Chicago ATTRACTIONS See all

Art Institute of Chicago

Chicago visitors flock to the Art Institute of Chicago, located in Grant Park, to admire two very important and much-parodied American works, Grant Wood’s famous 1930 painting, American Gothic (the iconic farmer with a pitchfork, standing next to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This interesting tour showed us some beautiful glass and provided a nice historical context for the buildings and art we saw. On a rainy cold day, we did not have to spend an excessive amount of time outside and still got to see a lot. It even had a 'behind-the-scenes feel when we saw the beautiful ceiling pieces in the Art Institute. Even though I have been in the building many times, I had never been in these rooms. Thanks to Pricilla for the 'extras' she squeezed into the tour!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Tiffany Treasures

Alison O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic if you are in Chicago for 4 or 5 days as this CityPass gives you great discounts on all the tourist spots that you'd probably hit. I can't recommend this enough.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very fun and informative.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

DIANA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. My guide was young, funny, and had some great jokes and knowledge about Chicago. The views were spectacular, and I felt like I saw all the sights. I highly recommend this to anyone travelling to Chicago for the first time.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Shaun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wouter O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really nice, some quick entrances and some nice attractions! Only thing that I didnt really like is that the planetarium closed earlier than expected apparently I was just too late for summer season and the opening times were slightly different.

Doing what: Chicago Explorer Pass

krisnelswils

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful tour! We, of course, had several tour guides. The one that stood out was an African-American gentleman who's name began with a C, though all were very good. We saw and learned about things we would never have seen on our own. We loved the on-off option that allowed us to investigate further. We gained insight into those things that were of greatest interest to us . . . where to go and what to do. We had great luck with Viator while we were in Chicago and will look them up again in our next city!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jenny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was well organized and the guides were knowledgeable and personable. A great way to see Chicago's core and learn about the city!

Doing what: Chicago City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

raymond w. c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

CONVENIENT AND INFORMATIVE.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Chicago is a revelation. It is clean, smart, stylish and there is a lot to do and see. The tour takes you to all the main places and helps you get your bearings, then you can plan your time to get maximum benefit. In particular we went to the Field Museum and saw an exhibition of Chinese Terracotta Warriors which was excellent. Okay, so we didn't venture far from the area near the lake but with so much to see there our time was well used. The enormous stainless 'Nut' the hourly fountain across the river the best steaks in Chicago, I could go on but it would be better for you to go there and find these things for yourself. Chicago may not be on everyone's 'must visit' list, but it should be. SB of MK.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Holly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great deal, AMAZING CITY. HIGHLY recommended! Didn and #39;t love the Adler Planetarium, the shows made me dizzy, but it probably just isn and #39;t for everyone. You can see the city line from the back of the planetarium anyways, which was my ultimate goal for photos. I wish I had chosen the Art Institute.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Art G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour! the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about the town and the length of the tour was great... would book again... and will definitely let others know about it....

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

amcool170

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

well organise

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Our guide, Chuck, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable, great personality. It was so convenient to jump on and off at whatever stopped you preferred or you could remain on the trolley. There was never a long wait to get back onto the bus once you got off at a stop. Would highly recommend this tour especially if this is your first trip to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Donnasingler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an great way to see the city. Loved the fact we didn't have to stand in line. What a great deal.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Annmarie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Love the museum but there was no,discount in buying the tickets in advance through trip advisor.

Doing what: Art Institute of Chicago Fast Pass Admission

dean k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see Chicago. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

James N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done several Hop-on Hop-off tours and always find them good value. We usually ride the entire route first and then go again, getting off and on where we want.
This bus, in combination with the Chicago Explorer Pass, made our short stay in Chicago easy and pleasant.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

James N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We both thought the Explorer Pass was a good value. We knew we wanted to see four or five venues so this worked out for us.

Doing what: Chicago Explorer Pass

Kristi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We used the Explorer Pass for 3 activities- the Big Bus Tour, Willis Tower and the Architecture River Cruise. All 3 were top notch attractions. The only negative that I can mention is that the Willis Tower entry said skip the line, but it didn't really skip anything, although since it was not crowded it didn't really make much difference to us, but if you wanted to use it to skip a long line it apparently would not have done what you were expecting.

Doing what: Chicago Explorer Pass

MICHAEL J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The CHICAGO CITY PASS is probably the best offer available. You can visit so many places on your own time. I was able to visit all listed in the booklet. Enjoyed all the museums again and all the special sites. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago CityPass

Ronald A. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for your grate service. I will give 5 star. Thanking you.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Erin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth it!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Quintin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see downtown Chicago! Our tour guides, Logan and Bruno were very knowledgeable about the various sights and provided excellent running commentaries only a Chicago native could deliver. It was a gorgeous weekend and traffic was flowing. Highly recommended especially for first time visitors to the Windy City.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

yvonne.corvers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour on the Mississippi was just amazing. The buffet was great, nice friendly staff and the view was also great. We just loved this tour, was the best evening of our whole vacation. The only thing I felt was a pitty was that they lost our picture that was made in the beginning, I would have bought it if they didn't.

Doing what: Chicago Explorer Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message