Treasures and pirates abound in the history of Cartagena de Indias. Founded in 1533 by Don Pedro de Heredia, this Caribbean city on the coast of Colombia is surrounded by high walls and the most extensive fortifications in South America. And those ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaime D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was William, an 83-year old veteran of the Cartagen touring scene. We boarded the tour agency car with Simon, the driver and travelled to San Felipe de Barajas Fortress. William showed us the tunnels built under the fortress to confound invaders just in case they overpowered the fortress. He also impressed on us the genius of the fortress design. Then we drove to the highest point in the city, Candelaria Convent at La Popa hill. We did the peninsula and the Bocagrande beach with the high-rise hotels and condos. Then to the walled city for the Santo Domingo square with the church and the Botero and the Simon Bolivar square with the Inquisition building and museum of gold. The only thing in the itinerary we missed was the Claver Church but William did go into an explanation of Claver so that was sufficient.

There were a number of things William wanted to show us that werent really in the published itinerary, like the UNESCO heritage-tagged private homeson Manga island. the street art inside the walled city, the inside of the Heredia Theater, and the Claustro dela Merced where Gabriel Garcia Marquez ashes are buried.

William was very quick to volunteer taking our pictures. Not only that, he knew what angles were best and would often do three to four shots of us at different angles at the same site. But his hands were a bit shaky after all, he was already 83. He seemed to know everyone in the city. For example, the theater was officially closed but he talked to the guard, slipped him a small note, and we were allowed in. Not only that but the guard even put up the lights inside the theater so we could enjoy its magnificence. He was quick to help us in negotiating for a good price whether it was t-shirts, local art-handicraft, fruits.

I mentioned to William that my wife wanted to check out emeralds and William promptly had the driver bring us to the Joyeria Caribe emerald museum. It was an interesting place with arguably the widest selection of emeralds. It took an hour before she could buy her earrings and William patiently waited for us which meant adding another hour to the total tour time. But William didnt mind.

We loved William and his grandfatherly style. But he could climb up and down and walk with the best of them. His English was occasionally hard to understand but it didnt detract from our positive experience with him. Hats off!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide and driver were wonderful. William, our guide, grew up in Cartagena and knows the city well. He gave us an excellent tour which involved historical sites mixed with neighborhoods. It was fabulous! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was an awesome tour guide, with an impressive knowledge of the city's 500 years of history. He started the tour with an excellent and succinct overview of how our day would progress, and then proceeded to guide me through every sector of the city. Don't let his age fool you, he's full of energy and has the stamina to persevere through 4 hours of nonstop walking, climbing, and talking.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Blt6885

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Eduardo was very pleasant and accommodating. He provided us with water and got us lemonades at the plaza. My sister and I opted to skip lunch and we still got a 6 hour tour. Eduardo manuvered us around the large cruise ship tour groups. I learned a lot from this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Dave N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best day of our vacation. This private tour included an old man who had a great knowledge of Cartagena. We spend around 6 hours walking and talking at all the different historical sites in town.
We enjoy the one on one conversations with him we had. In a large group tour, you do not get this type of interaction. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Billy was an amazing tour guide. My wife and I were on our honeymoon to Cartagena. We were kept entertained the whole time and got to see everything from international sites to local neighborhood art. We could tell how much pride Billy had in his city. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Dd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Highly recommended

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

nela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely amazing! We had the best tour guide ever. Bert was extremely knowledgeable, pleasant, courteous and funny. We started by going to the fort, bright and early is the best time. We learned a lot about the history of Cartagena. It was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Karl S. Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a very nice tour for those who are interested in History as well as Architecture. You get to see and visit many spots unknown to the Visitor and also The Museum of the Inquisition.

Doing what: Small-Group City Sightseeing and Walking Tour in Cartagena

Karl S. Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My personal experience with Mr. Garcia was Second-to-None. This gentleman truly defines the meaning of Quality and Service. He knows how to show a Great Time to visitors in Cartagena, and how to cater for his customers. If necessary, he would go out of his way to make any one person feel his/her absolute best while visiting the city. My wife and I booked a few tours with his company: Playa Blanca, Cartagena City Tour, and the Emerald Tour. Without any hesitation, I would recommend Guianza Express to any one person wanting to visit Cartagena.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful tour with a very knowledgeable guide!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

nastas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour and excelente guide.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

adislenalima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good and confortable. Excellent guide Mr. Martim

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

adislenalima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Another view of Cartagena. Excellent guide Mr. Martim.

Doing what: Cartagena Old Town Architecture Walking Tour

laurentina p k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

i already did this ,great tour,Eduardo our guide excellent

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

eric c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend this tour to anyone that is learning more able the history of Cartagena.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was alone on this tour made for undivided attention and on my pace. The tour guide was very well versed in all things cartagena, English was good and very friendly. I saw more then expected and just fell in love with this city! I felt very safe.

Doing what: Small-Group City Sightseeing and Walking Tour in Cartagena

alexwolf9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pretty nice tour covering all the main points that I wanted to see. Kinda was shortened to about 4.5 hours from 6, but it was fine with us

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour: History, Culture and UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Celso T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excelent ! The guide was a very pleasant person, and knew a lot about the city history. I recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Stoney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Outstanding tour. The guide was extremely knowledgable and very professional. His depth of the history knowledge of the area was exceptional. The driver was also extremely professional. This is a tour you need to take while in Cartegana. It worth every cent.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The city tour was very informative and I strongly recommend it. The tour guide was excellent!!

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Tanisha F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide spoke English and Spanish. He was very knowledgable and kind. If you are considering this tour, please don't hesitate to book it! Great price for a great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group City Sightseeing and Walking Tour in Cartagena

Robin R Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was excellent. The guide "Martín" was very knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

BRIAN S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a very good tour. Our guide, Martin, spoke excellent English and drove us in a private clean air conditioned car to many sights. Overall a good experience.

Doing what: Cartagena City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message