The Champagne Region lies 80 miles (128 km) east of Paris and is one of France’s most historic regions, first mentioned around the time of Emperor Charlemagne in the ninth century. It is a region made world famous for its sparkling wines; thanks to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 684 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cindy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a wonderful Champagne Tour from Paris. The guide Richard was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of extra history about the region. This was my first trip to France and would highly recommend this small-group Champagne Region tour for a day excursion from Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Nicholas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely brilliant time. Completely worth devoting a full day to this tour. From the moment they pick you up, the various stops along the way, and up to the momement they drop you off back at your hotel, you will completely enjoy the experience and care they put into this tour. I am very picky and expect the best when I travel. I'm willing to pay for it and when I do, I demand maximum value. Who doesn't? To that end, I am very satisfied with this experience and recommend this to anyone. The views are amazing and the champagnes you taste will be stories you'll share with your friends forever. You will carry this experience with you for the rest of your life and certainly when you drink champagne. Cheers!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

jrshirley901

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience. Great guide and very nice traveling companions. Saw behind the scenes activities at the smaller champagne houses...we have visited many wine regions around the world and this was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Great lunch, more than enough tastings and good times!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

C E M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant day around the Champagne Region. Pierre was an excellent guide and the wineries visited were all different but all superb. The lunch stop was well-chosen with a great lunch in a private home cooked personally by the wife of the owner of the winery and specially chosen champagnes to complement each course. Tattinger's was the large scale production house visited but I did prefer the smaller one where the champagnes were wonderful - but sadly not available in Australia - oh well - a reason to return.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Jonathan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is just a great combo -- a little bit of Reims and its cathedral, and two great tours of champagne producers, one large, one small, with a nice lunch wedged in there. While the price of this excursion is a tad high, it was worth it to us to only have 8 people on a minivan and a nice, knowledgeable driver/guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Lailany United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mumm and Mercier were great cellars to visit and it was interesting to learn about the making of Champagne. It was also nice to spend some time in the village and enjoy lunch at an outdoor cafe. I wish some time would have been allocated to walk along the streets of Avenue de Champagne since so many of the offices are located there and it would have been interesting to walk along the road vs. just drive through quickly.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

ABEL, III G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

after touring paris for 4 days, a nice day trip out of the city is perfect. ride on a bus, sleep-in some more, point us where we need to go, give us a history of champagne, make it fun, give us some champagne, eat a nice lunch in reims, tour the cathedral: back in paris in time for dinner. do this!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Amanda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent! I was expecting 10 people on the tour but when I got to the car, there were only two others besides myself. It felt like a private tour. Our tour guide was kind, hilarious and filled with lots of information about the Champagne region, Paris, and France. They pick you up right at your hotel/apartment and drop you off too so no need to worry about public transportation. I'd recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Nancy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour to the beautiful Champagne region was just lovely. Our driver and guide was friendly, knowledgeable and loads of fun. We were able to see the gorgeous cathedral in Reims as well as visit 3 champagne makers. It was fascinating to tour the tunnels and learn about the champagne making process. It was also fun to sample the champagne at tours' end! We enjoyed a delicious lunch at one of the cellars. Definitely highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Judith T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a beautiful day and great trip out into the countryside. We enjoyed the champagne cellers and the Cathedral at Reims. If you'Re looking for a day away from Paris, this is a wonderful trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Yvonne Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a cold, wet, grey day - I can only imagine how great it would be on a sunny day! We stopped at Reims for a quick visit to the Cathedral, and then it was on to Taittinger where we had a half hour tour of the cellars from a Taittinger guide followed by a glass of champagne. We then went to a small family run Grand Cru house where we had lunch at the home of the winemaker, and he joined us! That was great! Before lunch we had a tour of the facility guided by our driver/guide. He hadn't come with us on the Taittinger tour and unfortunately we had to stand around and listen to a lot of the same information. We had 3 champagnes with lunch. We then went to another small winery where we were shown the machinery and how it worked which was interesting. Followed by 3 champagnes. Our guide was very nice and friendly and made us laugh, though I thought he drove a bit fast on the highway up to 160kph and he was a bit hard to understand.... But all in all, we had a great day along with 3 other couples. It was a bit annoying being dropped back at the O Chateau wine bar, rather than at our hotel.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. We loved learning about the history and process of making champagne. La Maison Penet hosted our lunch and eating in the family dining room while tasting their champagnes was a real treat. Our guide was informative and very entertaining.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. We loved learning about the history and process of making champagne. La Maison Penet hosted our lunch and eating in the family dining room while tasting their champagnes was a real treat. Our guide was informative and very entertaining.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip from Paris. Our tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. The drive through the French countryside was serene and enjoyable. The Cathedral was majestic and humbling. The tour through Moet and Chandon cellars was fun and informative. We now have a greater appreciation for how champagne is made. The lunch is authentic French cuisine. It was amazing! We complimented our lovely hostess but she acted as if it was nothing, just another day. The actual tour of the vineyards was fascinating especially to an avid gardener. The tour of the Champagne G. Brunot cellar was intimate with fascinating details of a vintner's life and delicious champagne samplings. A hint to anyone purchasing these delicious champagnes: Do not store it in your carry on luggage! The authorities will confiscate it because it was not purchased at the airport shops. This is a tragic waste of excellent champagne...

