Riding an elephant through the jungle can be one of the most memorable experiences you can have in Thailand. There are more than a dozen elephant camps operating in the Chiang Mai area offering everything from one hour elephant rides to full-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beatrice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour as described on your Viator site. Spent a whole day, feeding, riding and washing the elephants. Fabulous experience.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Andrew U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. They treat the elephants in the best possible way. We had the opportunity to feed the elephants, ride them bareback as well as bathe them at the end of the ride. I took my two girls 12 and 14 and it was perfect for kids that age.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Tory O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome experience taking care of elephants rescued from all over Thailand. Feed them, learn basic riding commands, ride bareback, and then clean the elephants. Great conservation efforts. Our guide was named Best, he was great. Lunch included. Maybe the best Pad Thai I ever had, overall amazing experience.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Lynne-Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent trip, the tour guide was fantastic and was very well informed.

the elephant park was excellent and also the trip over the fantastic hill and views are something we will always remember.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Paul J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was awesome, much more than expected! Great value, customer service and experience! I expected the elephant ride to be short but it was quite the opposite. Nice long ride to hill tribe village and back. The elephant show was awesome as well as lunch and stops to see rice spaghetti productio

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

MLS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding, almost spiritual, from pick up to drop off it went like clockwork. The camp only has five elephants, including an 18 month and a 5 month old. They know each one like friends and treat them with great care and attention. This is a gentle, inspiring day, accompanied by am small group of like minded travellers and a wonderful lunch. The highlight for us was swimming in the fast flowing river with the elephants at the end of the day, they are so huge yet so gentle, it was our most memorable experience in Thailand and definitely not to be missed.

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

nicola w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were the only ones on the tour so had a lovely day with our own private guide and driver. The Maesa elephant conservation park was well worth seeing and we had an elephant trek over to the hill tribe village where the ladies in the village were very friendly. Got lots of lovely photos. Our guide was excellent and very informative.

Doing what: Long-Neck Karen Hill Tribe Tour Including Elephant Ride from Chiang Mai

Brittany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend this elephant park and experience. Wonderful day filled with people who really help you understand the elephants and truly care about their well being!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Harriet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent opportunity to interact with elephants. A lot of fun!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Barb S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What an amazing day!!
Chi , our guide was friendly, very informative , and spoke great english ! Everyone one at the camp was super nice and loved being close with the elephants- All of the mahouts and tour guides care about the elephants and making your day unforgettable!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent trip and a really great deal! The day was packed full of fun activities, and we never felt rushed. We expected that we would be doing the rowing for the rafting segment, but it was actually a very nice slow float along the Ping River. The elephant ride was incredibly fun and relaxing. Lunch was great, and we even made an additional stop at our own cost to the Tiger Kingdom. An amazing day!

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Valerie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very good trip, elephants seems to be well treated

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Jens J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience. Everything went smoothly. They offered me encouragement and help as I was scared to death to get on the elephant. Nice clothes to wear, shower, delicious lunch, a/c van for ride to their location. Beautiful place. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fantastic trip. We were able to feed the elephants literally hundreds of tiny bananas and then swim in the river with them. It was far more fun and satisfying than an elephant ride and I strongly recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see and touch elephants!

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Adam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can't imagine a better experience with the elephants. We got to feed, them, ride them, and even bathe with them if you chose. Great that they provided us clothes. I would recommend wearing flip flops or going barefoot. The bugs were vicious, but the guides were great, food good, and the overall experience, one of a kind!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

PETER H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What an awesome day with the wonderful guide Sam and driver Red
This was one of the great days of my life
An experience that will stay with me
The elephants are treated with care and respect by the mahouts
Sam is a 5 star person and guide
Peter. Australia

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

nlascase

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience with the rescued elephants for a day. These gentle giants were so happy and excited to have visitors to feed and play with them!

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really great tour with Maggie as our tour guide. She had excellent English, met all of our needs and gave us lots of additional information. The company runs very small tours of six people or less and so was very intimate. The elephants were amazing and the camp we went was small, clean and the elephants were very well cared for.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Katrina A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Even though we were unable to raft due to the low water, our guide made sure to include additional sights to make up for it. We were able to visit a beautiful orchid farm and butterfly garden. The elephants were so cute and friendly, and the ride through the jungle provided us the opportunity to enjoy the scenery. The mahouts were professional and kind to the elephants, and we felt safe at every step. Lunch was also provided at the Tiger Kingdom, so we got a chance to take pictures with the tigers as well. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

doudou-mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The elephant trek is a great pleasure, ue to the dry season and lacking water the rafting was cancelled and replaced by a monkey show. The latter was regrettable.

Doing what: Chiang Dao Elephant Jungle Trek and Ping River Rafting Tour from Chiang Mai

Rickey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We are from California. Not knowing which tour would be the best, we went for the one that had good reviews that we read online. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! This elephant experience was one of our
most memorable days. Everything about it was fabulous. Thank you so much Baanchang!

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A really HAPPY place...wonderful experience...great people doing a great job...and those beautiful elephants - felt very privileged to be so close to them - I am in love!
Fantastic lunch - all in all I can not recommend it too much

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

Paul D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

this was an incredible experience. We had no desire to ride the elephants, and this tour allowed us to get up close and personal with the elephants by feeding them, and playing with them in the river. Being able to see the 2 week old elephant was a highlight of the trip, as he was very cute. I strongly recommend this tour if you feel riding the elephants is not for you.

Doing what: 1-Day Happy Elephant Camp Training Course

W P V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! All well arranged: early pick up from hotel, able to really interact with the elephants and lots of information about the animals. Wonderful lunch.

Doing what: Baanchang Elephant Park Conservation Experience from Chiang Mai

J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A truly amazing day, elephants were so clever and very well looked after, the rafting down the river was peaceful and just awesome....top day would recommend b

Doing what: Elephant Trek, Rafting and Hilltribe Village Tour from Chiang Mai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message