Although it's located in a former British colony, Akaroa Harbour is decidedly French—down to the baguettes and street names—as this Christchurch enclave was originally founded by pioneering French settlers. Just 90 minutes from Christchurch on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Domenick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent excursion, the boat was comfortable, we cruised the entire harbor and saw Hectors dolphins very rare, seals, varied sea
birds. The captain was knowledgeable and gave a good history of the area and the natural rock formations. The fact it was a cloudless day helped too.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

RAJIV H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great tour - but we didn't get to see much of Akaroa - tour takes almost the whole day. Tour guide excellent.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Sharon J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Nice tour and beautiful sight outside the harbor. We were not fortunate enough to see dolphins, but still enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Samuel M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The boat was roomy and comfortable and the guide very informative. We saw the smallest species of dolphin, penguin and baby seals.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Roger V

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Tour was OK. Documents showed that lunch was included, but that was not the case. Otherwise adequate

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Bmorishi

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Nice bus ride with several brief stops for photos. There was a lot of rebuilding in Christchurch, presumably because of recent earthquake, so that part of the tour was not as nice as it might otherwise have been. Overall, we would have liked a little less riding and more walking.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Louise D

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It was a nice day. Christchuch is like a bombed city, not much to see. Our guide was a little disorganized he brought us twice at the same place, after 30 minutes at the Botanical Gardens, we had a short bus tour of the city then came back to the Gardens for lunch again for a short period. It was mainly a bus tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

rogerwlloyd

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We took this trip to see Christchurch and discover more about the terrible earthquake damage and how the city is resurrecting itself. It's a long bus journey from Akaroa, and obviously time in Christchurch is limited, but we felt the available time was poorly used. We were on and off the bus with barely twenty minutes free time, just enough for a toilet stop and to grab a snack. Understandably, because of the major construction works, the city bus tour was difficult to navigate and we saw very little. The time would have been better spent providing us with a map and allowing us to make our own choices such as walking to the significant sites such as the Cathedral and pop-up container area, looking fully at the botanical gardens or taking a proper lunch. The add-on tour to the peninsula was just a beach drive-by, so no time to enjoy the beauty. However, the stop to view the city from above and the viewpoint stop on the return journey we're worthwhile. On the plus side, the bus driver/tour guide was clear, informative and amusing.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Eleanor R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Too long in the. Bus. Not enough time for anything.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

amishrn

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Went on large bus. We were in the back. Between the driver not speaking loud enough and the noise of the bus, we got no information other than a few words we were able to understand. Everyone in the back of the bus kept asking the driver to speak up. He would for about a sentence and then his voice would go back down. I liked what the tour took us to, but other than that it was a waste of money.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

brendangregory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best Tour of the Trip to New Zealand......an absolute must do......Super flexible operator due to slow disembaration from the cruise operator.....but this tour operator went above and beyond to make sure that we had a wonderful day......very professional and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Michael J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A really pleasant day. A relaxing ride to Akaroa and then a couple of hours on the water in search of dolphins. We did manage to see quite a few along with some penguins. After that some time in town for lunch before departing for Christchurch. A fun day trip.

Doing what: Akaroa Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Carol M. V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guide about the damage of recent quakes near his home and in Christchurch, and also knowledgeable about the efforts to repair damage. Had lunch at Re-Start Mall - a quick rebuild by way of shipping containers made into cafes, shops, etc. We ate at one - what an interesting adventure!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this cruise immensely. The commentary was excellent, saw dolphins, many birds, all types, was told what they were etc. but the most exciting part for me was that we went in close and saw baby seals with their mums crawling over the rocks 'crying'. It was so loud I took a video and you can clearly hear them. You don't often see that, especially in the wild, it was very exciting for all.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Yves A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is very comprehensive, the tour host Dave was absolutely brillant, explaining everything in minute details, I would recommend this tour to anyone that is seeking well informed narration and knowledgeable descriptions of places and events.
Dave you were impecable and you won our friendship.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Melissa M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Long trip from cuisine ship to Christchurch. Needed more time at Botanical Gardens and less time in CBD in Christchurch as there really isn't much to do other than shop and eat.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Pacenza Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

we got an insite into Christchurch but alot of time was spent in the bus. I only improvement would be to start to tour earlier
due to the distance to drive there.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

David G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Just a bus ride through the country and into Christchurch.Would not recommend it nor would we go it again. Driver/narrator was fine, just not enough time in either location to explore.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

stitcherviv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. We were on a full boat but no problem moving around to take pics. of the scenery and the wildlife on view. You are taken out of the harbour and bay area and can see small dolphins, seals and, if you are lucky like us, small penguins. The dolphins particularly seem to enjoy being around the boat. Through Viator is the way to book your trip as the prices are very competitive - if you are going to be there as a stop on a cruise you will find the cruise line prices ridiculously high for similar trips.

Doing what: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

fred

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

the seas were too rough to swim but the company did give a full refund

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Swim with Dolphins in Akaroa Harbour

Long

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This is a great tour which showed the beautiful scenery of Banks Peninsula and Christchurch city although the city has some destruction from the last earthquake. The tour guide did an excellent job showing us around and took us to many amazing location for takeing pictures. We recommend this tour to our friends and relative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Mr c p G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip very knowledgeable and lovely crew take some warm clothes as it can be cold out of the harbour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved Akaroa and the surrounding countryside - so peaceful. Despite a fairly lengthy journey to Christchurch we enjoyed our visit there but it was very sobering to see just how much damage had been caused by the earthquake. So many buildings with scaffolding but it was also interesting to visit the shipping containers which have been converted into shops and eateries

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Denis L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

was good but once again followed to close to ship tours

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message