Stingray City is a world-famous natural wonder offering intrepid wildlife lovers the chance to dive with stingrays. Touching and feeding stingrays underwater is a unique experience, combined with diving and snorkeling coral reefs surrounded by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful Island! The boat ride to Stingray Bay was relaxing and the experience had our family totally surprised how gentle these creatures are. This was my first experience with Viator and I will not hesitate from using this service again.

REMINDER: If you are on a cruise and book this or any tour, rememeber ship time and destination time are often different so make sure you base your scheduling on destination time.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Wilbur M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Excellent experience with the Stingray. Sadly the water conditions were not the best, too many waves for the snorkeling portion of the tour.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Norma G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a really choppy day for snorkeling but since I love to snorkel it was not a problem. Many of the others snorkeled as well. Lots of fish to view. Stingray City was an amazing experience to hold/touch the rays. Must have been a dozen rays swimming around. Although you were only in 4 ft of water you were tossed around with the big waves. Disappointed with our last stop to see starfish! Only two around! Crew was great!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

VICTOR C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity. The experience of having the stingrays around was scary and exhilarating at the same time! The 2nd stop was just an regular snorkeling experience. Would rather have gone to Stingray City last and built up to it but great regardless!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Denver T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was excellent. We spent about 45 mins at Stingray city then 25 mins at each snorkel spot. The crew was very professional and explained every you needed to know regarding safety. I would do this again.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Spencer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Glenn and Mike were amazing! My brother and I went and had a blast! Highlight of our vacation. It was our first time snorkeling and we felt safe and saw a lot of colorful fish in the coral. Stingrays were great and the guides made it educational. Thanks!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

James A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Outstanding tour from start to finish! We came in on a cruise ship and Capt Marvin's office was literally right across the street from where we docked. Bus transportation to his boats was timely and comfortable. The two snorkel stops in addition to Stingray City were great. Overall, a great deal for the price...we'll definitely be back next time we're in the Cayman Islands!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Kristinf71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome day on the water! Stingrays, reef swimming with fish and starfish point. Plus our captain went and got fresh coconuts off a tree and split them open for us on the way back to the dock. Great guys! Very friendly and interesting men who were willing to tell us al about the area and how they live! I would do it again on a heartbeat!!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

tanda1198

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We booked through VIATOR rather than the ship we were on. Much less expensive. same vendors. We went with ROWAN tour operator.. The transportation van picked us up from a parking lot next to the dock. Its a 15-20 min ride without traffic to the dock on the other side of Grand Cayman, where were took a boat which supplied kind of a reddish punch as beverage. Its about a 20 minute boat ride out to the sandbar where the sting rays are found. There are many boats and many people. The guides pick up the tame stingrays and allow everyone a foto op. The stingrays are soft to touch. Some of the boats provide food to the stingrays. Ours did not.

The water was a little chilly to my taste about 80 degrees F and the seas rough... there was a bit of undertow at the edge of the sandbar. After we spent about 40 min here, the boat dropped us off those who wanted to, on a reef. Snorkeling gear was provided.

The van ride back was during rush hour yes there is a rush hour in Cayman!

This was a nice excursion. They are prompt and friendly. I would recommend this tour and experience. The price was right.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Margot S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The turtles! The Stingrays! Robert! The boat crew! It was a 5 star experience from beginning to end. Our group included three adults and a five year old and a three year old. Everyone was completely entertained. I recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Nakeia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience, Stingray City was the highlight of my vacation!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Greg R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice team of people, from the lady I had spoken with on the phone making the arrangements about getting to the meeting spot we stayed at Wyndham which was on the other side of the island and since this was during the slow season and the first tour of the morning they didn't pick up on east end, though it wasn't a problem as we had a car rental for the time we stayed in Grand Cayman, to the bus driver through the crew on the boat - positive, polite and friendly. The tour is very affordable and held to highest standards by Rowan Water Sports

1.They provide free of charge the fins and snorkeling equipment as well as the life vests for all of those who want to have more fun in the water the tour includes stingray city stop which is a very shallow water, maybe up to your waist, and then there is another stop where you can swim/snorkel above the reef in the deeper waters.

2.They provide also some water free of charge if you for some reason forget to bring some with you make sure to do so along with some food as the tour last about 3-4 hours and all of the physical activity sun exposure plus probably early morning breakfast since the tour departs from the last stop at Westin Hotel at 9:30, but that's depending where you stayed at, we stayed at Wyndham so we need to drive across the Island for about 45m-1h so our breakfast was much earlier than maybe some people who got picked up from the west side of the island

3. Don't worry if you don't have a waterproof camera as they do take picture of you on the spot with the stingrays - hugging them, kissing them and getting a back massage yes, that's what you are reading correctly - the prices are 15 per picture or 50 for all of them, which naturally makes sense to go with the full package ours was 25 pictures, not all perfect but definitely more than 4 were great so do your math - they do accept the credit card, this is taken care off during the return to the harbor they meet individually and go over the pictures, take your info and e-mail you the pictures to your e-mail the next day, all legit

Definitely would recommend to anyone who wants to experience something amazing and feel comfortable that is being in good hands.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a great time. I got to pick up some of the smaller turtles. The larger turtles were very cool to see in in their large pools. My family truly enjoyed our time at the turtle farm.
The Sting ray excursion was one of the best times of my life. I had no idea in the middle of the ocean you could stand on sand reef and touch and hold a stingray. The boat crew was fabulous very accommodating and professional. My family enjoyed the experience and we still talk about it today.

