When visiting Chicago, one of the best ways to explore the city is by boat on the Chicago River and Lake Michigan. Seeing the city by cruise allows you to enjoy a unique vantage point and many cruises often focus in on an interesting topic for a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Albert N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our company took several guests on the Chicago Architecture River Cruise on a Friday evening. It was the best decision we made with regard to entertaining out of town business associates. This cruise is best in the evening 8:15 pm in the summer. The buildings were all lit up and it was very informative and entertaining. I would recommend dinner earlier at a fine restaurant, followed by this cruise as opposed to the larger dinner cruises, where the food is not all that great!
Questar, Inc, Chicago

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tommy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the river cruise on a perfect 74 degree afternoon with an extremely knowledgeable guide.
The views of one after another stunning, splendid examples of architectural/engineering genius and the
very interesting stories of Chicago's history made the trip special.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing cruise! Ben was a very good, knowledgeable tour guide!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Roger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great three part tour - the Willis Tower with the sky deck private access , the trolley tour of the highlights of the city a nice overview, and the Chicago river cruise in and out of the city between the various buildings like a modern day Venice is a must!!! An over all great tour and highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

Ryan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Architecture Cruise was awesome. The boat was immaculate, had bar service and was well organized. Our 'guide' Ben was outstanding. He was very knowledgeable of the City, buildings, and history and did a great job presenting it to the passengers. Our group of 8 would highly recommend this trip and Ben.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Kathi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jim was our guide and he was very edutaining. Loved the river boat cruise and HIGHLY recommend it to others!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This cruise is well narrated and quite informative. Our out of town guests were impressed with this activity.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a tour that I have always been interested in taking and I was not disappointed! Our guide, Jim, was very knowledgeable. I am now looking at all the buildings with a new eye. It didn't hurt that we chose the last cruise at the end of a beautiful day weather-wise-- it was the perfect end to a great day!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We took the river cruise based on recommendations from two people. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. Be sure to not miss this tour. It's a great way to see the city!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! So informative and a beautiful day to cruise along the Chicago River. Boat has bathrooms and full bar as well!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide did a great job. Very informative cruise and a must for anyone visiting Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Patricia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour especially the Willis Tower, the early access meant that we were the only people in the Skydeck and there was 5 of us so we had the whole floor to ourselves plus the guide who was great and very knowledgeable. The views from the Skydeck were amazing, most of us got very daring and walked out onto the glass platforms so great photo opportunities.
The City Trolley tour was a bit different but we did get to see lots of the historic places of Chicago. We were then taken to the Navy Pier in time to get some lunch before boarding the boat and the River Cruise again a very knowledgeable guide and a great tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The river cruise was wonderful. I wish I could remember our guide's name because he was great! We learned so much about the city that we didn't know. We would definitely take this cruise again.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The nighttime cruise was spectacular!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Tina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jake our tour guide was very entertaining and knowledge he truly made my family experience even better then what we were all accepting. The cruise it self was very relaxing and beautiful. This was one of the highlights of our whole trip to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour! Tour guide was witty, as well as knowledgable. Cruise along the river was great and architecture superb, of course.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Alyssa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This cruise was a great way to see Chicago. We had a wonderful guide who held our interest and we will be recommending this to anyone that comes to visit.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

tersteash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Early access to Willis Tower and the Skydeck says it all. This can be over an hour if you wait too long.
Step out onto the Skydeck to see what 412m 1,353' of just glass under your feet looks, and feels, like.
The trolley tour gives you a couple of hours driving 'round the Windy City with a good commentary.
The cruise is great as they cover the city's architecture over the years. However it is not a small group tour as with the Willis Tower and Trolley bus tour. Here you are packed on to a boat with a whole pile of people who may not understand what sitting down means.
Note: The location for the cruise is not at the ferry wharf, but on the river before you get to Navy Pier, off North Streeter Drive the Western half on the Lakefront Trail, and you have to exchange your voucher on Navy Pier on the South side at the Shoreline Sightseeing kiosk.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Willis Tower Skydeck Early Access, Trolley City Tour and Chicago River Cruise

AMY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The architectural river cruise was a great way to experience Chicago. The history and architecture lessons combined were informative and entertaining. Even the kids enjoyed it!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Ruth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour! The tour guide was really educated on the history and architecture of Chicago which he incorporated with pop culture references. He ended the tour by serenading the passengers with song and his harmonica. It was a lot of fun! Great cruise!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Lloyd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our River Cruise was awesome. The pace, the information given, the nice sense of humor, and the sheer amount of knowledge conveyed was 5-star. We are recommending this cruise to all our friends. It also made us realize what an awesome city Chicago is, really never had any clue, just thought of it as this monster metropolis in the midwest. Now, we think fondly of Chicago as the truly great city that it is. Wow! Thanks!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our Chicago Architecture River Cruise. Our tour guide was great. She was able to provide historical contexts for the architecture information she provided. We had no idea that Chicago had such a variety of buildings. touring on the Chicago River was the perfect way of seeing the sites. We were very pleased with the tour and learned a lot.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly informative, interesting, and tour guide Jim was EXCELLENT!!! Would take tour again next time in town, at night, for a different view. Sunset cruise on lakefront was excellent too!!!

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Matthew Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The cruise was fantastic, definitely worth the money. Our tour guide was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Rita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic time on our river cruise last night! Our guild Victor, was sooo full of information, history and humor. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting a different perspective of the city...

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message