As the ancient capital of northern Thailand, Chiang Mai is resplendent with temples and historic sites. It may lack the buzz of Bangkok, but it also lacks the traffic jams and pollution and visitors are known to fall in love with Chiang Mai’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sherylsusanfreeman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour. Our guide Sam was very knowledgeable and gave us not only great insight into the temples and associated traditions and ceremonies but also enriched our understanding of Thailand, its history and people. This made our stay in Chiang Mai more interesting. Highly recommend this tour especially for those with limited time in the city.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Sanjeev G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Full Day Tour from Chiang Mai
Pick up from our hotel was on time and luckily there were only 2 other people on the tour as a second couple cancelled. The group would have been only 9 people max anyway so a good small number.
Our guide was friendly, polite and knowledgeable

The white temple is definitely impressive and we got lots of good information about the building of it and its history. We passed though the art museum pretty quickly, but were not too concerned about that.
Choice of Karen Long neck village or Blue temple we chose the blue temple and werent disappointed, it was beautiful and our guide again was knowledgeable about the temple artwork and history

Border with Myanmar
A short stop for a few pics at the most northern most part of Thailand and the Myanmar border then a chance to shop in the jade markets

Laos Additional 1000B
This included a short trip into the actual triangle on a speedboat, a 30 min stop in Laos additional 50B payable on landing in Laos to walk around the market and local houses
Worth doing, even if its just to see the Serpent Whiskey you can try a little if youre brave its bad
Beware: You will have to leave your passport on the Thai side where they will also photocopy the photo page this is a security measure apparently in case people dont come back - so if you at all concerned about leaving your passport there, dont do this part of the trip

Info:
This is a marathon of a day so if you have small kids avoid it. We were picked up at 7 am and got back at 9.15pm. Really enjoyed it and got to see so much on this tour
Price was appropriate.
Lunch was buffet and no issues

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Jo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A truly amazing experience. I can fly. The drive from Chiang Mai was terrifying with the driver speeding and overtaking on blind corners. After surviving that there was no fear zip lining. The Zipline staff were great and a lot of fun. They certainly took safety seriously. 33 platforms, high up in the forest. We even saw gibbons. Good lunch afterwards then the hair raising trip back to Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Rainforest Canopy Zipline Adventure

dessymed Bulgaria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good start for Chiang Mai experience.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Ashley R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Maggie was an amazing guide! Very knowledgeable and kind, always offered to take photos, and gave tips for the rest of our stay in Thailand. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

Rozz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brilliant. This tour is a must for anyone visiting Chiang Mai. Going in the early morning is better as it is less busy and truly peaceful. Our guide was fabulous and very entertaining. The 306 steps are worth the effort.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

susan c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our family of four really enjoyed all of this. It was great to see all the monks walk down the street and then fill their bowls with food and have a blessing and then go and visit all the temples. Great way to see and learn about the history of Chiang Mai

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

nlascase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour my first night in Chiang Mai. It was great to see the actual local temples instead of busy touristy spots. Also the night market was great and the guide really showed me around and explained what everything was. Definitely recommend! And dinner was great as well!!!

Doing what: Chiang Mai by Night: Private Tour including Buddhist Chant, Thai Dinner and Night Market

Mandi Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our private tour with Roong from Tour East was fabulous. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the temples and the area's history which we loved. We had an air-conditioned van and enjoyed being showed around the old city. We fell in love with Chiang Mai.
Roong even suggested a great restaurant to us as a locals favourite 'The River Market' and it was possibly some of the best food we've ever eaten.
Booking through Viator was really easy and we could pay in advance so we didn't dig into our spending money

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Latoussaint T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our half day tour of Chiang Mai City and Temples was excellent!! The transportation was on time, clean and cool air. The tour guide spoke clear english and was very professional. Enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Juan C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Definitely, it is one of the best options in Chiang Mai. A very friendly and welcoming atmosphere everywhere. A traditional Thai dinner, great food and great variety in a very pleasant environment. The show proved to be magnificent. The shuttle service from and to the hotel was excellent. Without a doubt, it was a night full of enjoyment.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Sabina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible tour! A great way to start your trip to introduce you to the history of Chiang Mai!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Jim V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally awesome - guide was fantastic - had a great day - would highly recommend. Great day trip outside of Chiang Mai proper.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Adventure: Zipline, Whitewater Rafting, and Long-Neck Hill Tribe

Yelena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! We had a wonderfull guide who has told us and showed us so much about culture, buddhism and Chiang Mai. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about Thai Culture.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Michelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my favorite part of Chiang Mai! There is something so magical about being up before the sun and being blessed by the monks. We stopped at an overlook on the way up the mountain and the sun was just beginning to rise. I had friends who went to Doi Suthep in the afternoon and it was very crowded. It was nice and quiet in the morning. Our tour guide Nook was also excellent with explaining customs and traditions. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving and Temples Tour in Chiang Mai

muzicbaby United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I am so glad I booked this tour! The guide, Thongbang Thotsadon, was AMAZING! She came to pick me up right on time, at which point I discovered this was going to be a private tour. She was an absolute pleasure to speak with and so knowledgable! She took the time to get to know a bit about me and answered all my questions patiently and thoroughly.

