Stingray City is a world-famous natural wonder offering intrepid wildlife lovers the chance to dive with stingrays. Touching and feeding stingrays underwater is a unique experience, combined with diving and snorkeling coral reefs surrounded by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although the weather was very windy, the crew made the trip fun and exciting. It was safe, the Stingrays were amazing and the pictures that the crew took were awesome. And, the prices for the pictures were very reasonable! Thanks for a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a bit of trouble finding the meet up location. On their website they show a picture of a completely different building than where you actually have to go. We ended up being over 15 minutes late, and by then the boat had left. However, they were very accommodating and put us on the next tour at 2pm, which worked out better as it was a quieter time at Stingray City. The Captain and crew were all very friendly, entertaining, and knowledgeable, indulging in every guests' questions. The crew made sure every guest had a turn holding, kissing, feeding, and getting a massage from a stingray, as well as a collection of photos of your interaction. They offered a USB stick of the photos for a price on the way back to shore. Was a bit pricey, but they are great quality and it's an amazing experience that you'll want the memories of, so it is worth it in the end. The snorkel locations were great as well, but a little short on time. During the second snorkel stop they threw food for the fish in the water so they'd all come up for us. They offered water and juice, and had a bathroom under deck as well. Highly recommend if you've never been to stingray city. Try to get a very early morning tour or later in the afternoon to avoid the cruise ship crowds.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Sanya L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The Stingray City was crowded, but the crew tried their best to make it a memorable experience. They were friendly, talked about the island, joked, made us feel welcome. They took pictures with sting rays and they turned out great. They overcharged for those pictures, but this is a standard Caribbean procedure. Maybe we should have tried to negotiate... Then, they took us to two different snorkeling sites, and both were good. It was crowded, but I did not feel rushed. Overall, I would go again with Capt. Marvin

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

JILL B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We were excited to finally see Sting Ray City. The weather was beautiful however the waters were very choppy and there were large swells. The City was over crowded with 7 boats when we arrived so we moved on just beyond to a reef area very close. A friend of mine Had never snorkled before and the water was so rough it was overwhelming to her and she couldn't even get her equipment in place to even try to Snorkle so she gave up. I did my best as an experienced snorkled but the currents were too heavy to enjoy as I was afraid of being knocked into the coral. Not much fish and the coral was not very vivid. Finally at Sting Ray City and the crowds were ridiculous! The waves made it difficult to get photos with the Stingrays. Witnessed several people getting the Sting Rays slammed up against their faces to get the kiss photo. Not a pretty site. Again, overwhelming for my guest. Finally went to the Coral Gardens and what a disappointment! Nothing! Very few fish and it looked worn out and abandoned by sea life. The boat was bare minimum with two water jugs for the whole group however one did have punch. The metal seats were painted with a very slippery paint and one guest fell back and hit her head and elbow very hard. They make you sign a waiver before boarding that they are not responsible for any injury or damage. Felt rushed the entire trip. I would definately pass on this one and save snorkeling for another island. Whole trip was very disorganized as we had to keep back tracking to drop people off at hotels they kept passing.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Stephanie B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This tour was awful. First, the tour provider overbooked and did not have enough room in the van for all of us. After waiting in the blazing hot parking lot, we were led to another van-already half full- and piled in. At Stingray City we were parked in chest high water and when the waves came they would break over our heads and push us away from the group. It was almost impossible to have any interaction with the stingrays given the high water and constant waves. We were unable to feed them and are pictures were terrible. At the Turtle Farm our guide gave us no back ground information and never indicated how much time we had to visit. Finally, we very nearly missed our tender back to the ship. We advised out driver/guide of our departure time before and during the excursion but we only made the tender with four minutes to spare. Having been to both Stingray City and the Turtle Farm previously with other tour companies I can honestly say this was the worst excursion we have experienced.

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful Island! The boat ride to Stingray Bay was relaxing and the experience had our family totally surprised how gentle these creatures are. This was my first experience with Viator and I will not hesitate from using this service again.

