Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Akaroa Cruise Port

Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on this tour - the Antarctic Centre was one of the highlights of our entire trip, our kids loved it. We had a fantastic tour guide who was extremely informative - he gave a running commentary for the whole trip which was really interesting. We had a short tour around the earthquake affected areas of Christchurch, and then on to the Antarctic Centre. The reenactment of an Antarctic blizzard was very fun but very cold!!.

Just a word of warning - It's a 1.5 bus trip from Akaroa to Christchurch along very windy roads. If you suffer from motion sickness, you should definitely take medicine before the trip, make sure you sit towards the front and bring a sick bag in case you throw up on the trip as happened on our tour!.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic small new comfortable bus. Graeme the driver gave excellent commentary views sensational . We were able to see and learn all about the quake and rebuilding progress. We were were however astonished at the tram fare.... But it was also a lovely way to see around the town. Recommended!!! Return via the main port was also an eye opener. John from Ballarat Victoria

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour, but a little bit more time in Christchurch would help.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great local tour guide. Really nice lunch stop down beside the Avon. Knowledgeable guide who really enjoyed sharing his understanding of the local history.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Guide was excellent and took at the scenic route with some magnificant views. Shocked at still how damaged the city was and felt for the residents who were trying to restore it to its former glory. Really good trip on the tram.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

marysuen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was terrific. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

CHRISTOPHER J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a brilliant day! All organisation was excellent but the highlight of the trip was the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Suej61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing. Easily connected after walking off our cruise ship.
Interesting tour thru Christchurch and fun jet boat ride. Highly recommended

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Mr c p G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip very knowledgeable and lovely crew take some warm clothes as it can be cold out of the harbour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Akaroa and the surrounding countryside - so peaceful. Despite a fairly lengthy journey to Christchurch we enjoyed our visit there but it was very sobering to see just how much damage had been caused by the earthquake. So many buildings with scaffolding but it was also interesting to visit the shipping containers which have been converted into shops and eateries

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

trvlmore United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver and guide was pleasant, thorough and very informative. It was sad to see Christchurch after the earthquake and how much is still to be done to recover.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Shane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour..a wonderful drive into Christchurch from the port. Well worth the drive as you see such lovely scenery. The Antarctic Centre was great especially the blizzard storm at -18 degrees. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Keith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was fantastic and we wished we could have stayed there much longer. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but we felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. The damage was extensive.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Ronald T H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour although Christchurch is still suffering from the earthquake of 2011 and many of the buildings have not yet been re-built.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

sgardner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great day on this tour and would highly recommend it to others. We were with a larger group for the drive of the Banks Peninsula and the Christchurch City Tour. However, we were the only ones to book the Jet Boat on Waimak River, so we were picked up from the bus and transported by car to the jet boat and back to the bus for that portion where we had a private ride. Banks Peninsula is very beautiful and Christchurch had just suffered another earthquake days before our tour so we saw a lot of devastation and rebuilding going on. The Jet Boat ride was the highlight of our day thanks to Greg, who was very knowledgeable and made it a lot of fun. We will always remember the Jet Boat ride as one of the highlights of our days in New Zealand.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Sheila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed this tour very much. The sheep farm was interesting and like the three legged border collie that could still run and herd the sheep extremely well. It was sad to see the parts of Christchurch that are still in bad shape 5 years after the earthquake.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Sheep Farm Tour

nana2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Long day of touring. Beautiful drive to Christchurch but too much time viewing earthquake damage. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum both of which were wonderful. Antarctic center interesting adventure. Wish we had more time there too.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Marcia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was fantastic! Even with rough seas, our pilot was able to navigate to the Hole in the Rock and gave us a fantastic view and trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Late leaving the port on our tour due to inefficient tender system from cruise ship. No fault of the tour company. We left minus 2 passengers but the tour operator transported them to Christchurch and met us at the Antarctice Centre! Picturesque drive both ways to and from Christchurch. Arctic Centre visit was cut short due to loss of time waiting at port - definitely worth 2-3 hr visit. Drive through Christchurch again was hurried but we were time pressured. Our driver was full of information. Great day out.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message