This Spanish colonial gem, with some of the hemisphere’s loveliest architecture, built right on the brilliant blue Caribbean, should already be a world-class destination. And, certainly, it already is one of Colombia’s most popular cities, but the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenna A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was one of my favorite things ever. Relaxing, fresh lobster, a fantastic massage. Definitely bring some cash with you, but seriously, I wish I could have stayed here for dayyyyys!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Jenna A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

GREAT tour!!!!! Loved the local vibe, the food, etc. The tour was just me and my friend, so we got a custom experience, even stopping at a festival to get some fried foods. Cannot suggest this tour enough!

Doing what: Cartagena Salsa Clubs Tour

George D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great introduction to all of the sights in Cartagena. Our guide Billy, senior tourist guide in Cartagena everybody in the city knew this guy, did a great job. No questions went unanswered. Highly recommend starting your stay with this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I had a good, careful driver who spoke English, and delivered me right to the airline check in area. He assisted with luggage, and was very professional.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel to Cartagena Airport

Laurence A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing authentic day! Duran Duran and his wife were wonderful

Doing what: Cartagena Market Tour and Cooking Class

Mindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Sandy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Driver was at airport on time, and was very nice. Smooth pick up.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Mary C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Find night. Nice way to see the city at night.

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

Mark Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We were disappointed that we were not picked up at our hotel as it was not the included in the package. However, were just outside of it near the San Felipe fort. We had to therefore pay for a taxi to the port. Once we arrived there was much confusion on which gate we were to go and were sent to one area only to be called back to the gate we were at with a quote oh I forgot that is my partner which was Carlos Dias- why did she not know that when we showed her the ticket voucher? We finally got on the boat taking us to the Rosario Islands. Getting on and off these boats is tricky and can be dangerous if you are not wearing the right shoes as you enter/exit via one of the seats. Ride over went well, and we arrived at Rosario Islands when stated. The beach and swimming area are small. We wanted to just relax on the beach but there was not much room to do so. There were 2 tour boats there which meant more people. Lunch was provided and was very good. There were 2 bars and bathrooms on site. A few vendors were there but they were not very pushy. We departed Rosario at 3:00pm, and had to take a different route back to Cartagena due to the high winds on the sea. This proved to be advantageous as we went along a river that was sheltered from the winds and saw some wildlife, birds and some of the residents who live along the river. Suffice to say, this turned out to be a better part of the tour. Overall, it was nice but not what was expected. If you are looking for beach time, Bocagrande beach in Cartagena was better with more room, cleaner open beaches and easy access to the water.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Sandy N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

The van never showed up. We had a confirmation email the night before pick up and we waited 40 minutes later than pick up time but the van never arrived. It was a rotten experience. We tried to call, but we either got a hang up or a message machine. It was the second tour that week that Viator never showed up for. Really poor.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel to Cartagena Airport

Rachelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was highly highly recommended. We went with Maria Duran to the market, purchased ingredients for lunch and they went to their house to cook the food. She was gracious and very accomodating. We had a very short time to spend on the tour and they were able to accomodate our needs. Eddie was also fabulous. If you are looking to get involved in the culture of columbia, and do something different, definitely take this personal cooking experience. I feel like I came out with new friends.

Doing what: Cartagena Market Tour and Cooking Class

k_braggs

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour could have ended a little sooner than the 6 hours provided on Viator. There were a few unnecessary parts to the tour, such as the drive to the North area of Cartagena and a long walk through the Historic Town could be cut in half. Other than that, it is good tour to see the city.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

k_braggs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The car to take us to our hotel was too small for all of our luggage. We have to put luggage inside the car beside/in between us.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

When my party departed the airport we met this friendly smiling face with our names on a plaque card waiting for us outside the terminal. Our bags were placed in the vehicle and we had pretty nice ride to the hotel, with interesting conversation from the airport to the hotel.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel to Cartagena Airport

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver met us outside the airport, he was really friendly. After loading our bags into the car, we had a smooth and quick drive to the hotel.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide and driver were wonderful. William, our guide, grew up in Cartagena and knows the city well. He gave us an excellent tour which involved historical sites mixed with neighborhoods. It was fabulous! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Jaime D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was William, an 83-year old veteran of the Cartagen touring scene. We boarded the tour agency car with Simon, the driver and travelled to San Felipe de Barajas Fortress. William showed us the tunnels built under the fortress to confound invaders just in case they overpowered the fortress. He also impressed on us the genius of the fortress design. Then we drove to the highest point in the city, Candelaria Convent at La Popa hill. We did the peninsula and the Bocagrande beach with the high-rise hotels and condos. Then to the walled city for the Santo Domingo square with the church and the Botero and the Simon Bolivar square with the Inquisition building and museum of gold. The only thing in the itinerary we missed was the Claver Church but William did go into an explanation of Claver so that was sufficient.

