Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1288 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fairly long trip but very efficiently managed. Could have handled more detail in cathedral-eg who was buried there!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Mark A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very nice tour to the champagne region. Knowledgable guide, but spread thin with multi-language guests on what was thought to be a
strictly English speaking tour. Nice opportunity for sampling at 2 classic champagne cellars. Enough time allowed for touring Reims as well.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Anna L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

Ok, so I had already paid for this tour and was told I could NOT cancel and get a refund so we went.... BIG MISTAKE!!! The tour of Mumms was fine, cool great guide from the champagne house. Unfortunately then we were taken to what is the Mercier house, this is the Walmart of champagne...... TERRIBLE the Champagne was disgusting!!! NEVER AGAIN

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Dianne L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My friend and I took the day trip to Reims and Epernay. It was wonderful!
We left Paris City Vision at 8:00 a.m. sharp and the day was perfect until we arrived back in Paris at 6:00 p.m.
Roberto, our guide was good, and kept the tour moving on time. He spoke in English and Portugese!
The tours at Mumms and Mercier were outstanding. I preferred the Mumms tour. And the drive through wine country from Reims to Epernay was beautiful...it was harvest time, and we could see the people working in the vineyards.
All in all - magical! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great tour of Champagne with Jacques. The day started with thick fog and the Cathedral in Reims was barely visible but still spectacular inside... As we drove to Epernay and the Moët and Chandon tour, the sun burnt off the fog and the breathtaking views were revealed. The tour was very informative and the setting grand. We found a vintage of champagne from our wedding year to take home. Then on to a very good 3course lunch with wine followed by a brief drive to tour the winery on the hill and a small Champagne house. Save your to buy at the second place as it is only available for local purchase and is a flavourful Champagne, not one we are used to! We were cared for and delivered back to our door, tired and content.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Michael S N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is a great way to get a taste of what the Champagne region has to offer, without needing to do the driving yourself out to Champagne. Even the bus ride over there to the region provides some great scenery in the French countryside. Mumm and Mercier both had great tours, and a sample of bubbly as well. Mercier was especially an awesome tour. Seeing the Reims Cathedral was fun as well, and hearing the history about the Cathedral too. A great tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great value. Comfortable coach bus, friendly and knowledgeable guide and tours of two great wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very good. The tour guide was knowledge and helpful.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Sue M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour / van driver was sick with a cold and kept coughing, sneezing and was not concerned with passing along the germs like shaking our hands before we knew he was so sick etc. He provided very limited information during the drive and was NOT up to the standards set by other 'small-group' tour guides I've had with Viator on other trips. The structure of the tour started off well, with the church tour, but again, was expecting more from the guide but it was self-guided. Then the first winery stop was wonderful at Moet Chandon, then the drive through the vineyards seeing the grapes up close and hearing from the local 'mayor' was fascinating. The next winery tour of the small Champagne maker was a waste of time, as they told us the SAME information in your tour as we had just heard at Moet Chandon all about the how they make and bottle the champagne- looking at the sediment inside the bottles, seeing the barrels etc all the same - just smaller. Would have liked more variety and certainly a healthy guide!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful day. We visited 2 different Champagne caves and were given a glass of champagne after each tour. I highly recommend this tour. Its an all day tour, but so worth it.
Kathy Copeland

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Iosif S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

very good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jennifer J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and a very cool tour through the champagne region. Visited Mumm's and Moet and Chandon with tastings in both places. This is a great day out of the city and into the beautiful countryside. You'll learn a lot about the champagne-making process too!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful day our guide was great kept us informed the lunch was very good food and the highlight was the cellar tours at the champagne houses! They just need to organize an international freight service!!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Steve W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day trip to Champagne. We were picked up on time, the coach was very comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable and helpful. The tour of Mumm was extensive and informative getting to know the history and walking through the underground cellars. The stop in Riems gave plenty of time to tour the Notre Dame cathedral and walk around the tour getting lunch of your choosing. The visit to Mercier was shorter and really just a video and tasting although we couldn't get out into the vineyard due to recent rains making it too slippery. Overall a very enjoyable day getting a taste of Champagne - the region and the product

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide on the bus did little to add to this tour -- he wasn't overly friendly or knowledgable. However, the tour guides within each of the two wineries we visited were excellent. The wineries were both beautiful, but they were giant producers of champagne it would've been nice to balance that with a visit to a smaller producer. We visited unguided the beautiful cathedral in Reims, but the town itself didn't have much else. Even the lunch options were mediocre.
Overall, this was about as expected for a short day trip out of Paris. If you want a more in-depth experience of France's wine country, you really need at least 2-3 days.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Tika

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Ok but did not live up to our expectations from previous reviews we had read

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Robin A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Great trip - driver/guide didn't seem up to it though.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Johnny M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The guide's English was illegible, and the PA system on the bus was so bad that you couldn't hear her anyway. The bus ride was 2 hours long, and the portion that took us through Paris should have had some commentary but there was little to none, which again was ILLEGIBLE. Tour operator should have provided toilet facilities prior to and after return on 2 hour bus ride., but we were left to find facilities on the street, which was not easy. Very unprofessional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Nicholas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely brilliant time. Completely worth devoting a full day to this tour. From the moment they pick you up, the various stops along the way, and up to the momement they drop you off back at your hotel, you will completely enjoy the experience and care they put into this tour. I am very picky and expect the best when I travel. I'm willing to pay for it and when I do, I demand maximum value. Who doesn't? To that end, I am very satisfied with this experience and recommend this to anyone. The views are amazing and the champagnes you taste will be stories you'll share with your friends forever. You will carry this experience with you for the rest of your life and certainly when you drink champagne. Cheers!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

GAJillian Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent- tour guide was both well informed and personable. Great tour of the two vineyards and great stops for photos. Definitely recommend this activity.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Walter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour coordinator very good!

Add an extra 30 minutes on the front end of this tour to allow for late people and traffic issues!

Would do it again!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

dianehmoran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WOW - where do we begin - our guide sorry we can't recall his name was so professional, knowledgeable, on schedule, and yes, a great driver!! We toured on July 27 and the trip was great and so was our guide. We highly recommend this tour - thanks Viator for another great adventure!!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver was so great, I can't say enough about him. The tours were great. Definitely worth going on.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Ove L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice trip. I like Mumm the most. The guide was very good and we could also buy some, slightly rare, bottles to a good price.
At Mercier it was more like a factory, going by a train in the cellars. The guide was very occupied with the technique of the audio tour so it never got as interesting as it was on Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marilyn C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour is very long and includes a lot of time in the minibus van. We could have learned more from our driver since he had studied history at the Sorbonne, but he did not talk much while driving--perhaps it was a safety issue, but a bit more about the area and much more about the history of the area would have been appreciated. Everything was on a very tight schedule, so you really never had a relaxing moment except on the drive back to Paris. The limited amount of champagne given the drive and cost makes this tour questionable as to value for price. I will say that we did enjoy seeing the countryside and being outside of Paris was one of our main reasons for taking the tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message