Home to many of India’s manufacturing plants and IT companies, Chennai, the country’s fourth largest city, makes a great home base for a handful of excellent excursions in the area. When you’re not day tripping around Tamil Nadu, there’s plenty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Florence N

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I have given this tour only three stars because it was very rushed and completed in less than two hours. This is through no fault of the guide. He was given the wrong information by the local office and we started out on the wrong your outside Chennai. By lunchtime, the mistake was realised and pointed out to the guide who phoned the Delhi office for confirmation of what I said. We then commenced the two hour drive back to Chennai. The guide did what he could to salvage the situation. We enjoyed seeing what the guide showed us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Ann T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience. The tour guide was very knowledge and explain both the culture and the artefacts is was presenting. I got to see lot of the main sights. The car was lovely and air conditioned, and the lunch was in a fantastic restaurant. All in all, a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day Chennai Sightseeing with Government Museum and Kapaleeshwar Temple

Curtis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guides were prompt, professional and spoke very good English. Very knowledgeable and flexible around stopping at sights on the way to and from the temples.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

Ann-Cathrine S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The daytrip to se the tempels in Kanchipuram was very interesting and we had good oportunities to take photos. A visit to the silk market was also included in the trip but we were not aware of this. After having visited a family who made saris we were taken to a shop were we were expected to do some shopping. This situation wasnt comfortable for us. We ended the day with a tastey vegeterian indian meal before hedding back to Chenai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Kanchipuram Temple City from Chennai

mariewuji

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It was a good tour. I had a very knowledgeable and professional young lady as a guide, a nice car and driver and the tour was worthwhile. I saw a lot in four hours. It will not have been the same, doing it on my own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day Chennai Sightseeing with Government Museum and Kapaleeshwar Temple

Candida d

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The guide was very knowledgeable! The driver was very reliable. I felt very safe at all times. I saw all the major attractions in Chennai and had a lovely lunch!
The problem is that they didn't arrive at the agreed time. In fact, I think that they forgot about me! Luckily the hotel staff helped me by calling the local agent Apollo and I think the tour was organized right there and then! I had tried to confirm the tour by email as advised but my email was never acknowledged. I suggest that you call the local agent and speak with someone directly and confirm the tour and pick-up time. It's well worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Jamie E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

After confirming the tour a week in advance, I was disappointed that the driver was not at the hotel to pick us up at 9 a.m., the pre-arranged meeting time. The hotel was wonderful and called the number that had been provided, only to find out that the number belonged to someone in New Delhi. That person gave the hotel another number to call that was based in Chennai, and contacted them to inform them that we were waiting on our driver. The driver then showed up an hour after the initially agreed upon time at 10 a.m.

We went to the Government Museum and our tour guide was terrific although based on her comments it was evident that the tour was put together at the last minute. She was extremely knowledgeable and made the day very enjoyable. Unfortunately, it seemed that neither the driver nor the guide knew the itinerary. After the Government Museum, we went to the Kapaleeshwar Temple, and then to Fort St. George, followed by a late lunch. We were dropped back at the hotel by 3:30 p.m. which was a much shorter day than we had anticipated and paid for. We missed out on the experiences of visiting the Madras High Court, the Ripon Building, and the flower market that had been promised.

I was so disappointed, as this was our only day in Chennai for sightseeing and given my previous experiences with Viator, failed to meet my expectations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Coleen N G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Guide was super friendly and very knowledgeable. Especially good if you don't have much time in Chennai, but want to get a taste of something other than the city itself. We are glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

Raghavendra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was excellent. The driver picked us on time. The guide at Pondicherry was very knowledgeable.
Both went above and beyond to give us the best tour possible.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pondicherry Day Trip from Chennai

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely driver, went above and beyond to make our trip great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pondicherry Day Trip from Chennai

susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was excellent. Both guide and driver were very knowledgeable, spoke good English and made sure we had seen everything on the itinerary and some! Lunch was a great experience with good local vegetarian ingredients. Would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting Chennai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour! Our guide and driver were very attentive and courteous. They even worked it out to pick us up at the port and then drop us off at the airport. We highly recommend using Viatour. They have many options and will work for you from all over the world!

Doing what: Private Tour: Half-Day Chennai Sightseeing with Government Museum and Kapaleeshwar Temple

Ryan

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was very interesting to see, a couple+ hours out of town with good photo ops.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice en compete tour! Very nice and friendly guide! Nice restaurant, no problems, thank you!

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

SANA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I enjoyed the visit a lot and specially that the guide was so expert and he gave me lots of information about the place. It was a well organised journey to that must see place.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

SANA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide did an excellent job and told me in details what the fort,the peacock temple and the museum about.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

ESTHER V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

The tour guide was exceptional but the back end service was appalling. First , they did not contact me to reconfirm my tour although i had sent them an email to reconfirm my tour. In their reply to my email they said someone from their Chennai office will contact me and I waited until one day before tour and still no contact. I had to call Delhi long distance to confirm my tour. Slack service . The only positive was that the guide they gave us was outstanding.

Doing what: Private Cultural Tour: Day Trip to Mahabalipuram and Dakshinachitra from Chennai

David

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Exceeded expectations. Guide really knew the detail history and his English was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chennai Sightseeing Including Fort St George and Government Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message