The northern city of Chiang Rai will appeal to those who like a slower pace of life. It may appear to lack "must-see" attractions, but its temples, hill tribe villages, and excursions into the countryside warrant staying for a few days.   ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharon A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great guides, amazing sights
Fantastic day spent well worth
The money

Doing what: Golden Triangle Day Trip from Chiang Rai Including Mekong River Cruise and Hill Tribe Village

kimberly.irene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time on our day trip to Myanmar and the Golden Triangle! We LOVED stopped at the tea plantation in Chiang Rai-- wow! It was beautiful and the tea and snack that we had were delicious. Our guide, I'm not sure how to spell his name but we pronounced it like Chucky he spoke great English and he was very knowledgeable about everything we did on our tour. Tip: Don't forget your immigration card when you bring your passport to cross the border into Myanmar- you will need that. We loved the food, the temples in Myanmar, the shopping, and the views were beautiful in the Golden Triangle. Our guide was great with photos and everything. Opium museum wasn't my favorite--- but I'm not really big into museums. I would highly recommend this private tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Shannon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun to cross the border into Myanmar and see the Golden Triangle! Really enjoyed our guide Tony, who was super informative and friendly. My favorite part was probably the visit to the long-neck women and other tribes. Be sure to wear sturdy shoes that you don't mind getting dirty. Can be muddy and a bit of uneven terrain.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

chantal d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative, great guide and totally worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Catriona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was fantastic. Our guide was amazing and knew everything and anything about the tour and Thailand in general! The tour makes a lot of amazing stops, long neck hill tribe was fascinating, many interesting and beautiful temples in Myanmar, delicious lunch in Myanmae. Highly recommend

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Alexander L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nok took us to a wonderful local breakfast and did a nice job taking us to a tribal
town, the Golden Buddha, on a boat to Laos! where we got some amazing deals on
name brand purses!!, and to this wonderful hill top where we had a great view of the
Golden Triangle. She also took us shopping like we asked. In the morning she found a
Laundromat for us! She also took us to a nice buffet lunch.

Doing what: Golden Triangle Day Trip from Chiang Rai Including Mekong River Cruise and Hill Tribe Village

kirsten.hopkinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fantastic!! It was myself, my partner and two friends and we all had an excellent time with our private tour guide! Tony was excellent and it was sad leaving him at the end of the day!
The visit to the Karen tribe was fantastic and not something we'd have been able to see if we didn't take the tour! The visit into Myanmar was great too - seeing all the beautiful temples!
If you do one tour in your time in Chiang Rai - make it this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Jenny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best ever tour. Guide was fantastic and full of information.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Tom A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour. Tony was a great guide and we saw and did everything as advertised. If you just want a quick trip to Myannmar, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Brad F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A real treat. The tour provided a full day of sightseeing supported by a dedicated driver and a personal guide who was very approachable and spoke excellent English. Although the tour into Myanmar is limited to the border town of Tachileik, the visit provided a glimpse of the local culture including the contrasts and similarities of the neighbouring countries. The visit to the Golden Triangle at the confluence of the Mekong and Ruak Rivers provided a perspective on how the geography and politics have shapes the events of trade including elicit drugs. Although the information provided at the Opium Museum was informative, the facility and displays are rather dated and in need of a refit. We opted for the motor boat ride across the Mekong River to Laos where there are tourist shopping stalls and great views the area. Although it would have been nice to venture further into Laos, that is beyond the scope of this tour. This is an excellent 'taster' tour and one that left me wanting to explore the region further.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Rai City Sightseeing

Glenn W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide and driver were excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable about the places we visited. The restaurant was very average compared to some other ones that we have been taken to on other tours. Overall a very enjoyable day. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Laura S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we were dropped off we were flooded with information, facts, stories and history. Our guide Suda was terrific. She was extremely outgoing, fun and super knowledgable. She made our time spent with the hill tribes so intimate, it felt as though we were a part of their family. We even got to go inside one of their houses! We were able to ask her so many questions, getting honest answers.

The only unfortunate part of the trip was the lunch. The food was not good, and catered to Western tourists. We would have loved real local spicy Thai food! But the rest of the day made up for it entirely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

Cynthia A. J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a tour which almost ended up as a disaster! I misread the pickup hotel and thought it was Chiang Mai only to find upon confirmation when we arrived at our hotel it was Chiang Rai. Eventually it was worked out by your wonderful agent though we did pay $100 more than what we had already paid. So the driver picked us up (once again looking for another racial group) and drove the three hours to Chiang Rai plus giving us a private tour leaving some of the sightseeing decisions to us. All in all we had an enjoyable day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chiang Rai City Sightseeing

Hilary H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour. Although controversial, I enjoyed the Karen tribe tour. It was good to learn their history and the reasons why they have moved into Thailand and allow people to visit their camps. I also enjoyed the walk across the border I to Myanmar and then zipping around in the tuk tuk from temple to temple.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Arvind

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The guide was very good and knowledgeable and helpful. But the vehicle provided was inadequate for 6 people. People in back seat were very tight and uncomfortable !

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Louise S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This tour was fabulous! Guide was knowledgeable and tour was interesting. Guide was flexible when we didn't like the first choice of restaurant he found another one that met our needs. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is guide showed up late at our hotel and we were worried that there was a problem with the arrangements.

Doing what: Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden Triangle Trip from Chiang Rai

Diane H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Loved our tour guide Tom. Tribe tour was a bit commercial but Tom gave us much information and you came away with a wealth of information

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Disappointing. We only visited two Hill Tribes which were right next to each other. Museum was very interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hill Tribes and the Golden Triangle Tour from Chiang Rai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message