During the 1920s Prohibition Era, there were a number of Italian-American gangs that began smuggling in alcohol, bribing police, money laundering and getting involved in illicit activities revolving around the banned sale of alcohol as well as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Bus was clean and cool, tour guide was funny and full of information - we had a great time! He gave us info about crime/mob but also some history on Chicago itself. He even recommended a few books and we've already started one, Devil in the White City - good book.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

pgoyseverino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lots of tantalizing details about the Mob and Prohibition. A nice way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Matti F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour - even for a cold Chicago day! :-

Never knew that there were so many mobsters and criminals in Chicago - and the tour guide made it fascinating!

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was great. I am huge into the mobsters of the past

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Charlotte A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

VERY EXCITING TO GET ON AND OFF OF THE BUS WHERE THE CRIME MOBSTERS ACTUALLY WALKED - I FELT LIKE A PART OF THE MOB MYSELF!!

GREAT TOUR

CHARLOTTE

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

nails

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour and our tour guide Jade was fantastic, he had lots of great facts about Chicagos mob and crime history. We got off the bus at a few different places where he explained the history of the places. All in all a fantastic tour highly reccomend.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great!! Our guide was very informative. All the stops on the tour were spot on where Dillinger was killed, St. Valentine massacre, etc. A lot was covered in just the 1 1/2 hr. A must do if visiting Chicago and like mob and/or crazies history.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really enjoy the crime and mob tour. Our tour guide kept was energetic and interacted with all bus riders. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

querubin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time. The tour guy was very knowledgeable about the various mobsters plus he made it funny. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Ann-Marie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was brilliant. Our guide Jade was very knowledgeable and very entertaining. I booked the trip especially for my husband who loves all things gangster/mob related but I loved it just as much as him. Would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Chicago

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Ann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Guide very knowledgeable and entertaining. Enjoyed seeing both real mobster sites and movie mobster sites. Guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our family of 6 adults decided to go on the tour to celebrate my husband’s 60th birthday. We all really enjoyed it and agreed that our tour guide made the tour. He shared many interesting facts about Chicago and the Mob scene and added just enough humor and play on words to make it fun! It was a great way to see Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Rebecca H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A lot of fun on a cold winter afternoon. Unfortunately Chicago Mayor has demolished many of the original buildings in the stories, but you still get to see the neighbourhoods wherein the famous stories took place, a famous police take down, and a very neat collection of newspaper articles. We really enjoyed it! It does include on and off the bus, so if you have a challenge with mobility it may not be for you.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Maureen B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed our tour guide, Jade. He clearly loves what he does and made the tour come alive. What a fun way to see a completely different side of Chicago - we recommend the Crime and Mob Tour!

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Kay P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was a great tour. Billy is really passionate about the subject of the mob etc and was full of information.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Wendy O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was good !
Getting out of the bus here and there to see the mob locations it was great !!!

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

teresa.cirella

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Mob tour was good. The animator was good and knew his mob history. Would have wanted to actually get off the bus and visit the St. Valentine's Day massacre wall instead of the bus just slowing down and just having it pointed it out.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

ki.allen

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour guide was very informed and pleasant. He wasn't expecting a guest on the tour who lived in Chicago when John Dillinger was killed. It made the tour authentic to say the least. Would have liked more about Al Capone and where he lived. We didn't need to be told about architecture since that is available on all the other tours. After all it was a 'Crime and Mob' tour. the south side gangland was virtually ignored.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Connie D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This trip certainly provided lots of stories about the mob and crimes of Chicago, but it is essentially a bus tour around the city. Our guide was friendly and tried to clarify myths vs reality of the Chicago mob scene in the 30s and 40s. Interesting couple of hours, but not something I was say is a must do.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Reinaldo F

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was nice and the guide was superb but we were hoping to see real, actual tunnels and stuff that the mobsters used to move liquor from one speak easy to the next, and that really isn't featured -- just a look at the entrance to a cellar but that's about it. Even so, the tour takes you through some of Chicago's tonier areas, so it was anyway worth it for ourselves.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

anna g

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

A lot of this tour involved driving around, 'listening' to stories about the mob... but not really 'seeing' enough of Chicago. It was not our favourite. :

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Annette G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This tour is basically a mobile lecture that shows you lots of car parks because one of the Mayor Daley's had all the mobster related buildings demolished so they did not become shrines but it means that there is not much to see. You get to see some of Chicago, but we were disappointed.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Kristi A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Eh....is all I can say. I go on many tours with each city I visit. This gave you what it said it would, some history about the mob and a glimpse of where a mobster was killed. We missed a stop do to too much traffic. To be honest, the tour guides were fun and did their best with the material, but we were bored. A better thing to do would be to point out more landmarks along the way so you aren't just staring out into the Chicago streets. I would not recommend this only because there wasn't much to see or experience.

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Joe H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Young man in shorts and tee shirt as a tour guide .No character dress of the vintage day. Road around back streets as he told stories of the MOB. A few stops to see things of happenings to mobsters. 90 minute car ride for 73 bucks. WOW a taxi would have been cheaper??/

Doing what: Chicago Crime and Mob Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message