The fifth largest city in a country of over a billion people, Chengdu rarely sees a moment where there isn’t something happening. More than just a metropolis of businessmen, the city which first gave the world paper currency (the jiao zi in 1023) is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic experience visiting both panda research centers. Tour guide picked us promptly, was very knowledgable about the local city, the pandas, and the research centers. Given the distance of the hotel from the park where the holdings take place, I'm glad we had a driver take us there. Would recommend for anyone visiting Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

doug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Once in a lifetime experience! This is currently the only place in the world that allows such close contact with such an amazing animal. Sam's email communications were quick and spot-on. Our fabulous guide Worley and our driver met us in our hotel lobby right on time and we enjoyed a pleasant drive through Chengdu and out to the more rural town of Dujiangyan. Along the way we had the pleasure of Worley's company and discussed the past, present and future of Chengdu. This one on one cultural exchange is something my wife and I value during our international travels as much as the must see sights. Worley is a terrific guide and she stayed with us throughout the day to help translate with the Panda center staff and take pictures for us. We helped our keeper care for two Pandas throughout the day, cleaning their outdoor and indoor enclosures, clearing the old bamboo and unloading and prepping the fresh bamboo. The two hand-feeding sessions were incredible and we had the opportunity to see the majority of the other Pandas during our tour of the grounds later in the morning. Note, do not go in the afternoons during the summer as most of the Pandas will be beating the heat indoors. The photo session with the 2 year old Panda was unforgettable and worth every penny especially since most of the funds go right back into the center and breeding efforts. Lunch at the onsite cafeteria was simple but delicious and we had plenty of time to take a breather in the 97 degree F heat of late August. If you're even considering this tour, book it, you won't regret it!!!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

IRENE B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was nice, specially the last parts of the show

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. Tour guide was amazing. Be prepared for a long hike and bring extra water.

Doing what: Qingcheng Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation System Day Trip from Chengdu

Patricia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

SO MUCH FUN AND A GREAT SHOW !!

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were picked up by a private car with our lovely tour guide who spoke perfect English and told us lots about the pandas and local area. She showed us around the facilities then brought us round each panda area and explained about their personalities, the conservation project, the area etc. We then had over an hours free time to go around ourselves. Then after we were brought round the side of the conservation project, dressed in gowns and gloves and a year old panda was brought out onto a bench where we sat down beside him and put an arm round him for 30 seconds for photos. This was very expensive. If you don't absolutely love pandas then just pay for the tour. However as I am OBSESSED and this was the number 1 item on my bucket list I am more than happy to have paid it :

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Suchirana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had brilliant day volunteering at Panda Rescue Center. This is by far the best thing to do in Chengdu

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Marina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The visit met our expectations, although you only get to sit with the panda for 20 seconds. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were taken to the center by private car.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

rmread

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience for my daughter and me. It was very interesting and I learned a lot about pandas that I did not know. It was fun watching the young pandas play and run around.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

P H Daniel C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Actual tour as per expectation at time of booking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

janetwoollard

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very enjoyable day, however, there was a lot of waiting around without anything to do. Our guide was very good, she ensured that we had a full day at the rescue center and ensured that we were able to take part in all activities.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! It was a quick trip for me in Chengdu so wanted to see as much as possible. Mars, my tour guide was excellent. Really friendly and informative. The pandas were amazing, especially the babies. Make sure you go early in the morning to see them being fed and awake!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Andre D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the price and great experience !

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Renee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Guide and driver arrived at my hotel early so they were ready to go. Smooth ride in a very comfortable air conditioned car. Guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Tour and time with the panda were great, the guide handled everything perfectly. Absolute must for this once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend this tour. The service provider was easy to communicate with and answered emails and questions very quickly.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Adrianne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Sichuan Opera was fantastic! Definitely a must see in Chengdu!! The whole night was very entertaining!

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Marco D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was all perfect, sharp pick up in the morning at the hotel, 90 minutes drive as highlighted on the description, very kind and prepared guide.
We chose the holding panda trip and it lasted 30 seconds but it was worth the money. All the staff also at the Breeding Center was very kind.
Ciao,
Marco

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Lucio D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. The tour guide and driver were superb. I would definitely do it again. Handling the Panda was the highlight of three weeks in China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Glynis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip from Vhengdu to Cian was superb. The taxi arrived early to take us to the airport and gave us our e tickets. I think this information should have been given to us prior the this as I was worried we wouldn't get the the airport. We were met in Xian by an excellent guide called Rosa and her driver. Rosa's knowledge was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the Terracotta Warriors, City Wall and My slim Street. Our flight back was good and the driver was there to meet us on arrival as arranged. We would recommend Viator and will book with them again.

Doing what: Xi'an in One Day: Terracotta Warriors, City Wall Day Trip from Chengdu by Air

Amelia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really liked the show, would recommend seeing it.

Doing what: Sichuan Opera in Chengdu

Linda T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was willing to tailor the trip to our wishes. She was informed and very pleasant her English was excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect tour! I was picked up early at my hotel, so that we could see the panda's in the morning when they are more active. It was a great experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Kelli G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Not to be missed!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message