Despite unpredictable weather and often chilly temperatures, winter can be a great time to travel to Chicago. However, it also takes a bit of preparation to make sure your trip goes smoothly. Here are a few Chicago winter travel tips to keep in mind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 896 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald A. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for your grate service. I will give 5 star. Thanking you.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Erin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth it!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Quintin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see downtown Chicago! Our tour guides, Logan and Bruno were very knowledgeable about the various sights and provided excellent running commentaries only a Chicago native could deliver. It was a gorgeous weekend and traffic was flowing. Highly recommended especially for first time visitors to the Windy City.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We used 3x on our trip for full tour and then hop off/on. Loved the ability to do day and night tours. Ran out of time to use the neighborhood trolleys.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this cruise. We took it at 3:30 pm after we had shopped since 9 am. I enjoyed the ride and the information was good. It was great to see some of the things we had seen earlier in the morning from the Lake. I could have spent 2 more hours on the boat!!! I wish they had a cruise out into Lake Michigan.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Sharon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide Nathan did a great job. Provided historical info as well as current info on the various sites around the city. My nieces accompanied me on this trip in their early 30's and enjoyed the trip. One grew up in Chicago and the other has been residing there for years. They said they will definitely take friends and family on this trip.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

laidydi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was easy to get from one attraction and another. Quite rumbly when seated in back by wheelchair lift. Tour guides had lots of info.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sreeni R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Allows you to spend time at each stop as much as you can. Good value for money.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cristina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guides were terrific! I can't remember all the names but the ones I do remember is Faith, Ryan, Eian. There was an older black gentleman that did a great tour, as well as a younger white guy that also did a great job. They were all AWESOME. Funny, great information and not very repetitive. It was nice that they each added their own individual information. I would recommend this tour company for everyone. Great and easy access to each location. The night tour was also great. The excursions should be a bit different and more information should be printed about them. I was told they were making changes to them but I wasn't able to go to all of them because they were not promoted very well but overall everything was great! Thank you for a great experience my first time in Chicago!!!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Raymond W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good Tour

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Debbie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very relaxing and informative about Chicago's architect and history. Great end to a busy wedding weekend.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Praveen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If one has limited time in hand and would like to get the feel of the entire city of Chicago then I would surely recommend this tour... as this is the best way to the see the important tourist spots within a short span.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Melissa A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had an amazing time. All of the guides I had were very knowledgeable. Daniel on the night tour was lots of fun. The stops are all well planned so you really can see everything on your bucketlist. Viator voucher was easy to trade in for the ticket at the stops. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

eandp.davies

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Helpful and funny tour guides, easy to get on and off the bus, tour guides always happy to answer questions and to point out interesting things to do and see

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

catherine j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful day, very nice crew and staff. Could update the onboard speaker info. Will take this and architecture tours in the future!

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was a Great tour the was very knowledgeable about the history of Chicago enjoyed the view of Lake Michigan nice weather i highly recommend this tour thanks tours4fun you are the best

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour and the 72 hour ticket gave us chance to undertake most of the tours included.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

13 fantastic stops, loved the option of hopping on and off, very convenient way to see and enjoy the city. Our tour guides were friendly and full of city facts along the way. Definitely a repeat in the near future!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Diana O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was enjoyable and relaxing. Unfortunately we couldn't ride the whole way around due to time constraint but we went around about 3/4 of it.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JOSEPH B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WE HAD FRIENDS FROM OUT OF TOWN AND BOTH THEY AND MY WIFE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR. WE HAD 3 TOUR GUIDES DURING OUR TRIP. I FELT THE FIRST LADY THAT WE JOINED I KNEW THE CITY BETTER THAN HER. THE LAST TWO WERE GREAT AND ADDES A LOT OF COMEDY IN BETWEEN. WE HAD FUN !!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great. Peggy and Bruno were amazing tour guides. Each tour guide had there own personal touch with great information about the city.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Walter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the city on your first visit.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Purchasing the 48 hour tour package made for a great experience for us. Hop-on, Hop-off is a wonderful way to visit the magnificent city of Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

F K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a wonderful and convenient way to explore beautiful Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message