REMINDER: If you are on a cruise and book this or any tour, rememeber ship time and destination time are often different so make sure you base your scheduling on destination time.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Terri K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highlight of the cruise to western Caribbean. Stingrays were amazing. Staff of this excursion provided great service....highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Brittany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did the Stingray/2 Snorkeling stops tour with Captain Marvin. We were on the Jimmy boat and the crew was AWESOME! If you go to Grand Cayman, you HAVE to book this excursion!!! We are doing this every time we visit there from now on! We were on a Carnival Cruise too and were weary about booking excursions outside of Carnival...... but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT!

We got to ride on the front of the boat on the way out, the crew was super friendly and knowledgeable about the stingrays. The stingrays were SUPER NICE! They swim all around you and touch your legs and feet and back and it is the COOLEST THING WE HAVE EVER DONE!!! My husband fed the stingrays and we petted them. The 2 snorkeling spots were also great too! Lots of fish and coral. They take you to the barrier reef so there is lots of underwater life there to see. We brought a GoPro and it worked fabulous with all 3 stops. The photographer takes photos of you with the stringrays that you can purchase onboard the boat on the way back on a USB and they send them via email to you. The pictures were awesome and well worth paying for. We will never forget this experience!

I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and everyone visiting Grand Cayman. It's my FAVORITE!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

careybuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My favorite part of all my excursions was stingray city. It was so much fun! The guys from the boat were great at explaining about sting rays and helping us feed them, etc. The stingrays were awesome! Highly recommend them. And the turtle farm was great too. You got to hold the turtles but honestly there's a part of me that doesn't like that because I have a feeling they don't want to be held, ya know? But it was very educational and there are some huge turtles there. Get some food to feed the turtles too! Hint: the birds, chickens and roosters like the food too!

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Wilbur M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Excellent experience with the Stingray. Sadly the water conditions were not the best, too many waves for the snorkeling portion of the tour.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Norma G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a really choppy day for snorkeling but since I love to snorkel it was not a problem. Many of the others snorkeled as well. Lots of fish to view. Stingray City was an amazing experience to hold/touch the rays. Must have been a dozen rays swimming around. Although you were only in 4 ft of water you were tossed around with the big waves. Disappointed with our last stop to see starfish! Only two around! Crew was great!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

VICTOR C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity. The experience of having the stingrays around was scary and exhilarating at the same time! The 2nd stop was just an regular snorkeling experience. Would rather have gone to Stingray City last and built up to it but great regardless!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Denver T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was excellent. We spent about 45 mins at Stingray city then 25 mins at each snorkel spot. The crew was very professional and explained every you needed to know regarding safety. I would do this again.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Spencer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Glenn and Mike were amazing! My brother and I went and had a blast! Highlight of our vacation. It was our first time snorkeling and we felt safe and saw a lot of colorful fish in the coral. Stingrays were great and the guides made it educational. Thanks!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

James A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Outstanding tour from start to finish! We came in on a cruise ship and Capt Marvin's office was literally right across the street from where we docked. Bus transportation to his boats was timely and comfortable. The two snorkel stops in addition to Stingray City were great. Overall, a great deal for the price...we'll definitely be back next time we're in the Cayman Islands!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Kristinf71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome day on the water! Stingrays, reef swimming with fish and starfish point. Plus our captain went and got fresh coconuts off a tree and split them open for us on the way back to the dock. Great guys! Very friendly and interesting men who were willing to tell us al about the area and how they live! I would do it again on a heartbeat!!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

tanda1198

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We booked through VIATOR rather than the ship we were on. Much less expensive. same vendors. We went with ROWAN tour operator.. The transportation van picked us up from a parking lot next to the dock. Its a 15-20 min ride without traffic to the dock on the other side of Grand Cayman, where were took a boat which supplied kind of a reddish punch as beverage. Its about a 20 minute boat ride out to the sandbar where the sting rays are found. There are many boats and many people. The guides pick up the tame stingrays and allow everyone a foto op. The stingrays are soft to touch. Some of the boats provide food to the stingrays. Ours did not.

The water was a little chilly to my taste about 80 degrees F and the seas rough... there was a bit of undertow at the edge of the sandbar. After we spent about 40 min here, the boat dropped us off those who wanted to, on a reef. Snorkeling gear was provided.

