Chiang Mai, Thailand’s northern temple-filled city, is popular with travelers for the wealth of experiences available there. There’s plenty to do in the city, but some of the area’s best attractions involve half or full day trips from Chiang Mai.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A long day out but very interesting. Of special interest was the White Temple and Chiang Rai. Good views of the Mekong at the Golden Triangle.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Sanjeev G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Full Day Tour from Chiang Mai
Pick up from our hotel was on time and luckily there were only 2 other people on the tour as a second couple cancelled. The group would have been only 9 people max anyway so a good small number.
Our guide was friendly, polite and knowledgeable

The white temple is definitely impressive and we got lots of good information about the building of it and its history. We passed though the art museum pretty quickly, but were not too concerned about that.
Choice of Karen Long neck village or Blue temple we chose the blue temple and werent disappointed, it was beautiful and our guide again was knowledgeable about the temple artwork and history

Border with Myanmar
A short stop for a few pics at the most northern most part of Thailand and the Myanmar border then a chance to shop in the jade markets

Laos Additional 1000B
This included a short trip into the actual triangle on a speedboat, a 30 min stop in Laos additional 50B payable on landing in Laos to walk around the market and local houses
Worth doing, even if its just to see the Serpent Whiskey you can try a little if youre brave its bad
Beware: You will have to leave your passport on the Thai side where they will also photocopy the photo page this is a security measure apparently in case people dont come back - so if you at all concerned about leaving your passport there, dont do this part of the trip

Info:
This is a marathon of a day so if you have small kids avoid it. We were picked up at 7 am and got back at 9.15pm. Really enjoyed it and got to see so much on this tour
Price was appropriate.
Lunch was buffet and no issues

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

carol United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Long day and long drive but saw plenty and guide was excellent.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Michael K United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour - highly recommended. This is a LONG tour, c. 14 hours, so you need to be prepared! But my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The opportunity to get a flavour of what northern Thailand is about was met by this trip, being able to watch the changing countryside from rolling, high hills to flat and wet paddy fields, and the amazing variety of fruits and vegetables produced and sold on the roadside in this luscious area. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful, and keen to point out things of note en route.
Stops for the Hot Springs, White Temple amazing!, lunch, and the Thai/Burma border were of great interest, though the stop for the hill tribes did leave us feeling somewhat voyeuristic.
Top of the bill for me, though, was the Golden Triangle viewpoint looking out over the Mekong to Laos and Burma - stunning in the late evening sunlight. It certainly made the 3.5 hour drive back - mainly in the dark - very worthwhile.
Highly recommended .... but not for boisterous kids!

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Pamela P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved our day in Mae Kampong - got to learn so much about rural Thailand and how the locals in the area live. It was so endearing and amazing to be able to experience it on a private tour. The intimacy made all the difference. Would absolutely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mae Kampong Village from Chiang Mai

Huey Suen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour guide and driver

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Lawlo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vich is the best tour guide same as the driver. We are well taken care. They are both helpful and Vich explains everything in detail. We enjoy the trip very much.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great day! Very comfortable van picked us up early, and we headed north. It was amazing just driving through the country side, which soon became rice fields and ever larger hills. After a short stop at the hot springs we arrived at The White Temple, which was stunning! We headed further north after driving through Chiang Rai, eventually arriving at a hill tribe village. What an experience you will REALLY appreciate the comforts of your own home after witnessing the lives the people there lead. We saw a village dance ceremony, and were able to talk communicate with some of the very gracious people there, as well as help them out by buying some of their crafts.
After that, we had a lunch at an open air restaurant over looking the Mekong River and Laos, we proceeded a short distance to an overlook to view the Golden Triangle, and visited the Hall of Opium museum. We opted not to cross the river on a boat. The museum was helpful tying in the past history of the Golden Triangle. We headed back after a long day with great memories and photos. Just the drive itself, seeing the rice fields and life in the north was fascinating.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Avril L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really great day, only 2 on the trip so could go at our own pace. Able to go across to Laos, lost propellor on way back, stranded for a while middle of Mekong, extra adventure! Long day but worth it

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Rosemary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day ,highlight was the white temple and long neck village . Our guide was lovely ,a long day but gave us great insight into northern Thailand .

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Katherine P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fantastic time! Our guide Makee and driver Bomie were great and very accommodating. We saw many amazing things and they were able to change the plan and see the hill tribe villages instead of boat trip to Laos. Everything was included that they promised, including lunch.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Diane C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent day tour. Great guide and drivers. Van was very comfortable and we were the only 2 on it. Roads were good and a lot was packed into the day.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Robin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an incredibly special day. Beer, our guide was knowledgeable and great fun. The villagers were so lovely and kind and the time in the home was amazing. A local village girl, Gun, was as precious as could be and lead us on a grand hike. She knew so much about the area and vegitation and we really appreciated her. It was the PERFECT way to unwind and spend the last of our vacation in Thailand! The in home massage was amazing! Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Mae Kampong Village from Chiang Mai

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour. The tour guide was wonderful and knowledgeable. The tour allowed you to see so much in one day, including a visit to Laos.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

janie.smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very full day but well worth it. Particularly enjoyed the added bit of seeing the long necked tribe.

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

VICTOR A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very informative private tour! The tour guide is extremely friendly and is very concerned with you receiving the best experience from the golden triangle area. The tour is a very long day so it is mostly for those who have a short time to visit north Thailand but let me reassure you most definitely will have enough time to catch most, if not all, of the marvels it has to offer. Highly recommend !

Doing what: Chiang Rai and Golden Triangle Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip, enjoyed the sights and the guide was superb! The drive was excellent, including the open air transport up into the hills! And the coffee stop on the way back down was fantastic, with amazing views. The temple is incredible and definitely well worth a visit. Good value!

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Jill H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great our guide was full of local knowledge and knew the history of the sites we visited. He helped us with our attempts to learn Thai and waited while we took endless photos.

Doing what: Private Tour: Lamphun Day Trip by Train from Chiang Mai

Dana L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nicki was amazing! There couldn't have been a better guide for this mini tour of Mae Kampong. Between her and Phi Pot it was the best day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mae Kampong Village from Chiang Mai

Shauna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour, our guide Sid was very informative and gave us lots of tips on what else we should see and do in Chiang mai. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Wat Doi Suthep Temple and White Meo Hilltribe Village Half-Day Tour from Chiang Mai

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were met at our hotel and was taken to the Botanical gardens where we picked up our bikes. The bikes were not the most comfortable and only after 30 mins my husband was very uncomfortable. They need to have padded seats! We cycled around the botanical gardens which was quite nice and then went on a paddlow, which for us was not what we wanted to do, but if you had children perhaps would have been fun. We then cycled out of the botanical gardens and went along the main road only a short distance until we turned off down a little road and which took us to the rice fields. We kept stopping at small places, where they made wooden figurines, and paper making which we weren't really interested in. There wasn't much cycling really and was disappointing. We stopped at a restaurant for lunch but it was closed so we were taken by car to another restaurant which was also closed. Third time lucky but the restaurant was on the side of a major road, not ideal. Disappointed with the cycling although we did get to see some nice scenery. The Zipline Adventure was fantastic. After being scared/nervous at the height and walking off the platform for the first couple of times, after that it was just brilliant. Enjoyed it very much and great being so high up in the forest. Our two guides were great and spoke good English. Very enjoyable afternoon. I would give the cycling 2 stars and the zipline 4 stars.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cycling and Zipline Adventure from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message