Doing what: Champagne Region Small-Group Day Trip from Paris

Vicki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and Luis the guide was very informative, polite and helpful. We would highly recommend to anyone considering this day trip from Paris. It was really interesting to see the big champagne house operations with their kilometres of underground cellars and then have lunch and taste wines at a small family run champagne house.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

sheree.williamson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable experience with knowledgeable guides. Was delighted in the choice of Champagne Houses, Mercier and Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was really one of the highlights of my trip! we were picked up at our apartment in the morning by Richard. We then picked up one other couple from Vermont . . .very nice people. So it was just the five of us. The first winery was large - the guided tour was informative and enjoyable. The next winery was a family owned/run business - we had a tour and then a lovely lunch in their home along with three different tastings of champagne - was just perfect! Very enjoyable . . I would recommend this tour highly - was a real treat.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very easy day trip, leaving from the very heart of Paris. The two Champagne houses Mumm and Mercier have great tours for the group. Mumm takes you through the process and history of Champagne, and Mercier has an entertaining tram ride through their actual cellars. Plus, you get free Champagne at both places! Lunch is on your own in Reims, which gives yo a chance to visit the big cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this tour despite the rainy cold weather most of the day. The visits to the cellars were educational and fun. It was really nice to learn about the region and taste the different champagnes. The history of the notre dame de Riems was really interesting. We also loved the view of the countryside. So picturesque! Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everything on track and smooth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

MAGNIFIQUE!! My wife and I had an amazing time, and we can't recommend this tour enough. It was the highlight of our whole time in Paris! First off, Alain the tour guide was amazing: so kind, knowledgable and from having lived in NYC like us, he was very conversational in English. Terrific guy! As for the tour itself, we got a great mix of experiences in our three stops: the sensational underground massive cellars of Taittinger, a very small champagne house that served us a home-cooked lunch, and then we finished up with the Salmon family who were charming themselves. I learned a ton about champagne and also had a lot to taste.

We ALMOST decided to try this tour ourselves, and rent a car to drive from Paris to Reims. But why go to all that trouble? Let this tour do all the work for you! Great tour, Alain!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceptional tour. Only 4 guests plus Luiz our guide. We were picked up on time and traffic was light. Had some extra time available so stopped at the Cathedral in Reims as a bonus. Toured Taittinger and was very well received. Guide was very knowledeable and walking through the caves was a very different and worthwhile experience.

Onto La Maison Penet or the house of Alexendre Penet a boutique winery in a Grand Cru grape region in Verzey. Had a tour of the facilities, then onto a delicious lunch with 3 matched Champagnes. Lunch we had bread, salads, pate, charcuterie, 3 types of cheeses, dessert and coffee. The meal was served in a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere. A very rare treat to have the meal served in their family home. Our guides were Alexandre Penet the winemaker, and Justine. They were great hosts and lovely people. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

The onto another boutique winery Lelarge-Pugeot in Vrigny I think it was called. We toured the vineyards looked at the wine making facilities and tried 3 more Champagnes under the experienced guide of Domique. Another fabulous experience and delightful people.

Then we returned back home full of wonderfull memories and new friends. Our tour guide Luiz was very experienced with wine and was also a fabulous translator if there was a difficult question. Best tour we went on in France! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Craig W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great tour. The guide was excellent, Champagne delicious, and all three Champagne producers were wonderful hosts. We particularly enjoyed lunch and tasting at La Maison Penet. They even opened an extra bottle on request.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message