The early wake up was worth it to go through the morning market to get breakfast for the monks. I got to give alms to the monks and get their blessing to start my day. Next, I got to experience a breakfast restaurant that was nearby. We then drove to Wat Umong and I was able to see the new monks bless the gifts they received and do a bit of ritual with them. We walked through the temple grounds and she explained a lot about Thai Buddhism to me and took me to the monk meditation caves where she and I had excellent discussion about meditation and the monk lifestyle. We next went to feed catfish on the nearby bridge and met another foreigner who was doing a meditative study stay at the temple.Thongbang took me to the meditation center and explained how I could arrange a stay the next time I was in Chiang Mai.

We next went to Wat Mahachula, which was celebrating its 30th anniversary as a monk and layperson university. I was able to speak with her former teacher and find out some information about studying at the school in English. We walked around the temple and she gave me the history of the structures there and of the Thai culture. I learned so much from her.

This is one of the best tours I have ever been on. Thongbang is a superb guide and so caring. She ensured I had a great experience In Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

A. J. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Trip Advisor Review:

What a well spent morning with Thongbang! She arrived on time to let me know I would be the only one on the tour but she still made sure I had every experience expected and more. As an avid photographer, she made sure I had the best opportunities and best positions to get some wonderful photos. She is also a great conversationalist and we had some good talks about life and our views of the world. Although I was somewhat familiar with Buddhism, she provided so much more information to help me understand this faith and philosophy better.

We started the early day at the market where we gave food to the monks, some barely teenagers and we received their blessing and I got some good photos. Just wandering through the market with a local guide to explain was a good experience in itself.

We spent a good bit of time at the Forest Temple and I even got to present the monks with food for their breakfast. They were so friendly and the place so peaceful. Although part of the city, it was an oasis of quiet and solitude. We were also fortunate to catch an ordination ceremony and we watched the young men getting their heads shaved as their families looked on with such pride. Next she took me to a more urban Temple and, again, luck was on our side as they were celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Temple with many dignitaries and much color. I even got to meet one of her old teachers who was a delightful, friendly monk. They were also having an art show with some excellent paintings by students and monks.

We ended the morning with coffee and more good conversation before I was returned to my hotel.

Many people come to Chiang Mai just to have "fun" but there's so much to learn about another culture and this tour is the perfect way to learn. Thongbang is a great teacher as well as guide and I learned much on this tour.

Visited December 2014

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We took a 20km cycling tour around Chiang Mai's botanic gardens and the surrounding countryside, both beautiful places to cycle. A leisurely boat paddle and the feeding of animals within the botanical gardens was also included in the tour - a lovely surprise that we didn't expect but certainly worth doing. The team took great care of us. Not only did they easily accommodate our heights with the bicycles provided, provided us with fruit breaks and gave us recommendations for dinner, but they also provided us with great insights into everything we were seeing, including local history, knowledge and introductions to the local people. The lunch stop on the tour was also excellent. So many times on tour is one disappointed with the lunch provided - usually another production styled tasteless buffet. The restaurant we were taken to provided individual service and used only the freshest of ingredients. An excellent reward to the hard peddling we just endured in Thailand's heat. Thanks Would recommend the team to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Ogechi E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I was actually traveling solo so the food turned out to be a feast for one person. The food was scrumptious and the two shows were simply icing on the cake! From pick up to drop off, the service was professional and this experience added to the great memories of Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Michael H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Piew was our private tour guide for the Chiang Mai city and temples tour and he was excellent. He taught us so much about the culture and about Buddhism. I feel like we learned a lot about day to day life in Chiang Mai while getting to see quite a few beautiful sites. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants/activities for us later on as well.

Wassan was also a great driver. I recommend this tour for anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

judy.morrison

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I loved this day. The highlight was the white temple. No words can convey the magnificence of this site. The trip was worth it for that alone. I also enjoyed our brief stop at the hot springs. My only reservation regards the Golden Triangle. It sounded a lot better than it is, which is a commercial sightseeing stop. And going there made our return trip to Chiang Mai very long and tiring.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Tory O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really cool way to experience some Thai culture. All you can eat Khantoke meal which was amazing. Dances, music, and even a surprise to end the night outside. Local merchants set up a market outside in the Chiang Mai Cultural Center as well.

Doing what: Traditional Khantoke Dinner and Show from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message