Riding an elephant through the jungle can be one of the most memorable experiences you can have in Thailand. There are more than a dozen elephant camps operating in the Chiang Mai area offering everything from one hour elephant rides to full-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 158 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nicola w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were the only ones on the tour so had a lovely day with our own private guide and driver. The Maesa elephant conservation park was well worth seeing and we had an elephant trek over to the hill tribe village where the ladies in the village were very friendly. Got lots of lovely photos. Our guide was excellent and very informative.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Brittany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend this elephant park and experience. Wonderful day filled with people who really help you understand the elephants and truly care about their well being!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Harriet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent opportunity to interact with elephants. A lot of fun!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Barb S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an amazing day!!
Chi , our guide was friendly, very informative , and spoke great english ! Everyone one at the camp was super nice and loved being close with the elephants- All of the mahouts and tour guides care about the elephants and making your day unforgettable!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent trip and a really great deal! The day was packed full of fun activities, and we never felt rushed. We expected that we would be doing the rowing for the rafting segment, but it was actually a very nice slow float along the Ping River. The elephant ride was incredibly fun and relaxing. Lunch was great, and we even made an additional stop at our own cost to the Tiger Kingdom. An amazing day!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Valerie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very good trip, elephants seems to be well treated

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Jens J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience. Everything went smoothly. They offered me encouragement and help as I was scared to death to get on the elephant. Nice clothes to wear, shower, delicious lunch, a/c van for ride to their location. Beautiful place. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic trip. We were able to feed the elephants literally hundreds of tiny bananas and then swim in the river with them. It was far more fun and satisfying than an elephant ride and I strongly recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see and touch elephants!

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Adam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't imagine a better experience with the elephants. We got to feed, them, ride them, and even bathe with them if you chose. Great that they provided us clothes. I would recommend wearing flip flops or going barefoot. The bugs were vicious, but the guides were great, food good, and the overall experience, one of a kind!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

PETER H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an awesome day with the wonderful guide Sam and driver Red
This was one of the great days of my life
An experience that will stay with me
The elephants are treated with care and respect by the mahouts
Sam is a 5 star person and guide
Peter. Australia

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

nlascase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience with the rescued elephants for a day. These gentle giants were so happy and excited to have visitors to feed and play with them!

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really great tour with Maggie as our tour guide. She had excellent English, met all of our needs and gave us lots of additional information. The company runs very small tours of six people or less and so was very intimate. The elephants were amazing and the camp we went was small, clean and the elephants were very well cared for.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Katrina A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Even though we were unable to raft due to the low water, our guide made sure to include additional sights to make up for it. We were able to visit a beautiful orchid farm and butterfly garden. The elephants were so cute and friendly, and the ride through the jungle provided us the opportunity to enjoy the scenery. The mahouts were professional and kind to the elephants, and we felt safe at every step. Lunch was also provided at the Tiger Kingdom, so we got a chance to take pictures with the tigers as well. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

doudou-mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The elephant trek is a great pleasure, ue to the dry season and lacking water the rafting was cancelled and replaced by a monkey show. The latter was regrettable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Rickey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We are from California. Not knowing which tour would be the best, we went for the one that had good reviews that we read online. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! This elephant experience was one of our
most memorable days. Everything about it was fabulous. Thank you so much Baanchang!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really HAPPY place...wonderful experience...great people doing a great job...and those beautiful elephants - felt very privileged to be so close to them - I am in love!
Fantastic lunch - all in all I can not recommend it too much

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this was an incredible experience. We had no desire to ride the elephants, and this tour allowed us to get up close and personal with the elephants by feeding them, and playing with them in the river. Being able to see the 2 week old elephant was a highlight of the trip, as he was very cute. I strongly recommend this tour if you feel riding the elephants is not for you.

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

W P V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! All well arranged: early pick up from hotel, able to really interact with the elephants and lots of information about the animals. Wonderful lunch.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A truly amazing day, elephants were so clever and very well looked after, the rafting down the river was peaceful and just awesome....top day would recommend b

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful day! The elephants were amazing, the trek up into the mountain to the hill tribe village was great. Riding the elephant for 1.5 hrs up a stream and back through the river....amazing.
The rafting down the river on a bamboo raft was a great experience, despite the low water which made it a bit difficult...water buffalo as water hazards in the river... unforgetable!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

bhavesh j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My wife and I had a great experience at Baanchang Elephant Park. We were picked up exactly on time from our hotel and it was a 45 minute drive once the rest of the group had been collected. We had an excellent guide who told us what to expect and informed us of our estimated arrival time to the park. Once we got there, they gave us uniforms and we had a guided tour around which included feeding the elephants bananas and sugarcane, then getting to know them and learning basic commands, followed by riding the elephants and then bathing them which was the highlight. Our guide stayed with us throughout, explaining each process and gave us a valuable insight into the life of an elephant, facts that we didn't know of, and a good overview of the amazing things they do at the park to look after them. The elephants were happy, healthy and really well taken care of. Typical to many elephant park reviews, we did notice the mahouts carrying bull hooks and some elephants were chained by the foot to ensure they don't run around and get out of view. There are ALOT of elephants at this park to justify the above, but the reassurance to everything was that they were happy and we'll looked after and it is evident by the area and its people, that there is a very special bond between elephants and their carers and that made the experience extra pleasant.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Maria Andreina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best experience ever. Good guide for the day. Good food for lunch : a gentle staff. Never doubt to take this experience. You will have the opportunity to stay with the elephant all the time around 6 hrs.
--
Una de las mejores experiencias en mi vida. Buenos guías, atención y comida. El staff es bastante amable. No duden en tomar esta experiencia, 100 vale la pena. Estarán todo el día con los elefantes cerca de 6 horas.

LANNA fue mi elefante en la excursion....non long'... bai bai Lana :

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic experience, staff very friendly. Informative and above all love their elephants and treat them very well. All are so dedicated to to the elephants well being and very appreciative of the visitors that come because it enables them to continue and expand their good work.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

REJEAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Every thing was well organized. Nice elephant ride in jungle river, stream, etc.. Nice rafting. Not much water this time of year, but they can't control that.Very good lunch.
We ask to complete the day by visiting hills tribes to see the long neck women and they organised that easily.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Mrs C Thompson t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a must its the best trip of our holiday so special .no clown acts here just a special time in the home of the elephants feeding them walking with them the guide is very in love with her elephants and she spends hours with you telling you all about the elephants .made our trip

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message