Chicago is famous for its Art Deco and skyscraper architecture, so taking a tour of the Windy City's architectural highs and lows is a great way to get to know the Windy City. The city has fostered landmark modern architects like Frank Lloyd ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2055 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Trip was good intro to Chicago architecture and history for group from different places and with different expectations and experiences

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Souvik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent value for mone

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ellen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This interesting tour showed us some beautiful glass and provided a nice historical context for the buildings and art we saw. On a rainy cold day, we did not have to spend an excessive amount of time outside and still got to see a lot. It even had a 'behind-the-scenes feel when we saw the beautiful ceiling pieces in the Art Institute. Even though I have been in the building many times, I had never been in these rooms. Thanks to Pricilla for the 'extras' she squeezed into the tour!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Tiffany Treasures

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

On time well rehearsed and knowledgeable guide. I was on the competitors tour....no comparison. This is MUCH better

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Rachel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really fun, our tour guide was intelligent and funny.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very well organized and the guide was quite knowledgeable about all aspects of the city's architecture and the persons behind the various buildings we saw. Highly recommend this tour great value for the price.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Brenda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were thrilled with the tour!! Everyone told us not to miss this tour, they were so right.
Everyone should go on this cruise when they are in Chicago!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Vanessa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was one of my highlights of our short stay in Chicago. Our guide Alex was great and made the tour informative with plenty of local knowledge. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Dennis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had beautiful weather...a gorgeous City to see...the architecture is phenomenal. Every one was
courteous and our 10 year old Grandson listened to our guide and was entertained the whole trip.
We couldn't finish all the tours we had planned on taking. There is SO much to do i Chicago. Thank
you for this great City experience.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

allan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was awesome! Super informative and definitely a different perspective of the city that you won't get just driving or walking around. Bring a jacket!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We picked this tour based on reviews and were quite pleased. They were friendly and very efficient about getting people through ticketing, boarding and disembarking quickly while emphasizing safety. They were ready to accommodate my limited mobility. The tour leader was funny and amazingly, the sound system let us hear every word-- not common on other tours we have taken. They quickly took pictures but there was no pressure to buy them our picture was very good, so we did. There was some difficulty finding and getting to the right dock but they had no control over that. We took a taxi but I don't think there was any parking around. The taxi turnout is great for getting people in and out quickly, so we would recommend you also come by taxi. We were lucky to have good weather for this tour in Oct. There is a point where you are out on the lake which got quite chilly, even on a balmy afternoon. Bring a jacket or otherwise dress slightly warmer than required in downtown Chicago, whenever you come. I don't know how this compares to other tours, but I highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Chiu C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Enjoy the walk and history of every building.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers

yusuf a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent. Presenter is very knowledgeable with a touch of funnys.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Beatrice F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

wonderful experience with a wonderful guide

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Historic Skyscrapers

Kirby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Splendid tour. I would reccomend it to anyone who hasn't been to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The docent for the trip was a nonstop flurry of facts, anecdotes and historical tidbits from the time we took off to the time we docked. I have lived in Chicago for several years and taken an active interest in its history, but I came away with tons of information I didn't know before.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I am hard of hearing and I had no trouble hearing the commentary on this trip. A very worthwhile experience. I went first of November and it was sunny and in the 50s but glad I had a couple of layers, plus jacket and hat. But, then, I am also from Texas.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lynda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well informed guide and a really interesting tour. Loved the commentary on the ex Marshall Fields Dept store. The pedway history was intriging and visiting the old Library was special - the most amazing Tiffany mosaic decore

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed the cruise. The guide was very passionate about the architecture of Chicago and made it interesting.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lee J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour with a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. Glad we went.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tim T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you have NOT been on the architectural tour you have missed a fantastic trip. I have lived in Chicago for 28 years and have just been on my first tour and I want to go on them more often! Our tour guide Jim was fantastic, very informative and learned so much about the city and its past and its architectural beauty. A must see for all tourist!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tom R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed the tour. The guide was very informative and funny. Learned a lot about the different architecture styles and how they complimented and blended together.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Roland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour of some wonderful Chicago gems with Pawel who was extremely well informed and entertaining coupled with multimedia extracts that added so much colour. Highly recommened.

Doing what: Chicago Walking Tour: Interior Architecture of the Loop and Pedway Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Must see if you are visiting Chicago!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message