You haven’t truly been to Chiang Mai until you’ve visited its beautiful Buddhist temples. With the exception of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep in the mountains outside the city, the must-see temples are located inside the old city wall within walking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Benjamin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maggie, our tour guide, was wonderful. She had so much information to share. Really gave us an understanding of each of the temples we visited. We especially loved the Wat Phra That Doi Suthep. Breathtaking. We also learned a lot about Buddha. Our driver was gracious, providing water and umbrellas when necessary. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Mandi Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our private tour with Roong from Tour East was fabulous. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the temples and the area's history which we loved. We had an air-conditioned van and enjoyed being showed around the old city. We fell in love with Chiang Mai.
Roong even suggested a great restaurant to us as a locals favourite 'The River Market' and it was possibly some of the best food we've ever eaten.
Booking through Viator was really easy and we could pay in advance so we didn't dig into our spending money

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Krista N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was a delightful surprise and it's the one I've been telling everyone about. I ended up having a private tour due to some no-shows. Katie, my guide, took me to bring gifts to the monks and receive a blessing, and then we had a DELICIOUS breakfast by the airport. Thai congee, pork balls, sliced chicken, some Thai doughnuts with green sauce. The military pilots were there in their jump suits...very impressive. Obviously a popular place. Then we visited a very peaceful temple and made another offering. The super highlight was Monk Chat, where I chatted with a monk from Bagladesh for nearly an hour. The hour passed very quickly. It really made me want to understand Buddhism even more. If I had one tip for this tour, it's to wear shoes that can easily be slipped on and off. I was wearing high-top sneakers and they were a PAIN. Everywhere we went, I had to take them off and then get them back on again and there wasn't always a chair. I also liked traveling around in the red truck. Very easy to get in and out of.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

Roy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and guide. We went to number of prominent temples and enjoyed having own guide with family to keep you fully informed. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Latoussaint T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our half day tour of Chiang Mai City and Temples was excellent!! The transportation was on time, clean and cool air. The tour guide spoke clear english and was very professional. Enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide, Noy, was absolutely amazing. She was very knowledgeable in Buddhism and the different temples. She was friendly and went out of her way to help us buy local food at vendors. The tour gave us a better understanding of the culture in Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

muzicbaby United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I am so glad I booked this tour! The guide, Thongbang Thotsadon, was AMAZING! She came to pick me up right on time, at which point I discovered this was going to be a private tour. She was an absolute pleasure to speak with and so knowledgable! She took the time to get to know a bit about me and answered all my questions patiently and thoroughly.

The early wake up was worth it to go through the morning market to get breakfast for the monks. I got to give alms to the monks and get their blessing to start my day. Next, I got to experience a breakfast restaurant that was nearby. We then drove to Wat Umong and I was able to see the new monks bless the gifts they received and do a bit of ritual with them. We walked through the temple grounds and she explained a lot about Thai Buddhism to me and took me to the monk meditation caves where she and I had excellent discussion about meditation and the monk lifestyle. We next went to feed catfish on the nearby bridge and met another foreigner who was doing a meditative study stay at the temple.Thongbang took me to the meditation center and explained how I could arrange a stay the next time I was in Chiang Mai.

We next went to Wat Mahachula, which was celebrating its 30th anniversary as a monk and layperson university. I was able to speak with her former teacher and find out some information about studying at the school in English. We walked around the temple and she gave me the history of the structures there and of the Thai culture. I learned so much from her.

This is one of the best tours I have ever been on. Thongbang is a superb guide and so caring. She ensured I had a great experience In Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

A. J. J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Trip Advisor Review:

What a well spent morning with Thongbang! She arrived on time to let me know I would be the only one on the tour but she still made sure I had every experience expected and more. As an avid photographer, she made sure I had the best opportunities and best positions to get some wonderful photos. She is also a great conversationalist and we had some good talks about life and our views of the world. Although I was somewhat familiar with Buddhism, she provided so much more information to help me understand this faith and philosophy better.

We started the early day at the market where we gave food to the monks, some barely teenagers and we received their blessing and I got some good photos. Just wandering through the market with a local guide to explain was a good experience in itself.

