Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Temple-hopping, river rafting and elephant trekking are just some of the activities that make Chiang Mai northern Thailand’s most popular destination. Day 1: Walls and Temples The large square you see on a map doesn’t just define central Chiang ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kimberly.irene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time on our day trip to Myanmar and the Golden Triangle! We LOVED stopped at the tea plantation in Chiang Rai-- wow! It was beautiful and the tea and snack that we had were delicious. Our guide, I'm not sure how to spell his name but we pronounced it like Chucky he spoke great English and he was very knowledgeable about everything we did on our tour. Tip: Don't forget your immigration card when you bring your passport to cross the border into Myanmar- you will need that. We loved the food, the temples in Myanmar, the shopping, and the views were beautiful in the Golden Triangle. Our guide was great with photos and everything. Opium museum wasn't my favorite--- but I'm not really big into museums. I would highly recommend this private tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Michael K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour - highly recommended. This is a LONG tour, c. 14 hours, so you need to be prepared! But my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The opportunity to get a flavour of what northern Thailand is about was met by this trip, being able to watch the changing countryside from rolling, high hills to flat and wet paddy fields, and the amazing variety of fruits and vegetables produced and sold on the roadside in this luscious area. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful, and keen to point out things of note en route.
Stops for the Hot Springs, White Temple amazing!, lunch, and the Thai/Burma border were of great interest, though the stop for the hill tribes did leave us feeling somewhat voyeuristic.
Top of the bill for me, though, was the Golden Triangle viewpoint looking out over the Mekong to Laos and Burma - stunning in the late evening sunlight. It certainly made the 3.5 hour drive back - mainly in the dark - very worthwhile.
Highly recommended .... but not for boisterous kids!

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Shannon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun to cross the border into Myanmar and see the Golden Triangle! Really enjoyed our guide Tony, who was super informative and friendly. My favorite part was probably the visit to the long-neck women and other tribes. Be sure to wear sturdy shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. Can be muddy and a bit of uneven terrain.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Eugenio F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I've always been a fan of Viator ever since my first experience with them mainly because of the knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide that accompany every tour I booked. But this tour just broke the good record of Viator for me. We were only 5 tourists in this group which in my opinion would make it easier for the tour guide to do his job and be more casual and sociable with the group. But that didn't happen. In this entire tour, our tour guide would just drop us to the highlight sight of the tour and introduce a very general description of the site and then let us roam around by ourselves. Most of the time, he was busy talking on his cell phone rather than having conversation with us. Worst part of the trip was when we reached the hill tribe village. Since he was always busy talking to someone on his cellphone, we went ahead to the entrance of this village attraction and we were told at the counter about the 300 baht entrance fee per person. Upon seeing us talking to the guy at the counter, our tour guide hurriedly approached us and told us that the entrance fee is 500 baht per person. He then talked to the counter guy in their native language. Of course, we didn't understand what they were talking about but it looked like the counter guy argued that he already informed us that the entrance fee is 300 baht but our tour guide was insisting on 500 baht. We didn't argue anymore and each one of us just paid the 500 baht fee. Just before reaching the first tribe in the village, our tour guide excuse himself, told us that he left his wallet in the van and will quickly get it and come back for us. All of us in the group just look at each other and were probably thinking the same thing. I could have passed over the entire incident but when I checked while doing this review that there was no mention of an entrance fee to the hill tribe village in Viator tour description, I got totally disappointed.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day! Very comfortable van picked us up early, and we headed north. It was amazing just driving through the country side, which soon became rice fields and ever larger hills. After a short stop at the hot springs we arrived at The White Temple, which was stunning! We headed further north after driving through Chiang Rai, eventually arriving at a hill tribe village. What an experience you will REALLY appreciate the comforts of your own home after witnessing the lives the people there lead. We saw a village dance ceremony, and were able to talk communicate with some of the very gracious people there, as well as help them out by buying some of their crafts.
After that, we had a lunch at an open air restaurant over looking the Mekong River and Laos, we proceeded a short distance to an overlook to view the Golden Triangle, and visited the Hall of Opium museum. We opted not to cross the river on a boat. The museum was helpful tying in the past history of the Golden Triangle. We headed back after a long day with great memories and photos. Just the drive itself, seeing the rice fields and life in the north was fascinating.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Tory O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a great tour for seeing much of northern Thailand from Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, to the border of Myrnman and Laos. Stops include the Hot Springs, The Golden Triangle, and a visit to two small hill tribe villages. Buffet lunch is included at a restaurant in the Golden Triangle. Big Buddha is amazing.

