Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Temple-hopping, river rafting and elephant trekking are just some of the activities that make Chiang Mai northern Thailand’s most popular destination. Day 1: Walls and Temples The large square you see on a map doesn’t just define central Chiang ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day! Very comfortable van picked us up early, and we headed north. It was amazing just driving through the country side, which soon became rice fields and ever larger hills. After a short stop at the hot springs we arrived at The White Temple, which was stunning! We headed further north after driving through Chiang Rai, eventually arriving at a hill tribe village. What an experience you will REALLY appreciate the comforts of your own home after witnessing the lives the people there lead. We saw a village dance ceremony, and were able to talk communicate with some of the very gracious people there, as well as help them out by buying some of their crafts.
After that, we had a lunch at an open air restaurant over looking the Mekong River and Laos, we proceeded a short distance to an overlook to view the Golden Triangle, and visited the Hall of Opium museum. We opted not to cross the river on a boat. The museum was helpful tying in the past history of the Golden Triangle. We headed back after a long day with great memories and photos. Just the drive itself, seeing the rice fields and life in the north was fascinating.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Tory O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a great tour for seeing much of northern Thailand from Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, to the border of Myrnman and Laos. Stops include the Hot Springs, The Golden Triangle, and a visit to two small hill tribe villages. Buffet lunch is included at a restaurant in the Golden Triangle. Big Buddha is amazing.

Tip - if offered the optional trip across the border to the Laos Tourist center, SKIP IT. It will cost you about 900 baht and they take you in a long boat across the Mekong River to a market in Laos, its the same stuff they sell in every market you go to in Thailand, lots of beggars and I just didn't feel comfortable there, we walked through and were back on our boat in 15 minutes. They offer you 45 minutes. You also have to give up your passports on the Thai side.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

susan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our family of four really enjoyed all of this. It was great to see all the monks walk down the street and then fill their bowls with food and have a blessing and then go and visit all the temples. Great way to see and learn about the history of Chiang Mai

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Sarah F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very good, lived up to its expectations in the main and would definitely recommend! However, although the elephant trekking was a good experience, the elephants were very poorly kept and the trainers are cruel. Very sad to see.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Richardwoodburn

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a really enjoyable trip that ought to get 5 stars. Unfortunately i've marked it down as it was far too expensive for what it was. Trips similar to this can be bought in Chiang Mai for 1/3 of the Viator price, so save your money and buy when you arrive.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Deirdre O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour - Would highly recommend to any one visiting Chiang-Mai. The river tour particularly relaxing as beautiful luminous butterflies danced around us. Be sure to slap on the sun cream though as very exposed.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

nlascase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour my first night in Chiang Mai. It was great to see the actual local temples instead of busy touristy spots. Also the night market was great and the guide really showed me around and explained what everything was. Definitely recommend! And dinner was great as well!!!

Doing what: Chiang Mai by Night: Private Tour including Buddhist Chant, Thai Dinner and Night Market

kirsten.hopkinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fantastic!! It was myself, my partner and two friends and we all had an excellent time with our private tour guide! Tony was excellent and it was sad leaving him at the end of the day!
The visit to the Karen tribe was fantastic and not something we'd have been able to see if we didn't take the tour! The visit into Myanmar was great too - seeing all the beautiful temples!
If you do one tour in your time in Chiang Rai - make it this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Ivor F D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

a long day from Chianmg Mai but very comftable and very goofd personal attention. started at 8am na finished at 9 pm. Greatbto see the different Hilltribe peoples and the coutry side with the hills are spectacular snf refresshing

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My friends and I loved this experience!!!! Sam was our guide and he arrived promptly on time as promised. He spoke perfect English and as a native to Chaing Mai he was a wealth of information. Everything we did on this tour was enjoyable. And I have to say going early in the morning was a bonus because you beat the crowds. One of my favorite meals of the entire took place with our guide Sam. He took us to the local spot that we never would have known about nor known how to order the food but he asked us our likes and dislikes and amazing food started flowing to our table and we left stuffed!! I would encourage anyone visiting Chaing Mai to consider this tour. Having a private guide, a private car and learning about the sites from a local is just the only way to go.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Sanjeev P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The trip was ok but not really great. The itinerary mentioned 'hill tribe' visit in trip details ,but it was actually just stalls of sales items so should not be mentioned as such since its quite misleading.

