Despite unpredictable weather and often chilly temperatures, winter can be a great time to travel to Chicago. However, it also takes a bit of preparation to make sure your trip goes smoothly. Here are a few Chicago winter travel tips to keep in mind ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 920 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very fun and informative.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

DIANA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. My guide was young, funny, and had some great jokes and knowledge about Chicago. The views were spectacular, and I felt like I saw all the sights. I highly recommend this to anyone travelling to Chicago for the first time.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everything about the experience was perfect! The boat was spotless and the crew treated us great! There was a bar on the boat with beverages and snacks were also available. We had a great time.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Shaun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

krisnelswils

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful tour! We, of course, had several tour guides. The one that stood out was an African-American gentleman who's name began with a C, though all were very good. We saw and learned about things we would never have seen on our own. We loved the on-off option that allowed us to investigate further. We gained insight into those things that were of greatest interest to us . . . where to go and what to do. We had great luck with Viator while we were in Chicago and will look them up again in our next city!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

raymond w. c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

CONVENIENT AND INFORMATIVE.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Chicago is a revelation. It is clean, smart, stylish and there is a lot to do and see. The tour takes you to all the main places and helps you get your bearings, then you can plan your time to get maximum benefit. In particular we went to the Field Museum and saw an exhibition of Chinese Terracotta Warriors which was excellent. Okay, so we didn't venture far from the area near the lake but with so much to see there our time was well used. The enormous stainless 'Nut' the hourly fountain across the river the best steaks in Chicago, I could go on but it would be better for you to go there and find these things for yourself. Chicago may not be on everyone's 'must visit' list, but it should be. SB of MK.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Art G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour! the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable about the town and the length of the tour was great... would book again... and will definitely let others know about it....

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

amcool170

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

well organise

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a lot of fun. Our guide, Chuck, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable, great personality. It was so convenient to jump on and off at whatever stopped you preferred or you could remain on the trolley. There was never a long wait to get back onto the bus once you got off at a stop. Would highly recommend this tour especially if this is your first trip to Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

dean k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best way to see Chicago. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

James N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done several Hop-on Hop-off tours and always find them good value. We usually ride the entire route first and then go again, getting off and on where we want.
This bus, in combination with the Chicago Explorer Pass, made our short stay in Chicago easy and pleasant.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Debbie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spectacular weather, boat ride and points of interest. Ride was just long enough.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Ronald A. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you for your grate service. I will give 5 star. Thanking you.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Erin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Worth it!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Quintin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see downtown Chicago! Our tour guides, Logan and Bruno were very knowledgeable about the various sights and provided excellent running commentaries only a Chicago native could deliver. It was a gorgeous weekend and traffic was flowing. Highly recommended especially for first time visitors to the Windy City.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We used 3x on our trip for full tour and then hop off/on. Loved the ability to do day and night tours. Ran out of time to use the neighborhood trolleys.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this cruise. We took it at 3:30 pm after we had shopped since 9 am. I enjoyed the ride and the information was good. It was great to see some of the things we had seen earlier in the morning from the Lake. I could have spent 2 more hours on the boat!!! I wish they had a cruise out into Lake Michigan.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Sharon L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide Nathan did a great job. Provided historical info as well as current info on the various sites around the city. My nieces accompanied me on this trip in their early 30's and enjoyed the trip. One grew up in Chicago and the other has been residing there for years. They said they will definitely take friends and family on this trip.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

laidydi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was easy to get from one attraction and another. Quite rumbly when seated in back by wheelchair lift. Tour guides had lots of info.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sreeni R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Allows you to spend time at each stop as much as you can. Good value for money.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cristina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guides were terrific! I can't remember all the names but the ones I do remember is Faith, Ryan, Eian. There was an older black gentleman that did a great tour, as well as a younger white guy that also did a great job. They were all AWESOME. Funny, great information and not very repetitive. It was nice that they each added their own individual information. I would recommend this tour company for everyone. Great and easy access to each location. The night tour was also great. The excursions should be a bit different and more information should be printed about them. I was told they were making changes to them but I wasn't able to go to all of them because they were not promoted very well but overall everything was great! Thank you for a great experience my first time in Chicago!!!!

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Raymond W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good Tour

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Debbie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very relaxing and informative about Chicago's architect and history. Great end to a busy wedding weekend.

Doing what: Lake Michigan Sightseeing Cruise

Praveen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If one has limited time in hand and would like to get the feel of the entire city of Chicago then I would surely recommend this tour... as this is the best way to the see the important tourist spots within a short span.

Doing what: Chicago City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message