There were a number of things William wanted to show us that werent really in the published itinerary, like the UNESCO heritage-tagged private homeson Manga island. the street art inside the walled city, the inside of the Heredia Theater, and the Claustro dela Merced where Gabriel Garcia Marquez ashes are buried.

William was very quick to volunteer taking our pictures. Not only that, he knew what angles were best and would often do three to four shots of us at different angles at the same site. But his hands were a bit shaky after all, he was already 83. He seemed to know everyone in the city. For example, the theater was officially closed but he talked to the guard, slipped him a small note, and we were allowed in. Not only that but the guard even put up the lights inside the theater so we could enjoy its magnificence. He was quick to help us in negotiating for a good price whether it was t-shirts, local art-handicraft, fruits.

I mentioned to William that my wife wanted to check out emeralds and William promptly had the driver bring us to the Joyeria Caribe emerald museum. It was an interesting place with arguably the widest selection of emeralds. It took an hour before she could buy her earrings and William patiently waited for us which meant adding another hour to the total tour time. But William didnt mind.

We loved William and his grandfatherly style. But he could climb up and down and walk with the best of them. His English was occasionally hard to understand but it didnt detract from our positive experience with him. Hats off!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour really surprised me with how organized and memorable it was. Most tours I've been on have a habit of taking you to places where you only spend 15 minutes - 1 hour only. We were taken to a beautiful Island where La Isla del Sol hotel is situated and given 4 hours to do whatever our hearts desired from walking through the local village and seeing the secret mangroves, scuba diving, snorkeling, etc. We also had a flexible meal of fried fish or chicken with coconut rice, patacon, yuca, and soup. We also had the option of choosing a lobster and having it freshly prepared for us and i'm not the biggest fan of lobster, but I tried it anyway. And wow! That was the best lobster Iobster I've ever had. By the end of those four hours, I was so beat and ready to head back home. It was definitely a memorable and very satisfying adventure. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Jputvin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The beach was beautiful. You get there around 10:30 and leave around 3pm. Lots of lounge chairs both in the shade and sun, , good water for swimming, pool, activities. Rodrigo was a great guide--super friendly and answered all of our questions. Drinks at the bar and lunch were great. Wish we could have spent more of the day there!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

MALCOLM C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a blast and the staff were all VERY friendly and entertaining!!!!!

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

stecky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful! It was nice being at an almost private beach/resort without being harassed by vendors and massage people at the local beaches in Cartagena. I highly recommend it!...just make sure you bring enough money for extra expenses at the island.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was an awesome tour guide, with an impressive knowledge of the city's 500 years of history. He started the tour with an excellent and succinct overview of how our day would progress, and then proceeded to guide me through every sector of the city. Don't let his age fool you, he's full of energy and has the stamina to persevere through 4 hours of nonstop walking, climbing, and talking.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The beach we went to was right behind a coral reef, which was spectacular to see while snorkeling. Crystal clear waters, lobsters plucked right out of the ocean and grilled for you if you want, and a range of activities to keep you occupied made this day very fun and relaxing. Was too bad really only one guy spoke English, I tried my best to understand all the facts the snorkeling leader was saying during our hour out at sea but most of it was over my head. Word of advice to the photographer on the snorkeling tour, try aiming the camera to include views of the reef and the people you're photographing! Part of the appeal in buying photos is being able to show other people the awesome natural wonders you're seeing. Also, dispense with using CDs to transfer photos, upgrade to cloud sharing or USBs. I was actually disappointed by the lunch, the fish was kind of blah, not a fan of coconut rice, and the fried yucca was meh too. There was a kind of sugary brick dessert though which tasted awesome.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Erik T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour. Nice change from sightseeing Cartagena. Interesting islands.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message