a great boat ride and all of the people on the tour were fantastic. I would certainly recommend this tour to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Ferhan T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

- You only visit one private island. Going to the second island with the aquarium is extra.
- Total time spent on island: 3-3.5 hours including lunch.
- They did not drop us off back to the hotel, and it was very difficult to get a free cab from the port.
- Reef for snorkeling is away from where the boat anchors, so you need to sign up for an extra tour 10 to do any snorkeling.
- Island staff barely speak any English.
Lunch was very good.
Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Jovica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience! I suggest to everyone visiting Cartagena to take this trip. It's really worth of time.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a lovely day! Wonderful boat ride, fantastic ideal beach, kind staff and delicious lunch. A great get away from Cartegna for the day - the beaches in Cartegna do not begin to compare to the clear water paradise. Highly recommend! Well priced, a great value and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Day Trip to Rosario Islands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message