The borders of Myanmar, Laos and Thailand come together in the exotically named Golden Triangle in the northern province of Chiang Rai. The official center of the Golden Triangle is the town of Sop Ruak, where the Mekong meets the Nam Ruak. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Huey Suen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour guide and driver

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Lawlo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vich is the best tour guide same as the driver. We are well taken care. They are both helpful and Vich explains everything in detail. We enjoy the trip very much.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day! Very comfortable van picked us up early, and we headed north. It was amazing just driving through the country side, which soon became rice fields and ever larger hills. After a short stop at the hot springs we arrived at The White Temple, which was stunning! We headed further north after driving through Chiang Rai, eventually arriving at a hill tribe village. What an experience you will REALLY appreciate the comforts of your own home after witnessing the lives the people there lead. We saw a village dance ceremony, and were able to talk communicate with some of the very gracious people there, as well as help them out by buying some of their crafts.
After that, we had a lunch at an open air restaurant over looking the Mekong River and Laos, we proceeded a short distance to an overlook to view the Golden Triangle, and visited the Hall of Opium museum. We opted not to cross the river on a boat. The museum was helpful tying in the past history of the Golden Triangle. We headed back after a long day with great memories and photos. Just the drive itself, seeing the rice fields and life in the north was fascinating.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Avril L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great day, only 2 on the trip so could go at our own pace. Able to go across to Laos, lost propellor on way back, stranded for a while middle of Mekong, extra adventure! Long day but worth it

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

chantal d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative, great guide and totally worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Rosemary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day ,highlight was the white temple and long neck village . Our guide was lovely ,a long day but gave us great insight into northern Thailand .

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Catriona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was amazing and knew everything and anything about the tour and Thailand in general! The tour makes a lot of amazing stops, long neck hill tribe was fascinating, many interesting and beautiful temples in Myanmar, delicious lunch in Myanmae. Highly recommend

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Katherine P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fantastic time! Our guide Makee and driver Bomie were great and very accommodating. We saw many amazing things and they were able to change the plan and see the hill tribe villages instead of boat trip to Laos. Everything was included that they promised, including lunch.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Diane C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent day tour. Great guide and drivers. Van was very comfortable and we were the only 2 on it. Roads were good and a lot was packed into the day.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Lisa M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My guide was perfect! The itinerary was comprehensive and well balanced. The hotels were very nice, and the food was very good. I will definitely recommend this tour to anyone who asks!

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour. The tour guide was wonderful and knowledgeable. The tour allowed you to see so much in one day, including a visit to Laos.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

kirsten.hopkinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fantastic!! It was myself, my partner and two friends and we all had an excellent time with our private tour guide! Tony was excellent and it was sad leaving him at the end of the day!
The visit to the Karen tribe was fantastic and not something we'd have been able to see if we didn't take the tour! The visit into Myanmar was great too - seeing all the beautiful temples!
If you do one tour in your time in Chiang Rai - make it this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

janie.smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very full day but well worth it. Particularly enjoyed the added bit of seeing the long necked tribe.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Jenny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best ever tour. Guide was fantastic and full of information.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Tom A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. Tony was a great guide and we saw and did everything as advertised. If you just want a quick trip to Myannmar, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

VICTOR A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very informative private tour! The tour guide is extremely friendly and is very concerned with you receiving the best experience from the golden triangle area. The tour is a very long day so it is mostly for those who have a short time to visit north Thailand but let me reassure you most definitely will have enough time to catch most, if not all, of the marvels it has to offer. Highly recommend !

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Brad F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A real treat. The tour provided a full day of sightseeing supported by a dedicated driver and a personal guide who was very approachable and spoke excellent English. Although the tour into Myanmar is limited to the border town of Tachileik, the visit provided a glimpse of the local culture including the contrasts and similarities of the neighbouring countries. The visit to the Golden Triangle at the confluence of the Mekong and Ruak Rivers provided a perspective on how the geography and politics have shapes the events of trade including elicit drugs. Although the information provided at the Opium Museum was informative, the facility and displays are rather dated and in need of a refit. We opted for the motor boat ride across the Mekong River to Laos where there are tourist shopping stalls and great views the area. Although it would have been nice to venture further into Laos, that is beyond the scope of this tour. This is an excellent 'taster' tour and one that left me wanting to explore the region further.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Glenn W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide and driver were excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable about the places we visited. The restaurant was very average compared to some other ones that we have been taken to on other tours. Overall a very enjoyable day. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent, accommodating guide and driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver. Went out of way to be helpful., informative. Just wonderful - made the trip. Excellent driver on tough roads. Went out of way to assist for the one disabled tourist. Really appreciated that. great sense of humor. Got us to places before the crowds.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were picked up on time by our guide Shannon. We were the only ones on this tour and so we had a chauffeur driven car together with our guide. The car was extremely comfortable and our guide spoke very good English and was excellent. As we was now on a private tour we spent longer at some places than if on a group tour you would have been able to. The places we saw and having the guide tell us all about them was absolutely brilliant. We even slotted in some extra places that the guide thought we should see. The hotel accommodation was very good, although we have found not only on this trip but when you have buffet type food in the restaurants of the hotels, the food lets the hotel down. Perfectly acceptable but not as good as it should be. The evening at Khum Khantoke was very enjoyable and the food was good there. We saw and done so much on this tour and found it fascinating, very enjoyable a great way to see Thailand away from Bangkok.

Doing what: 6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai from Bangkok

Cindy T Le

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Tour guide and driving person are super nice.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Bill United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent tour. It requires a long day, but it's completely worth the drive. Each part of the tour was interesting and fun. Our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message