Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

Despite the giant panda’s status as a Chinese national treasure, the animal’s numbers have been reduced to just 3,000 individuals over the years, mainly thanks to mass human development over the last century. As a response to this ecological ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I'm originally from Ireland and have been living and working in China for the past three and a half years. This was my first trip to Chengdu so I didn't know the city that well,so decided to take a tour with this company. It was a great investment. My guide Cassie and driver promptly picked me up at 8.15 am and off we went to see the pandas. We went nice and early,not a huge crowd and got to see at least 20 of those special creatures enjoying their breakfast. I also saw some red pandas there,fascinating. After a wonderful stay of about three hours we went to the Wenshu Temple,a serene place where many Buddhists like to visit and pray. After a break for lunchconsisting of a selection of small Sichuan dishes we went to the Peoples Park and drank tea. It was quite busy with many locals doing the same as us. It rained a lot so Cassie and I sat there talking for about an hour. Her English skills are good and she told me many things about Chengdu and the daily life there. We finished the tour at the Kuanzhai Alleys,a vibrant and interesting place. Then I was driven back to my hotel after a thoroughly enjoyable experience. So glad I took the tour,it was good value,Cassie was very informative and able to answer any query and the driver was prompt and well organized. Couldn't have had a better introduction to Chengdu! : Recommended.

Doing what: 1-Day Panda Breeding Center Plus Chengdu City Tour

Alcibiades R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing to see so many pandas and be able to take a picture with one

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Veera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was helpful and friendly. Her English is good and she has information about how can we see pandas best. The pandas were so cute, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Everything Panda Private Day Tour in Chengdu

BRIAN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A wonderful lifetime experience. Our time to be with the young panda was very short, but so memorable. We both can highly recommend this trip to others who are lucky enough to be in the company of such a beautiful animal.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

colette b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My daughter and I booked the half-day tour of Chengdu and we happened to have Lily as our wonderful guide. Lily was prompt and cheery as she picked us up from the hotel in the morning, urging us to ask any questions we might have throughout the day. At the panda breeding center, she gave us lots of great tidbits on the park's history and operations, took us to several great panda viewing sites, and let us move through them at our own pace so that we never felt rushed. For lunch, Lily asked what kind of food and setting we were looking for and, when we said we were very open to new things, she suggested a simple, but unique vegetarian meal at a nunnery. Apart from being extremely delicious, the meal was definitely an unexpected highlight of the day as we shared the space in silence with the nuns and other diners. We then enjoyed a leisurely walk through the old section of Chengdu, stopping at shops and monasteries, and having all our questions met by very insightful responses from Lily. From there, Lily took us to the city center, showing us where we could buy post cards, pointing out local delicacies, and providing us a personal look into the dynamics of the city through her experience growing up there. To end the tour, she took us through the Railway Memorial Park, where she provided interesting backstory to the dance troupes and social groups meeting there. Finally, we had a nice, relaxing tea at the city's oldest teahouse, where Lily showed us proper tea etiquette and gave us an impromptu lesson on texting with Chinese characters. Upon saying goodbye, Lily reiterated that she liked to think of her tour guests as new friends and that we were free to contact her any time which we took her up on later that day in asking her for dinner suggestions. Her cheerfulness, openness, flexibility and attentiveness to our needs and style of traveling made her an impeccable guide, and the tour the best part of our visit to Chengdu. Thanks, Lily!

Doing what: 1-Day Panda Breeding Center Plus Chengdu City Tour

Bettina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would give this 10 stars if only I could!!! On a trip of superlatives, this stood out as the most magical one even though my partner did at some point trip and broke her wrist, sigh. Neil, our tour guide, was simply fantastic...he took such excellent care of us, at times I was trying to figure out how to smuggle him back home. Transportation was in a clean and spacious Land Cruiser, all of our memories were captured expertly by him on photo and video. The experience itself starts after appropriate gear is distributed and donned with cleaning out the Panda enclosures predictably messy in the morning. It was at this point that my partner tripped over a piece of bamboo, took a fairly hard spill and incurred a hairline fracture on her wrist which we didn't find out about until our return. Neil as well as the staff at the center couldn't have been more attentive, sourcing ice and generally tending to her every need. Not letting bad luck get in her way, we continued the day: the two feedings were our absolute favorite as these are not rushed. The photo opp which we added on on-site and in my mind, is a must...how many times in your life are you going to get THAT opportunity was not too rushed, either, but this depends on the number of participants: they use one panda and feed him/her bamboo shoots which will only keep them occupied for so long. This time must be divided among the participants...luckily, we had relatively few as it was off-season. You get a lot of opportunity to watch the Pandas between chores and the younger ones are very active and playful, especially after they had their lunch. Our own lunch was very flavorful and it was really fun being part of the staff, all of whom tried their very best to ensure that everyone had a good experience. After the day, we decided to have some x-rays taken at a local hospital unfortunately, they did not reveal the fracture because of the position it was in and this added a substantial amount of time. Neil stayed with us the whole time, translating and expediting the process...really, a gem of a tour guide and the crown jewel of things to do in China!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

ANTOINE G France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A fascinating journey with the pandas. The tour guide, Emma, was absolutely amazing and made our trip a great experience as her English is very good and it was easy to communicate. Emma has plenty of great information about pandas and has some secret tips about when and where to see them the best. The driver Mr Yan was also super nice. You have to do this visit and ask for Emma. She also helped us learning some basic Chinese words :

Doing what: Everything Panda Private Day Tour in Chengdu

Gregory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Jeni was a great guide. She and our driver were also very kind to let us change our itinerary around at the last moment, so we could also get to the panda preserve where we got our pictures taken with the pandas. Also great food tips. Wish we had more time to spend in Chengdu.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

John I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Getting to the panda centre early was a great advantage. While the centre is not crowded at this time of year it is still better to get there before the numbers build up. Nothing can beat the experience of seeing pandas in something approaching their natural habitat. And, the baby pandas are just incredible!
The number of venues visited in the city was just right there is no point in trying to pack in too much. It is only by a leisurely-paced walk around the streets, parks and markets that one can get a good feel for the city and its people.
The guide, Lily, was both charming and informative with excellent English and was able to explain various aspects of the local culture.

