When you think of food experiences in Chicago, what comes to mind? Deep dish pizza? Chicago-style hot dogs? How about some of the finest dining in the world? The correct answer of course is all of the above – but Chicago has so much more! Once ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 123 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shanae P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A really wonderful tour that I would do again in a heartbeat. Phyllis was such a delight to be with and her incredible knowledge of the area was fascinating. Tons of details and stories about the history of buildings, foods, and Chicago in general. The food was delicious and being a Chicago resident for 8 years it was all places I have never been. Portions were perfect and you go to 7 stops! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Argyle and Andersonville Walking Ethnic Food Tour

Lisa A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful way to learn about Chicago and her food. Our guide Keith Scott, was very helpful and fun to be with. His energy level and excitement was contagious!!

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

awfriedman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour of city, great taste of famous Chicago food, and great fun ride. No hills just great views of different neighborhoods, the lake and the Chicago skyline. Tour guide did a great job explaining things.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Bike Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Cupcakes and Hot Dogs

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We would highly recommend this tour - it was a great way to get to see and know more about some parts of Chicago, our guide Brian was brilliant! We were introduced to deep dish pizza, toffee, Croque Monsieur, tea and different flavoured oils and vinegar, it really was a taste sensation! Brian also gave us a list of recommendations of restaurants which was great, would highly recommend this to anyone who loves food!

Doing what: Small-Group Chicago Food Tour: Gold Coast and Old Town

Carmeina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was really amazing. Our tour guide Diane was excellent. She is very knowledgable and offered us a lot of history on Chicago. The food was really good.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Brownies and Italian Beef

Lucille A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole night was fun from start to finish! You truly feel like you are in a church's basement. The food is good bruschetta, salad, lasagna, brownies, but the cast of characters is what puts this experience over-the-top! Be sure to get there early so you have a chance to interact with the church cast members who will come and sit with you at your table, while never getting out of character! Go with a large group for even more fun. Parking is readily available on Belmont and easy to pay for using the ParkChicago app.

Doing what: We Gotta Bingo

Cheryl A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I've gone on several food tours in different cities and this was one of the best. Our guide was Amber. She was energetic, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. I loved the neighborhood and the information Amber gave us. Loved several of the food choices Chicago style hot dog and iced chocolate. Tried something new in the falafel, which was not my favorite, but now I know what it tastes like. I would highly recommend this food tour and Amber as your guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Chicago Food Tour: Wicker Park and Bucktown

Maria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Job! Im from Chicago but wanted to take my kids on a different kind of excursion downtown. The food was great and perfect for dining and walking so that we were ready for the next treasure

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour lived up to it's name with and Intimate 3 1/2 hour tour highlighting several ethnic restaurants and bakeries in a very diverse and lively Chicago neighborhood. Our culinary-trained guide Phyllis not only knew where to find great food - she was a friend and resident within the community - respected among her peers and proud of its history. Our small group of 6 received very personalized attention, and were fed royally while strolling a wonderful area right off the RED LINE.

Doing what: Argyle and Andersonville Walking Ethnic Food Tour

Albert N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our company took several guests on the Chicago Architecture River Cruise on a Friday evening. It was the best decision we made with regard to entertaining out of town business associates. This cruise is best in the evening 8:15 pm in the summer. The buildings were all lit up and it was very informative and entertaining. I would recommend dinner earlier at a fine restaurant, followed by this cruise as opposed to the larger dinner cruises, where the food is not all that great!
Questar, Inc, Chicago

Doing what: Chicago Architecture River Cruise

Fred D R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great views of Chicago. Great food, and friendly, professional staff. Good band as well. Good bargain for a great activity.

Doing what: Chicago Sunset Dinner Cruise with Buffet

atestani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour to get a taste small portion of a variety of foods Chicago is famous for, in a short period of time. Johnston was a fantastic guide. Not only did he know his stuff about the places we stopped at and walked by, he made a couple of great recommendations for afterwards. Definitely a bargain!

Doing what: Famous Tastes of Chicago Food Tour

Claire A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oh my God!!! Chicago pizza ia amazing and the views...WOW!!! Went went for an evening meal at 10.30pm, so much food for your money, really pleasant staff who could do enough for you then you got to eat your dinner looking at the wonderful views with all the lights. We had to have a doggy bag too

Doing what: Willis Tower Skydeck Dinner

Tanisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was amazing! The yacht was beautiful, the food was delicious and the staff were very polite. I will definitely do this again when I visit Chicago.

Doing what: Chicago Lunch Cruise

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was awesome. Our guide was knowledgeable and kind. The food stops were a great example of the various flavors of chicago with a little history thrown in. Wirth it!

