South America may pride itself in its dedication to sports such as futbol, but the region is also home to some of the world’s best skiing and snowboarding sites. American travelers looking for the perfect powder just need to head south, where it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The most amazing day with carol our tour guide and driver Rodrigues . Portillo is so beautiful with the lake swimming pools and being able to ski over the highway. A must do for any skier it will be the highlight of your trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Janet J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a fantastic trip to Portillo. The guide was helpful and friendly. He helped us with our rentals, told us about the area and was always available for helping us. The driver of the van was amazing. The hairpin turns were quite an experience but we all felt so comfortable with our amazing driver. Skiing was great. I would recommend this trip to people who want to go and ski as there is not much else to do but ski. The skiing and lifts were a highlight!

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Andrea O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fantastic tour the scenery was amazing unfortunately as it was high summer there was very little snow. Our guide Miriam was so nice and very knowledgable about Chile. Well worth a trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Verne C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Very underrated spot to visit. Great way to get up into the Andes from Santiago. Very beautiful spot to see.

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Veronique A France

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Driver and guide very nice and friendly, the main problem is that we did this tour during summer time and half an hour in Portillo is enough, nothing to do there! Should definitely be combined with something else to do around during summer time

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Andrea M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Foi sensacional, apesar de não termos esquiado, pois a temporada ainda não estava aberta. O lugar é muito lindo, vale a pena! Obrigada Luis pela paciência e presteza!

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Noel C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Great driver, very funny and made us feel welcome. We got to sample local items of interest along the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Ann A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

They changed the hotel on us at the last minute so all of my research on the surrounding areas went to waste. They were not very clear about pick up times for the mornings, and wasted a lot of time getting to the mountains. Some days we did not arrive until 11am, wasting half the day. One day they were 45min late picking us up, leaving us stranded waiting in a blizzard since the mountain had closed and there was no where indoors to wait. Very unorganized and inefficient, but I could not find any other tours that provided this. Also, it might be worth going to Portillo instead, these mountains were very small and not that great.

Doing what: 5-Day Chile Ski Tour with 3 Days of Lift Tickets at La Parva, El Colorado and Valle Nevado

Nicole Cindy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

good but not excellent really depends on the tour guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Thomas J

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We did not get to the ski resort because the roads had been closed. Our guides are great and felt bad but it was the most exspencive car ride we ever took. The system needs a better way of understanding roads that are closed the morning of the trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Portillo Ski Resort Day Trip from Santiago

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message