Thought to be the oldest wat in Chiang Mai, Wat Chiang Man is a typical northern Thai temple, with massive teak columns holding aloft the central sanctuary. The wat has two important Buddha images; one on a marble bas relief, the other a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ryan M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our tour was rushed because we went on a bad day with a lot of traffic from the college students walking up the hill to the hilltop temple. Therefore it left us about 15 minutes to see the other 2 temples in the city.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Anne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Stuart W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Friendly and informative guide who was guenuinely interested in making sure we understood the city and culture. Well worth the time. Great value

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Mandi Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our private tour with Roong from Tour East was fabulous. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the temples and the area's history which we loved. We had an air-conditioned van and enjoyed being showed around the old city. We fell in love with Chiang Mai.
Roong even suggested a great restaurant to us as a locals favourite 'The River Market' and it was possibly some of the best food we've ever eaten.
Booking through Viator was really easy and we could pay in advance so we didn't dig into our spending money

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Benjamin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maggie, our tour guide, was wonderful. She had so much information to share. Really gave us an understanding of each of the temples we visited. We especially loved the Wat Phra That Doi Suthep. Breathtaking. We also learned a lot about Buddha. Our driver was gracious, providing water and umbrellas when necessary. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Gavin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really a great way to tour the old city. Our guides were very friendly. Clear about safety. We saw and learnt about a few old temples, tasted fresh juices and fruits, visited markets and had delicious local coffee. A really fun and interesting tour. Really worth it!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Sam T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing and worth every penny!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

DIARMID M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The guide Bua and driver arrived punctually. The guide's English was very good. The car we travelled in was clean and either reasonably new or very well maintained. The guide ran the tour at the pace that suited us. With only wife and I on the tour, we struck up a rapport and it became like being shown round by a friend or family member. We found the stops very interesting and I'm sure the tour went on longer than was originally scheduled. Very enjoyable and enlightening.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Dieter B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

So many temples to choose from Chiang Mai really is the city of temples, but the 3 we visited were very interesting indeed. Knowledgable and friendly guide, good transport to and from our hotel. A good half-day tour, recommended!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Natalyia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing tour... Very relaxing and the guide was super accommodating and knowledgeable. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Chang Mai, one of the highlights!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Don C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The Chiang Mai City and Temples tour we are rating 3 stars. There was virtually very little info provided by the guide regarding the city itself. The 2 temples we visited were very interesting and beautiful....must sees for Chiang Mai. The guide needs to go back to tourist guide 101 and be more personable and make us, the clients, feel that he, the guide, is actually interested in his job. The driver provided a comfortable and safe driving experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Megan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! The guide was a lot of fun and very knowledgeable. Easy tour through back alleys and temples...delightful!

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Shannon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was one of my favourite tours!!! Schwin was a wonderful tour guide of the city! So kind, generous and knowledgeable. He had everything all ready to go and even filled a water bottle for me that was already on the bike. The bike was great and pretty brand new I would have to say I parked my bike at the end of the tour with so much information passed on to me. Now to remember it all haha! Seriously tho, it was a great ride and top notch guide! I reccommend to anyone and everyone Happy Cycling

Doing what: Historic Old Chiang Mai Bike tour

Richard D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good guide. interesting tour

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Leah M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Guide was 30min late meeting us at the hotel and only 2 hours later we were dropped back off at our hotel. Just okay....

Doing what: Private Tour: City and Temples of Chiang Mai

Roy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and guide. We went to number of prominent temples and enjoyed having own guide with family to keep you fully informed. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Latoussaint T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our half day tour of Chiang Mai City and Temples was excellent!! The transportation was on time, clean and cool air. The tour guide spoke clear english and was very professional. Enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Caroline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide - Sid, was excellent and our driver went above and beyond to ensure we were happy.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Lisa G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

I really enjoyed the temple we visited but our guide was so so. I think there was a mix up because our tour guide is a French speaking guide and we speak English. So there was quite a bit of a language barrier. A bit of a let down how little time we spent at the temples versus how long we spent at different factories.

Doing what: Private Tour: City and Temples of Chiang Mai

Prana77

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very informative 1/2 day tour of Chiang Mai temples. The guide was on-time and knowledgeable about all temples visited. Doi suthep was the highlight and the climb up the snake staircase to the top is well worth it if you can. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Mohan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Exceptional tour guide and the entire tour was very fun and informative.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

JORGE G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Too few sights seen in the 5 hours. Guide too intense and lengthy about some topics religion for one, could have spent the time better. At least 2 more sights could have been accommodated if the guide had been more focused and more precise. By the second hour wanted to continue without the guide.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

John W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Our tour guide told us almost nothing during driving and walking. Which was about 90 of the tour time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Lauren N M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was punctual, highly knowledgeable, and incredibly friendly! Transport was excellent and everything we did was very well planned. I highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message