If you’ve ever wanted to chat to a Buddhist monk, pull up a chair at Wat Chedi Luang. As you enter the wat from Th Phra Pokkao, turn right and you’ll see some tables under a sign reading ‘Monk Chat.’ The partially ruined wat dates back to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 104 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matt A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour thru the old city, very fun on the bikes. Our guide Puna was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and great guide. Makes it easy to go see everything.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

nadeen w

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The 3 temples we visited were beautiful. However the tour guide often walked off from the 4 of us and was not very engaging. We had to ask questions to get information about the temples and the areas.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

carladuffoo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Good tour, knowledgeable guide. We also visited the silk and silver factories as part of the tour which was ok but not my favorite part of the tour. I probably would have spent more time learning about the temples.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Ashley R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Maggie was an amazing guide! Very knowledgeable and kind, always offered to take photos, and gave tips for the rest of our stay in Thailand. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

dessymed Bulgaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good start for Chiang Mai experience.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Jane F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful half day cycling the country roads with Koi. We had to meet at the cycle shop out in the country and even the taxi driver had difficulty locating this place. Also, the whole tour was changed. Originally it was to include the ancient city of Chiang Mai. We ended up cycling around the countryside and never went into the city at all. We really enjoyed it and found the area where leper survivors live, extremely interesting. There are atill some of these people existing by living in these homes that were provide thanks to an American years ago. Another hi light was the UNESCO old town we rode through. We ate at a local restaurant and also stopped by the local elementary school. So we really enjoyed our half day even though the itinerary was changed.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City Culture Half-Day Cycling Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry you were unable to experience the Chiang Mai City Tour as booked, but due to the busy holiday weekend, we felt it would be safer and more enjoyable to our guests to keep away from the heavy traffic areas and therefore suggested the change in itinerary for you. We are glad to hear you still enjoyed your tour experience and hopefully you can return for the Chiang Mai City tour with us again in the future!

Gay M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very nice guide and driver, very interesting trip, and most beautiful temples.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Cindy T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

It was alright. Didn and #39;t like the sales pitch after the initial temple.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

jaycee.catt2

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was interesting. We saw three temples. Tour guild spoke good English and gave us bits of information on the van between places, however if you were looking for a more in depth history well on the temple grounds I would go with a private tour. We just walked the temple grounds on our own. Glad it was only a half day tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

TM193 United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The tour was ok. The tour guide seemed bored and uninterested in explaining the various facts abut Chiang Mai. I would recommend visiting the temples on your own. Take a cab and go directly to the Wats in the morning, as afternoon traffic is intense.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

dstsmiley5597

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This Bike tour was absolutely amazing! Our tour guide, Boy, was the best! He was very patient, very well informed and knew the city's beautiful history. He spoke superb English which was a plus. The tour began with an explanation of the route we would take and an introduction to our bicycles. He then, explained the rules and confirmed we knew the hand signals before our adventure began. I was a bit nervous in the beginning because I had my two sons along for the ride as well. They are ages 10 and 12. However, Boy was so patient and very careful throughout the entire journey.

As we rode around beautiful Chiang Mai, we observed a lot of rich history. Boy was very informative as he explained each piece that we discovered. From Tha Phae Gate with cool Elephant Parade exhibition to the market to taste yummy Thai snacks, to the touring of the temples to learn about signs and symbols that represent our birth day and date, the tour was the best! We also got to see Novice Monks and learn a bit about the Monk history as well. If you're looking a very well planned, educational, family tour, this is the one for you. It will definitely not disappoint. A BIG thanks to Boy for a great learning experience and for helping my family to create memories of a lifetime! The Roy Family

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

janing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful tour, loved the old city temples, very quiet and peaceful.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Patricia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very education, great guide and driver, highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Cameron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way to see the city. My partner and I went early October and it was just us, with our tour guide Boy. Plenty of knowledge on the city answering every one of our questions even when totally off topic. We did this tour at the start of our time here in Chiang Mai, and we were able to fill in the remainder of the days with what we saw whilst on this tour. All biking was flat and Boy set an easy pace, so we could take in all of the sites. Took our Go-Pro with us too, great footage! Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Audrey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good experience!!! the guide was telling us great stories to make us discover the Thai Culture

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

David W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were picked up on time in a clean and modern vehicle. Our guide Paul was very interesting,knowledgeable and helpful. Both he and the driver were very courteous and I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Half-Day City Temples Tour of Chiang Mai

Ryan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our tour was rushed because we went on a bad day with a lot of traffic from the college students walking up the hill to the hilltop temple. Therefore it left us about 15 minutes to see the other 2 temples in the city.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Anne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Stuart W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Friendly and informative guide who was guenuinely interested in making sure we understood the city and culture. Well worth the time. Great value

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Mandi Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our private tour with Roong from Tour East was fabulous. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the temples and the area's history which we loved. We had an air-conditioned van and enjoyed being showed around the old city. We fell in love with Chiang Mai.
Roong even suggested a great restaurant to us as a locals favourite 'The River Market' and it was possibly some of the best food we've ever eaten.
Booking through Viator was really easy and we could pay in advance so we didn't dig into our spending money

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Benjamin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maggie, our tour guide, was wonderful. She had so much information to share. Really gave us an understanding of each of the temples we visited. We especially loved the Wat Phra That Doi Suthep. Breathtaking. We also learned a lot about Buddha. Our driver was gracious, providing water and umbrellas when necessary. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Gavin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really a great way to tour the old city. Our guides were very friendly. Clear about safety. We saw and learnt about a few old temples, tasted fresh juices and fruits, visited markets and had delicious local coffee. A really fun and interesting tour. Really worth it!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Sam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing and worth every penny!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message