Although it's located in a former British colony, Akaroa Harbour is decidedly French—down to the baguettes and street names—as this Christchurch enclave was originally founded by pioneering French settlers. Just 90 minutes from Christchurch on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

brendangregory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best Tour of the Trip to New Zealand......an absolute must do......Super flexible operator due to slow disembaration from the cruise operator.....but this tour operator went above and beyond to make sure that we had a wonderful day......very professional and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Michael J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A really pleasant day. A relaxing ride to Akaroa and then a couple of hours on the water in search of dolphins. We did manage to see quite a few along with some penguins. After that some time in town for lunch before departing for Christchurch. A fun day trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Melissa M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Long trip from cuisine ship to Christchurch. Needed more time at Botanical Gardens and less time in CBD in Christchurch as there really isn't much to do other than shop and eat.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Pacenza Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

we got an insite into Christchurch but alot of time was spent in the bus. I only improvement would be to start to tour earlier
due to the distance to drive there.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

stitcherviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. We were on a full boat but no problem moving around to take pics. of the scenery and the wildlife on view. You are taken out of the harbour and bay area and can see small dolphins, seals and, if you are lucky like us, small penguins. The dolphins particularly seem to enjoy being around the boat. Through Viator is the way to book your trip as the prices are very competitive - if you are going to be there as a stop on a cruise you will find the cruise line prices ridiculously high for similar trips.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

fred

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

the seas were too rough to swim but the company did give a full refund

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Long

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour which showed the beautiful scenery of Banks Peninsula and Christchurch city although the city has some destruction from the last earthquake. The tour guide did an excellent job showing us around and took us to many amazing location for takeing pictures. We recommend this tour to our friends and relative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Mr c p G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip very knowledgeable and lovely crew take some warm clothes as it can be cold out of the harbour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Akaroa and the surrounding countryside - so peaceful. Despite a fairly lengthy journey to Christchurch we enjoyed our visit there but it was very sobering to see just how much damage had been caused by the earthquake. So many buildings with scaffolding but it was also interesting to visit the shipping containers which have been converted into shops and eateries

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Denis L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

was good but once again followed to close to ship tours

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

trvlmore United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver and guide was pleasant, thorough and very informative. It was sad to see Christchurch after the earthquake and how much is still to be done to recover.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Glen E

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting day visiting Christchurch. Our driver was helpful and knowledgable. Would recommend .

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Lin S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Did not get to see the Dolphins. I know it is not in the control of your company. I did enjoy the trip, the boat driver and tour guide. I did enjoy jumping into the ocean with the wet suit on that was a great . Thank you for the experience.

Doing what: Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa

stevet1003

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

This tour was ok in that the ride from Akaroa to Christchurch was quite scenic, but touring Christchurch was dissapointing. We did learn some history and see where rebuilding was ongoing, but it wasn't as interesting as we had hoped.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Marcia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was fantastic! Even with rough seas, our pilot was able to navigate to the Hole in the Rock and gave us a fantastic view and trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

jemw2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A very interesting and informative cruise. The dolphins were tricky to find, but we eventually saw them close up. Highly recomended.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Ronald T H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour although Christchurch is still suffering from the earthquake of 2011 and many of the buildings have not yet been re-built.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Unforgettable tour! We saw lots of dolphins, penguins and seals. Cruise ships offer exactly the same tour for roughly double the price.

Bring extra clothing it's super-cold on the boat and sunscreen. Stand on the bow for the best view.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

GloriaJean G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

After several emails back and forth, we eventually got on the 1pm catamaran cruise. Was very good. We saw lots and lots of the cute little dolphins, surrounding the catamaran on several occasions. We saw all the interesting caves and rock formations and also about a half a dozen baby seals on the rocks, not too many adults. Guess they were out fishing for dinner! Very good tour, good narration.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Rosa a

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day, very informative!!!!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Robert E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Christchurch is an interesting city being devastated and rebuilt again . Our guide was good and the scenery was good although not breathtaking .

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Stephanie C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Interesting experience, but be forewarned that the water is really cold. Several people on our trip could not even be in the water at all. You are never very close to the dolphins, but they are amazing animals.

Doing what: Swimming with Wild Dolphins in Akaroa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message