The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour! Great organisation. We had a private pick up from the hotel. Total time was 3 hours. Worth every cent. Don't think, just book!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

David B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very unique and educational experience with hard work involved. We were lucky to visit on a rainy day when the pandas were their most active. Our guide was helpful and friendly throughout the day and we had an amazing, one-of-a-kind experience.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Words will not express the joy and knowledge we gained from this experience. We felt part of the crew of this extraordinary reservation. They shared so much knowledge and understanding about the Panda and its unique evolutionary path. This was a wonderful experience for us and we hope more of you can contribute to this worthy cause, one that fills the soul.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Kimberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Super amazing! Once in a lifetime opportunity glad I did a tour as there are only a limited number of people who can go back with the Pandas thank you for an amazing tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Tony Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. Although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds.
Our guide Woley , she was an excellent guide.
Highly recommended if you love Panda.
This trip worth every penny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was great, Jenny, our guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gae P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an early start as we went golden week and it was the right thig to do. We got there before the crowds and it was amazing. The pandas we feeding and active got some great video. Our guide was great and knew exactly wher to go to get the best viewing.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Alan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jenny,our guide,arrived on time and showed us to our clean and comfortable car. In about 30 minutes we arrived at the Breeding Center where the car park seemed empty,but as Jenny explained better to get there early and beat the rush.As we were shown around the park Jenny gave us a running commentary of what we could see and was very knowledgeable about the Center and the Pandas themselves.We saw two different lots of the baby Pandas and a lot of Pandas feeding. We were also lucky enough to see the Pandas climbing up a tree and having a bit of a fight as one didn't want to give up its spot in the tree , could have watch them all day . All in all a great day out,a big thank you to Jenny.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

emerykf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was GREAT! I can't say enough good things about it! Our tour guide for the day was from a farming family in the area, and had clearly done a lot of homework before our tour to be sure he knew all about the tea process. His English was excellent, and he was willing to go the extra mile to try and answer any questions he didn't know the answers to. The best guide ever!!! This trip provides a special opportunity to get away from the city and experience something very different indeed - well off the beaten track. The scenery during the drive was lovely and the location/host family farm was beautiful. Our tea-farmer hosts were super wonderful and took us through the entire process from harvest to drinking and we got to try our hand at the making ourselves! Not only that, but they cooked us a fabulous meal that was better than any we'd had on our whole trip. We definitely recommend this trip for everyone and congratulate the organizers, guide, and family hosts for a magnificent experience!!! Tea picking season is actually the spring, so if you want to make the best tea, do the trip then - but even our hosts admitted that despite the wrong season and our dreadful picking capabilities - our tea was still quite acceptable. So any time of year will work.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Private Tea-Making Tour of Mengdingshan Tea Plantation

deborah H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I decided to take the VIP option on this tour which included either an ear grooming, Chinese massage or make up/dress up option. We opted for the Chinese massage, which was an interesting massage.
The environment was unique and enchanting and we were served our tea on arrival.
The show itself was for an hour and a half but the time seemed to fly by.
It was very entertaining and combined face changing, opera, music, tricks, a clever show with some Chinese slap stick. My favourite part was the face changing. I was truly impressed.
A nice evening of entertainment.

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

emerykf

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Wow! Pandas! This was such a great experience - the early hour was important because the center grounds filled quickly and the temperature was cooler, but the pandas were so worth it! Remember that the time of year will determine what age pandas you see since they are born in late summer and by 3 months when we saw them are already fairly large adorable fuzzy balls. The grounds of the facility are lovely though it's quite a bit of walking there were cars available so if you have problems with walking, ask your guide to help you take those instead. Also several of the locations were closed, so keep in mind you won't necessarily see it all on any one visit. Our guide Sam was really well informed about the pandas and the facility and we really appreciated his insider info on where to get the best views!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

emerykf

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour although pretty long since flying adds extra hours at each end of the trip, meaning that there wasn't quite enough time for all the things we would have liked to linger over. The Terracotta Warriors are amazing of course, and the lunch at the Museum was fun since we could see noodles being made. Our guide Coffee took us first to see the archaeologists in action which was a fabulous opportunity for us! Our City Wall visit was short for lack of time and lack of visibility on that day, but that was fine. Coffee was full of information at both stops about the military details and that enhanced both stops. It might be helpful to read up a bit on the Warriors though to be sure you have the background since you might not get enough info from your guide depending on your interests. Our final stop at the Muslim Quarter was too rushed because I'd spent so much time enjoying the Warriors the main reason for my trip, so my own fault but I wish we'd had more time there. What an amazing place!! We were there close to dinner time so the place was packed with people enjoying the ambiance and food! If you want enough time to really enjoy all these locations, and the ones we missed, I'd suggest you take a couple days instead. But if you only have one short day as we did, this packs in a lot of the highlights!

