France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 825 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ove L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Nice trip. I like Mumm the most. The guide was very good and we could also buy some, slightly rare, bottles to a good price.
At Mercier it was more like a factory, going by a train in the cellars. The guide was very occupied with the technique of the audio tour so it never got as interesting as it was on Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a beautiful day and great trip out into the countryside. We enjoyed the champagne cellers and the Cathedral at Reims. If you'Re looking for a day away from Paris, this is a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

ABEL, III G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

after touring paris for 4 days, a nice day trip out of the city is perfect. ride on a bus, sleep-in some more, point us where we need to go, give us a history of champagne, make it fun, give us some champagne, eat a nice lunch in reims, tour the cathedral: back in paris in time for dinner. do this!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lailany United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mumm and Mercier were great cellars to visit and it was interesting to learn about the making of Champagne. It was also nice to spend some time in the village and enjoy lunch at an outdoor cafe. I wish some time would have been allocated to walk along the streets of Avenue de Champagne since so many of the offices are located there and it would have been interesting to walk along the road vs. just drive through quickly.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a big bus tour. It's not intended to be personal, although our group was fairly small, so the guide made an effort to talk to us more than she was obligated to. You go to two cellars and a cathedral. The cellars each have their own tour, and the champagne itself is delicious. There isn't as much viewing of the French countryside as I'd have liked even from the bus, you only get passing glances of bucolic scenes peppered between endless power lines and less-than-cute fields. Still, if you like champagne and the occasional day trip from Paris, this is worth the time. Bring a sweater, though the cellars are freezing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

BCROMER1

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour...loved hearing the history. I was impressed highly with the Mercier's tour as you rode a tram down in their cellar. The Reims Cathedral was beautiful and enough time was allowed to look around and have lunch.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Colin L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Martin was very good. The tour generally was also very good although a little rushed.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Tracy S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The actual tours at the cellars were amazing. The driver did a great job in some heavy traffic and detours. The and #34;guide and #34; that was on our bus that spoke English was not very good. She seemed to have great difficulty connecting words. Cellars were awesome and different. Made purchases at both places.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

sheree.williamson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable experience with knowledgeable guides. Was delighted in the choice of Champagne Houses, Mercier and Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

gary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. I enjoyed the Cave tours and the information alone the trip was great. If you like Chanpagne and you have the time this is a must do.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour more than met our expectations. The guides were very knowledgeable and the wineries were incredible

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rosy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! It was well organized. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgable. The waking tour through Siena was great with perfect amount of free time.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting and San Gimignano. Climbing the leaning tower of Pisa was the highlight of our visit to Pisa!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

enickles3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun trip. We had some trouble understanding our guides English but Mumm and Mercier were very interesting. The town where we had lunch and time to explore was mostly closed because it was a Sunday so our time there could have been a little shorter. Overall we enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Janet W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip around the region with a nice pit stop for lunch in Reims. Really enjoyed both champagne tours!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good day trip. Really enjoyed both the Champagne Cellars we visited as well as the free time we had in Reims. Our guide and bus driver both did a great job. Seeing some of the French countryside and small villages was an added bonus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kristen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour once we arrived at each tasting was excellent! The tour guides at each cellar were amazing!
Our tour guides on the coach however were a different story. They were not very informative nor did they tell much history of the countryside when we were on the coach itself. Not the most friendly.
The description said it would be an intimate group of 14-16 people, more like an entire double decker bus that was 100 full! Very disappointed by this. Also, signed up for an English only tour which it was advertised for, they ended up adding on French and Portuguese.
Bus driver was very fast, he blew past main sites such as where Dom Perignon was buried and also where his statue remains, they told us, however he literally sped up once we arrived to it.
Too much time in Reims for lunch, especially on a Sunday when everything is closed!
Champagne itself was awesome!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

meganmccroskey

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was pretty good, but the tour guide wasn and #39;t very interested and a bit quirky, it seemed. We got on the bus, went to the wineries and that was about it. The wineries themselves were great!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Evelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 2 wineries were great visits. Appreciated the opportunity to visit the cathedral in Reims with time for shopping and eating.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I had a great day in the Champagne Region. We would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed visiting the cellars at Mumm and Mercier. But don't expect more than one glass of champagne each. :

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this tour despite the rainy cold weather most of the day. The visits to the cellars were educational and fun. It was really nice to learn about the region and taste the different champagnes. The history of the notre dame de Riems was really interesting. We also loved the view of the countryside. So picturesque! Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everything on track and smooth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message