This Spanish colonial gem, with some of the hemisphere’s loveliest architecture, built right on the brilliant blue Caribbean, should already be a world-class destination. And, certainly, it already is one of Colombia’s most popular cities, but the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

When my party departed the airport we met this friendly smiling face with our names on a plaque card waiting for us outside the terminal. Our bags were placed in the vehicle and we had pretty nice ride to the hotel, with interesting conversation from the airport to the hotel.

Doing what: Private Departure Transfer: Hotel to Cartagena Airport

Christopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver met us outside the airport, he was really friendly. After loading our bags into the car, we had a smooth and quick drive to the hotel.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide and driver were wonderful. William, our guide, grew up in Cartagena and knows the city well. He gave us an excellent tour which involved historical sites mixed with neighborhoods. It was fabulous! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Jaime D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was William, an 83-year old veteran of the Cartagen touring scene. We boarded the tour agency car with Simon, the driver and travelled to San Felipe de Barajas Fortress. William showed us the tunnels built under the fortress to confound invaders just in case they overpowered the fortress. He also impressed on us the genius of the fortress design. Then we drove to the highest point in the city, Candelaria Convent at La Popa hill. We did the peninsula and the Bocagrande beach with the high-rise hotels and condos. Then to the walled city for the Santo Domingo square with the church and the Botero and the Simon Bolivar square with the Inquisition building and museum of gold. The only thing in the itinerary we missed was the Claver Church but William did go into an explanation of Claver so that was sufficient.

There were a number of things William wanted to show us that werent really in the published itinerary, like the UNESCO heritage-tagged private homeson Manga island. the street art inside the walled city, the inside of the Heredia Theater, and the Claustro dela Merced where Gabriel Garcia Marquez ashes are buried.

William was very quick to volunteer taking our pictures. Not only that, he knew what angles were best and would often do three to four shots of us at different angles at the same site. But his hands were a bit shaky after all, he was already 83. He seemed to know everyone in the city. For example, the theater was officially closed but he talked to the guard, slipped him a small note, and we were allowed in. Not only that but the guard even put up the lights inside the theater so we could enjoy its magnificence. He was quick to help us in negotiating for a good price whether it was t-shirts, local art-handicraft, fruits.

I mentioned to William that my wife wanted to check out emeralds and William promptly had the driver bring us to the Joyeria Caribe emerald museum. It was an interesting place with arguably the widest selection of emeralds. It took an hour before she could buy her earrings and William patiently waited for us which meant adding another hour to the total tour time. But William didnt mind.

We loved William and his grandfatherly style. But he could climb up and down and walk with the best of them. His English was occasionally hard to understand but it didnt detract from our positive experience with him. Hats off!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Vanessa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour really surprised me with how organized and memorable it was. Most tours I've been on have a habit of taking you to places where you only spend 15 minutes - 1 hour only. We were taken to a beautiful Island where La Isla del Sol hotel is situated and given 4 hours to do whatever our hearts desired from walking through the local village and seeing the secret mangroves, scuba diving, snorkeling, etc. We also had a flexible meal of fried fish or chicken with coconut rice, patacon, yuca, and soup. We also had the option of choosing a lobster and having it freshly prepared for us and i'm not the biggest fan of lobster, but I tried it anyway. And wow! That was the best lobster Iobster I've ever had. By the end of those four hours, I was so beat and ready to head back home. It was definitely a memorable and very satisfying adventure. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Jputvin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The beach was beautiful. You get there around 10:30 and leave around 3pm. Lots of lounge chairs both in the shade and sun, , good water for swimming, pool, activities. Rodrigo was a great guide--super friendly and answered all of our questions. Drinks at the bar and lunch were great. Wish we could have spent more of the day there!

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

MALCOLM C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a blast and the staff were all VERY friendly and entertaining!!!!!

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

stecky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was beautiful! It was nice being at an almost private beach/resort without being harassed by vendors and massage people at the local beaches in Cartagena. I highly recommend it!...just make sure you bring enough money for extra expenses at the island.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was an awesome tour guide, with an impressive knowledge of the city's 500 years of history. He started the tour with an excellent and succinct overview of how our day would progress, and then proceeded to guide me through every sector of the city. Don't let his age fool you, he's full of energy and has the stamina to persevere through 4 hours of nonstop walking, climbing, and talking.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The beach we went to was right behind a coral reef, which was spectacular to see while snorkeling. Crystal clear waters, lobsters plucked right out of the ocean and grilled for you if you want, and a range of activities to keep you occupied made this day very fun and relaxing. Was too bad really only one guy spoke English, I tried my best to understand all the facts the snorkeling leader was saying during our hour out at sea but most of it was over my head. Word of advice to the photographer on the snorkeling tour, try aiming the camera to include views of the reef and the people you're photographing! Part of the appeal in buying photos is being able to show other people the awesome natural wonders you're seeing. Also, dispense with using CDs to transfer photos, upgrade to cloud sharing or USBs. I was actually disappointed by the lunch, the fish was kind of blah, not a fan of coconut rice, and the fried yucca was meh too. There was a kind of sugary brick dessert though which tasted awesome.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Erik T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour. Nice change from sightseeing Cartagena. Interesting islands.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Claudia Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Malisimo, nunca contestaron en el teléfono de contacto.

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

Claudia Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Malisimo, nunca contestaron en el teléfono de contacto.

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

Tetyana K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This is not exactly a tour. It's a boat ride to Rosario Island and back 45 min each way with lunch on the island. If you don't purchase any additional services on the island snorkeling, scuba, massage, and dolphin show, you get approximately 3-4 hours on the island, with a tiny beach with chairs.
This tour is also completely over-priced. Save yourself some time and money and book this with the local vendors. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

cari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You have to do this, best party in Cartagena for tourist.

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

Loryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You must do the chiva bus if you're in Cartagena! it's so fun, even if you don't speak Spanish just go and wiggle wiggle! unlimited Colombian rum and very live! Great way to meet new people too1

Doing what: Cartagena Nightlife Tour by Chiva Bus

Blt6885

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eduardo was very pleasant and accommodating. He provided us with water and got us lemonades at the plaza. My sister and I opted to skip lunch and we still got a 6 hour tour. Eduardo manuvered us around the large cruise ship tour groups. I learned a lot from this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

JERAMEY R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing. Snorkeling in the deep blue water. Enjoying the coral reef. Drinking Caipirinhas by the pool. This is a must try if you visit Cartagena

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Breanna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides were incredibly friendly and wanted to make sure we felt comfortable. We were able to taste our way through the market and choose what meal we wanted to cook with our hosts.

Doing what: Cartagena Market Tour and Cooking Class

Joon S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

If you have an extra day, it's a nice way to spend it. Take cash with you in case you'd like to indulge in some of the activities offered by the island resort. Small beach, but relaxing. Great lunch.

Doing what: Rosario Islands Day Trip from Cartagena

Poulami S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was really nice and hassle free experience.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Cartagena Airport to Hotel

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Billy was an amazing tour guide. My wife and I were on our honeymoon to Cartagena. We were kept entertained the whole time and got to see everything from international sites to local neighborhood art. We could tell how much pride Billy had in his city. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Dave N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best day of our vacation. This private tour included an old man who had a great knowledge of Cartagena. We spend around 6 hours walking and talking at all the different historical sites in town.
We enjoy the one on one conversations with him we had. In a large group tour, you do not get this type of interaction. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message