We spent a good bit of time at the Forest Temple and I even got to present the monks with food for their breakfast. They were so friendly and the place so peaceful. Although part of the city, it was an oasis of quiet and solitude. We were also fortunate to catch an ordination ceremony and we watched the young men getting their heads shaved as their families looked on with such pride. Next she took me to a more urban Temple and, again, luck was on our side as they were celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Temple with many dignitaries and much color. I even got to meet one of her old teachers who was a delightful, friendly monk. They were also having an art show with some excellent paintings by students and monks.

We ended the morning with coffee and more good conversation before I was returned to my hotel.

Many people come to Chiang Mai just to have "fun" but there's so much to learn about another culture and this tour is the perfect way to learn. Thongbang is a great teacher as well as guide and I learned much on this tour.

Visited December 2014

Doing what: Chiang Mai Small-Group Cultural Tour

Jennifer J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was such a great way to see the temples. Our guide was hilarious.informative and she made an effort to drop us off at another temple just so we got the full experience. They were late in picking us up, but that was due to traffic.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and ehanced the whole tour with the small and large details of the temples. She was Thai and spoke English well.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Loved our tour guide and seeing the city and all the temples was completely unforgettable. It will stay etched in my mind forever.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Runsammie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Certainly worth doing this tour. The tour company was very professional and had arranged my pickup from the hotel even before I had checked-in. The tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We visited three temples plus had a little drive around the old town. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Ashley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour with great. The guide was really knowledgable and customized the tour when we asked to visit a temple not on his itinerary. The scenery is beautiful and I feel we would have missed a lot without a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Michael H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

An excellent tour. We were collected exactly on time and the guide was very professional, very informative and also very nice. We visited three temples, one on top of a mountain quite a distance from Chiang Mai city, so it was much better and easier than trying to find our own transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Katie S United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable - we learned a lot! It was a perfect half day excursion to get the most out of temple spotting in Chaing Mai. The air conditioned transport just added to the convenience and was very well worth it!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

coxo01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Loved it. Turned out to be a private tour. The tour guide was very friendly and knew everything there is to know about the temples etc. A must.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Scott K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

relaxed and easy tour of the temples and city...private tour is nice, because the guides are happy to stop when you need another iced coffee:-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Darren S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A great tour of some truly amazing temples. The guide was excellent and very informative. Definitely one to consider if you have a spare afternoon or morning.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Tom C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Piew was our private tour guide for the Chiang Mai city and temples tour and he was excellent. He taught us so much about the culture and about Buddhism. I feel like we learned a lot about day to day life in Chiang Mai while getting to see quite a few beautiful sites. He was very helpful in suggesting restaurants/activities for us later on as well.

Wassan was also a great driver. I recommend this tour for anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

HUGO G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a superb tour in which I got to see three very different Temples. Dom Suthep was particularly interesting as it was so busy and it was possible to observe the immense variety of religious rituals being performed there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Dieter B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

So many temples to choose from Chiang Mai really is the city of temples, but the 3 we visited were very interesting indeed. Knowledgable and friendly guide, good transport to and from our hotel. A good half-day tour, recommended!

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Prana77

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very informative 1/2 day tour of Chiang Mai temples. The guide was on-time and knowledgeable about all temples visited. Doi suthep was the highlight and the climb up the snake staircase to the top is well worth it if you can. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Katherine R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Recommended to those who want to see a few temples and get some history/culture of ChiangMai. I really enjoyed this tour because we kept it moving but wasn't too fast - Mam was an amazing guide too, gave the best honest answers to questions.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Gordon H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

fascinating view of the city and good quality temples

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Mai City and Temples

Lynette B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was a good tour that included the highlights and main temples in Chiang Mai. Very punctual in picking us up from our hotel. Nice not to have to worry about transportation and they provided us with free bottled water and umbrellas. The temples were beautiful though it was particularly helpful to have a guide explainthings to us. It made the temples much more enjoyable to understand what we were looking at.

Doing what: Chiang Mai City and Temples Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message