Despite unpredictable weather and often chilly temperatures, winter can be a great time to travel to Chicago. However, it also takes a bit of preparation to make sure your trip goes smoothly. Here are a few Chicago winter travel tips to keep in mind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 876 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

eandp.davies

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Helpful and funny tour guides, easy to get on and off the bus, tour guides always happy to answer questions and to point out interesting things to do and see

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

catherine j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful day, very nice crew and staff. Could update the onboard speaker info. Will take this and architecture tours in the future!

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was a Great tour the was very knowledgeable about the history of Chicago enjoyed the view of Lake Michigan nice weather i highly recommend this tour thanks tours4fun you are the best

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour and the 72 hour ticket gave us chance to undertake most of the tours included.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

13 fantastic stops, loved the option of hopping on and off, very convenient way to see and enjoy the city. Our tour guides were friendly and full of city facts along the way. Definitely a repeat in the near future!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Diana O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was enjoyable and relaxing. Unfortunately we couldn't ride the whole way around due to time constraint but we went around about 3/4 of it.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JOSEPH B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WE HAD FRIENDS FROM OUT OF TOWN AND BOTH THEY AND MY WIFE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR. WE HAD 3 TOUR GUIDES DURING OUR TRIP. I FELT THE FIRST LADY THAT WE JOINED I KNEW THE CITY BETTER THAN HER. THE LAST TWO WERE GREAT AND ADDES A LOT OF COMEDY IN BETWEEN. WE HAD FUN !!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great. Peggy and Bruno were amazing tour guides. Each tour guide had there own personal touch with great information about the city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Walter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the city on your first visit.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Purchasing the 48 hour tour package made for a great experience for us. Hop-on, Hop-off is a wonderful way to visit the magnificent city of Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

F K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a wonderful and convenient way to explore beautiful Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sanban K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love the Chicago Trolley company, I got to see so much and learn a lot about Chicago, it makes you feel connected to the city. The excursion tours are great, they give you a chance to see other parts of the city. I would recommend that you take time out for some side excursions.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Liz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to see Chicago. I started off using the double decker bus to get orientated to the city and where all the attractions were. The tour guides were really helpful in working out what time of day to see certain attractions to beat the crowds. Very worthwhile! I'd definitely use hop-on hop-off again in other cities from this experience.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Liz P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was THE best way to get around Chicago and see the sights, much cheaper than getting taxis or getting lost on the L. Fabulous commentary about the city by the tour guides.
Even with a massive thunderstorm and flooding in the double decker, the tour guide and driver looked after us.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour Guides were very knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience. Will probably do in other cities now that I have done it. Very fun, informative. Bus was clean.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

harry.woo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this tour. For our first ride, we had a fantastic guide on the bus. Very funny and cheerful. He was so good that we decided to stay on the entire route.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very informative tour guide. Really enjoyed the tour of the city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Geraldine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very enjoyable - the guide was very good and funny. It was very hot on Tuesday!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aleta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Used our 48-hour pass as our primary transportation for first two days of our vacation. Worked out well. Pay attention to your time expiration since we did that and were able to still get in one more ride to the museum campus the morning of the third day.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Allison O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Informative tour that was well-priced. Our family was visiting Chicago and everyone was happy with this cruise. Staff was friendly and helpful. No snags in reservations or finding the tour and location was very convenient to our downtown hotel. Great information about the city's buildings, the lake and history. A highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I found the trip to Chicago very helpful going on the hop on hop off trolley. Very informant about the city and very friendly people working on it. Will do it again and will recommend to friends. Thank you

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

YELENA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Short, but very nice cruise, beautiful city view.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Cassandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Using the hop on hop off bus was a great way to get around touring Chicago. When I re-visited I will use it again. I rate it 5 stars

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message