Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1279 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful day. We visited 2 different Champagne caves and were given a glass of champagne after each tour. I highly recommend this tour. Its an all day tour, but so worth it.
Kathy Copeland

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Iosif S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

very good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jennifer J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and a very cool tour through the champagne region. Visited Mumm's and Moet and Chandon with tastings in both places. This is a great day out of the city and into the beautiful countryside. You'll learn a lot about the champagne-making process too!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful day our guide was great kept us informed the lunch was very good food and the highlight was the cellar tours at the champagne houses! They just need to organize an international freight service!!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Steve W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day trip to Champagne. We were picked up on time, the coach was very comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable and helpful. The tour of Mumm was extensive and informative getting to know the history and walking through the underground cellars. The stop in Riems gave plenty of time to tour the Notre Dame cathedral and walk around the tour getting lunch of your choosing. The visit to Mercier was shorter and really just a video and tasting although we couldn't get out into the vineyard due to recent rains making it too slippery. Overall a very enjoyable day getting a taste of Champagne - the region and the product

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide on the bus did little to add to this tour -- he wasn't overly friendly or knowledgable. However, the tour guides within each of the two wineries we visited were excellent. The wineries were both beautiful, but they were giant producers of champagne it would've been nice to balance that with a visit to a smaller producer. We visited unguided the beautiful cathedral in Reims, but the town itself didn't have much else. Even the lunch options were mediocre.
Overall, this was about as expected for a short day trip out of Paris. If you want a more in-depth experience of France's wine country, you really need at least 2-3 days.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Tika

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Ok but did not live up to our expectations from previous reviews we had read

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Robin A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Great trip - driver/guide didn't seem up to it though.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Johnny M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The guide's English was illegible, and the PA system on the bus was so bad that you couldn't hear her anyway. The bus ride was 2 hours long, and the portion that took us through Paris should have had some commentary but there was little to none, which again was ILLEGIBLE. Tour operator should have provided toilet facilities prior to and after return on 2 hour bus ride., but we were left to find facilities on the street, which was not easy. Very unprofessional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Nicholas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely brilliant time. Completely worth devoting a full day to this tour. From the moment they pick you up, the various stops along the way, and up to the momement they drop you off back at your hotel, you will completely enjoy the experience and care they put into this tour. I am very picky and expect the best when I travel. I'm willing to pay for it and when I do, I demand maximum value. Who doesn't? To that end, I am very satisfied with this experience and recommend this to anyone. The views are amazing and the champagnes you taste will be stories you'll share with your friends forever. You will carry this experience with you for the rest of your life and certainly when you drink champagne. Cheers!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

GAJillian Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent- tour guide was both well informed and personable. Great tour of the two vineyards and great stops for photos. Definitely recommend this activity.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Walter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour coordinator very good!

Add an extra 30 minutes on the front end of this tour to allow for late people and traffic issues!

Would do it again!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

dianehmoran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WOW - where do we begin - our guide sorry we can't recall his name was so professional, knowledgeable, on schedule, and yes, a great driver!! We toured on July 27 and the trip was great and so was our guide. We highly recommend this tour - thanks Viator for another great adventure!!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver was so great, I can't say enough about him. The tours were great. Definitely worth going on.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Ove L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice trip. I like Mumm the most. The guide was very good and we could also buy some, slightly rare, bottles to a good price.
At Mercier it was more like a factory, going by a train in the cellars. The guide was very occupied with the technique of the audio tour so it never got as interesting as it was on Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marilyn C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour is very long and includes a lot of time in the minibus van. We could have learned more from our driver since he had studied history at the Sorbonne, but he did not talk much while driving--perhaps it was a safety issue, but a bit more about the area and much more about the history of the area would have been appreciated. Everything was on a very tight schedule, so you really never had a relaxing moment except on the drive back to Paris. The limited amount of champagne given the drive and cost makes this tour questionable as to value for price. I will say that we did enjoy seeing the countryside and being outside of Paris was one of our main reasons for taking the tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour gives great insight into the history and process of champagne. the underground cellars / tunnels / railway are impressive and the cellar door prices reasonable. Make sure your take something warm as it is only 10 degrees C in the cellars. The coach trip would benefit from some more commentary on the surroundings etc and I had assumed opting for English language guide meant that there would not be other language groups on the same bus but there were and this can be a bit tedious as everything is repeated for each group

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kelvin F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Disappointed didn't get to Hautvillers and tour bus/vehicle run down and people squashed in, not comfortable at all.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Yingjie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nicholas was our guide. He was considerate and helpful. Only four guests. Was a enjoyable and informative trip.
One drawback is I didn and #39;t get any contact from the service provider prior to the trip, which was kinda strange.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a beautiful day and great trip out into the countryside. We enjoyed the champagne cellers and the Cathedral at Reims. If you'Re looking for a day away from Paris, this is a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a long day, but the cellar tour was great and lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Amanda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent! I was expecting 10 people on the tour but when I got to the car, there were only two others besides myself. It felt like a private tour. Our tour guide was kind, hilarious and filled with lots of information about the Champagne region, Paris, and France. They pick you up right at your hotel/apartment and drop you off too so no need to worry about public transportation. I'd recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

l_m_bolton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Due to bad weather we had significant traffic delays getting to the wineries however our guide was good humoured and knowledgeable. Once there the wineries visited were excellent with amazing cellars to explore - the Moet and Chandon visit was a standout - beautiful house and elegant tasting room !

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing day from start to finish. Appreciated the convenience of pick-up/drop-off at the hotel. Enjoyed the visit to Moet Chandon and viewing the spectacular views of the countryside. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

ABEL, III G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

after touring paris for 4 days, a nice day trip out of the city is perfect. ride on a bus, sleep-in some more, point us where we need to go, give us a history of champagne, make it fun, give us some champagne, eat a nice lunch in reims, tour the cathedral: back in paris in time for dinner. do this!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message