Sichuan cuisine has become one of the most popular types of food in China thanks to its bold and fiery flavors, and the best place to sample authentic Sichuan dishes is at the heart of the province in Chengdu. Here are a few foods and activities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Chef Qiao and his family welcomed me into their home to cook authentic Chinese food. Chef was extremely knowledgeable and I enjoyed learning about the subtleties of Sichuan food from him. Even though I've been eating Sichuan food for years, I finally learned how Sichuan food strives to balance 5 fundamental flavors and that not all Sichuan food is spicy. I highly recommend learning to cook from Chef Qiao.

Doing what: Private Half-Day Chengdu Tour of Market Visit and Cooking Class

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cooking class was very easy to follow and I am confident that I will be able to replicate dishes once I am back home.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Janelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great tour! We loved visiting the local restaurants and eating truly local food. Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about Sichuan food and provided a unique experience we won and #39;t forget.

Doing what: Chengdu Evening Food Tour by TukTuk

Drew R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My boyfriend and I booked this about a day in advance. Samtours was quick to respond about arranging hotel pickup. The taxi driver was ontime and dropped us off at Holly's Hostel, which is close to Wuhouci and the Jinli walking street area. Some of the ingredients like tofu and green onions were pre-chopped and the garlic and ginger had already been peeled which made the cooking go fast. I took notes on the preparation and recipe as the instructor lead us through them. Each one took 15-20 minutes for the two of us to prepare and were delicious. We made mapo doufu, sweet and sour pork, kungpao chicken, and dumplings. The mapo dofu was my favorite and the sweet and sour pork was my bf's favorite. Looking at the hostel menu, we could have ordered these for about 100 RMB, but I definitely intend to make all of these again and the recipes are pretty simple and easy to follow, so I thought the tour was money well spent. We were done around noon this was the lunch session.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Meghan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This cooking trip was run by Samtour and it couldn't have gone better. I was picked up at my hotel right on time and the Chef/driver spoke perfect english. His home was much nicer than mine and he made me feel very comfortable. We cooked mapo tofu, kung pao chicken, and twice cooked pork... All very delicious.

I will definitely use him in the future. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

phillip s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by Jeli my guide and companion for the evening. Jeli led me through the options for the famous Sichuan hotpot. The meal was very good and she was lovely company. Afterwards we walked around the park to the Chengdu Opera. I enjoyed the show and was then returned to my hotel A wonderful start to my short stay in Chengdu

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Bart Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Nice and interesting cooking class,
Pretty expensive
our group was just the two of us, so the cooking class was at the chef his home.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Ariel D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The food was great the show was great. I wish our tour guide would've explained more about what we were eating and what was going on with the show/performances.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Phillip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and we drove to the hot pot restaurant. We had lots of fun, it was in a beautiful position overlooking the river. Andy helped us choose the different food we were putting in the hot pot and helped us know when they were cooked. After this we went on to the Sichuan culture show. Andy had explained about the show beforehand so we understood what we happening. The show was very colourful and entertaining, a perfect night in Chengdu!

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic.... we had a brilliant time. Many thanks for the tour.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

mitchkaufman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Could not want a better experience, Easy cooking directions and recipes. Hands on experience.
Food as good as any I have had at restaurants.
In fact I made one of the dishes almost immediately on my return home.
It received rave reviews.
If you enjoy cooking or even eating a worthwhile experience

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

vivienne b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a great night we enjoyed hot pot. The cultural show magical

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Andy Bud

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant
Good english speaking guide
Good humour
Small group
Tasty dishes
Recipies to repeat at home.
I would recommend to friends

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Amy J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class. I was the only student that day and asked if we could substitute gong pao chicken dish as I had learned to make that previously. The chef was very accommodating and gave me a couple of different options. In the end, we made four different dishes including mapu tofu, twice cooked pork, dandan noodles, and pork ribs with potatoes.

The class was taught at the chef's home with an ayi present to help with the dishes. The chef's English was very good. If you are looking for a fun way to learn more about the local dishes, this is an excellent option and I feel that I could make some of these at home too.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Mark J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I've done lots of cooking courses, but none quite like this. The driver picked us up promptly, but didn't speak much if any English. So no real idea where we were headed. We went to a simple but clean guesthouse with cafe. The cooking was all done in the cafe's little kitchen. The dished we cooked were all simple home cooking - nothing complicated. The teacher had a little English, but she had a helper who translated.

If you're looking for a lot of explanation of ingredients or how the flavours fit together, this probably isn't for you. But if you're looking for an idea of what a home cook would do in pleasant and clean surroundings, this is a great experience. The staff were friendly, helpful and it was great fun. The dishes we cooked were Kung Pao Chicken, sweet and sour pork (not the sickly sweet variety, but actually a really good dish), eggplant Sichuan style and pork dumplings. We got the recipes to take home.

Well worth it. M

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Jackiex

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I did the morning class. I got picked up on time and taken to a working kitchen in a hostel. Everything was ready and although the chef had limited english, she knew all the necessary words. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Avoid eating breakfast if you do the morning slot, the cooking starts as soon as you get their and you eat each dish as you cook it. Would definetley recommend.

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

MauriesMum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour! Got picked up at my hotel and taken to a family run cafe! Asked if I could change one of the dishes which they were more then happy to accommodate ... Definitely recommend it if u are a foodie who wants to interact with the locals!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Rachael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very nice, even though I didn't know chinese. Face changing, shadow puppets and puppets were my favorite. Food was great and not as greasy as the hot pot I've had in Shanghai

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Howard M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was really lovely, and most informative on Sichuan lifestyle and culture. Dinner was superb - believe it when they say Sichuan food is spicy! The show had some great acts - the puppets were brilliant, the acrobatics were unbelievable and the final act - well you have to see it for yourself! (Some of the other acts were a bit ordinary though.) Over all a most enjoyable evening, however we thought it a bit strange that the guide AND the driver tucked into dinner with us at our table. On our (many) other tours the guide has sometimes joined us, but never the driver as well. We had been told that our meal was very special and too expensive for local people, so we felt our Viator payment had covered an extra meal.

Doing what: Sichuan Culture Show and Hot Pot Dinner in Chengdu

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Had a great time and the staff was friendly and full of humor. We went to the market to learn about the food firsthand, then we made delicious versions of typical Sichuan dishes. Thanks!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a fantastic experience! I think I am a qualified Sichuan chef now!

Doing what: Experience Chengdu: Sichuan Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message