The van ride back was during rush hour yes there is a rush hour in Cayman!

This was a nice excursion. They are prompt and friendly. I would recommend this tour and experience. The price was right.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Margot S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The turtles! The Stingrays! Robert! The boat crew! It was a 5 star experience from beginning to end. Our group included three adults and a five year old and a three year old. Everyone was completely entertained. I recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Nakeia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience, Stingray City was the highlight of my vacation!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Greg R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice team of people, from the lady I had spoken with on the phone making the arrangements about getting to the meeting spot we stayed at Wyndham which was on the other side of the island and since this was during the slow season and the first tour of the morning they didn't pick up on east end, though it wasn't a problem as we had a car rental for the time we stayed in Grand Cayman, to the bus driver through the crew on the boat - positive, polite and friendly. The tour is very affordable and held to highest standards by Rowan Water Sports

1.They provide free of charge the fins and snorkeling equipment as well as the life vests for all of those who want to have more fun in the water the tour includes stingray city stop which is a very shallow water, maybe up to your waist, and then there is another stop where you can swim/snorkel above the reef in the deeper waters.

2.They provide also some water free of charge if you for some reason forget to bring some with you make sure to do so along with some food as the tour last about 3-4 hours and all of the physical activity sun exposure plus probably early morning breakfast since the tour departs from the last stop at Westin Hotel at 9:30, but that's depending where you stayed at, we stayed at Wyndham so we need to drive across the Island for about 45m-1h so our breakfast was much earlier than maybe some people who got picked up from the west side of the island

3. Don't worry if you don't have a waterproof camera as they do take picture of you on the spot with the stingrays - hugging them, kissing them and getting a back massage yes, that's what you are reading correctly - the prices are 15 per picture or 50 for all of them, which naturally makes sense to go with the full package ours was 25 pictures, not all perfect but definitely more than 4 were great so do your math - they do accept the credit card, this is taken care off during the return to the harbor they meet individually and go over the pictures, take your info and e-mail you the pictures to your e-mail the next day, all legit

Definitely would recommend to anyone who wants to experience something amazing and feel comfortable that is being in good hands.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a great time. I got to pick up some of the smaller turtles. The larger turtles were very cool to see in in their large pools. My family truly enjoyed our time at the turtle farm.
The Sting ray excursion was one of the best times of my life. I had no idea in the middle of the ocean you could stand on sand reef and touch and hold a stingray. The boat crew was fabulous very accommodating and professional. My family enjoyed the experience and we still talk about it today.

Doing what: Stingray City and Turtle Farm Half-Day Tour

Gloria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family definitely had a day to remember. We were on a boat with only 16-17 people on board. We had so much room and the Captain and his adult son were able to provide better service and attention due to the small number on board. Unfortunately I can not remember the Captain's name but both he and his son are originally from South America. They work hard and make sure you feel safe every step of the way. We all had a chance to 'cuddle', feed and kiss the stingrays! We were not rushed and the photos were amazing. You can even bring your own phones in waterproof cases to take photos as well.
The Captain even dove in the water to get the stingray food. He brought up a conch shell and let everyone try some of the meat. They took the time to explain about these creatures and how to respect them and enjoy the experience. We then went to snorkel and see fish, coral and more stingrays swimming below us. As the Captain mentioned, it is much more relaxing snorkelling with a life jacket on fyi. If you are lucky enough to be able to spend the day with this Captain and his adult son - you will be glad you did! I can't say enough how much these two made this day so memorable for myself and my family. Have fun!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

Eileen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This experience was AWESOME!. The meeting place was very easy to find. The trip to the boat was short but the driver was very friendly and safe, The crew on the boat was helpful and friendly. Stingrays were cool and then two snorkeling stops was nice. I had the most fun here out of all my excursions and spent the least amount of money.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really friendly crew. The boat wasn't overly full. The busses were full, though. Great experience with the stingrays the kids loved it!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience Plus Two Snorkeling Stops

nchildress297

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an amazing time. Riding in the catamaran was so much fun. The crew was great and it was so nice watching them work the sails and the boat.

The stingrays were great and hanging out in the after on the sandbar was so cool too.

I recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message