Doing what: Famous Tastes of Chicago Food Tour

Amber B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I had a long weekend trip in Chicago. We found out about Tastebud Tours by looking on Trip Advisor and, it just sounded like fun! I'm so glad we did the tour! We started off at Pizano's for some delicious pizza I loved the thin crust, my hubby liked the deep dish. We went to More Cupcakes--where art and baking collide. LOVED the yummy sweet treat. The next stop was to the Drake Hotel, just to take in some history. Much to our delight, the hotel manager appeared and took our group through to see even more amazing spaces in the Drake! Following that, we went to Pippin's Tavern to have a Chicago-style hot dog courtesy of Downtown Dogs, but we were able to sit and eat in Pippin's Tavern. My husband and I both were surprised by how much we enjoyed the hot dogs! From there, we went to the Billy Goat Tavern for burgers--such a FUN experience at an iconic Chicago location. We could have spent another hour just looking at all of the memorabilia! Our last stop was Fannie May Chocolates where we sampled some beautiful treats and even received a goody bag to take home!

If you are coming to Chicago, DO THIS on your first day. You'll get a great lay of the land, you'll get the experience and knowledge of a Chicago-genius, and you'll eat some GREAT food! Where your walking shoes and take on the town!

I want to give a HUGE shout out to Annalynn!!! This lady knows her stuff! She answered questions, told amazing history and folklore, and took such great care of our group. It is apparent that Annalynn loves her city, loves food, and loves people! We were so impressed by her attitude and intelligence. GREAT WORK, Annalynn--thank you for an excellent day!

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

Nick D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Rebecca, a knowledgeable and friendly Chicoogan, who layered our food experiences with interesting local history. For me, the food highlight was Al and #39;s Beef and the history highlight was the old Chicago Public Library. The Tiffany glass dome and the G.A.R glass dome were amazing!

Doing what: Famous Tastes of Chicago Food Tour

Ginny L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic way to try out the must foods in Chicago, all in one go! The day I went it was raining like crazy and windy too, but it didn't detract from the overall experience in the least. We got to try tasty food and alcohol at the different stops, as well as stop off at the Bean for some pics. Our guide was friendly and knowledgable, and I had a great time. 10/10 would do again.

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Brownies and Italian Beef

Cathleen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First tour we did when we got to Chicago! nice variety of food-deep dish pizza, Chicago dog, cupcake, billy Goat tavern cheeseburger, chocolates. Wouldn't rate the food as great, but good introduction to different food at a reasonable price. We walked about a mile and enjoyed the tour portion including history and traditions! Helped orient us to the city.

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

Suzanne M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good food, interesting information about Chicago and just the right amount of walking.

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

susan t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

While we greatly enjoyed the Architectural Boat Tour and also a City Segway Tour, this was our favorite tour. The food selection was delicious and a fun tangent to Chicago lore and history. Gabe was our tour guide and he was exceptionally personable and knowledgeable. Do this tour!

Doing what: Tastes of Chicago Walking Tour: Chicago-Style Pizza, Beer, Brownies and Italian Beef

Lisa j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My friends and I had a blast on this walking tour with Phyllis. We wanted a way to see some parts of Chicago we otherwise would not have ventured. We also wanted an experience beyond chicago style pizza and hot dogs, which are great, but Chicago offers so much more. If you're a foodie, this is the tour to take. We made 7 stops, tried a variety of ethnicities, enjoyed the scenery and knowledgable tour of the area. We were exhausted by the time we finished, and took Phyllis' advice and ended the afternoon at the Green Mill enjoying some jazz and inexpensive drinks at the old Al Capone hang-out. This was truly one of the bests things we have done on a trip and wouldn't hesitate to do it again. An absolute must for all foodies!!!

Doing what: Argyle and Andersonville Walking Ethnic Food Tour

Greg T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended. Kent was an excellent guide and gave us the Chicago back-story as well as the foodie story.

Doing what: Small-Group Chicago Food Tour: Gold Coast and Old Town

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My family, a group of 9, consisting in ages of 15 to 60, had a great time on this tour. Elizabeth our guide was super knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about this tour. We all had fun, even my 15 year old, on the scavenger hunts she planned and learned a lot about the history of Chicago during the 1893 World's Fair. We enjoyed our stop at the Berghoff to sample a flight of beers and eat a sampling of food that was popular at the fair. We would all recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chicago Worlds Fair of 1893 Walking and Food Tour

Kathleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was excellent! Lots of fun facts and trivia. Showed us many spots that had nothing to do with food, but everything to do with Chicago! Very entertaining and informative! It was a little chilly outside, guide made sure we got to duck into some places to sit and he could talk. Very thoughtful.

Doing what: Chicago Style Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message