France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 831 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful day. We visited 2 different Champagne caves and were given a glass of champagne after each tour. I highly recommend this tour. Its an all day tour, but so worth it.
Kathy Copeland

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Iosif S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

very good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Steve W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day trip to Champagne. We were picked up on time, the coach was very comfortable and the tour guide knowledgeable and helpful. The tour of Mumm was extensive and informative getting to know the history and walking through the underground cellars. The stop in Riems gave plenty of time to tour the Notre Dame cathedral and walk around the tour getting lunch of your choosing. The visit to Mercier was shorter and really just a video and tasting although we couldn't get out into the vineyard due to recent rains making it too slippery. Overall a very enjoyable day getting a taste of Champagne - the region and the product

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Robert K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide on the bus did little to add to this tour -- he wasn't overly friendly or knowledgable. However, the tour guides within each of the two wineries we visited were excellent. The wineries were both beautiful, but they were giant producers of champagne it would've been nice to balance that with a visit to a smaller producer. We visited unguided the beautiful cathedral in Reims, but the town itself didn't have much else. Even the lunch options were mediocre.
Overall, this was about as expected for a short day trip out of Paris. If you want a more in-depth experience of France's wine country, you really need at least 2-3 days.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Johnny M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The guide's English was illegible, and the PA system on the bus was so bad that you couldn't hear her anyway. The bus ride was 2 hours long, and the portion that took us through Paris should have had some commentary but there was little to none, which again was ILLEGIBLE. Tour operator should have provided toilet facilities prior to and after return on 2 hour bus ride., but we were left to find facilities on the street, which was not easy. Very unprofessional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Ove L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice trip. I like Mumm the most. The guide was very good and we could also buy some, slightly rare, bottles to a good price.
At Mercier it was more like a factory, going by a train in the cellars. The guide was very occupied with the technique of the audio tour so it never got as interesting as it was on Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour gives great insight into the history and process of champagne. the underground cellars / tunnels / railway are impressive and the cellar door prices reasonable. Make sure your take something warm as it is only 10 degrees C in the cellars. The coach trip would benefit from some more commentary on the surroundings etc and I had assumed opting for English language guide meant that there would not be other language groups on the same bus but there were and this can be a bit tedious as everything is repeated for each group

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a beautiful day and great trip out into the countryside. We enjoyed the champagne cellers and the Cathedral at Reims. If you'Re looking for a day away from Paris, this is a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

ABEL, III G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

after touring paris for 4 days, a nice day trip out of the city is perfect. ride on a bus, sleep-in some more, point us where we need to go, give us a history of champagne, make it fun, give us some champagne, eat a nice lunch in reims, tour the cathedral: back in paris in time for dinner. do this!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lailany United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mumm and Mercier were great cellars to visit and it was interesting to learn about the making of Champagne. It was also nice to spend some time in the village and enjoy lunch at an outdoor cafe. I wish some time would have been allocated to walk along the streets of Avenue de Champagne since so many of the offices are located there and it would have been interesting to walk along the road vs. just drive through quickly.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a big bus tour. It's not intended to be personal, although our group was fairly small, so the guide made an effort to talk to us more than she was obligated to. You go to two cellars and a cathedral. The cellars each have their own tour, and the champagne itself is delicious. There isn't as much viewing of the French countryside as I'd have liked even from the bus, you only get passing glances of bucolic scenes peppered between endless power lines and less-than-cute fields. Still, if you like champagne and the occasional day trip from Paris, this is worth the time. Bring a sweater, though the cellars are freezing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

BCROMER1

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour...loved hearing the history. I was impressed highly with the Mercier's tour as you rode a tram down in their cellar. The Reims Cathedral was beautiful and enough time was allowed to look around and have lunch.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Colin L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Martin was very good. The tour generally was also very good although a little rushed.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Tracy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The actual tours at the cellars were amazing. The driver did a great job in some heavy traffic and detours. The and #34;guide and #34; that was on our bus that spoke English was not very good. She seemed to have great difficulty connecting words. Cellars were awesome and different. Made purchases at both places.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

sheree.williamson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable experience with knowledgeable guides. Was delighted in the choice of Champagne Houses, Mercier and Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

gary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. I enjoyed the Cave tours and the information alone the trip was great. If you like Chanpagne and you have the time this is a must do.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour more than met our expectations. The guides were very knowledgeable and the wineries were incredible

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rosy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! It was well organized. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgable. The waking tour through Siena was great with perfect amount of free time.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting and San Gimignano. Climbing the leaning tower of Pisa was the highlight of our visit to Pisa!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

enickles3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun trip. We had some trouble understanding our guides English but Mumm and Mercier were very interesting. The town where we had lunch and time to explore was mostly closed because it was a Sunday so our time there could have been a little shorter. Overall we enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Janet W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip around the region with a nice pit stop for lunch in Reims. Really enjoyed both champagne tours!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good day trip. Really enjoyed both the Champagne Cellars we visited as well as the free time we had in Reims. Our guide and bus driver both did a great job. Seeing some of the French countryside and small villages was an added bonus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kristen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour once we arrived at each tasting was excellent! The tour guides at each cellar were amazing!
Our tour guides on the coach however were a different story. They were not very informative nor did they tell much history of the countryside when we were on the coach itself. Not the most friendly.
The description said it would be an intimate group of 14-16 people, more like an entire double decker bus that was 100 full! Very disappointed by this. Also, signed up for an English only tour which it was advertised for, they ended up adding on French and Portuguese.
Bus driver was very fast, he blew past main sites such as where Dom Perignon was buried and also where his statue remains, they told us, however he literally sped up once we arrived to it.
Too much time in Reims for lunch, especially on a Sunday when everything is closed!
Champagne itself was awesome!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

meganmccroskey

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was pretty good, but the tour guide wasn and #39;t very interested and a bit quirky, it seemed. We got on the bus, went to the wineries and that was about it. The wineries themselves were great!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message