Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! This is currently the only place in the world that allows such close contact with such an amazing animal. Sam's email communications were quick and spot-on. Our fabulous guide Worley and our driver met us in our hotel lobby right on time and we enjoyed a pleasant drive through Chengdu and out to the more rural town of Dujiangyan. Along the way we had the pleasure of Worley's company and discussed the past, present and future of Chengdu. This one on one cultural exchange is something my wife and I value during our international travels as much as the must see sights. Worley is a terrific guide and she stayed with us throughout the day to help translate with the Panda center staff and take pictures for us. We helped our keeper care for two Pandas throughout the day, cleaning their outdoor and indoor enclosures, clearing the old bamboo and unloading and prepping the fresh bamboo. The two hand-feeding sessions were incredible and we had the opportunity to see the majority of the other Pandas during our tour of the grounds later in the morning. Note, do not go in the afternoons during the summer as most of the Pandas will be beating the heat indoors. The photo session with the 2 year old Panda was unforgettable and worth every penny especially since most of the funds go right back into the center and breeding efforts. Lunch at the onsite cafeteria was simple but delicious and we had plenty of time to take a breather in the 97 degree F heat of late August. If you're even considering this tour, book it, you won't regret it!!!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience visiting both panda research centers. Tour guide picked us promptly, was very knowledgable about the local city, the pandas, and the research centers. Given the distance of the hotel from the park where the holdings take place, I'm glad we had a driver take us there. Would recommend for anyone visiting Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

rmread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience for my daughter and me. It was very interesting and I learned a lot about pandas that I did not know. It was fun watching the young pandas play and run around.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The visit met our expectations, although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were taken to the center by private car.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Suchirana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had brilliant day volunteering at Panda Rescue Center. This is by far the best thing to do in Chengdu

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were picked up by a private car with our lovely tour guide who spoke perfect English and told us lots about the pandas and local area. She showed us around the facilities then brought us round each panda area and explained about their personalities, the conservation project, the area etc. We then had over an hours free time to go around ourselves. Then after we were brought round the side of the conservation project, dressed in gowns and gloves and a year old panda was brought out onto a bench where we sat down beside him and put an arm round him for 30 seconds for photos. This was very expensive. If you don't absolutely love pandas then just pay for the tour. However as I am OBSESSED and this was the number 1 item on my bucket list I am more than happy to have paid it :

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Renee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Guide and driver arrived at my hotel early so they were ready to go. Smooth ride in a very comfortable air conditioned car. Guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Tour and time with the panda were great, the guide handled everything perfectly. Absolute must for this once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend this tour. The service provider was easy to communicate with and answered emails and questions very quickly.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marco D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was all perfect, sharp pick up in the morning at the hotel, 90 minutes drive as highlighted on the description, very kind and prepared guide.
We chose the holding panda trip and it lasted 30 seconds but it was worth the money. All the staff also at the Breeding Center was very kind.
Ciao,
Marco

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Lucio D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. The tour guide and driver were superb. I would definitely do it again. Handling the Panda was the highlight of three weeks in China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! It was a quick trip for me in Chengdu so wanted to see as much as possible. Mars, my tour guide was excellent. Really friendly and informative. The pandas were amazing, especially the babies. Make sure you go early in the morning to see them being fed and awake!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marcia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Panda reserve was a lot of fun. We arrived prior to the tour buses so we were able to spend some time observing the pandas. Tour guides were great and accommodating. They were able to add a tour to the Giant Buddha without a problem and lunch. Very nice and relaxing day.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect tour! I was picked up early at my hotel, so that we could see the panda's in the morning when they are more active. It was a great experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing five start experience and family friendly. The staff were helpful and knowledgable, worth every penny! Def do the photo with a panda portion -- the absolute best!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Nicola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Superb tour with an excellent guide who was very knowledgeable about the pandas and the centre and allowed us as much time as we wanted to enjoy the pandas. Car used was high quality - overall would highly recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is an expensive day, especially if you have the photo too which I did and would highly recommend, plus much of that cost goes towards the wellbeing of pandas, but it is an amazing once in a lifetime, must-do, experience. cant recommend enough. This day will stay with me forever... but I do love pandas!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Rodjack Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing experience. To see the pandas up close, playing and eating, was great. Would recommend getting there early in the morning while they are awake and eating. Our guide was Andy and she was fantastic!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a really cool experience! I opted for the Baby Panda Holding, which as other commentators noted, is only a few minutes, and goes by really quickly. However, the whole trip was really cool, and I was really pleased with the service provider. My initial confirmation called for hotel pickup at 0730... but that didn't happen. Unfortunately, the Chinese gov't canceled the morning appointments unexpectedly they do own the pandas. However, we were rescheduled for the afternoon. My guide ended up dropping me off at the airport. On the way there, my guide and I chatted about Sichuan weather, culture, and norms. It was overall a fantastic exerience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Andy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very enjoyable tour, our guide Sam was very knowledgable about the local area and organised our day perfectly. Although the panda centre was our highlight, the monastery was very interesting and our rest in the park in the tea house was a lovely look into Chinese culture. I would recommend this tour, as we only had two days in Chengdu it was a fantastic way to spend a day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

marcella.martinez9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The baby panda holding was the best! I regret not doing the two day volunteer program.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great morning visiting the Panda Centre with Andi. Something you must do when you visit Chengdu. If you go early you can still avoid the crowds. Andi was great to talk to and gave me a better understanding of life in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

mliu01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is expensive but worth it! It gave my daughter and I opportunity to get close to the pandas. We had great fun feeding them...even cleaning the poop in the cage.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended. Jeli was a fantastic tour guide who was very fun and helpful. She taught me a lot about the pandas and made the whole trip an even nicer experience.

The experience of holding the panda was extremely quick and rushed, but a great moment nonetheless. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

BA pwd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

what a fantastic day - up close to the pandas! Not too many people, so perfect for those also to the pandas experiences, feeding them by hand etc. The work programme was pretty relaxed and low energy if you wanted - broke the day up nicely, great lunch in the workers canteen, excellent food! Overall a real highlight of our China/Tibet trip and highly recommended. our guide was a star, spoke excellent English and very helpful and knowledge able etc.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message