Chiang Mai ATTRACTIONS See all

Chiang Dao Elephant Camp

The elephant training center at Chiang Dao combines training and jungle activities, with a one-on-one elephant encounter you’ll never forget. The Chiang Dao Elephant Camp's crew of 32 elephants help log the surrounding teak forests and provide ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was awesome, much more than expected! Great value, customer service and experience! I expected the elephant ride to be short but it was quite the opposite. Nice long ride to hill tribe village and back. The elephant show was awesome as well as lunch and stops to see rice spaghetti productio

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent trip and a really great deal! The day was packed full of fun activities, and we never felt rushed. We expected that we would be doing the rowing for the rafting segment, but it was actually a very nice slow float along the Ping River. The elephant ride was incredibly fun and relaxing. Lunch was great, and we even made an additional stop at our own cost to the Tiger Kingdom. An amazing day!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Sook Wai Mabel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Love the itinerary, especially the river rafting, the view really take my breath away.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Richardwoodburn

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a really enjoyable trip that ought to get 5 stars. Unfortunately i've marked it down as it was far too expensive for what it was. Trips similar to this can be bought in Chiang Mai for 1/3 of the Viator price, so save your money and buy when you arrive.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Deirdre O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour - Would highly recommend to any one visiting Chiang-Mai. The river tour particularly relaxing as beautiful luminous butterflies danced around us. Be sure to slap on the sun cream though as very exposed.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really great tour with Maggie as our tour guide. She had excellent English, met all of our needs and gave us lots of additional information. The company runs very small tours of six people or less and so was very intimate. The elephants were amazing and the camp we went was small, clean and the elephants were very well cared for.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

jacklarcombe123

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Incredibly disappointed with this tour, not worth the money at all.
No information from the guide at all, literally none. When we arrived at places he walked off, arriving only to tell us when we were leaving.
The elephants aren and #39;t treated well, they and #39;re chained and abused with hooks by mahouts.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Katrina A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Even though we were unable to raft due to the low water, our guide made sure to include additional sights to make up for it. We were able to visit a beautiful orchid farm and butterfly garden. The elephants were so cute and friendly, and the ride through the jungle provided us the opportunity to enjoy the scenery. The mahouts were professional and kind to the elephants, and we felt safe at every step. Lunch was also provided at the Tiger Kingdom, so we got a chance to take pictures with the tigers as well. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

doudou-mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The elephant trek is a great pleasure, ue to the dry season and lacking water the rafting was cancelled and replaced by a monkey show. The latter was regrettable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Chris S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Appalling and overpriced!! This was the worst tour I have ever undertaken. Firstly, we were notified upon pick up from the hotel that the rafting would most likely be cancelled due to the drought. As we had only booked 2 days ahead, this would already have been known in advance and we would have selected another tour. Our guide did not interact with the group all day. We boarded the van with no idea where we were going nor how long it would take to get there. We passed many interesting sights food markets/temples along the way without commentary by our guide. No insight into Thai culture nor pointing out the sights on the way. There was no commentary at the elephant camp at all by the camp nor our guide. We climbed onto the elephant for our jungle ride which was great. I had to ask how long we would take and what happens next. He said we would stop at the hill tribe on our elephant ride. The hill tribe was the biggest disappointment. It was a group of 3 random people staged in a makeshift village that was not inhabited trying to sell us supposed handcrafted items of which I had seen replicas in the markets everywhere. When they realised we weren't interested, they started to pack up their wares to move onto their next assignment. Noone explained to us the purposes of the couple of buildings. We got back to the van and were told we were going to lunch with no idea how far it might be and my kids were hungry. The lunch was good but we did not have long to eat. We were given 15 mins to look at the orchids and butterflies. Everyone was at the van at the alloted time but the guide was over 10 mins late. We could have kept looking. I will never use Viator again. My Viator tour of Provence in France last year was amazing and informative. This was rubbish and overpriced. I could have taken a taxi myself for 1/4 of the price and have lost nothing.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful day! The elephants were amazing, the trek up into the mountain to the hill tribe village was great. Riding the elephant for 1.5 hrs up a stream and back through the river....amazing.
The rafting down the river on a bamboo raft was a great experience, despite the low water which made it a bit difficult...water buffalo as water hazards in the river... unforgetable!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A truly amazing day, elephants were so clever and very well looked after, the rafting down the river was peaceful and just awesome....top day would recommend b

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

REJEAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Every thing was well organized. Nice elephant ride in jungle river, stream, etc.. Nice rafting. Not much water this time of year, but they can't control that.Very good lunch.
We ask to complete the day by visiting hills tribes to see the long neck women and they organised that easily.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Paul P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The trip was quite a long way from our hotel, but the transport was roomy and air-conditioned, and the guide was informative and spoke excellent English. The elephant show and jungle ride was amazing - my only criticism is that we did not get the opportunity to interact with the elephants - they were taken away as soon as we dismounted. The hill tribe was interesting and illustrated the contrast between them and those Thai people who lived in cities. The river rafting was very relaxing, and there was also a lunch of excellently cooked Thai food.

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

ADRIAN B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide and elephant trek excellent,bamboo rafting too long and boring and driver of raft could not handle it,drop this bit.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Ewa H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We enjoyed the trip very much, however the water level for rafting was insufficient and we got stuck on our way numerous times.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mrs C Thompson t

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

It was to circus act for me and after going to the elephants camp day previous it is better you don't do this trip if you actually care for elephants they are chained up and pocked with a hook by the man that takes you on the elephants its really not for us .the ping river and meal was lovely however this is just our opinion other options may be its ok

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Donna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Viewing how the elephants are cared for, feed, washed and played with was wonderful. Riding on them through the forest was such a unique experience and then up the river was unforgettable. Lunch was lovely after rafting down the river and we shared it with a great bunch of people. our visit to the Orchid farm on the way to the elephants was just beautiful and we snapped off many photos. great tour. thank you

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Brian Evans United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Elephants were happy and appeared to be well taken care of. Great demonstration of their intelligence and strength. Great ride on the back of a beautiful animal both up the hillside as well as up the river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Sanjeev P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The trip was ok but not really great. The itinerary mentioned 'hill tribe' visit in trip details ,but it was actually just stalls of sales items so should not be mentioned as such since its quite misleading.

The highlight is the Elephant Camptraining etc and Trek which was good.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Michael W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

I'm not touchy, feely or a strong animal rights person, but I think everyone felt worse leaving this tour. Maybe it was an expectations problem or naivety on my part, elephants were chained up and you could see injury marks on them. I definitely would not recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Tsz Chuen Sunny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

More than 60 minutes ride on a natural stream, several minutes on a 1m deep river.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Nicholas M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I paid for this in Australia and found when I got to Chang Mai, the online price was way way too much. The guide was really just a helper getting me on elephants and a raft, didn't engage with the people very much at all. The elephant trek was way too long as was the raft experience, 20 minutes would have been more in line. To have spent over AUD200 for this was was not worth it

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message