Doing what: 1-Day Panda Breeding Center Plus Chengdu City Tour

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super amazing! Once in a lifetime opportunity glad I did a tour as there are only a limited number of people who can go back with the Pandas thank you for an amazing tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Diane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our trip to Chengdu was amaaaaazzzziiingg!!! From the pick up with Martin at our hotel, to the Panda Research Base- early enough to catch some fun antics, to the Wide and Narrow Alleys and the Marriage Market at the People's Park- It was ALL Awesome! Well timed plans, a knowledgeable guide, and fun ensued! The best tour I've taken. We highly recommend Samtour and Martin!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

rakesh_87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing and the highlight of my trip so far. My tour guide Martin arrived promptly and met me at the hotel lobby on time and was very knowledgeable. The panda park is huge and he knew exactly where to go and what to do to avoid the crowds. I had my own driver in a nice car too!! Do it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Words will not express the joy and knowledge we gained from this experience. We felt part of the crew of this extraordinary reservation. They shared so much knowledge and understanding about the Panda and its unique evolutionary path. This was a wonderful experience for us and we hope more of you can contribute to this worthy cause, one that fills the soul.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

David B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very unique and educational experience with hard work involved. We were lucky to visit on a rainy day when the pandas were their most active. Our guide was helpful and friendly throughout the day and we had an amazing, one-of-a-kind experience.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jenny,our guide,arrived on time and showed us to our clean and comfortable car. In about 30 minutes we arrived at the Breeding Center where the car park seemed empty,but as Jenny explained better to get there early and beat the rush.As we were shown around the park Jenny gave us a running commentary of what we could see and was very knowledgeable about the Center and the Pandas themselves.We saw two different lots of the baby Pandas and a lot of Pandas feeding. We were also lucky enough to see the Pandas climbing up a tree and having a bit of a fight as one didn't want to give up its spot in the tree , could have watch them all day . All in all a great day out,a big thank you to Jenny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gae P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an early start as we went golden week and it was the right thig to do. We got there before the crowds and it was amazing. The pandas we feeding and active got some great video. Our guide was great and knew exactly wher to go to get the best viewing.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Tony Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. Although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds.
Our guide Woley , she was an excellent guide.
Highly recommended if you love Panda.
This trip worth every penny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Rachelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had such an amazing time on this trip. The guide Andy was so knowledgeable and passionate about the conservation of the Pandas as well as excellent English. She even helped me with some other questions I had as this was my first stop in China. I know this tour is expensive to some people but it is worth every cent! Years from now I will still cherish the photo of me with the young Panda! Thanks Viator for the great reccomendation

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and enjoyed this very much. It was such an awesome experience! We ended up paying for one picture with the panda once we got there. The money goes back to the Reacue Center so felt it was a worthy cause. Worley was a great guide and never left our side. Would hightly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour went like clockwork, Worley, our guide, was waiting in the lobby at 7.20 and off we went. Easy trip out in a comfortable, air conditioned car, essential at this time of year, you will melt! Backstage entry into the centre, made it feel special, then on to the Pandas! My wife loved it and had been counting down by the day, it made her trip. Although brief, the Panda cuddle was amazing for her, worth every penny. Worley was an excellent guide, with great English and gave us other Chengdu tips, she loves the Pandas! It was great to have a real conversation with a Chinese resident, she taught us a lot about Chinese life, lovely girl. Once you get your head around the price, this trip is a must, if in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! This is currently the only place in the world that allows such close contact with such an amazing animal. Sam's email communications were quick and spot-on. Our fabulous guide Worley and our driver met us in our hotel lobby right on time and we enjoyed a pleasant drive through Chengdu and out to the more rural town of Dujiangyan. Along the way we had the pleasure of Worley's company and discussed the past, present and future of Chengdu. This one on one cultural exchange is something my wife and I value during our international travels as much as the must see sights. Worley is a terrific guide and she stayed with us throughout the day to help translate with the Panda center staff and take pictures for us. We helped our keeper care for two Pandas throughout the day, cleaning their outdoor and indoor enclosures, clearing the old bamboo and unloading and prepping the fresh bamboo. The two hand-feeding sessions were incredible and we had the opportunity to see the majority of the other Pandas during our tour of the grounds later in the morning. Note, do not go in the afternoons during the summer as most of the Pandas will be beating the heat indoors. The photo session with the 2 year old Panda was unforgettable and worth every penny especially since most of the funds go right back into the center and breeding efforts. Lunch at the onsite cafeteria was simple but delicious and we had plenty of time to take a breather in the 97 degree F heat of late August. If you're even considering this tour, book it, you won't regret it!!!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience visiting both panda research centers. Tour guide picked us promptly, was very knowledgable about the local city, the pandas, and the research centers. Given the distance of the hotel from the park where the holdings take place, I'm glad we had a driver take us there. Would recommend for anyone visiting Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

rmread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience for my daughter and me. It was very interesting and I learned a lot about pandas that I did not know. It was fun watching the young pandas play and run around.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The visit met our expectations, although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were taken to the center by private car.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Suchirana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had brilliant day volunteering at Panda Rescue Center. This is by far the best thing to do in Chengdu

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message