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

Mell On

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Probably a must-do in Chengdu but the tour is not that interesting. A lot of walking under the rain. Bring an umbrella if potential for rain, tour doesn't have any extras. Tour doesn't omit the crowds which get especially thick when viewing the babies. Pick-up and drop-off were great. Overall ok and thankfully not too long.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour went like clockwork, Worley, our guide, was waiting in the lobby at 7.20 and off we went. Easy trip out in a comfortable, air conditioned car, essential at this time of year, you will melt! Backstage entry into the centre, made it feel special, then on to the Pandas! My wife loved it and had been counting down by the day, it made her trip. Although brief, the Panda cuddle was amazing for her, worth every penny. Worley was an excellent guide, with great English and gave us other Chengdu tips, she loves the Pandas! It was great to have a real conversation with a Chinese resident, she taught us a lot about Chinese life, lovely girl. Once you get your head around the price, this trip is a must, if in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and enjoyed this very much. It was such an awesome experience! We ended up paying for one picture with the panda once we got there. The money goes back to the Reacue Center so felt it was a worthy cause. Worley was a great guide and never left our side. Would hightly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Rachelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had such an amazing time on this trip. The guide Andy was so knowledgeable and passionate about the conservation of the Pandas as well as excellent English. She even helped me with some other questions I had as this was my first stop in China. I know this tour is expensive to some people but it is worth every cent! Years from now I will still cherish the photo of me with the young Panda! Thanks Viator for the great reccomendation

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience visiting both panda research centers. Tour guide picked us promptly, was very knowledgable about the local city, the pandas, and the research centers. Given the distance of the hotel from the park where the holdings take place, I'm glad we had a driver take us there. Would recommend for anyone visiting Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! This is currently the only place in the world that allows such close contact with such an amazing animal. Sam's email communications were quick and spot-on. Our fabulous guide Worley and our driver met us in our hotel lobby right on time and we enjoyed a pleasant drive through Chengdu and out to the more rural town of Dujiangyan. Along the way we had the pleasure of Worley's company and discussed the past, present and future of Chengdu. This one on one cultural exchange is something my wife and I value during our international travels as much as the must see sights. Worley is a terrific guide and she stayed with us throughout the day to help translate with the Panda center staff and take pictures for us. We helped our keeper care for two Pandas throughout the day, cleaning their outdoor and indoor enclosures, clearing the old bamboo and unloading and prepping the fresh bamboo. The two hand-feeding sessions were incredible and we had the opportunity to see the majority of the other Pandas during our tour of the grounds later in the morning. Note, do not go in the afternoons during the summer as most of the Pandas will be beating the heat indoors. The photo session with the 2 year old Panda was unforgettable and worth every penny especially since most of the funds go right back into the center and breeding efforts. Lunch at the onsite cafeteria was simple but delicious and we had plenty of time to take a breather in the 97 degree F heat of late August. If you're even considering this tour, book it, you won't regret it!!!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

OscarEvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Extraordinary adventure! Our guide was very knowledgeable and very polite. It was an outstanding service and will probably book further tours with them in the future.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

IRENE B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was nice, specially the last parts of the show

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Tour guide was amazing. Be prepared for a long hike and bring extra water.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

SO MUCH FUN AND A GREAT SHOW !!

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were picked up by a private car with our lovely tour guide who spoke perfect English and told us lots about the pandas and local area. She showed us around the facilities then brought us round each panda area and explained about their personalities, the conservation project, the area etc. We then had over an hours free time to go around ourselves. Then after we were brought round the side of the conservation project, dressed in gowns and gloves and a year old panda was brought out onto a bench where we sat down beside him and put an arm round him for 30 seconds for photos. This was very expensive. If you don't absolutely love pandas then just pay for the tour. However as I am OBSESSED and this was the number 1 item on my bucket list I am more than happy to have paid it :

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message