Chicago is famous for its Art Deco and skyscraper architecture, so taking a tour of the Windy City's architectural highs and lows is a great way to get to know the Windy City. The city has fostered landmark modern architects like Frank Lloyd ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2043 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This interesting tour showed us some beautiful glass and provided a nice historical context for the buildings and art we saw. On a rainy cold day, we did not have to spend an excessive amount of time outside and still got to see a lot. It even had a 'behind-the-scenes feel when we saw the beautiful ceiling pieces in the Art Institute. Even though I have been in the building many times, I had never been in these rooms. Thanks to Pricilla for the 'extras' she squeezed into the tour!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Tiffany Treasures

yusuf a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent. Presenter is very knowledgeable with a touch of funnys.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Beatrice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

wonderful experience with a wonderful guide

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers

Kirby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Splendid tour. I would reccomend it to anyone who hasn't been to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The docent for the trip was a nonstop flurry of facts, anecdotes and historical tidbits from the time we took off to the time we docked. I have lived in Chicago for several years and taken an active interest in its history, but I came away with tons of information I didn't know before.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I am hard of hearing and I had no trouble hearing the commentary on this trip. A very worthwhile experience. I went first of November and it was sunny and in the 50s but glad I had a couple of layers, plus jacket and hat. But, then, I am also from Texas.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lynda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well informed guide and a really interesting tour. Loved the commentary on the ex Marshall Fields Dept store. The pedway history was intriging and visiting the old Library was special - the most amazing Tiffany mosaic decore

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed the cruise. The guide was very passionate about the architecture of Chicago and made it interesting.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. Glad we went.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tim T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have NOT been on the architectural tour you have missed a fantastic trip. I have lived in Chicago for 28 years and have just been on my first tour and I want to go on them more often! Our tour guide Jim was fantastic, very informative and learned so much about the city and its past and its architectural beauty. A must see for all tourist!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tom R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed the tour. The guide was very informative and funny. Learned a lot about the different architecture styles and how they complimented and blended together.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Roland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour of some wonderful Chicago gems with Pawel who was extremely well informed and entertaining coupled with multimedia extracts that added so much colour. Highly recommened.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Must see if you are visiting Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

enlin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful! Learned a lot. The Chicago Architectural Foundation's volunteer docents are amazing! Go for it!!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers

Cynthia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, very educational

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Melissa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Worth every penny! Beautiful tour with a very well informed tour guide, we learned a lot. Highly recommended activity to do while in the windy city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour guide who combined humor and history in his commentary. Interesting to see the beautiful Chicago architecture from the river side.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and knowledgeable and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Giesel V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Really got to learn about the city's architecture while enjoying a nice ride through the river. Highly recommend this.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

elizabethvarin1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative...really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Bridget L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing. I saw so much. I would recommend that anyone who has never been to Chicago to take this River tour Cruise because you will see a lot and it was well worth while. The young man that hosted the Architectural tour was very knowledgeable and that is what really made the tour so amazing. He deserves a promotion. I wish I could have remembered his name. I was very pleased. You will not be disappointed for going on this tour.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Julie R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour was excellent, though I would have enjoyed it more had I known exactly which building the guide was talking about. His knowledge seemed extensive, but with so many buildings on the horizon, the specific building under discussion was often illusive. Also, I was sad not to have had a photo taken by the guide company before or after the tour.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Daniel S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We had a nice time on the River Cruise. It was very informative and interesting. We learned some neat history/trivia.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Peter W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Guild was very good. There is a great deal more that I was hoping to get to see but all in all worth the time and money.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Julie I S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I believe this would have been a great tour and lecture, if it hadn't been for a group of selfish, obnoxious, constantly chatty, twenty-somethings sitting behind us. The speaking guide was funny, informative, knowledgeable, and well spoken. I wish we could have heard the complete lecture, but we sat in the wrong part of the boat to get the full effect. These ill mannered folks were so full of themselves and I was surprised when I turned around to realize that they were adults. I really loved the sights of the city, and I will probably go again next time we are in Chicago, so we can enjoy the whole tour. I gave it Three Stars because I believe the tour operator has a responsibility to their customers and should have a policy against loud, and/or obnoxious behavior while the guide is speaking. Thank You

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message