The highlight is the Elephant Camptraining etc and Trek which was good.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Paul d

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip to Chiang Rai, the White Palace, and the Golden Triangle. The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and I enjoyed the trip. There is a lot of car time on this trip, but it's hard to avoid the wait is worth it to see the gorgeous White Palace even when really busy the palace is stunning and the Myanmar and Laos borders. I was glad I took part in this tour - good experience overall. Thank you!

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Nicholas M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I paid for this in Australia and found when I got to Chang Mai, the online price was way way too much. The guide was really just a helper getting me on elephants and a raft, didn't engage with the people very much at all. The elephant trek was way too long as was the raft experience, 20 minutes would have been more in line. To have spent over AUD200 for this was was not worth it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

LARISSA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We were afraid about a group tour, because we didn't find a private option here, but we were luck and it was only me and my husband. The tour was GREAT. The guide was very very smart and patient. We loved the Elephant Camp and the ride to the tribes. The lunch at the orchid farm was very very good. Usually buffets are not very good, but this one was special.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Darren Meg L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My husband, 5 and 1/2 year old daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Fortunately we only had 3 other travellers on the tour with us. Bob, our tour guide was excellent, he was very friendly and informative. There was a lot of variety over the 3 days. We enjoyed stopping at the roadside markets which broke up the long stretches in the minibus.
We enjoyed all the food, especially enjoyable was our dinner at the Chiang Rai Night Bazaar.
We thought the accommodation in Chiang Rai was better.
We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Chiang Mai and Golden Triangle Tour Including Doi Mae Salong

Kushatha F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I wouldn't recommend this to my enemies. We waited for an hour for a tour guide to come and pick us up. Eventually we called them and they said that they hadn't gotten our confirmation from Viator and that the tour had already started. Why would you send a payment and a confirmation email if the tour is not actually confirmed with the tour company? Seems very shady to me. I'll be staying away from Viator.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Michelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite part of Chiang Mai! There is something so magical about being up before the sun and being blessed by the monks. We stopped at an overlook on the way up the mountain and the sun was just beginning to rise. I had friends who went to Doi Suthep in the afternoon and it was very crowded. It was nice and quiet in the morning. Our tour guide Nook was also excellent with explaining customs and traditions. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Adam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Possibly the best tour we did in Chiang Mai. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

killrou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful day from beginning to end! The elephant training was breath taking; the jungle trek was the perfect length; the rafting tour was a delight. We had lunch at a lovely resort restaurant. The servers treated us like VIP's. A midst of all that fun, our guide managed to make our trip educational. We strongly recommend this particular tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Maria Jannet R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It was a 4-hour drive from Chiang Mai but it's all worth it. The tour guide and the driver were really accommodating and friendly. :)

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Bob.disley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day out the elephant safari was brilliant the mahout even caught a snake for tea this really is in the rain forest what a privilege to be in there with these magnificent animals, our guide "Oi "was great too very knowledgable and easy to talk too, the raft ride was at the end was possibly a little too long but nevertheless a fantastic day out and well worth every penny, the last bit if the elephant ride is something else try it you will love it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Theresa L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This was amazing! Firstly watching the elephants being washed and then a trip through the jungle finishing with a stroll up the river. I was in awe of the elephants!
My only criticism would be the rafting but only because we went straight from the elephants to the raft without any time to get a drink or go to the toilet etc. and the trip down the river was for 50minutes!!! It was also very hot and there was no shade so need to take lots of sun cream with you!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Laney T United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Chiang Mai is a beautiful place. This tour was small, only 2 people, so it was very easy to enjoy the time provided with the elephants.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message