Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super amazing! Once in a lifetime opportunity glad I did a tour as there are only a limited number of people who can go back with the Pandas thank you for an amazing tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Diane F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our trip to Chengdu was amaaaaazzzziiingg!!! From the pick up with Martin at our hotel, to the Panda Research Base- early enough to catch some fun antics, to the Wide and Narrow Alleys and the Marriage Market at the People's Park- It was ALL Awesome! Well timed plans, a knowledgeable guide, and fun ensued! The best tour I've taken. We highly recommend Samtour and Martin!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

rakesh_87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing and the highlight of my trip so far. My tour guide Martin arrived promptly and met me at the hotel lobby on time and was very knowledgeable. The panda park is huge and he knew exactly where to go and what to do to avoid the crowds. I had my own driver in a nice car too!! Do it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Words will not express the joy and knowledge we gained from this experience. We felt part of the crew of this extraordinary reservation. They shared so much knowledge and understanding about the Panda and its unique evolutionary path. This was a wonderful experience for us and we hope more of you can contribute to this worthy cause, one that fills the soul.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

David B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very unique and educational experience with hard work involved. We were lucky to visit on a rainy day when the pandas were their most active. Our guide was helpful and friendly throughout the day and we had an amazing, one-of-a-kind experience.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jenny,our guide,arrived on time and showed us to our clean and comfortable car. In about 30 minutes we arrived at the Breeding Center where the car park seemed empty,but as Jenny explained better to get there early and beat the rush.As we were shown around the park Jenny gave us a running commentary of what we could see and was very knowledgeable about the Center and the Pandas themselves.We saw two different lots of the baby Pandas and a lot of Pandas feeding. We were also lucky enough to see the Pandas climbing up a tree and having a bit of a fight as one didn't want to give up its spot in the tree , could have watch them all day . All in all a great day out,a big thank you to Jenny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gae P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an early start as we went golden week and it was the right thig to do. We got there before the crowds and it was amazing. The pandas we feeding and active got some great video. Our guide was great and knew exactly wher to go to get the best viewing.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Tony Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. Although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds.
Our guide Woley , she was an excellent guide.
Highly recommended if you love Panda.
This trip worth every penny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Rachelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had such an amazing time on this trip. The guide Andy was so knowledgeable and passionate about the conservation of the Pandas as well as excellent English. She even helped me with some other questions I had as this was my first stop in China. I know this tour is expensive to some people but it is worth every cent! Years from now I will still cherish the photo of me with the young Panda! Thanks Viator for the great reccomendation

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and enjoyed this very much. It was such an awesome experience! We ended up paying for one picture with the panda once we got there. The money goes back to the Reacue Center so felt it was a worthy cause. Worley was a great guide and never left our side. Would hightly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour went like clockwork, Worley, our guide, was waiting in the lobby at 7.20 and off we went. Easy trip out in a comfortable, air conditioned car, essential at this time of year, you will melt! Backstage entry into the centre, made it feel special, then on to the Pandas! My wife loved it and had been counting down by the day, it made her trip. Although brief, the Panda cuddle was amazing for her, worth every penny. Worley was an excellent guide, with great English and gave us other Chengdu tips, she loves the Pandas! It was great to have a real conversation with a Chinese resident, she taught us a lot about Chinese life, lovely girl. Once you get your head around the price, this trip is a must, if in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! This is currently the only place in the world that allows such close contact with such an amazing animal. Sam's email communications were quick and spot-on. Our fabulous guide Worley and our driver met us in our hotel lobby right on time and we enjoyed a pleasant drive through Chengdu and out to the more rural town of Dujiangyan. Along the way we had the pleasure of Worley's company and discussed the past, present and future of Chengdu. This one on one cultural exchange is something my wife and I value during our international travels as much as the must see sights. Worley is a terrific guide and she stayed with us throughout the day to help translate with the Panda center staff and take pictures for us. We helped our keeper care for two Pandas throughout the day, cleaning their outdoor and indoor enclosures, clearing the old bamboo and unloading and prepping the fresh bamboo. The two hand-feeding sessions were incredible and we had the opportunity to see the majority of the other Pandas during our tour of the grounds later in the morning. Note, do not go in the afternoons during the summer as most of the Pandas will be beating the heat indoors. The photo session with the 2 year old Panda was unforgettable and worth every penny especially since most of the funds go right back into the center and breeding efforts. Lunch at the onsite cafeteria was simple but delicious and we had plenty of time to take a breather in the 97 degree F heat of late August. If you're even considering this tour, book it, you won't regret it!!!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience visiting both panda research centers. Tour guide picked us promptly, was very knowledgable about the local city, the pandas, and the research centers. Given the distance of the hotel from the park where the holdings take place, I'm glad we had a driver take us there. Would recommend for anyone visiting Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

rmread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience for my daughter and me. It was very interesting and I learned a lot about pandas that I did not know. It was fun watching the young pandas play and run around.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The visit met our expectations, although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were taken to the center by private car.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Suchirana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had brilliant day volunteering at Panda Rescue Center. This is by far the best thing to do in Chengdu

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were picked up by a private car with our lovely tour guide who spoke perfect English and told us lots about the pandas and local area. She showed us around the facilities then brought us round each panda area and explained about their personalities, the conservation project, the area etc. We then had over an hours free time to go around ourselves. Then after we were brought round the side of the conservation project, dressed in gowns and gloves and a year old panda was brought out onto a bench where we sat down beside him and put an arm round him for 30 seconds for photos. This was very expensive. If you don't absolutely love pandas then just pay for the tour. However as I am OBSESSED and this was the number 1 item on my bucket list I am more than happy to have paid it :

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Renee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Guide and driver arrived at my hotel early so they were ready to go. Smooth ride in a very comfortable air conditioned car. Guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Tour and time with the panda were great, the guide handled everything perfectly. Absolute must for this once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend this tour. The service provider was easy to communicate with and answered emails and questions very quickly.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marco D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was all perfect, sharp pick up in the morning at the hotel, 90 minutes drive as highlighted on the description, very kind and prepared guide.
We chose the holding panda trip and it lasted 30 seconds but it was worth the money. All the staff also at the Breeding Center was very kind.
Ciao,
Marco

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Lucio D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. The tour guide and driver were superb. I would definitely do it again. Handling the Panda was the highlight of three weeks in China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! It was a quick trip for me in Chengdu so wanted to see as much as possible. Mars, my tour guide was excellent. Really friendly and informative. The pandas were amazing, especially the babies. Make sure you go early in the morning to see them being fed and awake!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Marcia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Panda reserve was a lot of fun. We arrived prior to the tour buses so we were able to spend some time observing the pandas. Tour guides were great and accommodating. They were able to add a tour to the Giant Buddha without a problem and lunch. Very nice and relaxing day.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect tour! I was picked up early at my hotel, so that we could see the panda's in the morning when they are more active. It was a great experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing five start experience and family friendly. The staff were helpful and knowledgable, worth every penny! Def do the photo with a panda portion -- the absolute best!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message