Tip - if offered the optional trip across the border to the Laos Tourist center, SKIP IT. It will cost you about 900 baht and they take you in a long boat across the Mekong River to a market in Laos, its the same stuff they sell in every market you go to in Thailand, lots of beggars and I just didn't feel comfortable there, we walked through and were back on our boat in 15 minutes. They offer you 45 minutes. You also have to give up your passports on the Thai side.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

susan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our family of four really enjoyed all of this. It was great to see all the monks walk down the street and then fill their bowls with food and have a blessing and then go and visit all the temples. Great way to see and learn about the history of Chiang Mai

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

nlascase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour my first night in Chiang Mai. It was great to see the actual local temples instead of busy touristy spots. Also the night market was great and the guide really showed me around and explained what everything was. Definitely recommend! And dinner was great as well!!!

Doing what: Chiang Mai by Night: Private Tour including Buddhist Chant, Thai Dinner and Night Market

kirsten.hopkinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fantastic!! It was myself, my partner and two friends and we all had an excellent time with our private tour guide! Tony was excellent and it was sad leaving him at the end of the day!
The visit to the Karen tribe was fantastic and not something we'd have been able to see if we didn't take the tour! The visit into Myanmar was great too - seeing all the beautiful temples!
If you do one tour in your time in Chiang Rai - make it this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Ivor F D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

a long day from Chianmg Mai but very comftable and very goofd personal attention. started at 8am na finished at 9 pm. Greatbto see the different Hilltribe peoples and the coutry side with the hills are spectacular snf refresshing

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My friends and I loved this experience!!!! Sam was our guide and he arrived promptly on time as promised. He spoke perfect English and as a native to Chaing Mai he was a wealth of information. Everything we did on this tour was enjoyable. And I have to say going early in the morning was a bonus because you beat the crowds. One of my favorite meals of the entire took place with our guide Sam. He took us to the local spot that we never would have known about nor known how to order the food but he asked us our likes and dislikes and amazing food started flowing to our table and we left stuffed!! I would encourage anyone visiting Chaing Mai to consider this tour. Having a private guide, a private car and learning about the sites from a local is just the only way to go.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Paul d

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip to Chiang Rai, the White Palace, and the Golden Triangle. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and I enjoyed the trip. There is a lot of car time on this trip, but it's hard to avoid the wait is worth it to see the gorgeous White Palace even when really busy the palace is stunning and the Myanmar and Laos borders. I was glad I took part in this tour - good experience overall. Thank you!

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Darren Meg L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 5 and 1/2 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Fortunately we only had 3 other travellers on the tour with us. Bob, our tour guide was excellent, he was very friendly and informative. There was a lot of variety over the 3 days. We enjoyed stopping at the roadside markets which broke up the long stretches in the minibus.
We enjoyed all the food, especially enjoyable was our dinner at the Chiang Rai Night Bazaar.
We thought the accommodation in Chiang Rai was better.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour Including Doi Mae Salong

Michelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite part of Chiang Mai! There is something so magical about being up before the sun and being blessed by the monks. We stopped at an overlook on the way up the mountain and the sun was just beginning to rise. I had friends who went to Doi Suthep in the afternoon and it was very crowded. It was nice and quiet in the morning. Our tour guide Nook was also excellent with explaining customs and traditions. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Maria Jannet R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a 4-hour drive from Chiang Mai but it's all worth it. The tour guide and the driver were really accommodating and friendly. :)

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met at our hotel and was taken to the Botanical gardens where we picked up our bikes. The bikes were not the most comfortable and only after 30 mins my husband was very uncomfortable. They need to have padded seats! We cycled around the botanical gardens which was quite nice and then went on a paddlow, which for us was not what we wanted to do, but if you had children perhaps would have been fun. We then cycled out of the botanical gardens and went along the main road only a short distance until we turned off down a little road and which took us to the rice fields. We kept stopping at small places, where they made wooden figurines, and paper making which we weren't really interested in. There wasn't much cycling really and was disappointing. We stopped at a restaurant for lunch but it was closed so we were taken by car to another restaurant which was also closed. Third time lucky but the restaurant was on the side of a major road, not ideal. Disappointed with the cycling although we did get to see some nice scenery. The Zipline Adventure was fantastic. After being scared/nervous at the height and walking off the platform for the first couple of times, after that it was just brilliant. Enjoyed it very much and great being so high up in the forest. Our two guides were great and spoke good English. Very enjoyable afternoon. I would give the cycling 2 stars and the zipline 4 stars.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

john h

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great day. One of the things you must do while in chaing mai.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Nikita M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2013

The trip could have been done at the half of the price if we booked it at a local guesthouse in Chiang Mai, which was a bit dissappointing us of course. The trip self was very nice, everything mentioned in the planning was covered. I would not recommend it however as you are almost an entire day sitting in a car, 13 hours away of which certainly 8 hours you are driving.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Pedro Barata Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Trip very well organized, just as advertised.
For those who have more time, I would consider sleeping in Chiang Rai as it is a long trip.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

William V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

The tour waas good and gave good information. It's a bit too far to travel in one day - perhaps a stop over would be better or do a couple of days in Chiang Rai.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Howard H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

This is a very interesting way to visit the Golden Triangle and enjoy the scenery along the way from Chiang Mai to Chiang Rai.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message