When visiting Chicago, one of the best ways to explore the city is by boat on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. Seeing the city by cruise allows you to enjoy a unique vantage point and many cruises often focus in on an interesting topic for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Felix G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very nice and informative cruise. The narrator did a fine job.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very informative and interesting tour. Victor was both knowledgable and funny! The cruise down the river is very pretty, we enjoyed every minute-

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Stephen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The ride was smooth and the host was informative. It gave us a new perspective literally and figuratively on Chicago's skyline. There were plenty of interesting buildings some with historic significance and others with ties to Hollywood films. It provided us with a great opportunity to take photos of buildings that would have otherwise been obscured and seen only by looking up as is the case with street-side walking/bus tours.

We didn't partake in their concessions so we can't comment on that. As a matter of fact, we toured the city on the open deck atop the boat and never even set foot on the lower deck where the concession stand was located. Keep in mind the top deck is open to the elements and you'll need to dress accordingly with hat, sunscreen, scarf, whatever fits the season.

The weather was great, but we did have some noisy neighbors navigating the river nearby, blasting dance music at unfortunate levels. The tour had no control of either, so... no bonus points given, none taken away.

The only issue we had was finding the boarding location. We expected it to be on the pier along with the vessels that give tours of the lake. As it turned out, it was near the city end of the pier where the mouth of the river is located Geez! Why would they put a river cruise near a river - go figure.

Anyway, It was a very relaxing experience, which was a relief after a busy drive into the city, parking the car and walking along the pier. Indoor parking on the pier is available if that's what you desire. With regards to seating on the boat it's first come first served, so get in line early to guarantee you and your guests can sit together and have a good view of Chicago's architecture especially if you're taking photos.

if we're ever in Chicago again, we may retake this cruise. I spent so much time taking pictures that I didn't hear half of what was being said. My better half did listen, so I guess she's got the job of captioning our photos.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ioanna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

best river cruise ever!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

JOHN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a great way to see Chicago -- we only had one day and this tour was perfect for us. Unfortunately, it was raining and poor visibility for the Willis Tower -- however, they were nice enough to allow us to come back the next morning when it was sunny. I cannot stress enough how awesome the VIP package is for Willis Tower -- it's definitely the way to go! Chicago has a lot of great architecture, so the trolley ride and river cruise are both excellent ways to see and hear about all of the amazing buildings in the city. Also, there is plenty of time to get a bite to eat and ride the huge Ferris wheel at the Navy Pier.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

Terry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a beautiful day! The tour guide did a great talk on the buildings. He talked almost the entire cruise! He only took about a 10 minute break!! Very informative and if someone is into architecture, it would be well worth taking the cruise.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

well we hit the weather just perfect last sunday river boat cruise was great and alot of info by guide on buildings Thank you The Wsol's

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Patricia A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic 'first time experience' with Viator!! Highly recommended!! And, of course, the Architectural Cruise was fabulous!!! Our guide was wonderful, and the crew and bartender all did an outstanding job!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Chicago experience. Trolley driver Ulysess and the cruise guy sorry I forgot his name who did the architect tour was very knowledgeable and made our boat ride informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

Jody K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nothing but positive things to say about this tour. Our guide, David, was animated and informative. We would definitely book this tour again. We booked our 75 minute river cruise at 7:30 p.m. and the city was beginning to light up as the sun went down. Could not have asked for a more positive experience.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Joseph K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide. Took 730pm cruise got to see the great architecture during the end of daylight and all lit up once the sun set. Highly recommended

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great cruise! Kevin was very knowledgeable and entertaining.
Everything ran smoothly and on time :-

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Javy was our tour guide and he was outstanding.He brought the tour to life with his knowledge and enthusiasm.The 7:30 cruise provided us with a beautiful sunset and the illumination of the city buildings at night.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Denise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the second time I have take this river cruise. I've been with different people each time and no one is ever disappointed. Building are so pretty at night all lite up.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Kathleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous. I learned so much about Chicago while enjoying a gentle cruise on the river. The tour guide had a commanding presence and a seamless presentation.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it! We did an 8:30 pm cruise and it was awesome to see all of the city lights. Our guide Victor was very knowledegable and did a great job.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Terry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Twilight cruise is the best! Victor is an amazing guide !

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great and the night was perfect for a cruise. It was a great time.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ma Perpetua C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very educational. Tour guide was very knowledgeable of Chicago and #39;s history. He made the cruise more enjoyable.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Luanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the cruise. The host was comical and knowledgeable. Very entertaining but also informative including information on not only architecture but also Chicago history. A great way to spend a couple hours in Chicago and see buildings from a different perspective. No shade so be sure to bring sun glasses, sun block and a hat.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

roberta l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Patrick was very informative and he knew the history and I will recommend this cruise to others!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Allison O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour that was well-priced. Our family was visiting Chicago and everyone was happy with this cruise. Staff was friendly and helpful. No snags in reservations or finding the tour and location was very convenient to our downtown hotel. Great information about the city's buildings, the lake and history. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Emily R F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was was very informative and kept us entertained as well.
Even though it was VERY hot that day, there was enough breeze from the cruise to keep us cool.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Renee F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Living in Chicago all of my life, I have never taken this river cruise. It was very informative, relaxing and enjoyable. Great way to see the city. The tour is a great value and I would highly recommend to a Chicagoan or a visitor.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

YELENA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The cruise was beautiful, breath taking views. Liked it a lot.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message