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Gloria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family definitely had a day to remember. We were on a boat with only 16-17 people on board. We had so much room and the Captain and his adult son were able to provide better service and attention due to the small number on board. Unfortunately I can not remember the Captain's name but both he and his son are originally from South America. They work hard and make sure you feel safe every step of the way. We all had a chance to 'cuddle', feed and kiss the stingrays! We were not rushed and the photos were amazing. You can even bring your own phones in waterproof cases to take photos as well.
The Captain even dove in the water to get the stingray food. He brought up a conch shell and let everyone try some of the meat. They took the time to explain about these creatures and how to respect them and enjoy the experience. We then went to snorkel and see fish, coral and more stingrays swimming below us. As the Captain mentioned, it is much more relaxing snorkelling with a life jacket on fyi. If you are lucky enough to be able to spend the day with this Captain and his adult son - you will be glad you did! I can't say enough how much these two made this day so memorable for myself and my family. Have fun!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Eileen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was AWESOME!. The meeting place was very easy to find. The trip to the boat was short but the driver was very friendly and safe, The crew on the boat was helpful and friendly. Stingrays were cool and then two snorkeling stops was nice. I had the most fun here out of all my excursions and spent the least amount of money.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really friendly crew. The boat wasn't overly full. The busses were full, though. Great experience with the stingrays the kids loved it!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

nchildress297

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an amazing time. Riding in the catamaran was so much fun. The crew was great and it was so nice watching them work the sails and the boat.

The stingrays were great and hanging out in the after on the sandbar was so cool too.

I recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

juhunter

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The check-in process was a little confusing as several different tours congregate in the same area. Otherwise, this excursion was awesome! The crew, Stingray City and the Coral Garden were amazing! I highly recommend this experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Kerry L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a great experience. We really liked Captain Marvin's. The 3 guys from CM really did a great job. We loved Stingray City and really enjoyed the snorkeling. We would absolutely recommend this trip!!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

ellebelle1

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice time! The crew was great and helpful. Little confusion on the pick-up time but all and all a good trip. Stingrays were very cool.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Richard C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We booked the trip knowing our Cruise would be in port at 9:00 am. I emailed the tour Captain Marvin's and went to their website. They said we the tour van leaves at 10:00 AM and it would be no problem for us to get there in time. They do not pick you up from the cruise port. Here at George Town you must take a small boat from the cruise ship to shore. Our ship got in a little late but I still thought we had time, so off we went. We got to Captian Marvin's check in office at 10:05. The staff you were late, I know we were, did our best and check before hand to see if that was a problem. I had to keep asking what can we do before staff decided to see if we could be booked on another trip. They eventually said we could go on a later one with only one snorkel stop. It was upsetting and we did not get a credit for the smaller trip even though it was cheaper. So we waited and found out from the van driver, that he could have taken us to the boat which is about a ten minute drive or we could have hailed a taxi to do the same. I had ask staff for a solution but the office staff just does not care. Guess they are to put in their hours and get their pay check with as alittle work as possible.

The trip to stingray city was great. The crew was great. They take you to a sandbar where the water is waist high, there were three cruise ships in port, so stingray city when we got there had 12 other groups all circled around this sandbar. They then bring the stingrays over to take pictures with and feed. The pictures are extra. After we were done, they then take the boat about 5 minutes away for your snorkeling. Many fish were to be seen but it was really short about a 15 minute stop and then back to the island. The trip itself was as described and the crew was great. The office staff was the worst I have ever dealt with on any island.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Shelley O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guides were fantastic and cared for the stingrays very much. The sand bar was so cool! The stingrays swam right up to the boat as we pulled up. Very cool experience. Take snacks with you!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Alexander P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family of 5 had a great time! The stingrays and and snorkeling were fun and beautiful. The staff were nice also. I recommend!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Robert C. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Due to inclement weather, we were over an hour late getting to our meet-up location. They waited for us and still managed to get us to everything we were scheduled to complete. The water for Stingray City was incredible and my daughter loved being able to pick-up the smaller turtles. A great day.

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Chad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the best time swimming with the stingrays and snorkeling at not just one stop (which was what most excursions were promoting), but two places! All of the staff were so professional and friendly. And the price was great. Highly recommended!
Chad- Dallas, Tx

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message